• This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Fastest two-sided printing in its class
  • Black & white laser printing in a compact size for small and home offices
  • 6 bonus months subscription for Instant Ink for lasers (optional)
  • Works only with original HP toner; requires HP account, internet to operate
See Product Details
HP LaserJet M209dwe Printer w/ bonus 6 months Instant Ink toner through HP+ is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 91.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_49, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_6GW62E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pfat from Loving the M209dwe I love the fact that it prints double sided.
Date published: 2023-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jim R from Memphis from Solid value, nice performer but lacks one thing to raise it to 5 star - labels for the buttons. Crisp text, good paper handling, but if you need to press a button, there is not cle which id which!
Date published: 2023-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from New HP Printer I love the new printer. It was very easy to set up and works great!
Date published: 2023-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by M209 from HP LaserJet - Fantastic! Easy to use and fast copying. Particularly like the no-hassle two side copying.
Date published: 2023-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by gpagan65 from Inexpensive with great quality Easy to setup/install and use.
Date published: 2023-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by PatOgbunude from HP Printer M209dwe, recently purchased I am fully satisfied with the product and it is serving me as expected. I signed up with HP for supply of toner because of the satisfaction l have!
Date published: 2023-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cam231 from Good purchase Great printer. It was easy to set up, and start using it right away.
Date published: 2023-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from For the best use HP Laser Printers. Very happy with HP Laser Printers. Have used them for many years and never had a problem with any of them.
Date published: 2023-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by johndoc from I havent had one issue, highly recomend I love this printer
Date published: 2023-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by ciderman from Efficient Printer Whilst we are satisfied with the printer, the setup required contacting HP for help. Had the setup guide indicated that the Wi-Fi connection must be 2G instead of 5G we could have saved time and the long phonecall. Also the few buttons for power, information and such are small and not illuminated and respond slowly.
Date published: 2023-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by pancho2 from Laser Printer set up it took me two days to set up the new printer on my computer. finally it was connected and works.
Date published: 2023-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great Home Office Use Printer for Anyone’s Printing Needs This is a great printer for home office use. I have actually printed less than the 700 pages with the toner that came with the unit by printing off game guides for a new game that I got for Christmas last month. But, I did manage to get my first shipment of toner via HP Instant Ink for it last week, and installed it just recently. While I wouldn’t recommend this to someone printing photos, it does do very well with text and regular documents. Coloring book pages within the HP Smart app print out looking just like they do from a coloring book. And per my grandmother’s take on those pages, they don’t run or anything when she uses markers in them. The duplexer on it is fast too. I told my dad that it is as fast as some of the photocopiers that he had at work in the past, and that he should get one too if he should have a need for one.
Date published: 2023-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP 209 WPE Great little printer
Date published: 2023-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Microace from Good little laser printer Nice little printer, B&W so you don’t spend a fortune one toner cartridges.
Date published: 2023-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mad IT guy from HP+ requirements are unbelievable… Avoid Buyer beware of HP+ and models that end with “e”. Internet connection is required. You cannot opt out of the HP+ service and you have to associate an HP account with the printer before it will work. HP has made it very easy to confuse non-HP+ printers like the m209dw and the m209dwe… they look exactly the same. I don’t know who came up with this branding idea, but it’s clearly entrapment. Ridiculous attempt at selling a subscription. Small businesses like ours that need a spare USB or LAN-only printer due to VPNs/firewalls will not even allow HP+ to connect anyway. Complete waste of time. Printer will be returned.
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chuck Kin from Bad Printer Never could get it connected to my computer. Even you people could not get it connected. I am going to have to send it back. Very bad product and support
Date published: 2022-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Heading to Recycling Bin Found the HP+ smart printing system to be an impediment to using the printer and the requirement to have a HP account and internet connection more bother than it is worth. Replacing the brand-new HP LaserJet M209dwe printer with one made by Brother.
Date published: 2022-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by crabmel from Good printer with terrible Apple support Superior product for price paid. Support for Apple products practically non-existent.
Date published: 2022-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by ylebo from Good printer seems like a good printer. fast, crisp and efficient. I am not sure yet how it is an upgrade over the 1018 I had before for so many years.
Date published: 2022-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from i should have six months free ink per purchase love it but it stopped working and made me sign up for ink program i beleieve i should have gotten the first six months fee
Date published: 2022-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Twodears from Great printer. Absolutely love this printer. Only wish we had purchased it sooner.
Date published: 2022-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hbarnie from In a few words, amazing product Perfect size and very versatile
Date published: 2022-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nanci9675 from Won't connect to my computer I've been trying for a week to connect to my computer with no success. I used the support with messaging. They tried for 3 HOURS with no success. We were disconnected several times, until I finally gave up. I have tried wifi and ethernet. I am sending it back and getiing something that I can actually use.
Date published: 2022-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buckone from Can not use it! It is not what I need or can use. I need to return it. It will not sinc to my HP laptop so it does not work at all!
Date published: 2022-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good printer It’s a good printer
Date published: 2022-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kweenkay from My new printer I purchased this laser jet printer and I am really enjoying it!
Date published: 2022-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Printer not working Printer will not connect to my computers
Date published: 2022-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Javon from It’s a great printer I was a bit skeptical to purchase this particular printer because of the reviews, but I took a chance because I needed a laserjet printer and I only wanted an HP. When trying to setup the printer, I did experience connectivity issues at first, but when I spoke with a representative, they fixed the issue and it’s been perfect ever since. It prints super fast and works off of Wi-Fi. It’s great to me and it’s doing what it’s supposed to do.
Date published: 2022-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by JimPA from M209 Easy to use, bit difficult to install, but GREAT laser b/w Printer
Date published: 2022-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP's awesome Printer, the M209dwe Great performing printer which has exceeded my expectations.
Date published: 2022-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jim G SW USA from Features Really enjoy this printer. It has all the features I need.
Date published: 2022-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from M209dwe HP Laser Jet Printer Outstanding printer I couldn't ask for anything better as it meets it's purpose for me.
Date published: 2022-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by neilsrx from continually looses conectivity continually looses conectivity hp a does not help at all
Date published: 2022-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by Haselhoff from Requires wi-fi only network System set-up was a real challenge requiring 3 hours with HP tech. After set-up discovered the printer will only work with a totally wi-fi network. Since I have 4 HP desktops with two on ethernet and two on wi-fi this limited the usefulness of this printer.
Date published: 2022-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Philip A from Great printer The printer operates well. No issues. Easy to setup.
Date published: 2021-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dsforth from Terrible setup experience - not recommended Terrible setup experience. Note sure why HP couldn’t just let you install a driver and get going with this printer
Date published: 2021-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from Company owner Will not work with windows 7, requires windows 10. Spent several hours with techs.
Date published: 2021-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sharoninmena from I love it! I’ve had several printers over the years. None have been so easy to set up, and so dependable! I appreciate it every day!
Date published: 2021-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paul from MI from Nice, small footprint double sided laser printer I bought this onthe Labor Day sale to replace a failing laser jet 1200. Use with win-10 Pro desktop workstation, cell phones, iPads, network laptop. The printer is solid, much quieter and faster than its predecessor, prints dark black, and has had zero paper jams. setting it up was not easy and I called HP for help because the unit did not respond to the quick setup sheet instructions. We would up hooking a usb cable to the computer and printer starting it that way. The hp smart software seemed poorly responsive and even the tech seemed surprised, HP has really lost ground in ease of installation since the windows plug n play days. After installing 6 devices to use the printer over the course of 1.5 hours, everything continues to work as expected. My only wishes were for the installation simplicity of plug and play and a software control to adjust the print darkness for graphics intensive applications. Small dots and thin lines could use to be darkened a bit to be more useful. The cost of a cartridge of laser toner should be 30% lower, this is a well established technology.
Date published: 2021-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Renew Santa Fe new office machione Great machine recomended to me by my head tech...better than she said
Date published: 2021-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by HARI2256GOLD from NO INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS I AM SENDING THE PRINTER BACK DUE TO UNABLE TO INSTALL. I PRESUMED IT WAS A USB INSTALLATION. I WON 6 HP PRINTERS, THIS INSTALLATION LEAVES LOT TO BE DESIRED
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by eval87 from Great for home use!!! I bought it to print coloring pages for my girls so the ink won’t smear!!! Love it!!!
Date published: 2021-05-14
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_49, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_6GW62E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I have 2 NEW cartridges MLT-D101S. Would these work in this or what model would work? Thanks

Asked by: JBKneedhelp
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP MLT-D101S Black Original Toner Cartridge is compatible with the following printers: Samsung SCX-3401FH Laser Multifunction Printer; Samsung SCX-3406 Laser Multifunction Printer; Samsung SCX-3406F Laser Multifunction Printer; Samsung SCX-3406FH Laser Multifunction Printer; Samsung SCX-3406HW Laser Multifunction Printer; and Samsung SF-760P Laser Multifunction Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Will the HP Laser Jet M209dwe Printer work with Windows7?

Asked by: -mdc
Thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet M209dwe Printer requires a minimum operation system of Windows 10 for Microsoft PCs. This will not be compatible with Windows 7.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

On the Laser Jet M 209 DWE does 30 PPM mean the printing speed?

Asked by: Esther Vigil
Thank you for your question, the PPM stands for pages per minute.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-04-25

Must I be logged on to my HP acct to print? Why is the acct and internet access is required? I have an HP acct and a wireless internet connection. Do I have to do anything in addition to hitting "print"? I'm not interested in extra steps.

Asked by: aldunn
This is an HP+ printer. It requires an HP account, connection to the internet, and exclusive use of Original HP Toner cartridges for the life of the printer. More at:http://www.hp.com/plus-faq
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does it have a document feeder for scanning

Asked by: PSYCHO
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Laserjet m209dwe printer does not have an ADF (Auto Document Feeder) on top. This printer does not have copy or scan functions. We recommend looking at the HP LaserJet MFP M234sdwe Printer which has the capability to print, copy, and scan. And it has the ADF (Auto Document Feeder) on top for scanning and copying up to 40 pages.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-02-17

How do I schedule a home installation with todays purchase of the printer. It has to be tied in with my HP All in One computer. Thanks

Asked by: Bob 59
At this time the HP US Store does not offer in-home installation options. The HP SmartFriend service is a good option for assistance, however. For assistance with SmartFriend go to this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/services/consumer/smartfriend-overview.html
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does it support Color print ? Photos ?

Asked by: Satysaha
The HP LaserJet M209dwe Printer will not print in color. This is a laser printer that prints in black only and is not recommended for photos. For photo printing please see the HP Envy Inkjet options.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-12-02

Dear Support, I want to know that 1. can I use this printer only with USB cable connection without installing wireless? 2. What is the difference between this model and the HP LaserJet M209dw model? 3. Can I DISABLE the wireless waves? Thank you

Asked by: YuliA
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe requires an internet connection. That means it needs to be connected to your wireless network. The HP LaserJet MFP M234dw Printer can be connected to your computer with USB A to B 2.0 cable. Make sure it's the HP LaserJet MFP M234dw Printer model if you choose the USB connection. The HP LaserJet M209dw printer can only print. The HP LaserJet MFP M234dwe and M234dw printers can print, copy, and scan. You can set up your HP printer by going to http://123.hp.com/setup for the most current printer drivers. The website will prompt you on how to set up your new printer with your preferred connection.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-05
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_6GW62E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT