• This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, photo, wireless
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 9.5 ppm (black), up to 6.8 ppm (color)
  • Auto duplex printing; Scan to email; Borderless printing
  • Instant Ink ready; High yield ink available
HP ENVY 4520 All-in-One Printer is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 286.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_27, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_262
  • loc_en_US, sid_F0V69A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 1 out of 5 by whydoIneedanickname455 from Very disappointed I bought this about 3 months ago to replace my old HP Envy 4500 that had developed a problem after years of use. I have been buying HP printers since the 90's and just wanted something reliable. The computer cannot communicate with the printer unless I power cycle the printer. It appears to be on but will not communicate with our computers until I turn it off and back on. I believe the problem is the printer goes in to power saving mode, disabling communications. I have tried reinstalling the software but it does not help. I have not been able to find any way to disable this feature.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cooke B560 from I bought this about 2 months ago and have enjoyed printing many family photos on it.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Nickname J from Great features! I bought this a month ago and am so happy that I did...
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by 7564 from Perfect Bought it recently and I love it. Scans to my Apple products with clarity. 10/10
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by Oakley from Copier way too slow I bought this because my 5530 ceased to connct to the computer and it was the same size. However, the display is smaller, numbers not discrete, and it takes 6 minutes to make a copy.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by wrk00 from Nice but ink is MAJOR racket Love the printer, nice look, does the job...ink continues to be the issue...
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hagar Kjaer from Great features This is my second unit. Bought it for my cabin. Low volume user so I've connected both with HP Intstant Ink. Really like the automatic back to back print feature.
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by se02 from User friendly Love my new printer and how easy it is to use. Glad I bought it!
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by no nickname for this from I love that it prints on both sides. I am having trouble printing 4X6 photos in color.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by lee from mi from love it Just what I wanted and more. thaks HP for another great item
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Angela23 from works very well I bought this printer for my granddaughter's birthday. I had sent her an old laptop (HP) and then purchased her this printer. I visited her last month, and used it myself. She can print pictures directly from her phone of her 2 year old, and can print from the laptop, that I helped hook up, and showed her how the software works.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by Greeneyes from Would love color Having a problem with printing. Won’t print color. Worked when first installed. Cartridge is also new.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will456 from Lives up to its reputation You can truly "set it up and forget it!". It is faithfully waiting, ready for any print job you send. Trouble free.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rays printer from Example: Great features! It is a decent printer for the money. I would like to have been able to scan and save more than one document at a time. Highlights of printer did not say that you could only scan one doc. at a time. I would have spent a little more for this feature if I had known.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by JCS1 from Works great! Easy to set up and install. I like the horizontal feed tray.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walt72 from Great Machine!!!!! Bought this a few months ago and couldn't be happier. The printer was so easy to set up. I'm not very knowledgeable about computers, etc. but the instructions are very clear.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mortimer 55 from Easy set up - works great. This printer was very easy to set up for my iPad and even easier for everyone else in the house. Print quality is excellent, and HP cartridge service makes it even better.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grmpa from Good features Greate buy and value great features and design for user
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Llbarm from So far so good! This is our second HP printer. I bought this a few months ago, and so far I really like it! Very easy to set up, and setting up the wireless feature was a breeze! Very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by just me from disapointed the prints and copies are wonderful but the paper system is really hard to work - I'm handicapped and I really have to fight with it but even those in the house that aren't handicapped have issue pulling the drawer out, also the little touch screen is really sensitive so my shaky hands don't get along well - the copy feature is really slow in printing - like I said the print quality is excellent
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by bbixby from Lasted 5 months I have bought HP inkjets for over 20 years. The last two finally broke me of ever buying not only another HP printer, but another inkjet ever again. Changed ink cartridge and cannot print a clean page. Clean print cartridge 8 times, same result. Bought a laser jet (non HP brand) and so far it is the best printer I ever purchased. Wasted money and time, but won't make that mistake ever again. I will no longer be scammed.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by AJJW from Two-Sided Printing Default This printer prints two-sided and nothing I have tried makes it do otherwise. Other than printing the entire document--and I mean the entire doc. It won't let you select certain pages in the full ink mode. Truly aggravating.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by JollyRoger83 from I have not used it long enough to rate it. I have been having problems with the scanning feature, I get a grey line at the end of the scan instead of a complete section that I have outlined. I have had to turn it off and on because it will not always connect, this happens right in the middle af a scanning session.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bettie777 from So glad I chose this printer it's just what I need The printer was so easy to set up and so easy to use. It's half the size of my last printer plus it has more options. I'm very pleased with my new printer. It's Amazing!
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by mo3063 from So far printer works well The only problem I have is the paper holder is smaller than my previous printer which means more trips to fill.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Susan1976 from LOVE IT I love how easy it is to use and how quickly it prints. Its perfect for my small business and does everything I need it too
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shooter03 from Great for the price Very easy to set up. Works great it is a little slow but by far the best printer I ever had !!
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by silvinski from I love it!! Until now everything is so perfect and all the features are amazing!!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ikaikanick123 from Amazing Product. Impressed and satisfied!!! I have never had a printer that was this easy to set up, move, fill, replace cartridges, and even have the support it needed from HP. I have worked around over 80+ printers and this is a very functional, operational, quick response, and effective printer, with a lot of power, great graphic printing options, and over all a great All-in-One Printer. Its not the smallest of things, but it is functional, and does everything I need to have it do, except Fax, which is a whole different story. Thanks HP, keep up the great product creations!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by Barb1x from ok, not great I have always used HP printers. I needed to replace my old printer and the first one had so many bells and whistles it was too confusing for me. Besides that it had a part that had fallen off and would not work right. So it went back. I then ordered the Envy 4520. Since the paper drawer is on the bottom of the printer I find I have to physically lift the printer up when I have to change the paper. I make alot of greeting cards and they have to be flipped over and fed through one at a time so this was a big inconvenience. I notice there are rubber feet on the back of the printer I wonder if the front needs that too? I finally found something to slide underneath that lifts the front up so I don't have to lift the printer but now the printer tilts up slightly which I hope does not cause a problem with performance. So far it has been ok. I also have to say that it is very hard to find technical help when you need it. Very little instruction comes with these new printers. Not everyone is that computer savvy. I loved my 5 yr old printer, wish you still had that. Not really happy with this but I guess I will just give it a chance.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by Elvi from Very good It is excellent, but I do not give it 5 stars because it needs at least one USB port is very necessary if you want to scan directly to a pen drive.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shantee18 from Happy but not thrilled I love everything about this printer with the exception of I am unable to make copies of multiple pages at one time. I have to load to the top scanner one sheet at a time. Other than that, this is a great product.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by mirshaber7602 from I love my new printer I love that i have an all in one... added bonus was a touch screen.. it was super easy to set up and add to my hp laptop....
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vtalarie from I love it. I love the print quality and the other features. I also love the ink service where the printer orders it for you. Great deal for the money. No more running to the store for ink.
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by j20874 from Reliable printer My Envy 4520 printer is a great multi-function device. I use it frequently for copying and scanning. Really enjoy this printer.
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by OldCrow66 from needed assistance setting up diff to set up- needed young help for wireless set up
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goofy2018 from Great product This printer is awesome. Very slim and compact yet has all the features a home would need.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by MaryChris86 from My second Envy, old one 8 years old. To print, copy, and scan, this one can't be beat. Also wireless and easy setup.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by goodsenseshopper from Does it all - great look - great price! I have found this printer to be fast and quiet and look forward to enjoying all the other features of scanning, copying and photo printing. All in one device!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by OldnCreaky from As advertised Printer functions as expected. Set up was easy, instructions very user friendly. I am pleased with the Envy 4520.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ric721 from HP printer This Printer is the EASIEST PRINTER I 've ever owned...so far it has out performed the printers I've had in the past..No worries No issues...I recommend it very highly
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by LBT123 from Nice printer I love the double sided printing option for this printer.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by MANUEL2A from I HAD A HP PHOTOSMART 2610 xi FOR MANY YEARS I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE OLD HP PHOTOSMART 2610 XI, SO I HAVE TO SEE IF THIS HP ENVY4520, GIVES ME THE SAME SERVICE I GOT BEFORE.
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeal from Great printer Great printer at an excellent price! And, I just love HP support. They are always so helpful.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ralis from I love my HP Envy 4520 A must Have! Wi-Fi printer from ur computer, laptop and ur phone... Amazing quality. Pictures comes out great. And signing up with hp-ink helps so much to where you never forget to order ink. It does it for you when your almost to the point where your going to need more. I love my HP products!!!!
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by IntruderFL from Excellent product, like all other HP products. Excellent quality, just like all other HP products.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by jl1687 from Best Printer and Ink This is the best printer I’ve ever owned. Easy to connect all my devices and print and I love the instant ink plan!
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Argie from Another great Printer by HP it has been 10 years since I purchased a printer (also from HP) until it broke, so I decided to buy another HP printer mainly because they have very good products that last a long time and have affordable supplies such as ink. Of course 10 years is a long time technologically speaking and I was amazed at the beauty of this printer! It works smoothly and fast. The setup was very simple if you follow instructions and you are good to go. I don't even have to turn my computer on if I want to print from my cell phone after I downloaded the HP App. Most important, I was prepared to spend quite a bit of money for a basic All-In-One printer, and was stoked when I found this one was affordable and high quality. It had all of the features I needed and at a great price, but more surprising is the way it works. I love it and I love everything HP. I recommend it.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blanco43 from Good printer for a home usage I have been using this printer for almost a month now and not have any issue with it. I recommend for a home usage in where extreme quality of the printer is not necessary. Good value for the money paid.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sam80 from Awesome Printer! I am amazed at how efficient this printer is! I have not encountered any problems with it.
Date published: 2018-02-20
  • y_2024, m_2, d_27, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_262
  • loc_en_US, sid_F0V69A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will this printer print on transparency paper??

Asked by: ASUCostumes
This HP ENVY 4520 All-in-One Printer will be compatible with any media type, even transparencies, that are designed to work with inkjet printers and have no more than a 24lb paper weight.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-07-21

how do i scan

Asked by: the axe
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-envy-4520-all-in-one-printer-series/5447920/document/ish_2275901-2074064-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this an ink jet printer ? 

Asked by: Kendra1
Thank you for your question, the HP ENVY 4520 All-in-One Printer is an inkjet printer.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-11-21

When I first got my HPEnvy4520 it worked like a charm...it must have been very easy to set up because a few w eeks ago I moved it to a different room and now I can't get it to print wireless or connected to printer.

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi and thanks for your question! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

My HP 4520 needs replacing - - and I love it. What HP printer comes closest to the 4520? Usage is for home only - - nothing heavy.

Asked by: marlene9446
Hello, Marlene. Thanks for your question. I would recommend looking at the HP Envy 6055e printer. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-06-17

where is the online diagnostics for my HP Envy 4520

Asked by: dzip
Hello. Thanks for your question. We are sorry to hear about your issue. If you have a Windows computer, we recommend trying to use the HP Print and Scan Doctor to diagnose the issue: https://support.hp.com/us-en/help/printscandoctor If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-29

Are there any new drivers available for this printer? Mine is currently only printing in black and white (repeatedly without prompting as well). I have shut it down and rebooted it. Double checked my laptop in it saying to print in color, but nothing.

Asked by: teacher4ever
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

My printer keeps telling me to clear a paper jam when there isn’t one. How can I resolve this?

Asked by: Sheretko
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_28, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_F0V69A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT