Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro MFP M428fdw

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax, Dual-band Wi-Fi
  • Print speed letter: Up to 40 ppm (black)
  • Auto duplex printing; Scan to features; 50-sheet ADF; 2 paper trays (standard)
  • Best-in-class security-detect and stop attacks
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP LaserJet Pro MFP M428fdw is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 130.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_42, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A30A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 34ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by TP Cali from Good stuff. To use all the features, allocate about 45 minutes for setup. Good all around machine with fast scanning and printing. $100 less and it would be a no-brainer.
Date published: 2022-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by ME THE COSUMER from DO NOT BUY super hard to get things to scan, and hp will charge you to help you figure it out
Date published: 2022-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by KEBD from Not as reliable as I would like it to be. Not reliable. Scanner is a PROBLEM. Thinking about replacing it.
Date published: 2022-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by R A from PA from Very happy with this printer for our small office. It works great. We added the optional paper tray. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2022-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hellos from Notary Printer works good, but i am not able to everything i need
Date published: 2022-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hibco Plastics from Great printer, expensive ink. Quality printer, easy setup. Expensive printer cartridges, almost twice as much as my other printer in the shop.
Date published: 2022-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by PattiS from Not as Good as last HP printer. I am having some issues with the printer freezing up on me sometimes.
Date published: 2022-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by AlexLeif from GREAT RELIABLE PRINTER/FAX/COPIER I am very happy with the M428fdw all-in-one printer. This is the third HP printer I've owned (over 20 years). The printer is durable, reliable and problem-free. I have bought new printers when I have bought new computer equipment.
Date published: 2022-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Milesw1 from Great All-In-One Printer In my opinion this is the best Monochrome Laser All-In-One Printer available today. The ONLY drawback is the recent price increase.
Date published: 2022-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed in Dallas from Product not similar to requested product. Disappointed with HP more than the actual product. Product is fine for what it is, however, I searched the website for a different COLOR Laser printer that was unavailable and this product was suggested as a substitute. Unfortunately for me the suggested printer, that was more expensive, only prints in B&W not in COLOR. Clearly user error, but would suggest that the suggestions provided by HP at least have the same primary feature, ie color.
Date published: 2022-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by GS Dutchess from Printing is fine. Scanning an issue. Good for quick, 2-sided printing. Can’t get it to scan though. Unlike other printers this one seems to require you to jump through hoops.
Date published: 2021-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by KarlaLB from MFP M428fdw Extremely frustrating to set up. Continue to struggle w/ scan to email disabled. More than frustrating! Does not copy documents correctly. I believe I have a lemon w/o a doubt! Time sucking & costly. Paid networking expert & even he can’t figure it out.
Date published: 2021-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dixie girl 81 from Great quality The print quality is great and it prints rather fast. Very convenient for home office!
Date published: 2021-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by khat from Bad Scanner Good printer but the scanner is pretty bad, the resolution is not as good, and there is a skew defect but HP says that is normal
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by SumpAlarm from Very good Product except for Wi-Fi Good Printer, Wi-Fi works inconsistently. We had to move it to a place where it could be used with a network cable. Technical support in India was unable to solve the issue, and that cost us quite a bit of time. We expected better from HP. From a standpoint of printing and scanning the printer is outstanding. It is fast and clear. Considering there are two models, one with Wi-Fi and one without, and the WiFi is a few dollars more, it should have worked reliably. Our company makes wireless enabled devices, and as such we have good competency in this area. We have other wireless printers on the same network that are working reliably. That is the only negative.
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don Costa Mesa from Works Pretty Good Great office printer for color and black and white, 2 sided is great. Connects fairly simple. Cannot use the web to print with a network connection? Constantly need to walk over to printer to acknowledge what paper I want to print on and which drawer, there is only one drawer.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by lisa12q from fast and then it's not I purchased this printer and use it every day for my home based business. When printing it Scanning is great no issues! The printer is super fast and then it is not. For some reason it gets hung up quite a bit.An item gets stuck in the printer que. I then have to pull the plug and turn it back on. Only then does the item in the que finally print. I seached how to fix this and have no luck. Customer service is nill. Only searchable categories. Why do we have to search the web for hours to get something fixed these days?!
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by TSFortMyers from Great series of all-in-one machines We have three generations of the HP all-in-one in our small office. We started with the M425. Then we added the M426. Now we have the M428. They are work horse machines. Love the wireless feature! It allows normal print or scan, but I can also connect to it with my phone. Great machines with a great history.
Date published: 2021-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tron436 from Fast Printer Great value for the price! I’m very happy with the jprinter speed and quality.
Date published: 2021-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by crmason2000 from I love this printer This is my fifth HP PRINTER and they get better and better each time.
Date published: 2021-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hillside from Working from home Love, love, love this printer so far! I run a small non-profit corporation out of my home, and the printer meets my every need. I called HP Customer service to help with the setup, and it was easy and seamless. I hope to have and use this printer for many, many years.
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mktre01 from Thank you! I am really enjoying my new printer. The only things is that it would be nice if it had color options and if it would work with Chromebook.
Date published: 2021-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Art81 from Thiss printer is a marvelous value The printer is marvelous, but now has two side printing
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dalon from Excellent. I bought this a month ago and I'm very happy. Excellent printer with great features.
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by DenBru from No color just print. Still learning operation but it does everything I wanted a printer to do.
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by JIA Insurance agent from Everything was fast to get it to set up Love every about the printer and it was easy to set up
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bleatalon from Nice machine. I am happy with this laser printer. It's my first laser printer and I don't think I'll ever have anything else. I purchased it from the HP website in October of 2020 and its performance was absolutely perfect up until about 3 weeks ago. It started not responding when I sent print jobs to it from my iMac. When this happens, I have to turn it off and turn it back on and the job prints. I don't know what could be causing this issue. It's an inconvenience, but I still am very happy with the machine.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by Philipe from Terrible Print/ Jam issues... don't buy This product was the worst purchase made. I was unable to print without the system jamming. I use the best quality print paper and I was still unable to print with out jams. After a few hours of trying to resolve the issue. I just called it a day and returned the product. I don't need 24 hrs to decide the product was a "lemon" and replaced the purchase with a better product BROTHER.
Date published: 2021-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by qsenushka from nice but heavy I like the printer, it's pretty fast and efficient albeit a bit too heavy. But hey, it works!
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mike Yorkey from Top-Notch Printer, Scanner and Copier As a three-in-one printer, my LaserJet Pro seems to be everything I wanted.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by lenina195 from Love my LaserJet Pro MFP!!! My new Laser printer is much efficient and user friendly than my previous and also much loved old HP laser printer. It makes clear copies with no wait. It is versatile with plenty of functions. It takes less space than the previous version and with more options. I highly recommend HP. Be aware and do not buy through PayPal, they have lousy customer service!
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old grouch in SLO from Nice machine, But. Didn't realize that this was a black only printer.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Amazing Buy I was excited to make this purchase and it hasn’t been a disappointment. My only disappointment is that I didn’t get the one with color printing.just know that it is everything that the description indicated.
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Small business gem Excellent choice. I'm starting my own home based business and with the assistance of HP store I chose the HP MFP M428fdw with an extra paper tray. It was easy to set tray with correct size paper, and set to auto select . This printer is quick, can print double sided, fax, scan, and print quality is perfect.
Date published: 2020-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Php2 from Great Printer Installing the printer was no problem. The only difficulty was that the instructions that came with the printer said not to connect the USB cable until prompted to do so by the installer software. Well, the installer never prompted you to do so, and it could not find the printer because the cable was not connected. Once I solved that the installation went without a hitch. The printer is working very well, and so far I love it.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Horrible The printer is great but the scanner scan crooked on every one they’ve sent to me. I’ve even been told this is a known problem with this model. I’ve called several times to get this fixed with no avail. Your customer service team seems to care but no follow thru.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bill4735 from Great HP printer, scanner, copier The printer is fast, quiet and with printing on both sides option, saves on lot of paper. Using it for my office in home and highly recommend.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Savoy from USER FRIENDLY Great printer! I had a similar but older model in the office and needed another one at home. This one is faster both in scanning and printing. I only wish it had a full size 2nd paper tray.
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by pritammul from Without a User Manual, I can't try all features I haven't found any way to download a User Manual. This leads to a lot of problems in using the product..
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by MamaCindy from Another great HP Printer I bought this printer to replace my old workhorse 1320n (which lasted for 13 years!). So far, it's been fantastic and I hope it lasts as long as my last one.
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pizza123 from New printer arrived wet It has been two weeks from my purchase date and I have received numerous surveys and promotional adds . Overall a lot of interest from HP but basic customer service is still lacking. I am still waiting for a refund.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mred2000 from Hp laser Jet Works great as I expected. I do like the duplex printing
Date published: 2020-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by RobLen from Excellent Printer I purchased this printer, so my wife could do work and she has an older model & loved it that is why she asked to get another one
Date published: 2020-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by mike47401 from Scanning functionality is inferior Using the scan interface results in extreme file size bloat, file size is 10x larger than file scanned using Acrobat interface. The problem? When I use Acrobat scan function, it feeds three or four pages at a time, so it feels like HP sabotaged the non HP scan program. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2020-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheilah1234 from Very disappointed I bought this fax machine a month ago, when I fax my papers it saids everything was faxed ok. Thinking my papers were successfully sent only to find out from my important businesses that they never received any papers.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mick5932 from Bad toner, bad printer Only prints very light shade of black. Set to max darkness. Did not make any difference. Parts fell out of printer. If replacement toner doesn’t correct; I’ll be returning it to store.one week old.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cypress Mimi from Great Printer Exactly what we needed for our business. Prints quickly! And looks great in our office! All of the other features are like icing on the cake!
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by Terri527 from Very fast, but gets jobs stuck in the que I bought this a few weeks ago. Is very fast, and I like it, but lately I have had some problems printing because jobs that have already printed are stuck in the que somehow and my new jobs don't have enough memory to print. Very strange. I have no idea what is going on. Hope it clears itself up. Also, the printer was delivered by Fed Ex, and it was left up at my front gate, about 700 feet from the house and not within sight of the house. I am lucky it was not picked up by someone driving by.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crickets Mama from HP Printer! Easy to install! I was printing in minutes!!! My other HP printer had seen better days. Loved the representative I talked with. I had my heart set on another printer. After explaining what I needed, he suggested another model. His explanation was wonderful!!! And, I listened to his suggestions. Now, I couldn't be happier!!! It suits my needs perfectly. It brought me into the 21st Century! Thanks HP for great products and representatives.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jules by the bay from So far so good Seems to function well. I’m in tech and the setup was not as easy as it could have been. Apple-like instructions are helpful. Print quality and speed are very good. I have a sister HP printer in the office and just within the last year the overall construction has become cheaper—thinner plastic all around. Seems a lot more delicate.
Date published: 2020-05-09
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_42, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A30A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

i have in my office COLOR LASERJET MFP M283FDW,but it can only copy 1-sided to 2-sided, unable to do 2-sided to 2-sided copy.so i need solution. can i buy this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M428fdw for 2-sided to 2 sided copy scan print all with top paper feeder

Asked by: siraj
Thank you for your question! Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M428fdw can scan and copy double-sided automatically.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

How to do photo copy both side

Asked by: Mawuena
For assistance with this question, please see the User Guide located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/setup-user-guides/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-m428-m429-f-series/model/19204098
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-08-22

Does this printer print in color? If so what color cartridge number does it use?

Asked by: Tinadddd
Hello, Tina. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro M428fdw printer does not print in color.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

What printer or printers use the 58A and or the 58X Black Cartridge

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP LaserJet Pro M404 printer series, M428 printer series, HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn, and HP LaserJet Enterprise MFP M430f printers use the HP 58A and 58X toner.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-18

Am I able to upload my own TTF files to add to the PCL Font list?

Asked by: Jordan25
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

I understand HP LaserJet Pro MFP M428fdw has come to end of life. Have you released a new printer model to replace this one.

Asked by: Sempuss
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer replaced the HP LaserJet Pro M428fdw printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this product have duplex scanning?

Asked by: Ryan.Patiram
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, you can do duplex scanning with this HP LaserJet Pro M428fdw printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-24

is there a newer model for LaserJet Pro MFP M428fdw. I have two and one broke so need to replace.

Asked by: Kenneth11
Thank you for your question! At this time the HP LaserJet Pro m428fdw is the latest model in that product category.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A30A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT