ENERGY STAR | Home and home office

Engineered for Sustainability

HP Smart Tank 5000 All-in-One Printer

  • Special Limited Time Buy!
  • Print, scan, copy, wireless
  • Up to 2 years of ink in the box
  • Simple and affordable printing for everyday documents

HP Smart Tank 5000 All-in-One Printer is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_5D1B6A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mintyjang from So far so good! I have had other HP printers in the past and I was getting tired of constantly buying ink cartridges. I like that the ink in this ink tank printers goes a long way before needing to replace/refill them. The print quality is good and it prints faster than my old ink jet printers. I think the only caveat with this printer (and I didn't realize it until I used it) was that you have to manually flip the paper over to print both sides, whereas my old inkjet printers did that automatically. Other than that, it's pretty solid. It was easy to set up and connect to my computer and wifi.
Date published: 2024-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Go HP Great product for the price
Date published: 2024-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from ? So far it has been an excellent device.
Date published: 2024-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by BrentH from Quality printer at a reasonable price! Easy set-up and quality printing !
Date published: 2024-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2421 from Frustrated Make sure you know it only works works with 2.4 gtz router not a 5 gtz. We did not see that online when we ordered. We returned item did not want to change routers.
Date published: 2024-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by B A Moo from Good Printer - Fair Price Lets start by saying I am a baby boomer but not totally ignorant when it come to computers and things. I found the set up instructions a little off. Some of the sites that I was directed to were different than shown in the directions and did not react as described in the manual. I found it much easier to set up the printer using a printer cable first.(That was very fast- once I gave up on the manual instructions) It went much smoother and I was able to set up the wireless feature later. The printer prints as you would expect - nice clear images and text. The ink was easy to load and it seems this process will be much better than buying ink cartridges. Have had this for about 2 weeks now and I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
Date published: 2024-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mike736 from Average Printer I see the major advantage of this printer as the infrequency of the ink replacement. I was able to get it loaded with ink, and up and running fairly easily. However, every time I use it, first it has to "wake up", which takes a minute, and then it has LOTS of whirring and clicking and clanking noises when it actually prints. The quality of the print has been very good so far.
Date published: 2024-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good review purchase The printer works well. It was easy to manually load. I had trouble with putting it to to wireless.
Date published: 2024-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from "We Love Our HP Smart Tank 5000" We saw this printer, the HP Smart Tank 5000, advertised and liked what it said....Ink lasts for 2 years, does it all- scan, copy, print, easy to use, easy to set-up and lightweight. Thus far...ALL GOOD!!!
Date published: 2024-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by seamstress77 from Liking it. I have had it about a week. Have only been using it for 2 days. Had to wait for my son to come & hook it up for me.
Date published: 2024-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by MTR II from Unfortunately defective out of the box The ink cartridge leaked the first time I set it up with the help of support. It corrupted the ok printing head and had to return it. I order a new HP model and they credited me for the defective one. I always use HP products but this was not a good exii ok friends
Date published: 2024-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dduff from HP Smart Tank All-In-One printer What can I say? Usual HP quality, smooth setup (usual great HP setup instructions) with also great internet support. Great printer, copier, scanner and does it all wireless (or corded if you prefer).
Date published: 2024-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grey Cloud from Easy going ! Easy to set-up instructions. Good black /white and color print. Also bought a HP computer and they work beautifully together.
Date published: 2024-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by RonaldCM from An Ink Mess I was excited to receive my new printer from HP as my older model had finally quit working properly after many years of use. Because my past experiences with HP had been positive I didn't bother shopping around. I went straight to HP.com and ordered the Smart Tank 5000. Set-up was a little awkward but I managed to get it done although various print jobs came out as a garbled mess. I stepped away from my office for a short period and upon return I found Cyan ink dripping down my custom made black walnut desk. Long story short, my desk top is damaged and trying to talk to a human in CS was a struggle. I finally used the chat function to converse with a CS rep. 2 weeks later I received a replacement printer and am hoping for the best. This will be my last HP printer!
Date published: 2023-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rwwhiteid from Wifi Poorly written instructions. After hours of trying to get the Wi-Fi to control the printer. I found out I could plug in my cable. I don't know why that the instructions didn't include that information..
Date published: 2023-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by Andrea S. from It’s a struggle Love the ink tank concept. Now if only I can get paper to feed and actually pring anything.
Date published: 2023-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by Teresa K. from Hopeful! Works just fine. I am delighted that there are now refillable ink cartridges. Just worry about the other cartridges. had to throw away a perfectly good printer because of obsolete cartridges. Hopefully, this one will be around for many years.
Date published: 2023-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joey77 from So far the Pinter has performed very well, easy set up, med size and light. A fast Printer. HP Smart tank 5000
Date published: 2023-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by Home HP Computer User from Do Not Buy Print heads broken right out of the box. Have had the unit for over three weeks and haven't been able to print one page. Not even the alignment page! Three calls and over an hour-half on hold with Customer Service have NOT solved the issue. I'd rate this product a Zero, but not an option. Will NEVER buy another HP printer product.
Date published: 2023-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Replacing my Hp Envy 7640 Printer which I loved. Both equipment and software set-up took longer Hp 5000 Printer Review
Date published: 2023-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by Harley558 from Downgrade It's alright. Not really what I expected for the money. The one it replaced (8610) was much better, and cheaper.
Date published: 2023-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shyshy629 from Printer Makes noises
Date published: 2023-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by jtvincent59 from Love my HP Tank printer I have always had HP Deskjet printers, and it seems like I was constantly ordering ink cartridges...either I ran out or didn't use the printer in a while and for some reason, they didn't work right. I love the idea of the tank printer. Supplies will be much cheaper.
Date published: 2023-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jim #5 from so far so good easy setup, good quality prints so far, I will be testing photo prints over the holidays
Date published: 2023-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeffrey Paul from No worries I like the idea that I can do printing and not worry about running out of ink.
Date published: 2023-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by S.Conner from The best HP Smart Tank 5000 of all time!!! Excellent product
Date published: 2023-11-16
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_5D1B6A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

If I am away from home, can I still print from my iPhone remotely? And if so, is there an app? Does this printer support 5.0Ghz wifi? 

Asked by: That Guy Blunder
You can print with an iPhone outside of the network for this unit using the HP Smart Advance, which is a free upgrade to the free HP Smart app with this unit. It does not support 5.0GHz Wi-Fi, so you will want to make sure your router supports a 2.4GHz signal.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-01-10

Does the Smart Tank 5000 print envelopes?

Asked by: Coldon
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can print envelopes with the HP Smart Tank 5000 printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-03-11

Can it print legal size ?

Asked by: AceTree
The Smart Tank 5000 series does support legal size printing.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2023-11-27

Do this product print both sides if needed?

Asked by: Leeleedenny55
Thank you for your question, the HP Smart Tank 5000 has manual duplex printing.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-11-13

Will this printer, HP Smart Tank 5000 All-in-One Printer print double sided?

Asked by: SirParry
No, this HP Smart Tank 5000 All-in-One Printer is not a duplex printer.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-11-22

Does this copier have faxing capability 

Asked by: Pumper 2.0
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Smart Tank 5000 Printer does not have a landline fax function. You can use Mobile Fax. Mobile fax is where you can send faxes through the HP Smart app on your smartphone, tablet, or computer. If you need to send or receive faxes, you can use a service like eFax. Here are more details about the mobile fax: https://www.hpsmart.com/us/en/mobile-fax Here is a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvDAYa1nZzw If you would like a landline fax function, we recommend looking at the HP Smart Tank 7602 printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-02-24

I keep getting an error message of "driver unavailable" when trying to connect the printer to my Surface Pro 9 which has a Windows 11 OS. What is the solution for this problem?

Asked by: Clark Fry
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-02-05

does it double side print?

Asked by: Carl C.
Hello. Thanks for your question. You would need to manually turn the paper over with this HP Smart Tank 5000 All-in-One Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-03-27
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_5D1B6A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 53ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT