Engineered for Sustainability

HP Smart Tank Plus 551 Wireless All-in-One

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, scan, copy, wireless
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 11 ppm black, up to 5 ppm color
  • Faster connections with dual-band Wi-Fi; easy mobile printing with HP Smart app
  • Ink tank printer delivers up to 2 years of ink in bottles included in the box.
See Product Details
HP Smart Tank Plus 551 Wireless All-in-One is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 77.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_6HF11A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by MsMa from Love it. Easy set upWish I would have bought sooner love it
Date published: 2021-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bloober from Nice ink tanks, hp app is horrible I like the print functions of this printer. For everything else, it is a joke that requires you to log into your hp account. I just want to use the multifunction device I purchased without big brother hp trying to help. NO REASON for this except hp trying to make more money. I gues that I no longer have to pay crazy amounts for ink, hp tries to make it up somewhere…
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Teacher 2021 from In Love!!! I received the HP Smart Tank Plus 551 as a present for my 1st year teaching classroom. I love how easy it was to set up. When I don't have my computer in hand, I can easily print straight from my phone with no problem. The color the printer produces is amazing. I will be buying another one next year as a 1st year teacher classroom gift.
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phughes from So easy to set up and use all the features! This is an extremely good printer, copier and scanner all in one. It was so easy to set up and using all the features is very easy as well. I bought this for home use and find more reasons every day to use one of the three options. The paper feed and the document tray are just the right size. Also - and this is a big plus - no more cartridges. No more cartridges ever again. I truly love that part. It works with your home WiFi system so you can print from anywhere without having to go to the printer. I really love this product.
Date published: 2021-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gertrude 43 from Luke was best installer ever. I tried and tried to install my printer and found it impossible so contacted HP. After 7 calls and being cut off I got to talk to Luke who solved all my problems. Why is it so much harder to install a printer than it used to be????
Date published: 2021-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by fhr1 from Slow printer. It was difficult to set up the wireless feature. My HP Envy 5055 was a much better price and better performer.
Date published: 2021-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ebo460 from User friendly I bought this to use with my cricut. I was afraid it would be hard to set up. It was the opposite. My prints are all crisp and clear. I love that I can print things from my phone or computer when I'm not home.
Date published: 2021-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dave X from HP Smart Tank Printer This wireless printer is outstanding. Product is durable and stable. The wireless function performs flawlessly by staying connected at all times the printer is switched on.
Date published: 2021-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Operator from HP Smart Tank 551 Product is very flimsy and holds very little paper. Not what I expected
Date published: 2021-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Excited to use it Hi, I have not been able to set it up yet but I'm excited to find out how it works.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Megamessage from Ink in a Bottle- What a concept!! I was wary about the ink in the bottles but I think I’m a new fan! I’ve got it set up so I can wirelessly send things to be printed and it works every time. The ink does not appear to dry out in the nozzle so it works every time and I don’t have to clean the nozzles, which we all know uses a LOT of ink! I’ll be interested to see how long the ink lasts, especially the two toner cartridges. I would definitely purchase this item again.
Date published: 2020-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by dakotadi from good features, great product, but time will tell for me HP represents longevity, my previous printer has only stopped because my computer no longer recognizes the drivers, which I don't understand as the printer worked until noon then wouldn't print because it stated it was missing a driver. I compared Cannon with the supply of ink, price was comparable, but HP won out because my other HP printer is over 10 years old, remarkable! The sales staff I chatted with told me the photos print well, and I agree I am happy with the quality. I hope it lasts as long as my HP2175 all in one did. The only thing I don't understand is it has to be plugged into my computer in order to print and I am still trying to figure out if it will print from the app on my phone because so far it won't.
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jos G from Good, but slooooow The HP smart tank plus 551 is really smooth and fairly quiet. The print jobs look great and shipping was quick! Only down side is it takes forever for anything to print. 5 pages can take almost 5 minutes. Kind of ridiculous especially for the cost of the unit.
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zeke0000 from Not good Put it together, got a E3! message. Talked with HP tech for an hour, could not solve the problem and had to send it back. Big pain.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by CorvetteDon from Like the tanks rather than cartridges for ink. Although not advertised, this printer and scanner automatically sets up in Ubuntu Linux 20.04. Actually easier than Windows or IOS. Prints from all my LInux, Windows and IOS products, as well, as Samsung Galaxy phones. Has better quality scans and prints than the Epson NX430 that it replaced. Nice looking. Installation of print heads was a little puzzling at first. YouTube video of unboxing and setup is much better than included instructions. All-in-all, fine.
Date published: 2020-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Malou from Can not print yet. Problem with Printhead. i received the product last week. installed it but according to the support rep that there is a problem with the part of the printhead. I am getting a E3 error.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bill in Chicago from Easy to use, perfect for home use I have been most familiar with laser printers in an office setting, so I was uncertain about the applicability of an ink-jet printer to my business needs. I am pleased that the printer operates flawlessly and is quite intuitive. I am still getting used to the "liquidy" output that is a natural feature of an ink-jet device, but by acquiring actual printing paper (versus the cheaper alternative I first acquired) that concern has disappeared. For home use, this is a very reliable, quality product.
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by pjmateer from Confusing set up this was not only hard to get set up, but has to be the slowest printer ever. Also can only send one thing to the printer at a time. So if my wife sends something to print mine will not work. I have to wait until hers is completed before i can even send mine to the printer.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by Newuser780 from Setup issues, but nice product I just bought product and think I will like it, but I had some problems with the setup/installation. Instructions were all pictures and were not very detailed or easy to understand; and I had to remove and reinstall the black printhead 3 times before getting it aligned properly. Ink tanks were easy to fill and the print quality is very nice.
Date published: 2020-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Horse loving girl from Great features I bought this product last week for my sons homeschooling. I really like the quality of the documents printed and the amount of papers printed for one bottle of ink is very inexpensive. True the printer maybe costly but it is very inexpensive to use compared to ink cartridge . 100% satisfied so far
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Indian trails from great features Works great!!! Have used already. Reasonably priced>
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bill4878 from Verdict still out Only had this product a short time. Seems to get a paper jam quite a bit, but could be way wife is loading it. Still out for a verdict till I test it more. Not quite what I expected for $400
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Athena P from Fantastic! Very sharp, clear printing, I bought two of these and thus far extremely happy. I really hope they save ink as promised. I was so tired of constantly buying cartridges! Very easy set up with great instructions.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tom_123 from So far so good, set up instructions incomplete Finally gave up on the cartridge mess and switched to a tank printer. So far so good but time will tell. The shipping piece holding connected to the ink supply lines had ink in it when I removed it, I narrowly avoided ruining the carpeting. The instructions need to warn for this or changed the order.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by 000000000 from This printer is defective I'm returning it. The first time I used it there was a paper jam. Although we managed to clear it, paper jams continued to happen.
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by Warnee from Disappointed in printer features. I am returning this printer. I haven't taken it out of the box. My current printer, an HP Office Jet Pro 8100, is a network printer that has more features than this one.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dollie J from Opportunity to streamline set up process I've been buying HP and installing for my employers and also for my home use for decades. I had certain expectations that given the low profile of this equipment would provide a straight implementation. I was wrong. The quality of documentation is not up to par so the set up was not a smooth sail. Major opportunities for improvement in this area. After I finished with setup, it's working just fine. I like the ink filling portion of it in that it will not require frequent replenishment.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nation007 from Perfect I’ve been needing to get a printer ever since the pandemic hit and I started working from home this is the easiest printer I’ve ever owned to set up and to use. There are so many great features. I absolutely love it!
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by PK Frog from Tricky Set Up Local availability followed by tricky setup. Needed help from Tech Support, being left on hold forever and unco-operative Virtual Assistant was not a good start. Tecnician was very helpful. Got it set up with the iMac. One week later, I tried to set it up with my husbands PC. Having trouble with that now. Back to Tech support.
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by connielouhoo from Nice printer Great little printer. Hope the expectations of not using so much ink will actually come true. The claim is it will last for quite a long time so will see. I print a lot of things but nothing more than the average printer user so am anxious to see if the claim on how long it will last is true. So far I like the printer.
Date published: 2020-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by ajMike from works great and soooo easy to install . works great and the instructions to get it going were so simple even I had no problem.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by FNiami from Over priced compare to its competition I bought this only last week and I am disappointed.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by boaterskiier from finally got one that worked Just got it and it prints good. Like the multiple features that it provides.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by MSquared16 from I expected better So far, I'm overwhelmingly disappointed with this printer. 30 sheet paper supply means I've got to watch it and refill paper throughout large prints. The black print head fails every 6-8 pages--I have to open the printer and take out/re- insert the print head. It's very noisy and has to stop and pump ink every 30 seconds. Color printing is inconsistent and changes density throughout a print cycle. I'll probably return this and go back to a true ink jet.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ronsujo from Love it so far. I haven't had a chance to use it very much, but so far it is great.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gegc from Easy to set up and use! It was very easy to set up and use! Instructions in online set up to add wireless devices were easy to follow
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by ErinTheRealtor from So far it’s excellent I am very impressed with the print quality. The ink is clearly high end. The print quality is equivalent to an office grade printer. It is quick and the WiFi function works too.
Date published: 2020-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by dvnn from Great capacity Can't believe the cost of the ink is a fraction of a laser toner. Great for home use.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Genevieve from Easy to use! I'm so please with this purchase. The Smart Tank Plus was super easy to setup and the print quality, for an inkjet, is great.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by Patchesonceuponatime from Too soon to tell The quality on the few pages I have printed in the few days I've had the printer is good. I am excited about having a more convenient and economical source of ink available. The ink wells couldn't have been easier to fill. I have a MAC and the new improved method of installing the printer software by letting an HP app do it did not work well. The Smart app stopped during the set up process to say that the software for the printer was not available and referred me back to HP to download the right software. That would have been fine. We've been going to HP and downloading printer drivers for decades. But instead of an option to download, HP linked this printer driver availability back to the Smart app which sent me there in the first place. It took a fair number of attempts, and subsequently time messaging with customer service over a couple of days to get a link that actually worked. That's not a customer service or shipping issue--that's a software issue.
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by johnnymack from Did not work right out of the box!! This thing was kind of a weird kind of contraption. I set the whole thing up and it didn't even work the first time around right out of the box.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yellow Rose of Texas from Great Color Although I don't like the feature that requires the paper to be stacked outside of the printer and exposed to light and wind, I really like the color quality. Almost like an actual photo.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by microsteve from I have had this Printer for a Few Week, and so far it has been a Great Printer. The fact that I do not have to Replace Ink Cartridges every Few Weeks, is a GREAT Feature.
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need to print from Holding off on review I opened my product today and was very excited. I followed page by page instructions and continued to get a paper jam error. I went to virtual agent, reset printer, checked everything for several hours and I am a little frustrated. I called the service center and they will be sending out another printer. Hope it comes fast because I am a teacher and need to start using it. I will wait for my final review once I have received and set up the new printer.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cee in Sales from Business Owner Bought this a month ago - Very disappointed in how little paper it holds, it scan right from camera's disc, I cannot shrink/expand image with the printer and many other features of my previous HP. And I could NOT find a printer with more extra features. It also took about 2 days using a total of 5 hours to install and 2 computer techs from our remote IT company to get it to work.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pjd46143 from Nice Quality Clean and clear. Each to use once you get it set up. I had a little challenge getting it connected to my wi fi. Not impressed w the amount of paper I can load nor the scan feature. Liked my HP 8710 much better.
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by zEPHYR 004 from NO FEATURES AT ALL > It is a total failure for a printer og the 20s . IItis totally strippeddown It takes It takes very small an mount of paper Secondly . It gams the paper often third Third : it is slower than my 15 year old HP 5610 that I have .Forth: It does not have automatic document feed , All you can copy is one page at a time Number 5: It is not a fax . ITN IS JUST A CHEAP PRINTER WITH BIG INK TANKS .
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Vagabond of Viet Nam from I like the quality of print from the printer, however, I was not happy with the two side print feature. My other printer printed both sides in the print process and I did not have to mess with taking the pages out and turning them over in the tray and restart the print process. I will probably get used to it, just don't like it.
Date published: 2020-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by VistaView from Quick and easy install I have had the printer about 3 days. Installing the printer was very easy. Clear easy to follow instructions were so appreciated. Connecting to laptops and other devices presented no problems. The printer is quite and the print quality is amazing. I have already used it for work and to print educational activities for the kids. It is compact so it doesn’t take up much space. It is definitely a smart purchase.
Date published: 2020-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blissful Bee from Hello Good Buy Nothing but praise so far - easy to set up, prints well without a lot of annoying noises. Really digging the wireless bit; it's so nice to not have it crammed on my desk just to hook up to the computer. Also like the ink fill - the tank system is already way better than cartridge. I am interested to see if the "two years worth of ink" actually holds up, but barring issues with that, def a 10/10 would buy again.
Date published: 2020-03-09
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_6HF11A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

how do I change networks on my hp smart tank plus 551?

Asked by: smarting
Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

how to add ink to cartridges? Refill?

Asked by: BWT1
The HP SmartTank printers use the HP 31 ink for colors and the 32XL for black. Those products can be found on this website. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-12

How can you tell what the ink levels are on the HP Smart Tank Plus 551 printer.

Asked by: Tom7200
Hello, Tom. Thanks for your question. We advise looking at the "Check ink levels (HP Ink Tank and Smart Tank printers)" section on this website: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_2453626-1757228-16 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Only a month it’s very good, after that Why always error when I used, can’t print.

Asked by: Yant
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-12-04

The printer works great. I'm very pleased. But recently it has been printing very slowly. It takes almost 3 minutes to print one page. Any remedy for the problem. Thanks

Asked by: BT52
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this printer print front and back pages?

Asked by: rockingcajun
Thank you for your question! This HP Smart Tank Plus 551 Wireless All-in-One is not capable of duplex printing. The HP SmartTank 7001 and 7301 do have this capability, however.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_en_US, sid_6HF11A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT