• This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Fastest two-sided printing in its class + scan and copy
  • Black & white laser printing in a compact size for small and home offices
  • 6 bonus months subscription for Instant Ink for lasers (optional)
  • Works only with original HP toner; requires HP account, internet to operate
See Product Details
HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe Printer w/ bonus 6 months Instant Ink toner through HP+ is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 259.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_28, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_134, tr_125
  • loc_en_US, sid_6GW99E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lpahout from Great printer for the price point Great printer for the price point
Date published: 2023-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP printer machine is excellent but instructions for installation were poor
Date published: 2023-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by dmor from Excellent back up or second printer No problems, very good value
Date published: 2023-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by DOC Octavius from Great Easy to intsall.
Date published: 2023-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finis from Buy What YOU Want This is the perfect printer for my needs - basic black printing, copying and scanning. The purchase, delivery and setup were flawless and the price was very reasonable.
Date published: 2023-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Richard M. from BEWARE Printer was easy to install and works perfectly. However, the ink cartridge that was included was faulty which only allowed 50 pages to be printed successfully within the first 15 days of receiving the printer. After this, it reported "cartridge very low." After submitting a request to have this cartridge replaced and being transferred 6 times and 1 hour on the phone, a solution was presented. I had to rebuy a cartridge and once it is delivered, it will be refunded. Beware of buying from this company.
Date published: 2023-09-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by Walke from HP inaccuracy describes item Very slow machine. Pro: great and fast wi-fi connect, super easy install, unboxed and had it running in 15 mins. Cons: website doesnt accurately describe print or scan speed. Speed of print is noticeably slower. Scanning one document takes an unusual length of time. I feel like Hp needs to be more transparent with description of specs online. I researched this model on youtube and found multiple videos of people Complaining about same issue with this exact model so I am not the first victim.
Date published: 2023-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by 3606 from Poor quality In Less than a week it jammed. I was not told it is not able to copy more than 1 page at a time. Old style. Should be explain better, especially buying from HP directly and talking to sales department.
Date published: 2023-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thomas1w from Ok Good I like it
Date published: 2023-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Job from Great Little Printer Seems to be a great little printer, but there seems to be a lack of instructional documents. I've also received a Instant Ink package that I have no idea what to do with it and when.
Date published: 2023-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Msk123 from Experience My tech Aaron Scott was very professional and went above and beyond to help me with my installation
Date published: 2023-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by Yussel from Works well but a bit slow in printing via Wi-Fi & two sided prints. Good Quality prints but a bit slow in printing from computer to printer. Two sided per page also slow. Scanner works well for copies. Easy set up via Wi-Fi to all of my computers.
Date published: 2023-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by coltkelly from do not upstand the question. works as stated, but have to leave power on all the time, as if not when turn on my HP desktop and the printer as suggested in the set-up manual, it takes hours for the printer to come on after searching for the router and the to the desktop to complete the connection. When in fact, the printer is setting next to both the router and the HP desktop. Plus found a Cannon printer comparable to this printer for half the price.
Date published: 2023-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coach Roach from Just what I wanted Didn’t need or want another slow printer with several color inks that apparently dried up because I didn’t use them that constantly jammed and said it was out of paper……. Just a great printer that actually prints when I push go! Yeah!
Date published: 2023-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robin80 from Great Products Love my new HP printer/copier/scanner. I've used HP products since the 1970s and always thought they were the best.
Date published: 2023-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by NV Raman from HP laser printetM234wde The printer goes into offline mode all the time. Very frustrating
Date published: 2023-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by LesleyG from M234dwe HP printer simple, good support Like this printer, had same one from before but it broke and could not be fixed and was out of warranty. Purchased same printer on sale at HP.com. Bought extended warranty.
Date published: 2023-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by PittsburghBob from A great compact laser printer A truly superb small laser printer for my home office. It fits. It's completely silent when it's not actively printing. I am thrilled with how easy it was to set up and how well it takes care of everything for me in my office. Printing. Scanning. Top notch.
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by J Williams from HP Very easy to start up. Works well.
Date published: 2023-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruce Lee from Good User Friendly
Date published: 2023-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rob HM from I'm Enjoying This Printer I'm very pleased with this printer as it prints and copies quickly. The print quality is not as crisp as I would like it to be, but it's plenty adequate for my purposes. I'm especially pleased with the duplex printing feature, which operates very quickly and smoothly. The scan function confused me at first because it isn't a button on the printer itself -- the scan function is operated via an icon on the computer desktop.
Date published: 2023-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by HondoPhil from Great printer Fast, excellent quality, full featured
Date published: 2023-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Appalling manipulation. You people are appalling with your efforts to manipulate your customers. I abandoned our HP ink jet printer because it forced us to buy yellow ink when we only print in back and white. Then after I set up the new laser printer with which such manipulation could presumably have been avoided, it stopped working after a few pages until I "completed" the setup, which meant signing up for your ink plan. Outrageous, in my view. At least printing on paper is largely going away, which will limit your ability to do this to me.
Date published: 2023-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by ScottnAK from Never be afraid of Refurbish Never be afraid of Refurbish
Date published: 2023-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Leaser printer exceeded my expectations So far, so good. I like the clear, crisp, printing this printer produces.
Date published: 2023-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by john h s from laser printer m234dwe nice laser printer, fair price.
Date published: 2023-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Asking123 from The set up is defintely NOT plug and plag. Good laser printer and finally I got it set up so my iphones and iPad can also use it to print. But it definitely not plug and play and messaages were not clear so I had to call in for HP tech support to finally get it to work. I had to change to use another laptop to get it to work then my old laptop and ipad , iphones were able to use it
Date published: 2023-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mickey11 from Not Happy constantly goes in low power mode - unable to turn off
Date published: 2023-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Jay" from "Oh, it's a piece of cake." I've seen answers to questions online state that HPLIP is the best way to install an HP printer. While I appreciate Hewlett Packard's support for Linux, the instructions are not clear as to the installation process. I've had the printer for over a week, now, and I still am not able to use due to an alert stating the installation process is incomplete. I'm following the instructions found on the HPLIP website.
Date published: 2023-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great printer at a good price. Great printer at a good price.
Date published: 2023-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Extremely easy wireless setup. Fast delivery, very fast printing and copying,, perfect for home or business use.
Date published: 2023-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lois G. from Working Great Printer was easy to set up, and that's important since I have no skills in this area. It's working great and I'm glad I have it.
Date published: 2023-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Printer for Mom from Printer for Mom Good quality printer at a nice price. As this is for my Mom it is fairly easy to use. I wish there were more controls on the printer itself versus having to use the Smart print app as it would make it easier for a non technical individual.
Date published: 2023-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great Basic Printer, Scanner, Copier simple, reliable, efficient, easy to use, good quality prints, excellent tech support, great price with 6 months of free ink cartridges...all good
Date published: 2023-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Imogene from So happy with my new printer Easy setup, prints much faster than our last HP laser jet printer (died after 18 yrs!). Very happy.
Date published: 2023-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Endodan from HP Laser Jet Printer MFP M234 dwe. Very simple and robust printer. Fits the needs of our home office.
Date published: 2023-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by I would recommend it from I am located in New York This printer is my first one of the built
Date published: 2023-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by Phgroup from New printer Took longer to get here than anticipated. Works fine. The software is still gacked and not very intuitive to get started. Still having issues with the setup and finding the printer so I can start scanning
Date published: 2023-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from parts incompatibility The cover for the paper tray does not fit.
Date published: 2023-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ruby232 from Great! Looks great, more compact than many other home printer models. It’s easy install and laser print quality is great!
Date published: 2023-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by walker1500 from HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe Printer Had a difficult connecting to a newly installed wi-fi network. Eventually got it up and running and so far happy with results. Do i need to register the product for warranty protection or is that already complete since i ordered it direct from HP?
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by DR. KH Lim from Where is the password for the printer When I wanted to print material from my desktop computer, the printer asked for a password. I understand it is for security. But the setup instruction should state that the password is required to print. How do I proceed with obtain this password?
Date published: 2022-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by van2 from did not comapatible to window 10 and explore well slow inteface to the network
Date published: 2022-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adeli Bian from Inefficient printer Difficult setup. No wires attached except electrical cord. Small machine not appropriate for a small office.
Date published: 2022-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bidou from Needs a separate tray Excellent product. I would have given it five stars except it does not have a separate tray for envelopes. One has to remove the letter size paper in order to print envelopes. My previous HP laser printer had the separate tray feature
Date published: 2022-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ellary from Good working printer and scanner It works extremely well. But I'm disappointed at HP's attempt to force you to buy their toner cartridges.
Date published: 2022-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lawrence C. from Nice printer Fast delivery, quite easy setup, the quality of printing and copying is excellent. Do not have the opportunity to try e-fax and scan functions yet, will update this review later…
Date published: 2022-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by Benjamin r from Lousy product, lousy HP sales rep HP recommended this printer for off line work. It does not do off line printer.
Date published: 2022-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from 5 stars Excellent choice for the price
Date published: 2022-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by eggnigma from Very Disappointed This is not a first printer i own. This is not a first laser printer i own. But this is a first time i had to spend 4 hours trying to connect it. It constantly falls asleep, when I tried to install it, the darn thing fell asleep very 2 minutes and i had to restart the whole set up process. Now when i try to print anything i have to 'wake' it up before doing anything. Very annoying. Also, it is very hard to print anything aside from standard A4 size. There is no assessable feeder for cards or envelopes. Very Disappointed.
Date published: 2022-12-12
  • y_2024, m_2, d_28, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_134, tr_125
  • loc_en_US, sid_6GW99E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

is this wifi enabled

Asked by: sra47
Yes, this HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe Printer has built-in WiFi. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-02

Does it work with a cable? Thanks

Asked by: Lifetime
Yes, the HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe can be used with a USB cable. A consistent WiFi internet connection is required for Instant Ink.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-30

Does the toner come with this printer?

Asked by: bka1089
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe Printer comes with toner that would last approximately 700 pages.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-24

Does it support scanning in Ubuntu?

Asked by: Ajith V
Thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe is compatible with the following OS: Windows 11; Windows 10; macOS 10.14 Mojave; macOS 10.15 Catalina; macOS 11 Big Sur; Linux.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can this printer send a fax?

Asked by: CPhD
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can use Mobile Fax. Mobile fax is where you can send faxes through the HP Smart app on your smartphone, tablet or computer. If you need to send or receive faxes, you can use a service like eFax. Here are more details about the mobile fax: https://www.hpsmart.com/us/en/mobile-fax Here is a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvDAYa1nZzw
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-19

Is the dust cover the plastic bag the printer came wrapped in? Did not see anything else in the box -- have been trying to find a dust cover online...

Asked by: Krystine
Thank you for your question. This printer does not come with a dust cover.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

what does p1 and p2 mean

Asked by: smro1
It is unclear what is being asked. Please clarify the question and resubmit.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-10-30

What does it mean that the model needs a HP account and access to the internet, for just a printer?

Asked by: Elya
This HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe Printer is an HP+ printer. It requires an HP account, a stable connection to the internet, and exclusive use of Original HP Toner cartridges for the life of the printer. More at: http://www.hp.com/plus-faq For the option that does not require an HP+ account please see the HP LaserJet MFP M234dw at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-laserjet-mfp-m234dw-printer
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_28, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_6GW99E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT