ENERGY STAR | Small Office

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro MFP M148fdw

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax, wireless
  • Print Speed: Up to 30 ppm (black)
  • Auto duplex printing, 250 sheet input tray, HP Smart App
  • Uses Original HP Toner cartridges
HP LaserJet Pro MFP M148fdw is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 219.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_22, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_4PA42A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by CLW0424 from Simply Magnificent This printer meets all of my monochrome needs. It was very easy to set-up.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Redpanda99 from Great wireless features! I've been using this for two weeks now and the responsiveness for wireless printer functions are quick and accurate. Very pleased.
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Big shoes to fill. I was sorry to see the old laser printer stop working after so may decades. The new one seems to have stepped up to fill the void. It still had a refill cartridge and one spare part left over.
Date published: 2021-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by WorkingatHome77 from Great Device; Hard to set up Great printer, scanner, doc feeder (who still faxes or even has a phone line?). It was extremely difficult to set up - as in - it took me a few weeks of on and off effort to make it work.
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by pizerp from Terrible tech support. Cannot talk to anyone It took me several hours to connect printer and I had to get help from someone outside of HP. Due to an internet outage I lost the printer capacity and cannot get help from HP to get it set up again
Date published: 2021-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by writebrain from Look Ma, no ink! Bought a MFP M148fdw a month ago because our Brother Inkjet gave us nothing but headaches (mostly with fake paper jams, costly ink-guzzling, and poor diagnostics). Now we're printing MUCH more - faster, quieter, pain-free, cheaper, and saving forests of paper (auto 2-sided/2pp is beyond awesome!!). The new unit is even dog-friendly, i.e. our black lab doesn't run away in terror every time an inkjet page prints. For b/w home office use, this machine is PERFECT. If I could rate it 10 stars (so far), I would.
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy II from Disappointed I brought this a month ago and I am disappointed. The nose is bigger than I expected. At least bigger than M130fw. This is the first time I feel disappointed with HP's products within 30 years. Maybe this will be the last time for me to get an HP Printer.
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Prints faster has everything all in one place wow Great for work or office use prints alot faster!!!
Date published: 2021-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kattee19 from Great features I bought this a couple weeks ago .works great i will recommend to friends and family.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by Work Printer home office from M148 printer Great quality fast printing. A little difficult to set-up the wireless network but eventually got it to work
Date published: 2021-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Khbop from Easy to install Happy with my new hp printer. Thank you so much for everything
Date published: 2021-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Michael2021 from What a printer should be Bought this printer when I found my old printer wouldn't work well with Win 10. Boy am I glad I did! Love the auto duplexing, the straight forward controls and the usual excellent laser print. I leave it turned on (only uses 1 watt in sleep mode) so I get instant prints when needed. The wireless feature isn't new to me and it connected right away. To say I'm satisfied is an understatement.. Love HP products!
Date published: 2021-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rick735 from Small Footprint I bought this printer a few weeks ago, so I haven’t had the opportunity to use it a whole lot. But when I do it is a quick printer. I love the small footprint so it doesn’t take up a whole lot of space. The print quality is on par with a printer of this price range. The price was very good.
Date published: 2021-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by SimoneS from Love my HP LaserJet Pro MFP M148fdw printer I bought this printer 3 weeks ago, Initial set up was easy, a week later I had to change my Wifi setting, and wasn’t able to change the printer to the new Wifi. I had to re-install it as a new printer before I was able to connect to it a again. I am very happy with my new Printer, it works good.
Date published: 2021-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavy Duty Santa from It Works like a charm! Great product. We bought it at the beginning of March and as of the 23rd of March we have run 4,000 sheets of copy paper thru it with no problems.
Date published: 2021-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Value for Money Great quality. Very useful to have all in one printer at home during this pandemic situation. Can do most of the work e.g. printing, scanning, copy at home. No need to go out for these things.
Date published: 2021-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by jdm3737 from Perfect for my small busines This is the second HP Printer I have bought and this one is perfect for my small busines. I have limited printing that can spike based on sales and this model fits my needs perfectly. I print Invoices, Receipts, Shipping Lables and other business related documents with ease. I love how it prints on both side with out having to flip the paper and the feed features works great for documents with multiple pages. The tonner is high capacity and the Price of this Printer is far less then I expected to pay for a printer with all these features.
Date published: 2021-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alex B from Great all in one unit All in one unit and prints double sided. Price was great. Works as it should. Would like to be a bit faster, but for my simple purposes its more than enough
Date published: 2021-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by oushie from HP Very difficult to deal with Bought this a little more than a month ago. Had one issue that got resolved . However I have a major issue with the warranty. When I registered the printer it came back as only having 8 months of warranty left. I bought directly from the HP store. spent 2 hours with a customer support chat trying to get this straightened out. Had to send documents. This is insane since i purchased directly from HP. They should have had all of the documentation. What a runaround. The printer is OK but dealing with HP is not.
Date published: 2021-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good product, terrible instructions Good product, multiple uses very convenient, printer quality good, not great, sometimes a little dark, but the installation instructions are terrible, totally inadequate, confusing, really couldn't be worse
Date published: 2021-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good, not great I'm a little disappointed by the print quality. Pretty much from the beginning, I'm seeing a line of black smudges along the right side of each page. It disappears after printing about 5-6 pages, but returns at my next print job. Otherwise, it's very responsive, doesn't jam and an all-around good printer.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by DrJean from Duplex function tore paper For the past 25 years I’ve used HP Printers. I have an HP color multifunction I use at home, so I bought a B&W multifunction to use at a different facility. Single side worked great, but when the paper flipped over for duplex, the paper didn’t feed correctly - it skewed and skewed the image plus tore the paper. I returned it to Walmart but couldn’t get a cash refund, although I reported the problem 3 days after it arrived. I could only get Walmart credit. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rowdyman from Can't connect to Wi-Fi network I can't get it to connect with my network. Windows 10 does not recognize the driver.
Date published: 2021-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zahmbie from Worst warranty process ever Their printers break constantly. Luckily they provide a one year warranty. However, I truly cannot explain how useless a warranty is if it takes 4 to 5 hours to prove their product broke.
Date published: 2021-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by TJen from Good cost effective solution The set up with Wifi is difficult with Spectrum. It original printed duplex in manual mode. I called the HP technical support, he spent over an hour to fix the configuration to make it print duplex automatically. But copy and scan are still in process for duplex mode. He told me to call spectrum to update the router firmware. So I called spectrum to complete the update today. Has to call HP again for technical support to set up duplex automatic mode again tomorrow to see if it works.
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Super I bought this a month ago. At a best By the sale rep was very helpful , we also bought a HP printer to go with my new laptop
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from East to Use! Very inexpensive but fully functional printer. Print, Fax and Scan.
Date published: 2021-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by PJ Manroe from HP LaserJet Pro m148f-m149f I bought this a few months ago and love it. Set up was easy, It's very efficient on toner. I even bought an extra high-capacity toner cartridge last week. It works best on a USB connection, but also has wireless and ethernet. The scanner is color and high definition and works great. I still have my HP Officejet All-In-One Pro 8610 with Instant-Ink.
Date published: 2021-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chuck 67 from Super Printer I bought this printer 3 weeks ago and received it within 1 week. This printer was easy to set up and connected to my router without any problems. I have used HP printers for years for their reliability. I am quite pleased with the price and functionality of this product!
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by diadoug from hard to set up wireless and network printing awesome printer but can't figure out setting up bluetooth and network printing
Date published: 2020-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by RkfdSam from Printer no good without Chromebook. I might like if I had the HP Chromebook I order with it. It has been stuck in Alaska since December 16 without any update.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charlie567788 from A wonderful printer Easy to setup and easy to use. The app works perfectly. We love it.
Date published: 2020-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by KRob from Nice Very nice product I would suggest hp products to anyone that is looking for a printer.
Date published: 2020-12-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by Larry in Boynton Beach FL from Interrupted phone service Although the machine prints fine it caused my phone service to be interrupted. I had to have my cable company come to my house and bypass the fax function. Cable service rep said there is a short in the fax mechanism which has not be repaired.
Date published: 2020-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from no title it seems to be doing the job.....price is wellllllll but need the product and don't use it very often great
Date published: 2020-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pebbles2222 from Nice compact machine Very happy that paper stores inside It would be nice to have a manual.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by BC gal from Not as easy as expectec This printer is fine for printing and is relatively quick. But, the problem is in the details. I wanted to scan from the printer front and was unable to do so. I was to use the mobile app in order to scan the item. I don’t like this detail. Then I realized no info on how to do many tasks, unless I was to go online to try and dig for this info. HP products are not customer friendly for the average person. Don’t bother trying to contact customer service unless you want to be talking to some foreign guy in heaven knows where, who doesn’t have a clue on your issue. No more HP products for me.
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cyndi C from Love my new printer! I love my new printer!! It works very well, clean printed pages!
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by TBJM from good printer I really like the printer but my automatic duplex is not working & I have no idea how to fix it. i use this function a lot & kind of a paid to do it manually all day long. Otherwise it's great.
Date published: 2020-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Onecyberguy from Great solid printer! This printer is priced perfect for the all the features you get and how well it prints. Setup was a little difficult but, after a couple of tries I got the WiFi to connect and this printer has been working perfectly since. I love the AirPrint option. So easy, to print from my phone. Unless you need color printing, this is your perfect choice.
Date published: 2020-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Endodan from An affordable Laser printer I specifically needed a monochrome laser printer for art projects. This is my second HP printer and again I was well pleased. Its standard features did everything I needed and more. It is quick, quiet and efficient in my low volume work environment.
Date published: 2020-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charlie from Virginia from Works as described. I received the printer a little more than a week ago as of this writing; 12/6/2020. It has functioned as described. I have not used the Fax feature yet but expect it to work as well. I would have rated it five stars if I had used it for months. I'm happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2020-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by LdyNAmber from Does not print in color Not sure if I just assumed or what, but this does not print in color. I will be returning it as I needed one that would print in color.
Date published: 2020-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pappa P from Great Machine Great printer combo. But I am still having trouble setting up the wireless portion of the machine. Instructions ain't what they used to be. everything else works great. You get slot for a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2020-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by BRBR from Good hardware, but control panel not intuitive I'm impressed by speed of device and clarity of copies and printing. I like that is has an ethernet port too. The user interface is confusing and the buttons aren't clearly labeled in English or a icon that is consistent. to make a copy should be "one touch". best I can tell it takes two.pushes of a button but even the manual is not that straightforward. And I've been in IT a long time. Software install to print was simple, but now I want to scan to computer? is that some other piece of software?
Date published: 2020-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eyecare from Easy to use. Offers phone fax. Have another HP similar to this model so Im familiar with the functions. Keeping the learning curve simple.
Date published: 2020-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Former DECie from Great product The network setup and instructions could be done much more clearly, IMHO. Otherwise I love the printer.
Date published: 2020-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by Emma baby from poor features It is still not working since I bought this. It keeps dropping connection. I need to exchange this for a more efficient one.
Date published: 2020-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mcd6635 from HP laser printer I bought this from the HP site. There was no communication as to when it shipped or would arrive. Then, 1 day a little over a week passed and a neighbor down the street came to my door and asked if I ordered a printer? It was delivered to the wrong house!!! If she had dent been honest and willing to drive it over, I wouldn’t have known it was even delivered.... I suggest a way for communicating when shipped, approximately when to expect it and when it’s delivered. It’s a gift for my husband, so we haven’t tried it yet. I hope that part is ok!!
Date published: 2020-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by JOfficeManager from Fast copier/printer Loving this printer!! Easy to set up. Fast copying and printing
Date published: 2020-11-29
  • y_2024, m_7, d_22, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_40, tr_179
  • loc_en_US, sid_4PA42A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I cannot get my printer to install it's HP Laser Jet Pro MFP M148 fdw

Asked by: malburg
Thank you for your question! The software and drivers for this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M148fdw printer are located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-m148-m149-series/model/21996903?sku=4PA42AR The setup and user guide for this printer is located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/setup-user-guides/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-m148-m149-series/model/21996903
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-05-08

Can you scan double sided ?

Asked by: SFS Kare
Thank you for your question! Unfortunately, this printer does not feature double-sided scanning.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this a color printer?

Asked by: Janna Ruth
Hello. Thanks for your question. No, this is a black and white HP laser all in one printer. We recommend looking at the HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw printer, which is a color all in one laser printer. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-02-21

How do I change password

Asked by: tep1
We are sorry to hear about your issue. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-03-29

I have 2 printers and both are having issues with ink blotches on the right side when I print. I have run the cleaning page multiple times on both. What can I do to fix this.

Asked by: Nielsen employee
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support at http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2023-03-01

I cannot get my printert to install it's HP Laser Jet Pro MFP M148 fdw. I have no sofeware for this printer to install .

Asked by: malburg
Thank you for your question! The software and drivers for this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M148fdw printer are located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-m148-m149-series/model/21996903?sku=4PA42AR The setup and user guide for this printer is located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/setup-user-guides/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-m148-m149-series/model/21996903
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-05-08

IS you cartridge HP 32A CF232A compatible with the HP Laser Jet Pro MFP M148fdw?

Asked by: kmho
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP 32A drum just helps put the image on the paper. The 32A drum is compatible with your printer. The toner would be a separate component for your HP laser printer that prints on the page. Your HP LaserJet Pro m148fdw printer uses the HP 94A or 94X.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-30

How do I get it off sleep mode?  When it says Ready it does not print and then goes to sleep mode!

Asked by: rich twin
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support at http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2023-08-29
  • y_2024, m_7, d_22, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_4PA42A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 5ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT