DIGITAL

  • Error troubleshooting
  • Software installation & OS Updates
  • “How-to” assistance
  • Connectivity assistance, Virus removal
  • 24/7 on-call tech support, Any brand device

HP 6 month SmartFriend Service is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 172.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_14, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_111, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_UC5Y5E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 50ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 1 out of 5 by AnUnHappySmartfriendCusto from Don't by smartfriend for your HP I had a terrible experience with smartfriend. They are not smart at all. I never got to ask my question. The only thing I got is questions like how many ports do you have, what's your serial number, etc. etc. The person said they are more of a software person than a hardware person. Well, I just bought a new HP and I have hardware questions. Things like: how do I connect multiple computers. When the person picked up the phone, they knew my name and my phone number, but nothing about the device I bought. That is not how a consumer grade experience should work. How it should: I call. They recognize my number, they have my order at their fingertips, the computer configuration and start helping me.
Date published: 2024-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Galloway from The Flying Z-Book. David has been Professional and Knowledgeable in getting my new Z-Book setup, even though he was having to over come my 1st HP Rep NOT telling me that I would need a PCmover Cable and LINK even when I asked him what would I need to Completely transfer the Data from my EliteBook over to my New Z-Book. I Received the Cable but still have NOT Received my LINK, which David Needs. I would give David a 10, and I waited an extra 2 Days so he would be the one to Completely setup my New HP Z-Book.
Date published: 2024-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by Barbara CG from Inaccurate information and no help or service The rep who “sold” the SmartFriend service to me misrepresented what it would cover. I called HP to receive help and was told that SmartFriend was not by HP - but was a 3rd party offering - and she could not provide me any help. So I obviously have paid for something totally useless to me.
Date published: 2024-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by Brian in Los Angeles from Not impressed We still have not received our computer, which has pushed delivery twice. Although the term of the Care Pack is running we can't use it. Not a good initial experience with hp.
Date published: 2024-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by Indythree from Unfair My computer has not been delivered but my time is already running on the smart friend benefit.
Date published: 2024-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by Theron56 from Quick answer I paid for six months to ask one question. The answer was your hard drive is bad so you should get a new computer. How do I get a return for the other five months?
Date published: 2023-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1108 from Work home Monica was great! HP service is awesome
Date published: 2023-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ntch from So dumb to ask now. Computer not even delivered, yet. I don't even have my computer, yet. How do you think I can give a review? So dumb to ask me now. Ask me in 6 months and I might give you a rating.
Date published: 2023-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by tt2883 from virus I spent 2 hours saturday and 6 hours sunday to get my laptop to get of virus. The laptop is still not working and the system is still tell me that I have issues.
Date published: 2023-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP printer wireless communication problems Only purchased because I thought thiis might help solve my printer problem. Didn't help at all and is a waste of moneu
Date published: 2023-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Julia in Seattle from Couldn't do it without Smart Friend Smart Friend people always know really quickly what needs to be done and how to do it.
Date published: 2023-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by Riz S from Smart Friendly- Really??? Very limited scope of services. An independent tech support provider will be better value for your money.
Date published: 2023-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by We shall see from Your pushing me to rate your Smart Friend Service I went through three poorly trained people before ANY of them could/would tell me my lap top was "too old" to purchase an extended warranty for. WELL over an hour and NONE of them were able or willing to simply state, "we don't sell warranties for our products after four years from the date of purchase". How this "Smart Friend Service" works or whether it's worth it or not, I have no idea as I have not even read it yet. I wanted another year of warranty coverage because this IS an HP and it HAS required warranty repair repeatedly. So, your "sales people" are fearful of admitting you don't want to cover your shoddy merchandise longer than four years. I shall make EVERY effort to NEVER purchase an HP ANYTHING.
Date published: 2023-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plea from Peace I have not used it yet but peace of mind is there
Date published: 2023-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mike Cro from RIP OFF I purchased this product telling them I needed help with a server after 4 different people got involved they advised me they do not support servers & that I can not have a refund.
Date published: 2023-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by Kathryn 631 from HP I called and requested this to be canceled and refund my money. HP did a BIOS update which failed. Since I didn't have an extended warranty on the computer your comoany feels that it is my problem. Therefore, I would be unable to use this service. Please note it took just over an hour and 5 different people to accomplish this request.
Date published: 2023-09-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by SteveDFW from HP 6 month SmartFriend Service I rate this as a 1 only because I have not used this as of yet. It may very well be worth the cost in the future but as of now I can not rate it
Date published: 2023-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from ??? I felt protected after your tech support fixed something I could not resolve by myself, due to my age and technical background
Date published: 2023-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Michela from NICE! So far so good. Lightweight, for the size. Quick setup. Easy to follow instructions. I just wish that the print on the paper users guide was bigger. I am OLD! lol
Date published: 2023-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from I got quick and expert help from each department that I dealt with. If you are having problems with your HP printer and if there is a fix, the folk in the printer department will definitely solve your issue. very friendly and very helpful. Go directly to them and bypass other departments.
Date published: 2023-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by G. Christman from Agent Mandeep Customer Service representative Mandeep helped me where everyone before him were unknowledgeable . Because of his expertise I was able to restore my HP 27-a230 !
Date published: 2023-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by jorja1 from Computer Works Alot Beter. Did a great job cleaning up my computer.
Date published: 2023-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great Assistance! Put yourself in Expert Care Very Professional and Knowledgable
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by RH2023 from Caveat Emptor I had a lightly used HP 6950 printer. It was 5 years old. It stopped printing. The only way I could talk to someone in Tech Support was if I bought a 6 month or 1 year tech support subscription. I just wanted to pay for a 1 time, 1 call but I was told that would cost $99 where as a 6 month subscription was only $60. I paid the $60, called the tech support number and was told that my printer head had failed and that because my model printer was discontinued, HP no longer sold the printer head that I needed. The HP folks recommended that I buy a new printer. So I paid $60 only to be told HP no longer made the part I needed. I asked if they would apply the $60 I paid for 6 months of tech support to a new printer. HP said no. I was told the 6 month of support I just paid for could be used for my new printer. I told the HP Rep that was not helpful since a new printer comes with a 1 year warranty. HP used to be a great company that made great products. Neither is true any more. When the rep asked if I was ready to buy a new printer, I Informed them I was incredibly disappointed in HP and that I will be buying an EPSON printer. I bought a new EPSON printer and it’s GREAT. I will NEVER buy another HP product.
Date published: 2023-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anna, HP laserjet owner from Time consuming and not helpful The service is time consuming, every call in takes 45 minutes to several hours. There were instances where the issue wasn't even resolved. I had to pay two separate fees for the same service. My printer would work but go offline as soon as my computer restarts, then I'd have to call in again. Each person does something different. Overall, this has been super frustrating.
Date published: 2023-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Richard W. G. from "Excellent Service" The best thing I ever did was to get 6 months of SmartFriend Service. Without it, I don't think I would have been able to upgrade from Windows 10 to Windows 11.
Date published: 2023-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by CharlesDopke from Crap HP Service Do Not Waste Your Money. You will be dealing with numerous almost non English speaking Indians that know little or nothing. I talked to at least three support people each under a minute before the call was disconnected. The only emphasis from SmartFriend was to get a payment. If HP can sell a product in the USA they can afford to provide real support service in the USA too.
Date published: 2023-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from My Computer Needs & Wants From the moment I began processing my thoughts on what kind of computer I was exactly looking for I, with the assistance of one of your technicians, finally nailed down pretty much what I needed and wanted.
Date published: 2023-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by R Smith from Cannot reach anyone and I paid fort his help Cannot reach anyone and I paid for this help
Date published: 2023-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by CPJJ from SmartFriend Service Could not have moved files without this.
Date published: 2023-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from SMART FRIEND IS FOR DUMB PEOPLE (SPECIFICALLY ME!). SMART FRIEND IS WELL WORTH THE NOMINAL CHARGE!
Date published: 2022-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Redboots from Great service Prompt, competent, help. Much appreciated.
Date published: 2022-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by RBRS from Couldn't recognize my account and gave bad info So far have not helped and actually gave contadicting information from what I recieved from Laplink after that ended up solving the problem
Date published: 2022-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by HP's New Friend from The Tech Wizards at HP Win! Very happy with your service!
Date published: 2022-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by Smart Friend not smart from Smart Friend is Difficult to use they never help very difficult to use they never are able to verfy my member ship it takes that 30 mins to confirm i am a paid member then their website is down and they never get to the problem at hand
Date published: 2022-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ms. D. from Paid for it - in case computer brakes I don't know how to use this service
Date published: 2022-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by JYates from Reliable computer service Great so far
Date published: 2022-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by LTRII from Probably a waste of money. Staff not prepared to identify and resolve RealTek wi-fi adapter issue.
Date published: 2022-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cherrygirl from HP Purchase Fast to learn easy to set up programs
Date published: 2022-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sissy97 from Excellent Help The Friends are very knowledgeable and friendly. An excellent resource to set up a new computer and roust out any bugs! I also have a Friends account for my main desktop and am very reassured that glitches can be quickly resolved. Highly recommended by me!
Date published: 2022-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rachet from HP ENVY Laptop 17t-ch100 I recently purchased an HP ENVYLaptop 17t-ch100 for my daughters' masters work and she loves it! The 17" screen is awesome and can preview things she couldn't on her old machine. It contains a 4 cell battery as opposed to a 3 cell and with the Intel Core i7-1195G7 with turbo boost it functions flawlessly. It's got plenty of ram and storage space. All in all I strongley recommend it!
Date published: 2022-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Name is in the paper work from Great source for dealing with software issues. So far, I’ve found it to be excellent and completely lives up to my expectations…
Date published: 2022-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by JMIG from Purchase of HP Gaming PC Horrible ordering/cancellation experience. Will not buy an other HP PC product ever!
Date published: 2022-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marisela K from Helpful Has been helpful so far with helping for starting everything to begin!
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by LaUra552022 from Useless service not worth it, computer never arrived but smartfriend service still charged
Date published: 2022-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by LetsGetAlong from Hard to use SmartFriend Its to hard to use. Always got to give out seria #s to everyone on the phone. WHEN you can get SOMEONE on the phone
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hebco from Where is the service?? This sounded like a good idea but I have no information on how to use this service. I reached out to HP after receiving my new laptop and was assigned a case number. After I was told that they could not help me linking my mouse to the new laptop. I was told I would have to pay for help. Very disappointed
Date published: 2022-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Poor Smart Friend Service SmartFriend charges you $46 a month even if you don’t sign up with them and I don’t need their service. They don’t answer emails and when you call and speak to someone they try to sell you more accessories. Horrible company!!!
Date published: 2022-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by Patricia G from I don't know how to contact this service. I never heard from this service and I can use the help.
Date published: 2022-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by coachsteele from 6 Month SmarFriend Service We have not figured out how to connect with this service and have ben unable to connect with HP on this. Not worth the money we paid, if we cannot use the service.
Date published: 2022-01-26
  • y_2024, m_7, d_14, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_111, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_UC5Y5E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I have a SmartFriend Service Agreement with a monthly subscription and am interested in learning the cost of a six month and one year plan. I would guess those plans would provide the same coverage and be more cost effective.

Asked by: Karen G,
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend reaching out to HP Smart Friend at (844) 814-1800 for further assistance.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-11

Also, why is it so difficult to locate information on my SmartFriend Agreement Plan? I am trying to locate the page that shows my monthly payment for accounting purposes.

Asked by: Karen G,
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend reaching out to HP Smart Friend at (844) 814-1800 for further assistance.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-11

I downloaded MF5900dw print drivers for my Canon laser printer. I am able to print a test page from the Canon software but can not print from Microsoftware Office, Google email or anything else. I tried wireless setup and cable neither one worked.

Asked by: Bruce73
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support at http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2023-03-02
  • y_2024, m_7, d_14, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_en_US, sid_UC5Y5E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT