ENERGY STAR | Small Office

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax
  • Print speed letter: Up to 30 ppm (black)
  • Auto duplex printing; 250-sheet input tray, 35-sheet ADF, 2-line LCD
  • Uses toner with JetIntelligence, High yield toner available
HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 92.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3Q79A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noel S from Great printer, easy install Was very easy to install as Windows 11 recognized it on the network quickly and this Laser Jet prints great
Date published: 2023-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by j. vance from HP printers never disappoint great quality fast delivery
Date published: 2023-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by Giacin from Pass over the Bypass feature If you need to use the bypass for single pages or envelope printing, especially more than one, this is not the machine to do it. TOOOOOO difficult to access these two necessities...buried deep in the paper storage compartment.
Date published: 2023-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cooper2011 from Awesome Awesome...
Date published: 2023-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from General Working well so far. I like the speed, print quality, portability. I use it as a stand alone for now.
Date published: 2023-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Getting the right features Sorting the models and features was a little confusing. In the old days just compare models
Date published: 2023-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by JonathanJ from No wireless?!?!? Who would have expected no wireless. Constant problems with printer reading the paper size in tray. Have to do hard restart often. Returning.
Date published: 2023-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sunday Frascoia from HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn - Great All-in-One Arrived quickly from HP, easy to set-up and has clear sharp printing. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2023-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Reasonable MFP Printer Good Black Ink Printer at Reasonable Price.
Date published: 2022-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cindy C from like the older model better The HP Laser M2227fdn was replacing an older model. This is a shared printer so everyone had to install the software to just scan something . The older model you could insert scan and send this is far different from original model. Prefer if both ways were offered.
Date published: 2022-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ari C from Didn’t work Returned the printer. Didn’t deliver as promised despite support working for close to an hour to make it work.
Date published: 2022-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by User001 from Great printer Always happy with HP products and this printer is no exception. It replaces a printer just like it that we had for 5 years and was working perfectly until an electrical surge took it out. Expect to have this longer as we'll be taking more precautions against surges.
Date published: 2022-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tanveer from Not worth the money Not a very good printer . Quality is poor and setting up without professional help is close to impossible
Date published: 2022-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by JRP CMS from HP Pro MFP M227fdn Purchased 2 printers of this kind, one worked and the other continued to malfunction. Product returned
Date published: 2022-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by ArPa from HP LaserJetMFP M227fdn Seems good so far! Easy set up. looks nice, works good.
Date published: 2022-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by SaraJean from Does the job. Works well for our accounting office. No bells or whistles that get in the way.
Date published: 2021-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sknape from Top of the line I was SO pleased when the printer arrived at my door! Just lifting it made me realize what a good value I was getting for the amount of money I spent. I will never get another ink jet printer. I really enjoy the speed of this printer. I am totally satisfied with my purchase. I got real value for my money.
Date published: 2021-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage238 from I am Sorry I bought it It doesn't allow for scanning. I don't have a port for my memory stick and can't get it set up to scan to my computer. It has two places for paper and makes it hard. I have been unable to print and I am very unhappy with my purchase. I am going to junk this new unusable thing and buy a Brother that works.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good Product It's been weeks since I bought it. It was super easy to set up and is very user friendly. All features are there and working great. Although it needs a good power connection to function properly. Without sufficient power it might not turn on. That is something that needs user's attention. It makes very little sound. Overall I'm pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by McMick from Lots of features in small package We have been replacing older HP printer with this little all in one and have been very pleased.
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by CCCCCTTHATSTOOBAD from Everything was great except ... The unit should have come with a USB cable - you could forget the phone connection because many people no longer have a land line. I had to go out and buy the usb connection before I could use the printer
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by KPrice2416 from No wireless connection The printer didn't come with wifi so I haven't even been able to hook it up to run a test print because I haven't yet purchased a laptop for that station.
Date published: 2021-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by AubreyD from HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn Most convenient and economical. Great features from small professionals
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kenian from Excellent Printer/Scanner/Copier Been in the office about 3 weeks, excellent machine for the money. We have been a HP printer office for years, never had a problem.
Date published: 2021-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by DRTAG from BEST CHOICE FOR A BUSY HOME OFFICE THIS INEXPENSIVE, HIGHLY FUNCTIONAL 3 IN 1 IS INCREDIBLY EFFICIENT AND AFFORDABLE
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by BentSpike from wireless double-sided printing I have only had this machine a short time and the instructions seemed above my level, but pretty quick, I got the printer to print a double-sided document from another room! Wow!
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Teresa AH from HP LaserJet Pro MFP The HP MFP is a very impressive printer/scanner. The printing on both sides of the paper is so fast that I am actually using it, saving a lot of paper!
Date published: 2020-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lisa SB from New printer Love this printer/scanner! It works perfect! No problems at all with scanner and that is huge for my job
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by TerryJB from So far so good Only had it for a week. Easily installed. Wired to my router. Wireless devices pick the printer up immediately. Make sure you clean the scanner before use. I had streaks right out of the box. Haven't tried IP fax yet but landline fax works fine. Wish I had a second paper tray for envelops.
Date published: 2020-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fortuna7 from Fast, easy, work complete! I had so much trouble with printers before. This HP Laser Jet was easy to use, but I had to call for installation because the instruction booklet was wrong. Other than that--love it!
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grant53 from I have in the computer field for over thirty years . I only buy Hp Laserjet printers. I have tried other brands but HP is the best in quality and durability. I
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by hoohohooho from I am getting a different printer cause I got the wrong features, but this pretty looks pretty good based on a little examination. Idk tho. A small change that could be better is if the buttons glow up, u can barely see the buttons in a low light.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruss from Fast... I bought a few weeks back from Hp web. I meant to purchase a wireless but goofed. Got a network printer instead. HP tech support was fantastic. Help me understand setting up as a network so all our wireless units can see it and print. Even from phone. Love it prints so fast.
Date published: 2020-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Snkbt from Easy setup Bought this to replace an aging unit, setup was super simple. The wireless printing make life on the road much simpler. And it’s quiet
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Multi2020 from Fantastic! Our Customer's love it! We have not had one return since shipping out to customer sites. Product is well made and does all that it claims to do. Excellent!
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dhnc from Easy set up, good print quality, and love the mobile printing capability, and double sizes printing.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicknmfailure from Fulfills all expected or wanted. The printer is well-made and does not have idiosyncronies. The user manual might be made more obvious and easier to use by someone who has only a casual use of the printer -- like an index that lists all needs and situations regardless of how obvious theymay be to a user mnul writer who works for HP.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by BillPr from Scanner works fine but unable to install printer Scanner works fine but unable to install printer Windows 10 pro 64 bit
Date published: 2020-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Printerprints from Multi purpose printer When my old HP MFP exploded, I went to find one that was as easy and simple to use. It's quieter than my old one, and holds more sheets of paper in the tray. This machine did the trick! The only issue is how to darken and enlarge the print!
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by Admin Max from Good small office printer Print quality is superb, printing speed is excellent and quite. Connects seamlessly to the network. The manual tray is set back into the printer and has no support towards the front so loading paper and envelopes requires patients.
Date published: 2020-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eliot from Very fast!! This is an upgrade over a model I had for 5 or six years. It is exactly what you would hope to find in an upgrade – – improvement of features, ease-of-use – – it’s all there! Could not be more satisfied with my purchase. Hewlett Packard was a pleasure to deal with.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pandi from Great Expectations Dashed I am a great fan of HP products. The multi-function machine works well once you figure out how to use it. The information which comes with it is not in easy to understand language(I have a doctorate). It covers multiple machines. Even downloading the owner's manual, one has to determine which machine they are describing. I think a company as large a hp could offer information specific to the product purchased in easy to understand English.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jenny G from Perfect for home office I bought this for my husband's home office and he absolutely loves how fast it prints. Set up was easy. Within minutes he was up and running.
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tax CPA from Great printer but fax doesn’t work Followed all fax directions and it still won’t receive faxes. Tried to contact HP three times but was unsuccessful. Guess I will have to pay someone to help me. Great printer and easy to set that up
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by 614 law office from great all in one choice Other than a fairly small input screen, this unit has been great
Date published: 2020-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cummingsg from Love it The printer is amazing! I absolutely love it! Would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2020-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jackie289 from Good Price Bought the HP Laser Jet Pro M227fdn for home use so I haven't used it much. The print quality seems fine & fast so I'm happy with it so far. Replaced an old Dell all-in-one that failed after several years, the HP cost & weighs about half as much & seems to perform about the same. Great for the home in my opinion.
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by HonkedOff from Great hardware... software, meh... not so much. Hardware is great, typical HP quality, although I am a bit concerned with the small size of the toner cartridge. The software... sorry HP, but this is pure junk. You can no longer scan to email UNLESS you use Outlook... and we don't. Getting the send Fax from PC ONLY works if you connect via USB. By "upgrading" to this new printer, our HR gal LOST functionality (and she's NOT happy about that). You need to fix this software or outsource the job to someone who can produce useful, functional code.
Date published: 2019-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by sandy19 from Great features i bought this a few weeks ago to replace a plain printer i had for years in my office. I've used every feature on this already except the faxing and it works great. I'm loving it.
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by GusandAnnabelle from So far so good. You only know how much you use a printer when the one you have breaks. We were never so glad to see Fed Ex at the door with our new HP printer.
Date published: 2019-01-28
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3Q79A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I bought the HP M227fdw model thinking it would scan two sided documents, however you have to put the stack in twice which I am not happy about. Will this Model 227fdn scan the front and back of the stack of documents without turning them over manually?

Asked by: DavidLG
No, while the HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn can perform duplex printing, it can't perform duplex scanning.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-08

Unfortunately I didn't get a full answer to my question about the Laserjet Pro MFP M227fdn. Does it enlarge and reduce in 1% increments, or are the increments preset, such as 75%, 50%, 150%, etc.?

Asked by: Lotus Rabbit
Custom sizes can be used. When the answer used 25% to 400% that meant all the percentages in-between. Thanks for the question and hope that this answer cleared everything up!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-10

When faxing using tray which way does front of pages face? Up or down

Asked by: Dudah05$
If you are using the document feeder for faxing, the page will go face up. If you are using the glass flat panel for faxing then the page goes face down. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-10

1. is this compatible with a macbook air? 2. Does it print in color?

Asked by: Scoot 46
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro m227fdn printer is compatible with the MacBook Air. This printer does not print in color.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-15

Will this printer work with Windows 11? I just bought a hp all-in-one and my old printer does not work with it.

Asked by: schatzipoo
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn printer is compatible with Windows 11.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-02-19

Does this product scan in color? MFP M227fdn

Asked by: Joub
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, you can scan in color with this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-24

Is this printer works without internet connection? We’ll use this with usb connection 

Asked by: Memm3h
Thank you for your question, the HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdn will work without an internet connection and USB connection.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-12-07

Which way does photo face up or down when faxing?

Asked by: Dudah05$
If you are using the document feeder for faxing, the page will go face up. If you are using the glass flat panel for faxing then the page goes face down. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-10
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3Q79A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 48ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT