ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw Wireless Printer with Fax

  • Print, scan, copy, fax, wireless and auto 2-sided printing
  • Fast speeds for professional quality black & white prints
  • HP Wolf Pro security settings

HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw Wireless Printer with Fax is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 50.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_3G628F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rhurst8747 from Prints well, No software for scanning! No Scan software to use with Mac OS 14.4.1
Date published: 2024-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by smhammerle from Beautiful and Effective This printer is a welcome integral part of my office already. It’s pretty enough almos to look like an artistic piece of sculpture. It was delivered fast, securely and safely. Setup was easy and quick. Operating it is easy peasy. This printer is effective, efficient, speedy and does everything advertised (print, fax, copy, scan) very well. And printing is clean and clear. I highly recommend it, and love it, frankly. Zero problems.
Date published: 2024-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by KenT2019 from HP hits another home run I have been a steady HP Black and White laser printer user for years, and have NEVER had a problem. Software downloads easy, loads and only infrequently do I have paper jam issues. So far so good with this one as well. This is the 1st version I've had that duplexes, which is a big plus for me, who has historically manually fed every other page in order to print on both sides. Scanner is easy as well.
Date published: 2024-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Sleek Printer/scan/copy This printer replaced my Brother printer/scan/copy machine that I had for roughly 5 years. I use it for work so I didn't want to wait until it stopped working to get a replacement. First impressions, it was packed very well. It has instructions, but very minimal and I had issues with connecting it to my computer. I'm not exactly tech savvy but I eventually got it worked out. I really like the touch screen and the ease of printing so far. It is also fast and the print quality is good.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from I love it so far I just setup this printer and did a print and scan job so far. Setting the printer was very easy, wireless WiFi is what I did. Once I entered my WiFi info it took me to HP smart app which I already had downloaded it before and I did the update, after the update the machine was not responding, as I tried to print a test page and it timed out on me, so I turned it off and turned it back on and it started to respond. It printed beautifully and fast. I then printed about 20 pages and it was very quick about one min or less. I then used the scan option and worked great, scanned to usb drive The machine is small and powerful, has many options, there is a phone connection if you want to use fax option. I don’t believe I would use that option. Copying also works great. I purchased the xl ink cartridges $129 which should last me about 4000 pages. You can also subscribe to HP print service where they send you the cartridge at home. Overall I am happy with HP products as it never fails me. I been using them for over 30 years
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from High quality laser printer This is my first laser printer. The installation process has been a breeze. Simply follow the prompts on the printer's screen to seamlessly connect to the wifi network. Thanks to my prior download of the HP Smart software, locating the printer from the app was all that was needed. Once connected, I could print directly via wifi. The printing speed is impressively brisk, and the print quality is crystal clear! After approximately a week of use, my experience thus far has been exceptional. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jasperulla from Great Prints As a small business owner, finding the right tools to streamline operations is crucial. Recently, I upgraded my printing setup to the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw, and I must say, it has significantly enhanced my business productivity. Unboxing and Setup: Unboxing the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw was a breeze. The packaging was well-designed and protected the printer from any potential damage during transit. Upon opening the box, I found everything neatly organized, and the printer itself was securely packed with all accessories included. Setting it up was straightforward. The instructions provided were clear and concise, making the setup process hassle-free. Within 15 minutes, I had the printer up and running, connected to my network, and ready to print. Printing Speed: One of the standout features of the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw is its impressive printing speed. Whether it's printing documents, reports, this printer delivers fast results. I no longer have to wait around for documents to print, allowing me to focus more on important tasks at hand. This rapid printing capability has significantly boosted my overall efficiency, especially during my busy workday. Print Quality and Business Impact: The print quality of the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw is outstanding. It consistently produces crisp, sharp text and graphics, resulting in professional-looking documents every time. Whether it's black and white documents or color marketing materials, the clarity and accuracy of the prints are truly impressive. Recommendation: In conclusion, I recommend the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw to fellow small business owners looking to upgrade their printing capabilities. From its easy unboxing and setup process to its lightning-fast printing speed and exceptional print quality, this printer ticks all the boxes for efficiency and reliability.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by proav8r from High performance printing HP is known for their high quality technology and this product surely doesn't disappoint. Set up was a breeze with the HP Smart app which assists with connecting the printer to WiFi. This app also includes useful features such as mobile fax and scan and it can even automatically order toner when it is getting low. I was blown away by the printing speed and quality. This is an outstanding option for small businesses and home offices alike.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by jmtothel from HP LaserJet Printer Review I've used HP, Brother, Samsung, among other brands for home/office printers. I recently even switched my business printers to the HP enterprise models. For a home/small office printers, this is quite wonderful. The print speed for one is absolutely satisfactory, even when printing double sided documents. The printer itself was slightly larger than i expected but it's still a great size. I currently have it on the floor until I create a cabinet for it but it's not too heavy. It's not so large that it's a one and done, never moving again, kind of dimension. Print quality-wise, you really can't go wrong with LaserJet printers. I personally feel that's the way to go. HP does a great job at keeping the toner quality nice and crisp. I have yet to find any flaw on prints. The one downside to this printer, it could honestly be just a one-time defect, my touch display will experience intermittent banding. One day it'll be nice and bright, the next day the screen will be flickering with thin bands going across the screen. I've tried keeping the monitor in the housing slot/flat, I've tried keeping it raised, I've power cycled, ran software updates, with no success. If it was something I purchased at full price, I'd definitely follow up on it, but it's a minor issue for me. Nothing detrimental. Overall, 4.5/5 for the class of printer, print speed, quality, and brand.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by emhilly from Fast WiFi printer - perfect for home office This printer has been such a great upgrade for my home office and for our family. I work from home and also have 3 little kids so we print fairly often. Having a WiFi printer has been a game changer. I can print directly from my phone or my laptop from anywhere in the house. The printer is quick and quiet and the quality of printouts has been great. If you’re looking for a fast reliable printer with WiFi capability, this is a great choice. It is fairly large, so make sure you measure first.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zhenzhen from Highly Recommended The HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw is an impressive multifunction printer. It delivers sharp print quality, fast printing speeds, and convenient connectivity options. The automatic duplex printing and automatic document feeder are particularly useful features. Overall, highly recommended for both home and office use.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by FredN from HP 3101 laser So far ok. Only used one week. Printer has difficulty back to back printing. Sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn’t. Hopefully this doesn’t continue- waists paper.
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bopb from Great printer for the money This is a nice printer and very quick to spit out copies. Fos some reason I haven't been able to print from my phone, but that is user error. It was easy to install and setup. I am very happy with this very affordable printer.
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by smoon4 from Well-integrated, easy to use and the best one! This HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101 fdw provides more ease of use and is integrated into the APP, making it much easier and economical to maintain the unit. Opening the box indicates the right direction to pull out the unit, which is a nice touch. The product looks solid and well-built. Gaps and each mating section are tightly connected. The touch LCD is bright enough and is very responsive. The most detailed configurations can be done by using HP's smart APP. There were no hiccups during the printer installation. On the PC and MAC side, it shows the connected device, and you can select the right printer, and that is it. The driver is automatically downloaded and installed. The whole installation took less than 10 minutes. The output quality is vivid, and there are no smudges/streaks compared to outputs from other printers. It is very nice to print the shipping labels. Each function, including Copy, Print, and Fax, is focused on the user's perspective. For example, the scanning option provides several ways to share and store the scanned data: SharePoint, e-mail, and local or NAS. It is well-integrated, maybe one of the best I have seen so far. Overall maintenance cost and tight integration with the phone app, the user experience is step up and pleasant.
Date published: 2024-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Easy Peasy! Very easy set-up; it almost set-up itself. Pick the correct WiFi, enter the password then continue, continue, continue and complete. (Don’t forget to fill the paper storage drawer) DONE!
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ken S. from Multi-functionality with high quality at a great price point Excellent for working at home office and personal use. Very reliable and dependable.
Date published: 2024-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brendaali93 from I love this printed I started my career as a notary public and I was trying to find a good laser printer and I found this one and I really like it because as a loan signer y have to print a lot of pages And I liked that the configuration is very easy, it only took me a couple of minutes to start using it. And the print quality is very good and 35 pages per minute, that's pretty fast also I like the the printer can scan that's a plus for me. I’m really happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2024-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by nomdeplume from The fast and diverse wireless star of the office The MFP 3101fdw has quickly become the go-to printer in the office, and it's easy to see why, from the long list of features and pros, versus very few cons. Pros: *Speed*: This thing churns out multi-page documents quicker than the time to walk over to pick them up. We're talking 2 pages a second here. When your 20 year old workhorse (also an HP) gives you 2 pages in 15 seconds, it's a no brainer when time matters. Even printing 2 sided is a breeze - both in simplicity and in speed. *Quality*: Precise, tight text and image printing - it's what you'd expect - it's what you get! I'm not going to be printing B/W photos from it... but something tells me I probably could get some photo paper and do so with nice results. *Connectivity*: Here's the biggest deal for our workplace. No longer is the printer required to be wired to the router. no longer is the user tethered to a desktop or laptop. Mobile printing is a game changer. AirPrint or Mopria are standouts for our iOS and Android users. While HP Smart needs coaxing at times to prevent the printer from showing an invalid file error, it will still work as well on both.. Further, taking a USB stick with documents was easy to print from; equally easy was scanning a doc to create a file on that same USBl *All-in-one*: moving from taking pictures of scanned documents for email (especially multi-page), where lighting and movement create sub-par results has been a huge time savings for us. Copies are easier and high quality, with resizing up to 4x, and faxes are... well, still unnecessary, but now at least we do have an option if absolutely necessary! Cons: Error statuses: When a printer error does happen as part of the job, the alert (green bar at top with red right icon) disappears so fast you have to be looking right at it (which typically one doesn't do when sending the print job). I'll assume more persistent error (paper jams) would have persistent messages, but this one case is annoying and doesn't provide any details. That's really it on cons. One unknown is how long this laser 138A cartridge will last. If the ~1,500 pages is true, this could be a bit high of an expense, though there is a bulk cartridge 138X which promises ~4,000 pages for about 2x the cost. All said, we're very pleased with this new addition, which has made work easier and has improved imaging needs substantially. Looking forward to this being our next 20 year workhorse!
Date published: 2024-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by MKESLP from Quick, easy, and useful! ** Starting off- this printer is dramatically lighter in physical weight than my last HP LaserJet (which I have used and relied on for over a decade- leading to my desire to get another HP LaserJet) which was a pleasant surprise. ** Set up was very easy- I simply set it up, plugged it, attached it to our Wi-Fi via the button on the router and we were up and running in less than 10 minutes from the start of the unboxing. **Set up and software installation on the computer was as easy as could be hoped for, fairly swift installation of drivers and no issues setting it as the default printer immediately - relying on the Wi-Fi connection. We plan to hard connect it as well at some point, but thus far that has been unnecessary and therefore we have one less cord to manage which is nice. ** We have printed, copied, scanned to copy- all without incident. I am particularly appreciative of the app and the ease of connection to my iPhone and google drive allowing me to print documents and photos directly from my phone without having to email them to myself and then log in to the computer simply to print a single page. **I am smitten with the autoduplex printing feature- saving paper and wow is the print fast! so much swifter than my previous workhorse of an HP LaserJet ** Copy function works well and quickly, great for my home office and work from home work as a professor with a hybrid program- I can print student papers, hand write my feedback on the document and then pop them into their email quickly with the scanning function- reducing my grading time and increasing the feedback within the student work itself (rather than as a bulk of narrative text). **So far this printer meets and exceeds my expectations, the set up of the printer itself and the app enabled aspects has been easier than expected, the print quality is exceptional, and the printer and copier are remarkably easy to use. **I would recommend this printer to anyone who needs a simple copier as well as a laser printer.
Date published: 2024-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by cct24 from Great printer great printer, black and white only no color, works great good features happy with purchase
Date published: 2024-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sammo from First-time user Easy set up and performs well.
Date published: 2024-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from Probably a great printer if you could connect it!!! After internet provider changed out router, everything in household finally reconnected except HP Inkjet Pro 6968 that worked fine before new router. After an hour with HP support, was advised printer too old, needed 2.4 G connection and I needed to upgrade to 8000 series. I did. Same problem. After 3-4 calls with HP & internet provider, returned HP Inkjet 8015 e printer to Office Depot. Consulted with HP sales and ordered this HP LaserJet that had dual band connectivity. Same problem. Hours on the phone with multiple HP tech support calls. Finally called sales to talk with the person who recommended and placed order - and they didn’t know who he was. Returned printer. Spectrum recommended I use Ethernet connection on my original printer - 6968 - and it worked. No one at HP ever suggested this solution. The problem seems to be that when you have a single Wi-Fi connection that can use 2.4 or 5 or even 6 G, the device chooses what it needs; and if your computer or phone or tablet isn’t on the same connection, HP Smart can’t find your printer and you can’t print. This has to be a problem that should be known to HP support, and sales, and they should at least suggest an Ethernet connection. I am happily using my original printer and it’s working fine. Had the first tech rep solved the problem it would have saved me hours of time and stresss and money.
Date published: 2024-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seebaki2 from Printing Love ID print option
Date published: 2023-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by AJB87718 from Paper tray lift problem and Wi-Fi connectivity problem I had this printer for just a few days and it's developed a paper lift problem that could not be fixed by the HP technicians and Wi-Fi connection kept breaking. I'm sending it back.
Date published: 2023-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by BLAP from Easy to use replaced my old OfficeJet I used it a few days so far so good
Date published: 2023-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by HWAtl from Great all around, except for expensive toner cartridges. Rapid first page print. Good ability to adjust network, fax and print settings. Relatively compact footprint. Only drawback is that the toner cartridges are pretty expensive.
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terri at Aztec from Great little Printer I have only had this printer about one week. So far, the print quality is very good and the scanning is very good. I have not tried sending a fax just yet.
Date published: 2023-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by HP smart print awful from Print features are labor intense Printing and scanning features are not dependable. HP print program is cumbersome to access
Date published: 2023-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by cbrower from scan does not scan on two sides but copies on two sides
Date published: 2022-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by tkla from improvement This printer has 2.4/5ghz wifi. It's a big improvement, especially if you have a mesh router. It has not lost the connection like the old hp printers did. And it's fast.
Date published: 2022-10-12
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_3G628F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Does this unit perform two sided scanning?

Asked by: HFACarm
Thank you for your question! This HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw is not compatible with double-sided scanning.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-07-05

138x vs 138A How do I load the 138x into this printer

Asked by: amyld
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP 138X toner is a high yield toner that will last longer than the HP 138A toner. Here are some instructions on how to replace the toner: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_5845185-5845229-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-03-04

I plugged my printer of 110v into a 220v power output and I think it has damaged the power card. What do I do? 

Asked by: SKD_
You will want to contact HP Support https://support.hp.com/us-en by putting your serial number in on that link. You will want them to help troubleshoot to make sure the issue is definitely the power cord.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2023-10-20

How many email addresses can be stored in this printer for scanning and email purposes?

Asked by: Anderton
Thank you for your interest in the LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw. It can store up to 10 email addresses for the scan to email feature.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-03-22

Does this unit perform two sided copying through ADF?

Asked by: ARei
Hello. Thanks for your question. You would need to manually turn the paper over when scanning or copying a double-sided document through the ADF (Auto Document Feeder) on top of this HP LaserJet Pro 3101fdwe all-in-one printer. If you would like to scan or copy double-sided documents automatically, I recommend looking at the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-11

My work requires printers be wired. What USB cable is required HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw?

Asked by: user 3418
You would need to use a USB A to USB B 2.0 cable, sometimes called a printer cable, to use as a direct connection from a device to this printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2023-09-26

Is this printer compatible with 2 side printing on legal size paper?

Asked by: ScouterJC
Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw Wireless Printer with Fax will be compatible with printing duplex legal size. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-12-17

Is this unit TWAIN compliant?

Asked by: AHPT
Thank you for your interest in the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 3101fdw. It is Twain compliant for scan input modes.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-03-13
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_3G628F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT