• This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax, email, wireless
  • Print speed letter: Up to 28 ppm (black and color)
  • Scan to email; 50-sheet ADF; 2 paper trays (standard)
  • High yield toner available
HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 66.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_11, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_CF377A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Judys printer from Hp PrinterLaser Jet Pro 477 For once I had no issues on the install. Everything connected smoothly and I was back up and running. Now if you could just figure out how to get your ink toner prices dropped I and most of your customers would appreciated the help.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kyle13 from Feeder Jams The feeder jams when you put more than10 pieces of paper in it. I’m going to try to use thicker paper and see if that helps, but as of now, not impressed and really won’t be impressed if I have to buy more expensive paper to scan my business documents.
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by leavingreview from does what I need A little disappointed in having to buy ANOTHER printer within 3 Years. My last HP M477FNW only lasted 3 years when the fuser/drum went bad and a new fuser cost as much as a new printer and since we had the INK still left, we felt it best to purchase another unit so we could use up the expensive INK. Other than being very disappointed that the printer did not last more than 3 years and we are not a heavy user, the unit works well
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by Distraught from HP Color Laser Jet Pro MFP M477fnw replaced a defective model. This model, too, is defective, a "hardware problem" and is being replaced by HP. 3 defective models back to back now.
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will E from Printer I am very happy with my printer , multi functional machine. It is a time saver!
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bec621 from Quick Quick and reliable shipping! Product was everything it claimed to be.
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flade from Blows my HP8600 away. I have an old HP7580 and a recent HP8600 (that has crapped out after only a few years) - and a trusty HP2015 laser. The M477 seems like a robust machine.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aura from HP printer products I had purchased # 12 in the last 10 years. This is my second HP Color LaserJet same series. I'm very happy with the product, except the # 1 Purchased in Oct 2016. Has been working great until I printed labels. One got stock inside, I din't real eyes that I run out of guaranty. The cost of fixing the printer was as much the cost of a new one. Too bad, this printer with a good care will last for long time. I use this devise for the office. The ink cartridges are expensive but you get your money worth.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dr B from Fast clear prints I have always trusted my printer needs to HP and so far this printer has not disappointed. Its fast, easy and I get clear print outs. Thanks HP for another winner.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by BigApple2011 from A bit disappointed.. This printer is nice, it prints quite quickly, I just don't like that the double sided printing isn't automatic. You have to insert the paper back in manually for it to print on the other side. I wish I read that more carefully before ordering this printer. Other then that, it's fine.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by CyrilZ from Nice Unit Very useful and functional printer. Easy to connect with wireless capability. Prints neat and quick. Worth the money. Not a lightweight; I put it on the bottom shelf so the downfall is one has to bend to use and fill the printer, but that is the operator's dilemma.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Onetas from Great except to change the tray to legal means it is sticking out at the front as apposed to the back like the previous printers like the 1320tn. I think that is a mistake as the open tray is in the way...that should revert back to the back of the printer.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1Denise from Workhorse! I work out of two different offices and ordered them for one office. After a year the other office needed new printers/scanners and so I ordered another, having such good luck with the first one.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by samco from Never worked correctly Arrived in time for a most important job and it continued to jam, no matter what paper I put in. The box arrived, looking basically OK with some crushing on one side. When removed from the box, both foam supports were damaged and could not be reused when unit was returned for credit. Did purchase another HP product which is working okay.
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by MJA1 from Smooth, quiet, quick, efficient I had an HP laser Jet prior that lasted a long time, it was a good device but was much louder and considerably slower than the new models. This unit is efficient and replaces not only the old print but other devices as well. So I print for less and also have less clutter and it does it all in less time.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jen132 from Great Printer for College I bought this about a month ago and had nothing but excellent results. The color prints look great. I’ve used it several times to make pictures. The faxing and scanning functionality is definitely a plus.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by My junkie from I brought this printer for my small business. It's no good freeze up all the time. I'm now trying to get HP to replace it but I'm getting a hard time . Please dont by this junk.
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Familyhistorian from Ready right out of the box This printer is smaller and faster than my last HP Laserjet, but the copy is crisp and clear. I'm satisfied with the unit.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Track Service Inc from Love It! Absolutely Love it, Fast Printing and Extremely Quiet!
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Edlizard from So far So Good Very nice colors and performance. New technology really matters. If your current printer is on the "older Side" do not settle for anything but this printer. You will be glad you did.
Date published: 2018-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by GrammyH from It's OK It's OK, but my previous HP was better. Cons: This one has flimsy parts. When I open the door for the manual paper tray or toner cartridges, I feel like I'm going to break the mechanisms. The very first time I tried to print labels, they jammed in the printer and I couldn't not figure out how to get them out. There was no instructions how to remove a paper jam, how to open the trays, or how to open the toner cartridge tray. I had to look up a video online to figure it out. Those simple instructions should be included in the box as well as a link to the full manual for the printer which I had to find on my own. Pros: There was absolutely no long installation of software to get up and running with my wireless network. I just plugged it in, turned on the printer and my laptop, and voila, I was immediately connected. I was not automatically connected to ePrint for which I was glad because I do not want it and had to uninstall it on my old HP printer. I only got this one to replace my old HP printer because a part broke on the old one and it was starting to jam a lot, and the toner cartridges were almost depleted. HP had an excellent sale of 62% OFF on the new one so buying a whole new printer rather than just cartridges was more feasible since I already had a broken part. My old printer was black and this one is off-white. I prefer the black, but at least this one won't show the dust and fingerprints as quickly.
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by AFRF from Great Printer I have been enjoying the printer, it would be perfect if it had an automatic double sided printing feature.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Kerichem from Same annoying issues with scanner Can't get the "scan to computer" feature to work at all. Have to load the documents, then go to the computer to start the scan. Then go back to put the documents away. Extremely frustrating. This is the last HP printer/scanner I will purchase.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tbeavers from Does not print double sided Be aware that this printer does not have duplex printing. If you pay a little more you can get the M477fdn which has all the capabilities we needed for a small sattelite office.
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by NCRGA from Love the new laser jet printer! A great purchase.... wish I had bought it earlier!
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by K P and H from Big up grade Replaced an HP printer 11 yrs old. This new one is a giant leap. The only down side so far is smaller paper tray. I went an bought the larger tray add on.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by budspwr from Something Missing For the price, it should have had duplex printing.
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by UpNorthAgain from Very Good Printer Pros: This is an excellent printer. Setup was simple. It is fast. Print quality is excellent. I would purchase it again! Cons: #10 envelopes do not feed reliably from Tray #2 (flip-down tray). Toner is ridiculously expensive!! The current Win 10 driver does not support scanning from the device to the PC except for a single page on the glass (sheet feeder does not work for this function).
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated In Carolina from What a nightmare printer! Honestly I have had this printer for over a month and still can not find the drivers to print correct colors as viewed on my monitor. I have used Publisher, Adobe and Page Plus. If my background is purple, this printer prints blue and the contrast is too dark. My old HP desk jet did a better job printing correct colors than this printer. I have had to take projects to a friend's computer and pay him to print my projects. What a waste of my money this printer is!
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by linpru1 from I am very unhappy!!! Not able to connect with wifi with my Apple computer!!!!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by TexasStar01 from Easy to install and easy to use! The print quality is the best I have ever had, be it a copy or something I have scanned. Highly recommend to anyone who is tired of constantly buying ink cartridges for their printer. Worth every penny because the savings will outweigh the cost within the first year! What are you waiting for? This is YOUR new printer!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Laura695 from User Friendly Printer I like the manual feed tray for envelopes, labels or special paper.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by Oztoyman from Great Product - Terrible Support! Have you ever tried calling HP? If so, you'll understand the real horror show this behemoth has structured. Try locating the warranty registration department in talking with less than six people and spending 20 frustrating minutes hanging on the phone....
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chrissy1 from performs well, and was more than i expected HP has always been my choice for printers. I shopped around and again returned to the company that i trust.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by Becky7777 from It would be helpful to have an instruction sheet . I need an instruction sheet / book that goes beyond plugging the printer into the electric socket. How do I print in color? double-sided? scan? copy?
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by tishi from Good stuff Very happy. We love HP, excellent product
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by ProfessionalLandSurveyor1 from This produce is missing important features. It can't print just a portion of a large-scale drawing. It can only print a large scale drawing (ex. 24"x36" pdf) as a complete drawing on 8 1/2 x 11.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by SquidMan from Quiet and Fast. Very nice prints. Coming from and HP2840 Color Laser - This newer machine is much quieter and faster. Takes up less room and the paper feed path makes much more sense. Straight shot through with only one turn. Very happy with the purchase. I did not go for the duplex as Im not printing double sided sheets too often. Scanner is nice - I was able to scan from a Photoshop on a Mac without too much trouble. All in all I'm very satisfied with the purchase. Purchased from HP and it arrived quickly as well. Good work HP.
Date published: 2017-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by GreatPlainsDude from HP Color Laser MFP M477fn Great product that replaces our ten year old HP Color Laser MFP (2840). It has the same features as our previous device with a design that appears to be more robust in a much smaller space. We need a copier, scanner, laser printer and some color prints. Fortunately this device fills all of those rolls and just works.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mad07a from HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw I have used HP printers forever. My 2605 lasted 10 years. This new one is great. Very fast either color or B/W. I also needed an Air printer and all of my Apple devices connected right up with no issues at all. I would highly recommend for home or small office. The fax is also very fast. You can’t beat the price either.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don911 from Unboxed it and had it setup in no time.. Very nice Great quality, full featured including the ability to print via email attachment. Fast printing, good scanning... Overall, the best printer I've owned for my home office !
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by GM18 from Great Product and Value We replaced our old laserjet 2840 workhorse with this model and it's a huge step up in footprint, quality, and speed. Super easy to set up and plug into (wireless) and so far all is better than I expected. Would recommend for companies with low to moderate output.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tsmithnm from Replaced an older model. I replaced an older model that worked great for 8 years. Got a good price and the new printer works as expected. Fairly quiet and faster than the older printer. Easy setup for scanner and fax.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by UncleCar from Excellent features, easy setup for a non-techie Easy purchase over the phone. Quick delivery with no problems. Printer has excellent features with very sharp printing and easy setup.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Michaeldb from Great Printer for Individual and/or group use Easy unpack/setup. Prints excellent Black and Color. I added optional 3rd paper tray that takes a full ream of paper. Plenty of paper for group use.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by ArtS from Great product for what I wanted. Everything I wanted in a multi function printer, plus. Even when it is in sleep mode, within a couple of seconds, my copy is printed, clear readable letters and even the pictures, diagrams are great looking.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Texvista from Great printer except... This is a great printer but I needed one that duplexed so I returned it and ordered a different one. Great return service.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by jimbo234 from works well plug it in and turn it on, very simple and menu driven on the printer.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by DHSNotary from Awesome! Needed an all-in-one for my signing business as a notary. Love the ease of use - the fax is fast - the copies are great - easy setup - scanning feature awesome - pull paper as requested from letter to legal. I would give it a "5 Star" - however, I always believe anything has room for improvement. But I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Benjamin2810 from Great machine all around Great for real estate office
Date published: 2017-07-26
  • y_2024, m_4, d_11, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_CF377A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

We are getting like splattered red down the right hand side of the page when it prints and makes a copy

Asked by: Louandrew
Thank you for your question regarding the HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw. This link https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c06432233 gives a few options to fix those sorts of issues with copies getting lines or streaks. If that does not fix the issue, you will want to contact HP Support https://support.hp.com/us-en to get them to help troubleshoot.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-03-15

I have a HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw and I have tried the 410A cartridge and it doesn’t work. Is there another cartridge that would work for my printer? 

Asked by: Kew_59
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP 410A toner cartridges are compatible with the HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw printer. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-01-28

What is the max thickness LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw is able to process?

Asked by: Berad1988
The HP LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw is capable of the following paper weights: Tray 1: 60 to 176 g/m² (up to 200 g/m² with postcards and HP Color Laser Glossy Photo Papers); Tray 2: 60 to 163 g/m² (up to 176 g/m² with postcards, up to 200 g/m² HP Color Laser Glossy Photo Papers); Optional Tray 3: 60 to 163 g/m² (up to 176 g/m² with postcards, up to 150 g/m² glossy media); Automatic duplexer: 60 to 163 g/m²; ADF: 60 to 90 g/m² Thanks for being an HP customer!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-03

is there a reset button for power?

Asked by: Rivera539
Hello. Thanks for your question. The easiest method to do a soft reset is to unplug the printer from the wall. Wait a minute. Then, re-plug the printer into the wall outlet. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-06-17

Every time i try to print on 4x6 card stock, the paper jams. What am I doing wrong?

Asked by: Lance32
I am sorry for the issues you are experiencing. I recommend reaching out to the HP Technical team so that they can help resolve this for you. You can speak to a representative here: https://support.hp.com/us-en
Answered by: HP Expert Dora
Date published: 2023-09-02

how to copy legal size documents

Asked by: ffflo
Legal-sized documents must be copied via the document feeder. Put your copy/copies face up in the document feeder.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-29

I Need The EOL Document for the HP Colour LaserJet Pro MFP M477fnw series. Thank You

Asked by: Echard
That information is not available via this forum. For assistance contact HP Technical Support. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

How do you replace the ink/toner cartridge?

Asked by: Kricket1
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here is a video: https://youtu.be/ME8A_SWGOQ8
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_4, d_11, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_CF377A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 43ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT