Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print only, built-in Dual-Band Wi-Fi
  • Print speed letter: Up to 28 ppm (black and color)
  • Auto duplex printing; 2 paper trays (standard); 2.7-inch touchscreen
  • Best-in-class security - detect and stop attacks
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 134.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_51, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1Y45A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great printer Great printer
Date published: 2023-08-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by WI Coop from Satisfied Overall I am pretty satisfied about the printer. My only gripe is that it does not fit legal paper very well.
Date published: 2023-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Levent from Quality printer for small office setting We are very happy with the printer so far. It's quick printing and a quality machine. It was recommended by a printer technician for a small office.
Date published: 2023-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert LLP from Wireless Printer Installs easily with the other stations and functions great
Date published: 2023-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by robertcgs from Faulty settings ussue The Wi-Fi settings would not connect to my wireless network. I called HP support and at first, he put it off as a problem with my Wi-Fi. Since I knew it was not my Wi-Fi we checked further and found the settings were not allowing changes as it was supposed to, and it would not auto recognize AES security settings. Eventually everything was resolved.
Date published: 2023-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fab 4 Fan from Easy Fast, quiet, easy to set up!
Date published: 2023-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Very reliable printer. This printer replaces an HP printer, identical in nature.
Date published: 2023-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carl’s Public Name from Continuing customer. Pretty loyal HP laser printer buyer. This one was bigger than I’d assumed it’d be, but it’s quality is top of line.
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by Peggy Lu from ... CONTACT me in 14 days.. I need to hire help, scheduled 4 tomorrow to lift, et al. Very heavy.
Date published: 2023-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Why it was so difficult to get my computer started The printer works fine. However, I had to go through hoops. I ultimately figured out how to get drivers to make the printer print. Then I ultimately found out how to get a warranty. I suspect there was a mixup in what printer I have. IThat made things difficult.
Date published: 2023-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Problem with new laser printer. I purchased a new laser printer that cannot print in color, only in black and white. I downloaded all the drivers upon set up as instructed. Trying to reach tech support to get the issue corrected.
Date published: 2022-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Yah I would buy it again Actually decent darn product. It is an excellent size and is printing well on regular paper and card stock. It's drivers aren't great though. Example - I try to print double sided and it has a brain fart. I'm sure there is a resolution, but one that I don't care to find. But beyond some random weird glitches, I am very happy.
Date published: 2022-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yooperdude from Easy as setting up works like unbelievable!
Date published: 2022-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roberts45 from Great!!! This is the best printer I've ever owned. Setup took seconds. It's fast. Doesn't jam. Prints good looking text and decent photos. Keep up the good work HP.
Date published: 2022-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from The WiFi Sleep of Death Print quality is great. Wireless capability? Not so much. It loses its WiFi connection as soon as it sleeps. You have to turn it off and on, and after a few minutes it reacquires the connection.
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by RickOfAustin from Great Printer For Apple Devices The printer is working with my Mac mini and my iPhone, which is more than I expected.
Date published: 2022-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by EJ Warren from Great Printer Great printer, very easy to setup. Very user friendly!
Date published: 2022-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vonzable from Faster than a speeding bullet!!! I purchased this machine to replace an existing HP laser color jet CP 2025. The speed was incredible on the new M454dw! I had pages spit out almost instantly, whereas I had to wait up to a minute or so on my previous machine. I was impressed on the new menu as well. The touch screen was easy to read and maneuver through setting up choices. I'm using a Mac computer and print out almost everything and Adobe Illustrator. Wireless is truly the way to go!
Date published: 2022-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by J from VA from Great printer Excellent printer. Fast and crisp. Easy to set up.
Date published: 2022-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sean56 from Okay quality Toner cartridges are expensive to replace, print quality is okay, not wonderful. Slow to print. For the money should be a better product.
Date published: 2022-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Colee from Printing cards beautifully Excellent print quality. It has handled 110lb card stock without any problems.
Date published: 2022-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by TerryWM from Fantastic Printer This printer is replacing an older model that was also still working, however I wanted something with more features. Duplex printing, 5Ghz wifi capability, and super fast printing are the key items I was looking for. I'm extremely pleased with this purchase and will continue to be an HP customer.
Date published: 2022-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by Discourage from Ksplat Great color laser print high quality you expect for HP
Date published: 2022-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by Home Office Printer from So far so good . . . I purchased this M454 as a replacement for my much-loved CP 2025, which I have used and used for years and affectionately call my "workhorse". The workhorse needs to be put out to pasture, and my hope is that this model will take its place. So far so good... great color, smooth fast printing . . . but I have not put it to the real test yet; I will in a couple of days as I am getting ready to print 100 copies of an 8-page quarterly newsletter! I have been disappointed to see that the plastic which forms the body of the printer seems thinner and more flimsy than the 2025; the paper tray, the output tray, and the toner compartment door don't seem as sturdy. Setup instructions were minimal :-( and no user manual included!?!?!?
Date published: 2022-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whom Cares from Great home office printer Love it so far, fast and quiet, excellent quality color.
Date published: 2022-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by TimDA from I really like this printer! Very easy printer to use wireless , it took just seconds to hookup to Wi-Fi .
Date published: 2021-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by ML208 from My printer is a lemon My printer has not worked properly since I received it. It will not print in color at all and I am having no luck with customer service.
Date published: 2021-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by bdlim from Terrible I bought it and it stopped working after less than a month
Date published: 2021-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by StephanieG from Amazing printer, no scanner. Excellent printer, just wish it were a scanner as well.
Date published: 2021-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by J Mac from Poor / non existent support Software and drivers are an issue if ur using a Mac If you’re trying to get support you’ll be on the phone waiting for days and days. Pointless to buy if need any type of aupport
Date published: 2021-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joe308 from Excellent Printer This printer is fast and prints perfectly. I’ve never had a printer that was so easy to set up for wireless connectivity.
Date published: 2021-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ann G from Can not get Printer to come up When the printer works it is fine but sometimes like right now I can not get my computer to zinc with printer. I never had this problem with my old printer. Why will it sometimes work and other times I can not get it to print. Will have to wait until tomorrow and have my husband work on it.
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by johnd74 from Colors bleeding I have this printer brand new and the colors bleed across the pages and with solid cllors there is spottyness and missing spots. I use this printer to primarilly print labels for CDs and DVDs that contain a lot of color and this was a bad choice for that use.
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by mudflaps mcgee from Defective I bought this direct from HP and it was sent with a defective fuser. It took several hours over days to trouble shoot with HP customer service and was returned.
Date published: 2021-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by scottam from Great quality printing! Bought this to replace a much older HP laser printer and so far have been very happy with it. Color print quality is great and it has a duplex feature that is easy to use.
Date published: 2021-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by future link from Very quick and quiet We bought this printer about 3 weeks ago. It was very easy to set up, including connecting to our network. Everyone in the house, no matter the computer, can print from this printer. We love it!
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by artist and educator from HP Printer Color Laser Jet Pro M454dw I was in the market to replace my aging HP printer CP2025dn, which I had for 12 years. This printer was the closest I found to matching the printer quality, and overall function of my previous printer. Though I will say that the Laser Jet Pro M454dw is quieter than my CP2025dn printer. And it processes a typical full bleed image using less time and energy.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by Crash 1900 from Ink will bleed you dry! Horrible customer care. My prior HP model 452 lasted 18 months but it was out of warranty so HP would not back it's product in any way.
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by AmHH from Home office perfection Great for working from home! It’s quiet, fast and crisp!
Date published: 2021-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by jafff from Great printer Very happy with this printer. Both with speed and quality.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by AhmadSaidi from Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great
Date published: 2020-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Lady from Fast and sleek Easy setup and great quality. Love the look and all the modern conveniences.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by CiCi9249 from Just what I hoped for I had this same printer on my network in my office. I was looking for a new printer for my home office, but it needed to be wifi; so I bought the wifi compatible version. I love this printer and it works perfectly.
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by URoastEm from Easy set-up and perfect operation We own a small business and do all of our printing on-site (invoices, lables, ads, etc). This printer checks every box. Quick shipment, easy set-up, flawless operation. Thanks!
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tikboy from CLEAN CRISP COLOR & PHOTOS GOT THESE A MONTH AGO & VERY PLEASED WITH IT & wanted an upgrade to a 3 in one printer
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mikemikedeboy from Perfect for my application I’ve only had it a week but I’m completely satisfied
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takwirira from Works a treat and great quality prints Works a treat and great quality prints
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by David from Everything good - no issues Everything good - no issues
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by GMO77573 from Excellent Printer With Expensive Toner After my excellent experience with my former worn-out 13 year old HP LaserJet P3305, I decided to upgrade to a wireless color laser printer. After researching what other manufacturers had to offer, I decided to once again purchase an HP printer. The HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw proved to be an excellent purchase. It is well-made, solidly engineered and user friendly. The print quality is excellent and the machine is quiet and dependable. Wireless operation is simple to set up and use. My only grievance is the extremely high cost of replacement toner cartridges.
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by aniiyah from awesome printer This was easy to setup, works really well, and has made my work life a whole lot easier!
Date published: 2020-06-20
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_51, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1Y45A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

can you manually override the automatic duplexing feature

Asked by: Bos3135
There are two ways to set properties. One is each time you print, select one-side or duplex. If the printer defaults to duplex when you don't want duplex, then it is probably necessary (assuming Windows) to go to Control Panel, Printers+Devices, Properites, and nose around to see if you can find where the printer print sets the default options. You should be able to force single-sided mode as the default. I've had several situations (but not this particular one) where HP printers ignored what I chose when I printed because whatever I chose would not over-ride the default. Good luck
Answered by: Bobthecat
Date published: 2023-05-27

where is the paper tray located? is it on the front of the printer where you feed the paper?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw printer has two paper trays. Here are some videos. The first one is tray 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gjU2ShksgnI Here is tray 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUJyRoF_3t8
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-30

1) Can this printer print on transparency media 2) Must I buy the optional 550 sheet tray if I will be routinely printing on both transparencies and quality copy paper.

Asked by: MonteM
Thank you for your question! The media types supported by the HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw are: Paper (bond, brochure, colored, glossy, letterhead, photo, plain, preprinted, prepunched, recycled, rough), postcards, labels, and envelopes. Also, the following media weights are supported: Tray 1: 16 to 47 lb bond (up to 52 lb with HP Color laser glossy photo papers); Tray 2: 16 to 43 lb bond (up to 47 lb with postcards, up to 52 lb with HP Color laser glossy photo papers); optional Tray 3: 16 to 43 lb bond (up to 47 lb with postcards, up to 40 lb with HP Color laser glossy photo papers); Automatic duplexer: 16 to 43 lb.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

What toner cartridge does the laser jet M454dw use?  Trying to add some to my order

Asked by: WendyWasko
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw printer uses the HP 414A or 414X toner series: black, cyan, magenta, and yellow.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

has the replacement model for the m454dw been announced?

Asked by: jdcaples
The HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw is the current model. No information is available about a future replacement at this time.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-13

does it print envelopes?

Asked by: Dana83
Thank you for your question, the HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw does support envelope printing.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-07-06

Is this printer multi-function? Does it make copies or scan?

Asked by: McLisa
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw printer does not have the capability to copy or scan. I recommend looking at the HP LaserJet Pro M479fdw printer which can print, copy, and scan. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-17

Does this printer also have hard-wired capability?

Asked by: Tomfreelaw
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw printer has an Ethernet port. There is also a USB port that would allow you to connect the printer to your computer with the USB A to B 2.0 cable.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-09
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1Y45A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 65ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT