ENERGY STAR | Home and home office

HP ENVY 5540 All-in-One Printer

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, photo, Web, wireless
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 12 ppm (black), up to 8 ppm (color)
  • Scan to email; Auto duplex printing; Borderless printing; Photo tray
  • High yield ink available; Instant Ink eligible
HP ENVY 5540 All-in-One Printer is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 67.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_20, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_K7C85A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 1 out of 5 by LP775 from Waste of Money I bought this just over a year ago, it hasn't printed in colour for 9 months despite sending it back for repair, it hardly ever connects wirelessly with out turning off / on or trouble shooting, it doesn't recognise the photo tray despite sending back for repair. When I collected it for repair the chap I spoke to said that HP's are not built to last ! More than a year would have been good.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by CB123 from Worst printer ever Really bad print quality, expensive ink, bad paper feeder, keeps getting the "paper tray is empty" error message (even tough it is full).
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by MaryCC from Great Printer Perfect printer for those that have a faster wireless router and not a lot of choices in regards to printer compatibility, Its a great printer.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Picprint from Excellent home office printer Why not buy direct when you can? I did and the experience was great and the printer arrived sooner than promised
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by BillyL1950 from Great printer for the price Really impressed with the features and I love being able to sign up for instant ink!! This printer really does everything and now I can print directly from my iPhone.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jane80 from product works well printer works well for my use.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by NumberOne from Excellent, I couldn't be happier. The printer has everything you need and more
Date published: 2017-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kim920 from The product is a great addition for all my needs What a great printer- the quality is wonderful!!
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by CTFirst from Excellent with HP Instant Ink This printer is everything it was advertised to be. Set-up was extremely simple and I've been printing like crazy. The HP Instant ink system is absolutely perfect for elementary teachers who spend so much of their own money to print things in color. If you are into Teachers Pay Teachers and buy many beautiful color items from there, you need a printer like this and Instant Ink!
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frampton54 from Excellent printer and value Bought it on sale, arrived in a timely manner. Very easy to set up, and very intuitive to use. Overall, very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend for home use.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by jimbo55409999 from Disappointed Did not print. had to spend money to get it fixed. then would only print black and white. seemed to be a nice printer but did not work.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lesa12 from LOVE HP I have always purchased an Hp printer! They just fit my needs and they work well. This printer, Hp Envy 5540 is EVERYTHING! I love, love, love it! It prints exceptionally well. I can even print quality photos! To get the BEST out of your purchase I would recommend the Instant ink plan!!!
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by BJAKP from Great printer, especially for the sale price! I love the copier and scanner features of this printer! Never had that on my old HP.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by richardo19 from The prinrter was easy to install. Product was all I expected.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pat2 from Practical, Functional Printer After a bout with a printer from a well-known computer merchant, I gave HP Envy a try. So far, I am pleased with no regrets.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frank2 from Good product for the money Just received the printer and the features and functions are what I needed. The printer has met all my expectations. Connectivity is good and prints quickly.
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by SusieQ44 from This printer is fast. I love the 2 sided print feature.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lsim1331 from This is a great product This printer is a fast working machine and very easy to setup and use. I am a special education teacher, so I enrolled in the instant ink and I am floored at how amazing both products work! This printer had great features, easily maneuverable, and does exactly what it says it Will! I definitely recommend!
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Emily0346 from This product is wonderful This will be my first year as a teacher. When I purchased this product I was relying heavily on it, for school purposes which requires a lot of printing. The printer has been very useful and effective. Also, it was a very easy set up! I would recommend this printer to anybody!
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by GCSANM from My new HP Envy 5540 printer is Awesome! Installation was quick and easy, sending print jobs is lightning fast, and print quality is crisp and clear. I am extremely happy with this printer.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by SLOWPRINTING from easy to set up but much slower than old printer my summary describes it. to only problem is speed. I find myself waiting for printer to start printing. Once I get use to this, no problem. It does several things better than old printer.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stan7391 from Printer works as expected and needed Printer does the work for 300 pages/month.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by gf18 from Great features, but only average performance. Recently had to replace my HP printer because of a broken part, but was happy to find the Envy 5440 and all it's updated features such as wifi printing right off my phone. I really love this convenience. However, the performance on this printer is lacking compared to my old HP All-in-One. First, I cannot get the scanner to scan through wifi. I have yet to try wired. Second, it does not feed well from the photo tray and paper tray. It keeps telling me to add paper but there is plenty of paper in both trays. I have had to shut it down and restart to get it to work properly. So far I have only had this printer a couple weeks, I am hoping this printer will be as reliable as my old HP.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by charlie96 from Wonderful, simple to use, quiet, printer. Love the double sided printing feature!
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by cjds from Very good when it connects When it works, the printer is quite good with excellent print quality. Scan quality good; copy feature is somewhat slow but good result. My issue has been that it occasionally just won't print and I have to reboot or worse. One day the error messages were that the computer could not find the printer. It took several hours, ultimately having to uninstall and reinstall from the cd. It may partly be my lack of expertise in working with compers/internet instructions etc., but one thing I do not understand is why it just stops being connected. One day it is fine; then the next day it won't print...has happened three times since I got it in April. I bought it because it was the only one that would fit in the available space I had for a printer, so I was at least happy to find one. I had an HP Photosmart before which I really liked but no longer available. I have not tried remote printing from my phone or iPad, so have no feedback on that feature.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by CurtnMarie from Excellent printer. I like the the wifi capabilities and printer features.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bettysgirl from Fast ship to, easy to install, compact Fast shipping, easy to install, compact yet all the features I need. I would recommend this printer for the home office
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by TBDL from Easy on screen setup Nice scanning feature from your laptop with wireless
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by FrankGee from Great bang for the buck. I've owned MANY printers in my computer lifetime, and I must say that this is probably the best ever. Setup was amazingly simple, print quality is outstanding. The ink replacement program is a great feature also. OVerall, I would give this printer 5 stars Plus.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by rlanser579 from So far, so good. Have always been happy with HP products. Would not consider another brand especially for printer.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by PBSag from This product has good features but had issues Since the day we purchased this printer, we have been unable to print on a consistent basis. After calling the local store where it was purchased to calling HP support, the problem continues. It has been narrowed down to the sleep mode setting. After the printer is down for any length of time, it will not print. The solution is to unplug the printer for a few moments and then try again. HP support was very helpful and did their best to help. I will be returning this to the store and will look for a different model.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by ConstantCarol from An excellent all around printer/scanner!! Great new features. Very logical. I had the previous model but this much improved....except it still "groans" a bit when printing. But I highly recommend and the price is right!!
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ruafox from Great printer It practically installed itself and I was able to print immediately. I have also used the copier & scanner features and all works great! I have not tried printing from my phone and don't know that I will but it is nice to know the capability is there.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rupee3 from This product has very great features Love the new printer, can even print card envelopes with it, also makes great photos, Love that it only takes two ink cartridges, love HP products
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by Garyokie from Overall A Good Printer Was on sale, and a good buy. Very easy setup. First couple of times it printed was pretty quiet... after that it is one of the noisiest printers I have ever owned.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by no1always from This product has excellent features. I am completely satisfied.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by LHprint from printer HP envy 5540 review Printer gives great quality prints, scanning, easy, no problem. Great printer.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Judythe from Love this all-in-one printer This all in one printer is so easy to use with good quality results, and a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by KenWTolOH from Good Product Easy to install and good value
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by jake34 from printer does its basic job this is the same printer as the on I replaced. trouble is this one does not scan to a pdf like the other one. very frustrating, seeing that I emailed hp and never got ananswer
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by havvy4 from This seems to be an average printer at best. This is the 1st HP product that I've ever had & will be my last. Hook up was extremely difficult,& I had to have a lot of help. Guess u learn from your mistakes in life & I've learned an important lesson from this experience.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Barbara75 from Very happy with this printer The HP Envy is a wonderful printer. Easy to use and exactly as advertised. Would recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by PrintingPaul from What I Wanted was What I Got It was easy to set up, the wireless works flawlessly, it prints and duplexes, scans, and copies. Compact and well-priced.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jude47 from Good quality machine! This provides quick copies and printing. A great machine loaded with value for the price. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by Porky from Worthwhile printer This is a nice printer that does everything that I need and want to do. The price was right and the delivery was quick. I have used HP printers for a long time and this is one that continues to show they're improving products over the years. Will no doubt continue to use HP printers because of the success that I've had with them.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by Jacci from I'm out of ink and in the club and none has been s I like the printer the color is nice it runs a bit slow also I paid to be in the ink program pains the fee and I have not be notified that any has been sent
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terri49 from Print From Your Smart Phone or Tablet. I Love This HP ENVY 5540 Printer IT Has More Ways To Use This Printer With All Your Device's.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by ndg11 from so far so good only had this a short time but it's far superior to it's predecessor! the features are meeting all my copying needs efficiently, quietly & faster! looking forward to all it can do and also the ink program seems like a wonderful no brainer to be signed up for!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by frogsoup from no problems so far I bought the wrong printer for my son for xmas but the problem was that I bought it at Walmart back in August during the school supply tax free weekend. When I gave it to him at xmas, he stated that he needed the wireless one, not the model I had bought. Walmart wouldn't take it back, although new in box, never used, and I had receipt, because the purchase was an electronic and made more than 60 days prior to date I was attempting to exchange it. I contacted HP and explained my dilemma and they sent me a prepaid label to ship it them, then issued me an HP.com store credit for the full purchase price, plus an additional $10 since the model I wanted was $10 higher at their web store than I could get it for at Best Buy or Walmart. The also shipped the replacement to me for free. They were prompt, friendly, genuine, and generous in every way.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by New42 from Easy to install/start This printer is very quiet.
Date published: 2017-04-17
  • y_2024, m_7, d_20, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_K7C85A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

How to tell which color is running low.

Asked by: Marko8
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions: https://bit.ly/3Y7M74D
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-28

When attempting to sign in how do you enter the number 8? Touch screen shows 1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-0

Asked by: joe115
Hello. Thanks for your question. Try doing a long press on the 7-8. The 8 should pop up or allow you to choose the 8. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-09-18

I had to install a new wifi address and I need to know how to set up my Envy 5540 to my new wifi address

Asked by: Denny51
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2023-05-27

when was hp envy 5540 discontinued - date

Asked by: chuckhue
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP ENVY 5540 All-in-One Printer was discontinued in 2015.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-04-28
  • y_2024, m_7, d_20, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_K7C85A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 61ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT