ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw Wireless Printer

  • Blazing fast speeds for professional quality color prints
  • Color printing, wireless, ethernet, Bluetooth, auto 2-sided printing
  • Advanced network protection with Wolf Pro security
  • Dynamic security enabled printer

HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw Wireless Printer is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 29.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_22, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_4RA86F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Creepus from Product great, HP... not so much So this is a tough one for me. This printer is great, it's fast, it's reliable, it's efficient. It has two trays so I can easily set printing to each tray based on what I'm printing (envelopes, paper, etc). The problem though, comes to the HP Smart driver / HP Smart Universal Driver. This driver forces you to use a HP Smart printer configuration tool instead of the normal Windows one. This tool is absolute junk. You set preferences and save it, then the HP App just decides "NOPE, we're going to undo that and make automatic adjustments based on what we think is best." There is a default Windows IPP driver that works just fine though, so if you do go this route, avoid the HP drivers at all cost if you have specific printing configuration requirements. But if you're just using this to print normal paper, it's not an issue. Besides the driver issue, the actual printer itself is great. I thoroughly enjoy the speed of a laserjet compared to an inkjet. The double-sided printing is great also. For my small business, this printer meets all of our needs and expectations. Definitely worth the buy if you're looking for something reliable.
Date published: 2024-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by AjFord from ONE OF BEST ONE I HAVE OWNED THIS IS BEST INVESMENT BY FAR. REALLY FAST AT PRINTING. WORK REALLY WELL FROM MY IPHONE.
Date published: 2024-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mimitr0909 from Gorgeous printer The best printer I have ever had. The quality of the photos is superior to other laser printers I have had. Easy to connect to your wifi, All my family members are able to use thru the local network, my kids use for school homework, my husband take the advantage for his job, and I love print photos for my craft books. super fast and economical. It's worth every dollar you pay. I recommend it 100%
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sixamskier4 from All the Features you want, the price you need! I have been using the HP LaserJet Pro4201dw for a few weeks now and it has proven to be an excellent printer. We use it at our home business to print business documents from contracts to flyers and the kids get their color pictures too. I can tell you this printer is impressive. Print quality and speed is top notch. This printer prints like a professional printer yet is small enough to tuck away into the corner of my office! Durability and manufacturer detail is realized right out of the box, and this printer was built for the long run. One of the features I love is the auto duplex printing option. Auto duplexing helps to save paper automatically by automatically printing on both sides. This is my first printer with auto duplexing, and it is a time and paper saver! Tax season is going to put this printer through its paces, and I know it's going to be an excellent saver all the way around! One thing I struggled with was setup. I am usually not a rule follower and went out on my own as I had set up previous printers in the past. It took me longer than it should have, and I confused myself! Setup was easy if I followed the steps provided and didn’t go out of order. That’s the biggest advice I have for pain-free setup. Follow the directions and it’s a breeze! Overall, this printer is a great color laser printer that has all the features you want in a professional printer, built to last and at a price to keep the budget in order!
Date published: 2024-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by DNSiii from A GREAT printer but awkward software I took over and hour for tech support to get the software installed ad working on my Apple Mac.
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by mmolzahn1 from Absolutely Marvelous To say I’m absolutely blown away by the HP Color LaserJet Pro Printer would be a complete understatement. I’ve owned several printers throughout my life and this printer tops every other printer I’ve owned, by far. I absolutely love that it is a color laser printer, I print documents several times a day and the quality color that this printer produces is outstanding. The second picture I added to this post is a customized picture of the 3 kitties with the song lyrics of “Heartbroken” by Dipole, Jessie Murph & Polo G. Because of the intricacy of this picture with the lyrics, etc. I was blown away by how wonderful the quality ended up being after printing it. There is also another customized picture of Spongey that I printed with this printer and as you can see it turned out absolutely flawless. Lastly, this printer has blazing fast speeds when printing documents, pictures, etc. It prints within a matter of seconds! The setup was easy, the printer connected to my wifi right away and works better than words can express!
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by CDavilaEgr from Advanced High-Quality Printer This printer has blown me away by its print quality. I am able to print photo prints at home. The print time from sleep to print is about 3-5 seconds which is really nice to see in a laser printer. Additionally, it has awesome security features, user management, and print (storage) locations. The user interface takes some time to get used to. For example, it only has a dial to enter the password which was a bit frustrating. Also, connectivity was a bit difficult as it timed out on me a few times. Once setup, however, it has been perfect and have had no issues at all. I am beyond happy with the printer!
Date published: 2024-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kristy400 from Beautiful images So far I am loving this printer. I’ve had a few brands but love HP, the colors are perfect, looks just like the originally picture or page. The speed of the printer is awesome, I hit print and before I can get out of my seat it’s done. Hook up was simple. I have had an issue with it somehow changing to manual two sided printing and I cannot figure out how to switch it back. Other than that it’s been great, colors are beautiful, connectivity was easy.
Date published: 2024-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moonb007 from Fast and Easy to Use I have been very happy with the HP LaserJet 4201dw printer. Right out of the box the setup was super easy and connected to my WiFi network with no issues. I love the fact of how fast it can print in both color or black and white, which makes larger printing jobs a breeze. Printing over our network as also been very stable and the app is easy to use from our tablets. The only printing function I have not used is the USB plug, but it is nice knowing that I do have that option. The paper tray hold a lot and so does the multi paper tray as well. The printer seems to do everything and can even print on envelopes which will make Christmas cards super easy this year. Overall I have been very happy with the quality of the prints, speed and how easy it has been to use.
Date published: 2024-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loslugo14 from Quality prints I received my HP LaserJet 4201dw printer and immediately got to work. Setup was faitly simple. Follow the onscreen instructions using the dial on top of the machine to make your selections. As soon as I got my printer set up and updated the firmware, my children gathered for their chance to utilize this exciting new contraption. Ever since I have been printing coloring pages for contented littles. However, that is not ALL I have been up to! I was able to print some photos for my mother-in-law who lives out of the country. My teenager needed some documents printed for school, and I have prepared work projects. The list goes on! I know this printer will be well-loved by my large family. It included a free two-month subscription to Instant Ink, HP's savings program for toner so that I never have to run out in the middle of a project! Overall, this is a solid machine that works for the needs of my family. I would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2024-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by ddz602 from Perfect Printer for my Home Office I could not be happier with this printer. For years I have had a black/white laser printer and a separate color inkjet printer set up in my office. This printer has been a game changer. I am no longer switching out cords. This printer is exactly what I was looking for. The print quality is top notch. It was so easy to connect and even easier to use. I highly recommend this printer!
Date published: 2024-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by vineela from Fastest I felt the set up was very easy to do on my tablet and chromebook. I was able to connect to my WIFI and easily print from my devices. I was pleasantly surprised to see how fast the printer worked and the quality of the printing is very good. The quality of the printing is so good. I can print it from my phone too. That is the best part too.
Date published: 2024-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turner42 from Absolutely phenomenal performance Right out of the box this printer feels and looks nice. The HP LaserJet 4201dw has a nice sleek design with tasteful blue front panels. Set up was quite easy especially considering it’s a printer of all things. All you need to do is plug in the power cord and follow the prompts on the printer screen. I personally found it took less than ten minutes before I was able to start printing wirelessly. I typically print documents ranging from 20 to 50 pages several times a week, this will typically take several minutes and eats through printer ink. After having the printer for one week the toner levels haven’t even moved! Not to add my first 22 page document took about 45 seconds from the time I hit print to when the document was finished. I am a huge fan of this printer if you print daily or are a small business I can’t stress enough this printer has forever changed my view on ink printing and would absolutely recommend the LaserJet 4201dw.
Date published: 2024-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mari1211cj from Fast printing I felt the set up was very easy to do on my tablet and chromebook. I was able to connect to my WIFI and easily print from my devices. I was pleasantly surprised to see how fast the printer worked and the quality of the printing is very good. Cons: I am not a fan of the knob that’s used to choose the settings and other things on the printer. Having to turn the knob to find the right letter takes a little too much time and sometimes it took a few tries to get the right letter. The screen also seems too bright. Plus, unfortunately I am still trying to figure out how to download the driver onto my desktop. Every time I try it disappears and I am unable to find the answer on the HP support page.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by aniaqueens from Really great printer I've used lots of printers in my career, and this one is really good. It's a bit heavy and huge, but it comes with everything you need to connect. Plus, it's wireless, and connecting it to WiFi was a breeze. I managed to set it up myself. It prints fast, colors are great, hardly ever jams, and you can print from your phone, which is awesome. Zero connectivity issues. Oh, and it's also really quiet. Overall, its weight and size aren't deal-breakers.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by peter182 from Great printer This printer is practically perfect. Between being compact, great picture quality, a nice design that doesn't look like your typical '90s office printer, there's not much wrong about this printer. Actually, one of the only things that I wish it had was the ability to be a scanner! Aunt two paper trays would have been a nice touch but it shouldn't be the difference between buying this printer and not . The worst part about the setup was removing all the stickers as they tended to tear. A lot! Print quality and print speed were second to none. Aunt, the access to the toner cartridges is a great engineering feat having All four of them on a single tray that pulls out. Over Wi-Fi My document prints within seconds of me pressing the print icon. It's actually kind of scary how fast it does print. I did a couple photos but only on regular paper and I was very pleased with the quality. Actually more than very pleased. I was very shocked by how good it was. And no wet paper like a inkjet would be! And the printer is surprisingly not loud for a laser. I won't say quiet like a inkjet but not loud like laser printers of the past. You know it's printing but you're not scared it's going to explode! One thing to keep in mind is when I was going through the setup on the printer it asked me if I wanted to update the firmware. It warned me that I would not be able to use some third-party toner suppliers if I applied this firmware. I was shocked by this announcement. And shocked that they actually admitted to it before. Just doing it. I had a different printer that kept pestering me for firmware updates and eventually I did it and it didn't allow me to use third party inks anymore. I am very not happy with this unnamed company! Having the ability to choose and the knowledge of the changes is a big step forward with some companies. This led me to think very highly of HP as previously I would have tried to choose otherwise! So other than the stickers, the only other issue I have had is printing while on a VPN for work. I'm very certain it's possible and I don't remember how I did it on my previous printer but now I just have to sit down and spend a few minutes to figure it out as it isn't just a nice simple process.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phamine from Blazing fast and Color Accurate Smart Color Laser printer made for the entrepreneur, small business, and Work from Home user. If you're a user that is on the go and need to print color quickly and have a wireless connection, this printer will serve that purpose and more. In terms of it being a smart device, you'll be able to print remotely even if your PC or phone isn't connected to the Wi-Fi connection at home. You'll be able to connect to this printer anywhere using the HP Smart app on your Android or IOS phone. Just open the app, pull up the file you need to print from your email, local storage, or cloud storage and send it to the printer. This printer is fast and will be able to print both sides. You won’t have to worry about the image bleeding into the other side of the sheet either. The image that’s printed on the paper won’t rub off on your hands either which is a problem with regular inkjet printers. When it comes to the print, text from documents is sharp and crisp. Images surprisingly is color accurate. The blacks are black and the whites are white. So if you want images in your reports, you won’t have an issue with colors as the images really pop. The printer does lack a scanner and copier. However, this printer is smart. Just use your phone to capture images, documents and send them to your printer. The HP Smart software really replaces the need for a scanner as you can also save images as PDFs which looks like word documents. But what about faxing? The HP Smart app that is made for this printer also allows you to use mobile fax. In the end, this printer fits the bill for a lot of my needs. The HP smart app really replaces the need for a scanner. Less is actually more and this printer is made with that mindset.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by greg126 from Not the easiest to set up, but works well. I am returning to HP for my small business needs to print documents and promotional material after a brief stint with another brand. I like that the cost per print and longevity of cartridges seems to be a better fit for my company's needs. Set up was a bit challenging and it took some time to get it to sync for wireless printing. Took some tinkering to get Windows to recognize and begin to print successfully. Once I managed to get it connected, it printed right away. I'm happy with the speed of printing and the quality of the prints. I also appreciate the color screen to check supply, but the knob can be a little unresponsive versus push buttons I am used to. So far, no paper jams, even with duplex printing.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by iamthebest1 from Aesthetically Pleasing and Great Looking Printer This is an aesthetically pleasing and a great looking printer. I like the blue color in the front facade. The setup was very easy and quick. It connected with the Wifi very swiftly. The knob design is a new one and it would take a little time to get used to it. It is an interesting concept. Printouts come out at a very fast pace and the print quality is amazing. I am really liking the capability to print from mobile phones. I would recommend to my friends and family members.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hardten from So Speedy! This printer is amazing! It prints so quickly and with amazing color clarity. It's perfect for a small office setting. I use it to put together work presentations and I can't believe how fast it prints in color. I love that it's a laser printer with cartridges that last much longer than an inkjet. It's a true workhorse. So easy to use right out of the box. Easy to connect to WiFi and connected right away to my computer. I love the HP Smart app so I can print right from my phone and tablet in high quality color. I can't recommend it enough!
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mickey007 from Smooth and Speedy The setup went much more smoothly than I had expected. The wifi seamlessly established the connections to all my desktops and handheld devices. Though the selection "knob" is a bit large, it is very clear and functional. And I was pleasantly surprised by the speed of the duplexing, let alone single sided copies! So far, I am very pleased with this investment and would highly recommend this printer.
Date published: 2024-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ken C, in CA, USA from Difficult installation but terrific printer Initially I couldn't install the software. I have an HP Phoenix desktop running Win 7 64-bit, and tried to install it using a USB cable (I didn't need the wireless/bluetooth feature). I logged onto the help desk and a truly terrific technician spent a lot of time trying to install the drivers and software. Finally, using what he called an "alternative method", he succeeded. I am now thrilled with this printer! Compared to my old (14 yrs) HP Color LaserJet 1600, this is SO MUCH faster, quieter, sharper and truer colors, and it does double-sided printing automatically (for my old 1600, I had to remove the papers and reprint the pages for the other side). It was worth the few hours of frustration I spent, and the couple of hours of your help desk, to get things running. And, maybe, if I had a newer operating system it might have been no trouble at all to install. I highly recommend this printer.
Date published: 2024-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Perfect when you have a separate scanner! I used the USB port to load a firmware upgrade, which was easy for me but not clearly documented for less techy users. Otherwise, the software setup was a breeze. Having a quality scanner I prefer this slightly smaller footprint over HP's typical AIO ("all-in-one") printers. Besides the fact that the scanners with the AIO units are generally inferior to a free standing scanner. But I stick with HP for all my printer needs.
Date published: 2023-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quiet Corner from LaserJet Pro 4201dw Very pleased with my new printer. It was easy to set up and works well. I’ve been using it for about a week now and it’s very efficient and fast; nice quality printing too.
Date published: 2023-08-15
  • y_2024, m_5, d_22, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_4RA86F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What i the anticipated release date of this printer? Is there a way to get on a notification list to be alerted when the printer is available?

Asked by: cgraham
No release date is currently available for this HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw Wireless Printer. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-15

how do i print over bluetooth with my HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw

Asked by: kevin98494664987
Hello, Kevin. Thanks for your question. The HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw printer uses WiFi technology. If you want a direct connection. We recommend using WiFi Direct. Wireless Direct (WiFi Direct) allows you to directly connect to a printer from a mobile device or computer without the need for internet access or a wireless network. You would connect to the printer’s wireless direct signal just like you would connect to a wireless network. The printer would have a unique name in your wireless connections, i.e. Direct-04-Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-02

does this printer perform scan, fax, copy as well as printing

Asked by: rrine4
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw printer cannot scan, fax, or copy. I recommend looking at the HP Laserjet Pro 4301fdw printer which can print, copy, scan, and fax.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-06

Does this HP Printer enlarge and reduce copies?

Asked by: Ted113
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw printer does not have a copy function. I recommend looking at the HP Laserjet Pro 4301fdw printer which would allow you to print, copy, scan, and fax. You will also be able to enlarge and reduce copies.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-12

Is HP-Laser Jet Pro 420 1dw wireless clor laser printer compatible with Mac OS Sonoma 14.4.1

Asked by: Roy33
Hello Roy, and thank you for your question! Yes, this HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw Wireless Printer is compatible with macOS 10.15 and newer.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-05-15

Can it accurately print avery sticker labels specifically the 22820 sticker?

Asked by: Tjano26
Hello. Thanks for your question. The Avery Print-to-the-Edge Laser/Inkjet Specialty Labels, 2" x 3 1/3", Glossy White, 8 Labels/Sheet, 10 Sheets/Pack (22820) are compatible with this HP Laserjet Pro 4201dw printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-12

Can this printer do a 3x5 index card?

Asked by: jparsai
Thank you for your interest in the HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw. Tray 1 can print on 3x5 index cards with a weight up to up to 176 g/m².
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-03-08

Does this printer have automatic document feeder and wi fi? Is it compatible with Mac 0s10.13.6?

Asked by: Stuffm
Thank you for your question, the HP Color LaserJet Pro 4201dw does not feature an automatic document feeder, and is compatible with the following versions of Mac. macOS 10.15 Catalina; macOS 11 Big Sur; macOS 12 Monterey; macOS 13 Ventura.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2024-04-24
  • y_2024, m_5, d_22, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_4RA86F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT