ENERGY STAR | Small Office

Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax, dual band wireless
  • Print speed letter: Up to 22 ppm (black and color)
  • Smart app; Auto duplex printing; 250 sheet paper tray (standard); 2.7” color touchscreen
  • High yield toner available
  • Dynamic security enabled printer

HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 699.
  • y_2024, m_6, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_330, tr_369
  • loc_en_US, sid_7KW75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by Crosby & Assoc. CPA LLC from Concept is great quality not so good This printer is great but has a mind of its own. Prints when it wants to
Date published: 2024-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Juliahix from Reliable, consistent, affordable, fantastic quality This is my favorite printer of all times. Wonderful speed and quality output always reliable. Working in real estate, the various scanning and printing functions and the speed with which I can quickly print out detail listing information is really helpful.
Date published: 2024-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jensen D from Love my new HP Laserjet Great printer
Date published: 2024-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by hdr2121 from Great Printer; Remote Printing Difficult Setting up remote printing is more difficult than it used to be
Date published: 2024-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by Banke of America from Documentation needs work Works well but connecting my computer to it over my Wi-Fi was difficult. I needed a code to connect but neither the HP help videos, nor the manual gave good directions to locate the code. Just by luck I was able to associate the acronym to the actual name of the code and found it on the printer. HP needs better documentation.
Date published: 2024-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Matrix Mechanical from HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw Easy install and use
Date published: 2024-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stevie’s from Printer review Laser Jet Pro MFP M283fdw Quality print outs vibrant colors. However disappointed in the speed of the printer. It seems to take an extended period of time before the printer actually prints a document.
Date published: 2024-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by Laura in KY from Solid printer Prints text well; love the multi-functionality. This is my second HP Laser Jet Pro and I noticed that this version is louder than the previous. It also appears to go to sleep and has trouble waking. Otherwise, I’m very pleased.
Date published: 2024-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ederd8 from Great printer with easy set-up Easy set-up and printing great so far! Very happy with the purchase and the fact that it prints both black and white and color with good speed and good size. We upgraded from a black and white HP laser jet.
Date published: 2024-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by Xris from Great little all in one printer ...with one big problem. I have only owned it for about three weeks. The machine itself is great. Clear, sharp lines. Good color. Clean scans and copies. Quick. Relatively compact size. No issues with the setup. Perfect for a small, home office. Covers all my needs and then some. Its a little noisy, but I don't mind that...sounds like business :) I can't give it any higher rating though because it is CONSTANTLY disconnecting itself from my network. I get one print job and then it disconnects. I have to fuss with it to get it back online. Every single time. From what I've researched online, this is an HP issue top to bottom. I'm being generous with the 3 stars because of how nice a little printer/scanner it is, but the network issue is SUCH a hassle. If you need to print a lot for your business, or are not "IT savvy" I do not recommend. If you turn it on - print something - turn it off until you need to print again in a week or so, then its perfectly fine.
Date published: 2024-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jamie F from Good office printer Great compact printer
Date published: 2024-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from My HP Deskjet Printer This Laser Jet is okay, but not what I expected from this printer. There's only one Paper Tray where you put paper in.
Date published: 2024-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by Andrea T from MOSTLY GOOD, Some Not-So-Good I ordered this printer on Amazon, on sale and was very excited to replace my previous printer with one slightly smaller that really fits in my home office. And I LOVE that it is WHITE!! The printer repair place I took my old one to helped me find this model that they recommended. It is good quality! One thing I don’t like though is that it is quite noisy when working. It is silent while resting (which is great!), but it is kind of loud while warming up and also while printing. Everything else seems to be fine so far. I have not yet printed a lot of colors on it but I am happy so far. Setting up the scanner, connecting it to my computer was a bit tricky, but we figured it out. (I had a tech friend help me set this up, it’s not exactly for the non-tech person). One more thing I like is that the ink toners are not as expensive as my last printer was, especially if you get the XL longer lasting ones. So now — the Not-So-Good — This one is my 2nd one I ordered! The 1st one from Amazon turned out to be defective!! After my friend set it up for me, it looked like everything was working fine, and all of a sudden when I went to scan, the message screen had an error 13 mesage on it. So I did what it said, and it didn’t work! t was frozen. Then the screen went completely blank, all black. Then I tried unplugging, & other things, and then the screen went completely blank, all white! So I called the HP tech help line, and the guy was good. But he concluded that since it was sort of dead, non-responsive, he couldn’t give me any directions on what to do. So he declared it “defective” and sent me a return label, and then offered to order me one right on the phone. That was convenient, but having to send back the first one, and WAIT for the second one, was a real nuisance! I just hope that his one works and lasts! I still recommend this model for home or office!
Date published: 2024-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from What a great printer! This is an outstanding printer with very helpful tech support. I love the envelope drawer. I've had trouble with other printers having difficulty with this feature. It exceeds my expectations, as do the support staff. I highly recommend HP.
Date published: 2024-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by JLM Alaska from Fantastic printer This all-in-one printer is great! I love everything about it, speed, ease of use, scanning & copying capability. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2024-02-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Failure copying two sides to new page with two sides. Unable to copy two-sided page to page with two sides.
Date published: 2024-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by K2Peaker from Time to Modernize Great wireless color laser printer
Date published: 2024-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by PT from Berkeley from Great printer! Great printer! Fast, high quality printing, photocopying, and scanning.
Date published: 2024-02-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by LTRO from Bad experience I had a terrible experience with this printer. It would not print clearly when I purchased it. It was incredibly difficult to contact HP for assistance. After many attempts to reach someone by phone, I was only able to engage in a chat format with customer service. After 3 days of jumping through their hoops of tests and proof of poor print quality, they finally agreed to send all new toner cartridges. Days later I received 1 new cartridge. I returned the machine which was difficult for me as it was so heavy. I originally had it delivered. I STILL have NOT received the refund to my card.
Date published: 2024-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by airose from Great Printer Duplex color printing and wireless. We love this printer so far. We upgraded from an older laser black and white to this and we're very happy with our purchase. It's noisier than I anticipated and also the setup is a little confusing at first but once we downloaded the HP Smart to our computer, everything is running smoothly. One issue that I notice is if the printer isn't running for a few days, you have to restart it to get it all to connect properly but now knowing that, it's no biggie.
Date published: 2024-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by HP fed up from No real help available! Very difficult to set up with my HP All in One desktop. Works one day, not the next. My HP NO HELP.
Date published: 2024-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Difficult to install Over the last 30 years, I have installed at least seven or eight HP printers. Without question, this was the most difficult to install. I required help from both HP tech support on two different occasions and Dell computer twice before I could get my new printer to work consistently.
Date published: 2024-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nanno from Excellent Laser Color Copier/Printer Very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2024-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP Customer Service is the worst Be very very careful with buying an HP Printer. Their customer service lines are THAT bad. You wait a long time, get passed from rep to rep. And then dont get your questions answered. It's like dealing with the cable companies. That bad.
Date published: 2024-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by patcg60 from Very Happy Very happy and lightning delivery
Date published: 2024-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by BUZ4 from FLAWLESS PRINTER SET-UP AND WIRELESS NETWORKING WERE STRAIGHT FORWARD AND FLAWLESS
Date published: 2024-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mama Lea from HP Color Laser Jet Pro MFP M283fdw Has a very nice print. (Concerned about the clunk noise it makes when first starts to print.)
Date published: 2023-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by catandsplat from It lets you know it's there Ok so far, just noisy
Date published: 2023-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by Carrie H. from Not worth the money. Ok printer.
Date published: 2023-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopper FH from Funeral Home Business Very nice printer. Color is bright and setup was simple.
Date published: 2023-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by AnnieNC from Does the job This was a replacement for our 12-year old HP laser printer, that sadly could not be repaired (roller issue, print quality remained excellent). This printer does the job but in comparison to the older model is noisy and feels “very plastic”. I have not been able to connect it to my Apple scanning software and therefore the quality of the HP scanner app is sub-standard for the detail often required. If you are looking for a simple LaserJet this will be ok.
Date published: 2023-11-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by D. Gray from Poor Print Quality on the Color LaserJet Pro MFP I am very unhappy with the quality of printing of my new HP Color LaserJet Pro. Previously I had the HP Color LaserJet CP2025 and absolutely loved the print and accurate color match it produced. Crisp imagery and color are important as I am a self employed designer and rely on quality proofs for my clients. Unfortunately, after years of it being an incredible workhorse of a printer…it died. I spent over an hour online with a rep asking them to recommend a comparable printer and followed their suggestion and purchased the Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw. Sadly, it does not come close in print quality to my former HP printer. If print quality matters, do not purchase this model.
Date published: 2023-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nick RF from Perfect Entry Level Laser MFP Unboxing and initial setup were simple. Performs as expected. Printed text, graphics, and photos are crisp and clear. Scanning is simple and straightforward. Document feeder is great. This is used by a single office employee. I would not recommend this for a multi-person office.
Date published: 2023-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ryan7910 from Piece of junk Printer keeps having errors
Date published: 2023-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ioannis from MFP M283fdw VERY EASY TO SET UP
Date published: 2023-11-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by R.Bowen from Broken I love this printer, I own a similar model personally but this one that I bought for a staff member was delivered broken. I submitted a case for it two weeks ago tomorrow and haven't heard anything back.
Date published: 2023-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by YPP LXS from Very Satisfied Really like my new printer. Its compatible and easy to integrate with my HP Laptop and Apple Phone. Very user friendly and easy to setup!
Date published: 2023-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by NancyVB from Easy and Trouble Free Super easy to set up. Really sharp color. Cartridges - though smaller than my old printer - last longer than I expected they would. Easy transition from letter to legal. Speed and volume as advertised. Just no complaints.
Date published: 2023-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by dlfang from A Great Printer/Copier It's a great printer at a reasonable price, and even better since it was on sale. I owned the previous model, MFP M277dw, which was still providing excellent documents. I left it with the church I retired from so they would have an good quality printer/copier to use. The M283dw is just as good if not better, and I look forward to many years of trouble free service.
Date published: 2023-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by oh dear from learned new skill Not too bad setting up for a grandma. However, be warned, there's no paper instructions. It's all programmed online!
Date published: 2023-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by jboyett from Super easy set up and print! Printer has been easy to set up and great color and black and white documents!
Date published: 2023-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sharon in California from Good, Reliable Printer with Some Missing Features Replaces my HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdw. Some features I really liked are missing from this printer (e.g., manual feed more than one sheet at a time, scanning app is extremely poor, hard to set printer defaults). But it is reliable and so far works well.
Date published: 2023-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Johnny Cupcakes from Very Happy It! Easy to set up. Connected to my home WiFi quickly and easily. The client software apps (desktop for Mac and iPhone) were pretty easy to find and set up. Prints quickly and crisply. Very happy with this purchase so far!
Date published: 2023-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by zdtucker from Great Home Office Printer This is the perfect printer for my small home office. I am running 2 separate businesses from this space, and the printer, scanner, copier does what I need and was easy to set up and use within minutes. The only issue I had was setting up my icloud email account to the scanner for "scan to email", but quickly searched and found that I could use a gmail address to do this and it worked. Just be sure to google "how" and use the tips and tricks to get it to work with your gmail. There are a few steps that one wouldn't think of.
Date published: 2023-09-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mixed feelings from Great printer, if you can keep it alive for more than a few years Now on my 3rd printer of this model. It is excellent for home color laser printing. That being said, I’ve had 2 catastrophic failures which have required me to exchange the printer once and buy a new one altogether. Seems like a suspicious way to get everyone to subscribe to the extended warranty.
Date published: 2023-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tori B from HP makes great printers with accurate, vivid colors. We have owned a numbers of HP printers during the lifetime of our business. We started out decades ago with one of the first B/W printers that ran faithfully for years. Each of our employees has a color laser HP. We honestly feel that you can’t beat them. My only complaint with this latest model is that it has a chip so you can’t use any aftermarket toner. Even though we normally purchase the terribly expensive HPToner, it irritates me that I have no other option should I want to use an aftermarket cartridge on an older printer.
Date published: 2023-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by PJSM from Controller Very easy set up
Date published: 2023-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by TerryPM2 from Fantastic printer for my home office! This printer is very quick and efficient for my home office needs. I love that it is a multi-tasker and that (if I wanted to use it), it has wireless capability. It does double-sided printing, too, which is a plus. I only wish that it also had the capability to do 11 x 17 sized scanning and printing. That would definitely kick things up a notch.
Date published: 2023-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by PaJaMe from Very good home office printer. Very good home office printer so far. The setup instructions were a little confusing, wasn’t sure which option to use. All is good though. It’s all set up now and working great.
Date published: 2023-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Prompt Delivery Arrived in perfect condition earlier than we expected. Works Great!
Date published: 2023-08-22
  • y_2024, m_6, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_330, tr_369
  • loc_en_US, sid_7KW75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

does this printer has scan to email capability? Please advise

Asked by: Win Win
Thanks for your question! The HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw will be able to scan to email.
Answered by: HP Expert Grant
Date published: 2022-09-27

What year is the production of this printer. I have a laserjet which is now 7 years old and according to your service department, my new HP computer does not support my old printer, therefor it no longer will scan. works great otherwise

Asked by: JDanneo
You may want to look into a free application named NAPS2, Not Another PDF Scanner 2. It may work as long as you can install a TWAIN or WIA driver for the scanner portion of the MFP.
Answered by: AndrewPB
Date published: 2024-02-18

Does this print banners

Asked by: JG73
Thank you for your question! The maximum print size on this HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283 is 8.5" by 14". For banner printing please see the HP DesignJet printers. Those printers use roll paper which is great for banners and many other uses as well.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Once replacement cartridges are installed does the yield increase from the initial set of cartridges?

Asked by: Gilbert S
Yes, the HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw does not come with standard-size cartridges. The standard-size cartridges will have more page yields. Also, toner is used in the initial setup that isn't used at any other time.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

How do I turn on and save 2 sided copying?

Asked by: Keystone
For assistance with this question, please visit this link to view the User Manual for this HP LaserJet Pro M283 printer. https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-color-laserjet-pro-m282-m285-multifunction-printer-series/29448786/model/29448718/manuals
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this printer work with Apple Silicon M2 and OS X Monterey v12.5 ?

Asked by: riderworks
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, this HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw printer is compatible with macOS Monterey 12.5.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does the printer accept legal size paper as a "form feed" rather than only letter size through the feeder tray?

Asked by: Edward16Feb23
Yes, this HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M283fdw is compatible with legal-size paper from both paper trays.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-17

CAN YOU FAX VIA WIFI ON M283

Asked by: mMSB
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can use Mobile Fax. Mobile fax is where you can send faxes through the HP Smart app on your smartphone, tablet, or computer. If you need to send or receive faxes, you can use a service like eFax. Here are more details about the mobile fax: https://www.hpsmart.com/us/en/mobile-fax Here is a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvDAYa1nZzw
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-04-23
  • y_2024, m_6, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_394
  • loc_en_US, sid_7KW75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 93ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT