• This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, photo, wireless
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 8.8 ppm (black), up to 5.2 ppm (color)
  • Scan to email; Auto duplex printing; Borderless printing
  • High yield ink available; Instant Ink eligible
HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 127.
  • y_2024, m_6, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_A9T80A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by Earthgarden from Easy, great printer I like this HP Envy a lot. I've had mine for about 4 years. I love that it scans, prints, copies. I use it all the time. I do wish it would scan a stack of papers rather than one at a time. But the individual pages scanned can be combined into one doc - it's just that you have to take individually scan each pg. It has worked well for me, and I actually scanned every paper I had on file, digitizing my paperwork - bank stmts, house papers, etc, etc. so that I don't have to store them anymore. It's been a workhorse for me!
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by jak312 from It's an excellent all-around printer Not photo quality, but for everyday use, it's excellent. I wish it had a built-in fax like my last HP all-in-one. Otherwise, no complaints.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by cdukes1 from Not at all representative of HP qualityI I tried to work through some of the problems but have now had it. In the beginning this 4500 All in one would print one of two pages and stop. I would have to print the second page separately. Now it will not print at all. It continually request more paper so it can realign. I'm very unhappy with this printer.
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by tgarden from Good value for the price This printer does everything I need it to do. The only drawback is that it uses a lot of ink and the ink is very pricey.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sket from Excellent printer for the price As stated, for the price this is an outstanding all-in-one wireless printer. Print quality is excellent. Setup and wireless connection is very easy. The only part of the setup that is a bit cumbersome is the data entry of things like the network's password. You have to step through the keyboard one character at a time to select each individual character of the password as you enter it. Again, though, you can't beat it for the price.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by LunaTick from Very convenient I like the convenience of being able to print not only from my PC. I've printed wirelessly from my laptop and my smart phone.
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by bigjohn51 from Fair in terms of setup and ongoing operation I had to get HP chat help to get it to print whole multi-page documents; it was failing to print the first 2-3 pages. It drops connectivity fairly frequently and has to be shutdown and rebooted. The color cartridge is all-in-one so when any one of the 3 colors is low you have to replace all 3. The paper trap capacity is small.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by babyboii915 from was expecting a better prodcut I was so happy to get my new printer in the mail, but now that i have received it I wish i would have chosen a different product .
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by minimax7 from Good....except Cannot select black ink only and draft mode function as preferences. Must change preferences every time I print.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by PrinterHP4500 from Product is everything advertised Printer was easy to set up and has met all the family needs. Wireless works as advertised.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by ThomasLHill from HP 4500 Envy must make other printers envious. I have used my new HP Envy 4500 for three weeks now. What an exceptional product. Does not matter if I am printing charts off of my PC, text from my phone or pages of research on Multiple Sclerosis the HP Envy 4500 is up to the job. Brilliant colors and alignment of text are simply expected with this inexpensive printer.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dieter from Great feaures, modern design My HP 1300 "expired" after 10 years of good service. This printer is superior to the one I had, my only problem is what to do with all the unused new printer cartridges I still have from the old printer
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by azanot from Great for home use scanner is fast and I love its automatic drop into my computer folder feature. printing borderless is a great feature as well, did all of our wedding invitations
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by WildBill42 from Really like this printer Prior to the purchase I wasn't sure what features I wanted, but after getting the printer set up it was exactly what I needed, especially for the price. I am truly impressed with this printer.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Delasangre from Great printer for home I love this printer, it does everything I need it to and maybe a bit more. My only complaint is that to input a password for a wifi network is a pain in the rear, there needs to be a better way vs mashing the arrow key up and down going back and forth until you get all the letters. HP in general is a great company, my grandmother and mom both used to work for them and at first that is why I bought their products but when I watched my laptops outlast other brands I stuck with them and they never let me down!
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nerd2 from A great printer for the price I have had the ENVY 4500 for several months and not had any problems with it. It prints great wireless from computers and IPAD. Color prints look very nice. You cannot beat this printer for the price paid.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by JAWW from GREAT MACHINE MY ENVY 4500 E PRINTER IS A GREAT PRINTER PRINTS FINE AND THE KEEP FILL INK SUPPLY IS NOT BAD EITHER , IT IS TOPS, LIKE MY PRINTER JWW
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ladeda123 from Good printer and copier I'm sure it is a good printer even though I have not as yet been able to fully install it and may never because of reasons I don't know. And these reasons were there before I got the new printer
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marshal536 from Great printer. This printer does everything I need at home. Draft mode prints as well as the normal mode on my old printer. Saves a lot of ink. Saves paper too with the two sided print feature.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jim45 from Printer 4500 Bought this for my mother as a present for her 90th birthday. She is very happy with it and it's doing an outstanding job for her. Easy to use, easy to install.....
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pareed from LOOSES BLAKE INK GOT THIS PRINTER LESS THAN 4 MONTHS OLD AND HAVE REPLACED BLAKE INK 3 TIME AND HAVE LESS THAN 300 COPYES MADE ? HOT LINE GAVE ME SOMETHING TO CHECK WILL SEE
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Malicoat78 from This is a exellent printer seems to print good, with good quality ,, i would recommend this printer to anyone,
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by jrigadoon from Excellent Product I am NOT a techy person, however had no problem connecting printer via WIFI to my Surface 2. It is an excellent product with high quality print. HP is my go to for printers, however the design of this one is what caught my eye originally.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert92 from Low cost, good performance Bought as a second printer/copier. Needed a flat top copier when my old one died. This fits the bill. Compac sized, quite, easy to use.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by hployalista1 from better than you'd expect for the price Needed color scanning/copying at work since company color printer died and will not be replaced (I need professional look for customer-facing documents). Bought the envy 4500 and expected fairly decent docs. Wrong! Excellent color and sharpness - hard to tell an original color print from the color copy. Excellent investment (and easy to use, too). Ok, I can think of one negative - kind of loud - but then, even the expensive desktop printers are loud. Seriously thinking of replacing my home 6100 with another envy 4500.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by RJfromDC from Great small printer Best printer I have ever had for the price.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lucinda82 from It's awesome! I really liked my previous HP printer which had become weary and more trouble than it was worth. I postponed buying a new one but finally ran out of excuses and started some serious shopping. My choice couldn't have been wiser or luckier. This HP ENVY is everything I ever wanted and MORE. Now I'm wondering why I waited so long to purchase the inevitable replacement. Thanks, HP, once again for providing a truly awesome product!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by BBWolf from Printer just works After my last HP printer I swore I'd never get another. I'm glad I tried this one. Printer basically just worked. Set up was relatively simple and the configuration just worked, which is what I expect. Print quality is very good and speed is fine for my home needs. Scanner works very easily and works with the HP s/w and other packages. I don't print out a lot of stuff from home so I don't know how long the cartridges will last but so far no complaints.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tim68 from Great Product and Price too No complaints at all. Works like it should and affordably priced. So far it has been nothing short of just GREAT!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Katyb4383 from The HP Envy 4500 - Just what I needed! I looked at several printers before my purchase. I really wanted to stay with HP because I had been so happy with my previous printer. When I found the Envy 4500 e-All-in-One, it had all the features that I was looking for. (print, copy, scan, photo) The printer was easy to set up, and works great! I have been using mine for about a month now, and I like it more each day. It has good quality print with both the black and color ink. It also prints multiple copies much more quickly than I expected.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joan35 from Small and efficient printer I've always liked HP printers and have had several. This was an ideal size for the kitchen where I keep my new HP laptop. It's quick and efficient. Now I have two HP computers and each one has it's own printer.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Merry5 from Good price for what you need, not what you don't The Envy 4500 is a really good home scaled system for routine small job printing and scanning receipts for my expense reports. The color prints are crystal clear and on the fancy photo paper look just as nice as prints from the lab used to. What it does not have - which really just means you don't have to pay for - is automated 2 sided printing and a document feed system. I don't need that stuff, so I really like that I get all the features I do want, and the fantastic HP quality, in a low cost, just does what you need package.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bill3699 from HP Envy 4500 I'm not a printer guy, but this is the best printer I've ever owned. The wireless feature lets me use it on multiple printers. Great feature. Very compact.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tennisbum11746 from Product is easy to use Easy to set up but kept going off wifi network. I found out how to stop that and it now works great. Small problem with setting up eprint
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by DdLM from Everythings works. Doesn't take up much space and it works. What more can you ask.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by ITLO99 from Poor operating instructions and tutorals!!!! Printer slow on start up, confusing on function operations. Not what expected based on HP rep recomendation. With in 10 after purchase HP lowered price, took me 3 calls to get "price guarantee" refund! Have used HP printers for years, but disappointed in this one.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by WinniethePooh from OWN THREE!!! I own a medium size business and have had every printer possible at one time or another. I have larger more complex units for heavy lifting, but have purchased three of these units since the first one a yr ago. We use these at our satellite offices and they are just THE BEST! Easy setup, wireless works well, fantastic size...I really can't say enough good. BUY ONE....NOW:) MarkyMark
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chevy8002 from Good product for a good price. I am very pleased with how easy this was to connect to my computer and set up. It has all the features I was looking for and at a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by rude12 from Great machine for personal home use this is a great printer. Only complaint might be that when you turn it on, it seems to take a bit longer to go "ready", compared to my old HP printer, but it is still a great box..
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by GEcolumbus from Printer works great. Printer has worked as adverstised. I have some issues with scanning via a wireless connection, but am able to work around it. May be a setting I don't have correct.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joe39 from Product has easy setup and my desired features The Envy 4500 E was delivered quickly, was essentially a plug in and use setup and has multi[ple features that I use regularly. It performs extremely well and provides first rate printed pages. Its capability to copy images from printed matter and transfer them to my computer is really easy compared to my previous device. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by Julissa11 from Has great features A product that functions well.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by MackAttack from Small enough to fit on small table' Clear print, fast, wireless. Shipped beautifully. Easy set-up.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by fwanny from Great value for the money The only thing this printer does "wrong" is that sometimes I program it to make multiple copies of a page, it stops before all the pages are done. I don't have a clue as to why it does that, but I can program it to print the rest of the job and it does that. It also doesn't print copies of multiple pages...no auto feed in other words. Otherwise, it's a great machine, especially for the price.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by robt47 from Easy to set up and use. I really like the wireless feature. Prints look great.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by warthog4 from meets all my needs efficiently and effectively this model does everything I want it to efficiently and effectively. also fits nicely into the cubby on my secretary and can be used without moving the sliding support. Also, the good size screen is a real bonus...no magnifying glasss required! :-)
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by dopy from worst printer ever owned slower then a snail, would never buy this product or recommend this to anyone
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by GrumpyBear from Great Features in a Small Space This wireless printer/copier/fax/scanner does exactly what I expect it to do. It was very easy to set-up and map to my laptop. I wanted a printer that had all these features but not to take up a lot of room, and this is the perfect solution. This printer is not used everyday, but when I do use it, it is ready!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by mmqqq from Easy to install and operate. Wireless great. Love the wireless capability and fit into small space.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by oldeagle from prepared for use My envy 4500 is my partner at my desk at work, its ready as I need it for very quick quality prints. This is a huge time saver as the large printers are at the other end of my work place. for its size the prints are outstanding in quality. In fact with some documents which need to be mailed my Envy 4500 is better than the expensive large printer in use by the company. the other plus is the ink supply, it lasts , lasts and lasts , My overall rating for this great little tool is OUTSTANDING
Date published: 2015-04-28
  • y_2024, m_6, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_127
  • loc_en_US, sid_A9T80A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Which HP printer has replaced the HP ENVY 4500. Mine is constantly showing cartridge problem and will not clear despite all efforts.

Asked by: Ringmer
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend looking at the HP Envy 6055e printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-02-11

my black ink cartridge 61XL gives me error message ?

Asked by: jody1914
We are sorry to hear about your issue. Here are some troubleshooting steps that you can try: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-envy-4500-e-all-in-one-printer-series/5304875/document/ish_1721989-1461843-16 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Where can I buy the 61 ink cartage

Asked by: Johnny Ray
The currently in stock HP 61 ink cartridges are available at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/sitesearch?keyword=61
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-30

How do I work the photo 

Asked by: Koolaid
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend using the HP Smart app. Here are some instructions: Here are some instructions: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_2387104-2310812-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-09-29

can I use 62xl in my 4500 printer?

Asked by: jehow
You can use the 61 standard and 61XL cartridges with that unit. The 62XL cartridges will not work. This link https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/SearchFinderView?SkuId=10320&associationType=INK%2CPAPER&grid=grid&storeId=10151 will give you all the options for it.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-02-20

how to find the printer address

Asked by: 2006
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions on "Find the IP address for an HP printer": https://support.hp.com/nz-en/document/ish_6039801-6039767-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-04-12

HOW DO I CONNECT THE PRINTER TO THE INTERNET>

Asked by: Big Phyll
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can set up your HP printer by going to http://123.hp.com/setup for the most current printer drivers. It will prompt you through the setup process.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

When was this product released? Will drivers work with windows 11?

Asked by: LCar
Thank you for your question! This HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer will be compatible with Windows 11. This HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer discontinued for a few years now. No exact release date is available.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_6, d_17, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_A9T80A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT