ENERGY STAR

Engineered for Sustainability

HP PageWide Pro 477dw Multifunction Printer

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, Copy, Scan, Fax
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 40 ppm black and color
  • Auto duplex printing, Wireless, Ethernet, USB Document Print, NFC touch-to-print
  • HP PageWide Technology; Extra-high yield ink available
HP PageWide Pro 477dw Multifunction Printer is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 83.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_D3Q20A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 1 out of 5 by MrTuzz from Defective out of the box Hard wired network defect. Waiting on repairs next week.
Date published: 2021-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by CONDEV from Perfect This machine is perfect for our company. Fast, quiet and easy to set up!!!
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by DANDU from GREAT FEATURES I BOUGHT RECENTLY LOOK GOOD TO ME GOOD WORK USER-FRIENDLY AND ELEGANT LOOK
Date published: 2021-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by djustice58 from Love this printer! Love this printer. This is the second one we have bought as we almost totally wore out the first one which we've had for over four years.
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Howard from very fast but expensive cartridges very fast but expensive cartridges
Date published: 2020-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from love this printer...fast and so effortless. Having a small business this printer exceeded my expectations and has increased productivity and print quality.
Date published: 2020-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jduran53 from Document feeder doesn’t work Document feeder didn’t work upon arrival. Then I have to send back broken printer then they send me a new printer...weeks without a printer
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by LaurieIglesias from Awesome Printer We love our new printer. The printer we had was also an HP and finally died of old age. This printer we have does everything I need from a company stand point. I print scan and email all my contracts and we really see that the printer is so vital in our company.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mark from Very good. Another one (of three, now). Very good. Another one (of three, now).
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rob from ok product just a pity your Quality control mi... ok product just a pity your Quality control missed a fault with the paper pick up in tray 2 which your engineer who attended insisted we were not loading the paper correctly, funny that since this was the fourth printer of this model we had purchased without any issues and within half an hour after he left (still with the paper in that he'd loaded) it stopped working again !
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Greyhead82 from Very fast printer On the whole, I am very pleased with this printer. However, it persisted on printing on BOTH sides of the paper no matter what I did. I could not get help from HP for this. I had to get help from a local computer business at a cost of $120. to make the printer print on only one side. It's fine now, I like the speed with which it does every job.
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rebecca from Fast printing, decent quality, easy to set up Fast printing, decent quality, easy to set up
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stuart from Quality product Quality product
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Michael from Very pleased with the printer. Prints very fas... Very pleased with the printer. Prints very fast compared with my old one and would recommend this printer
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Desiree from Excellent all rounder. Excellent all rounder.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by CarolS602 from Great quality and amazing speed! We finally made the switch from inkjet printers and the endless cycle of replacing cartridges and the incredibly slow printing time. Absolutely love this PageWide Pro!
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chewie from Horrible Experience! I have purchased this model previously for my office and loved it. I decided to upgrade my home office printer since it seems I'll be working from home longer. Ifollowed the set-up and it just wouldn't print at all. I had to call HP Support over and over again. And still not fully resolved. Now it won't shut down - message on the screen says its shutting down. After 4 hours of the printer trying to shut down, I finally pulled the "plug" from the back of the printer
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by JOHN from Easy to set up and use. Fast, which is what I ... Easy to set up and use. Fast, which is what I needed. Good quality.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ez Ship from LOVE THE PRODUCT! Its been over 2 weeks since i got this printer and so far i am super happy with it. Does the Job professionally and looks great!
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hafheim13 from Works Used it for 2 days. The setup was pretty easy. Ink is very costly but it prints very quickly and well. Full page prints aren't fully dry immediately. I might go with a LaserJet next time.
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by d1234 from I received this printer about a week ago. I love the 500 page paper tray. The speed of this printer is much improved over the HP 476. The only down side I see to this printer is the print quality. It always looks like it is in draft mode. It is not a printer I would buy again given the option.
Date published: 2020-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tuey from Great printer While I haven’t used this printer much yet it seems like a really great printer. Easy to setup. Bluetooth printing is really nice!
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tony from Great printer, but not easy to set up. Great printer, but not easy to set up.
Date published: 2019-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by darthmina from Great printer! I'm so glad I came across this printer. I have never had a printer that printed so fast, and makes scanning double sided pages so easy!!
Date published: 2019-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Michael from Took a fair bit to connect to network, but onc... Took a fair bit to connect to network, but once done quality and features are great
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by INBuckeye from Not Compatible with MacOS Catalina Many of the scanning features are NOT compatible with MacOS Catalina. HP knows the issue exists. They have not updated their software. No fix yet. Also - the advertising is deceiving. It says its not an inkjet or laser printer. Bull. It's ink...comes out wet and the pages are damp because of the density of the ink. It's just an expensive inkjet with different technology. But ink is ink...don't be fooled.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remy978 from So fast! I've only had the printer set up for a couple of days, but wow! it's fast! Nice crisp images, fast double-sided scan and print, easy to set up. I think I read some reviews that it was hard to set up this printer, but I have to say, I didn't find it difficult at all. I followed the directions and everything (including connecting to wifi) went very smoothly. It took a while for the printer to initialize the first time and go thru the motions of several test prints, but I just sat back and let it do it's thing. The software installation was next and that was simple (just followed the link and the directions). So while it took a while to unbox, remove tons of tape, plug in, install ink, initialize, and install software, following the directions was easy. Also have to add that the extra drawer (#3) is great to have so I can have letter and legal loaded at all times. And each drawer holds a whole ream! That's great. Very happy so far with this purchase.
Date published: 2019-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goofy1986 from Amazing printer with awesome features I bought this printer this month and have used every feature it has, I love that I can print a variety of different paper sizes.
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Inacin from My boss uses the printer, he had not complaine... My boss uses the printer, he had not complained so must be very good.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by RH617 from Great printer The printer works very well and is quick. The only problem I see is tray 1 for paper feed. Since it doesn't have a gravitational pressure with the paper you either have to push the paper into the trigger or designate tray 1 in your printer preference. Otherwise it is great!
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rob555 from more than meets expectations I just replaced my "old" HP printer/copier with a Pagewide 477dw. Works beyond my expectations. Quite fast. Once set up, it did its work admirably.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous5465456454r54654 from Decent. Decent. Quick and very responsive. If it did not have such a good appearance i probably would have given it a 3.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ben56 from 50/50 results We ordered two for our office of 25 people. One prints perfectly and the other is inconsistent in quality, completing of jobs, or just locks up. We are replacing it. (fingers crossed)
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by wnyDR from Great product I purchased this about a month ago. So much faster and easier to use than my last all-in-one. Paper try holds an entire ream of paper and secondary feeder tray is located on the left of the device.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by homeatworkq from Incredible speed however does not connect... Due to Apple's driver's, this printer will not connect wirelessly to our computers, yet. This means we have ethernet cables running all over the place in our office. Once Apple updates the drivers for this (apparently HP has no control over this) we will have awesome printer! I will update this when the driver issue is resolved and we can use the printer for the main feature we needed.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by kroc from Perfect Size We have had this for several weeks. We replaced an older 577 with it. This printer has different controls that were a little difficult to master but it is much quieter than the older version. It seems to be more efficient, we will see as time goes on.
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by JEINC from Works well, still trying to get used to it We've only been using this for a few weeks so we're still getting used to it. Fast printing, easy to use, would like to give it 5 stars but it has froze up on us twice. We're not sure if it was "user error" or what happened. There are a lot of features, we have yet to use some of them and we're still trying to figure out others. That all being said, I would recommend it. It's been a good machine and came at a fair price.
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by gamal business from poor software i always lost connection for either printing or scanning. i lost a lot of time trying to reach the customer support to fixed the problem. the worst thing , i purchased 3 of those printers and all them have the same problem
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Atwater Eve from Fast and Great Quality Printer! We use this printer for our office of about 18 people and we all love it! We had a similar model in our office that lasted for about five years until it was time to upgrade. We bought a great printer from Staples but it definitely was not printing fast enough even though the quality was great. This printer definitely prints hi-quality images at a fast rate and we couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brian from So far, so good. Very easy to set up. So far, so good. Very easy to set up.
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by LVNCLA from DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER I have bought many HP printers during the last 25 years but this machine will be the last HP printer that I buy. I have had to call Support 2-3 times and need to call them again. The scanner works extremely poor. It pulls multiple pages in at one time. The wireless part of the printer also does not work well at all.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by tom from Works well Works well
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jean from Good product - easy to use. Good product - easy to use.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by slow from not compatible with printing required The information received concerning the printer and the written documentation was not accurate
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deschutes from Not the one for me I called for the best printer for my small business and this one was recommended. Sadly, I’ve found it is not what I need.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by Printer11 from This printer does what I was informed that it did. This printer does what I was informed that it did.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from I was looking for a fast document printer for ... I was looking for a fast document printer for invoices, letters, data sheets etc, this prints up to A4 and super quick, the first sheet is out in a few seconds and one every second thereafter. The print cartridges are quite expensive but I hope they will last a long time. As with all new equipment, setup is always a worry but this was really easy, even the network printing is easy to set up printing from remote locations is a doddle just sending the document to the supplied email address.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Very good printer, excellent print quality Very good printer, excellent print quality
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Andres from Just what we needed. The product matches the d... Just what we needed. The product matches the description. The price/product relation is great.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alan from Great printer. Fast and excellent quality prints. Great printer. Fast and excellent quality prints.
Date published: 2017-11-27
  • y_2024, m_7, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_D3Q20A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I've had my HP Pagewide 477 dw for 5 years now, I'm experiencing streaking printouts, it has new printer cartridge installed, what's the problem?

Asked by: weh2
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

How do I print a legal document?

Asked by: pam24
Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

which copier replaced the HP Pagewide Pro MFP 477dw

Asked by: WAOC
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP Pagewide Pro printer series has been discontinued. We recommend looking at the HP Laserjet Pro 4301fdw printer. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team: https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/shopping.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-04-09

What is the same printer as the HP wide 477? We have had two HP Wide 477 in the last few years and have loved them until they broke, but cannot find a replacement. We would like to get a similar printer that with the exact same operating options. 

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP Pagewide printers have been discontinued. We recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html for further assistance.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-01-20

Since your HP Pagewide Pro MFP 477dw printer appears to be discontinued, do you have another suggestion?  I will be using it exclusively for printing certificates of authenticity for my art work, artist signature stickers (color), etc.  

Asked by: pbeck
Thank you for your question! For personalized assistance, it is recommended to open a chat with an HP Live Expert. You can open a chat by clicking the chat icon on the bottom right corner of this product page. The HP Live Expert can assist with choosing the perfect PC to fit your request and needs.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

What would be a replacement for the HP Page Wide MFP 477dw

Asked by: Jlimahelu
Thank you for your question! As the PageWide line has been discontinued and not just this printer, it is hard to pick out the best printer for your individual situation. It is recommended to talk directly with someone from HP Store Support. You can chat with an HP Live Expert today by clicking the chat icon on this product page. They can assist you in finding the right printer to fit your needs!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

What is a comparable product

Asked by: Ashkov
There are not currently any PageWide models at this time. The closest as far as speeds are going to be some of the LaserJet models and they will have high toner yields. The models like the Color LaserJet Pro 4301fdw have speeds up to 35ppm which can use the 210X toners or the LaserJet Enterprise MFP M5800f with print speeds up to 45ppm which can use the 213Y toners.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2023-10-19

Good morning, Could you please advice the best replacement printer for HP PageWide 477DW?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. I recommend looking at the HP LaserJet Pro M479fdw printer. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-17
  • y_2024, m_7, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_D3Q20A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT