Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M553dn

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print only
  • Print speed letter: Up to 40 ppm (black and color)
  • Auto duplex printing; 2 paper trays (standard); Uses toner with JetIntelligence
  • FCC Class A emissions - for use in commercial environments, not residential environments
See Product Details
HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M553dn is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 41.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_B5L25A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 57ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heartsingpress from Great for my stationery business I'm using this printer for my stationery business, and I'm happy with the double-sided printing, color quality, and ability to handle thicker paper.
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by JMoulton from Fast We replaced an older model HP color printer with this one. This one is much faster and doesn't stop in the middle of a document to "clean." We are pleased with our choice.
Date published: 2021-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by jane47 from Great Product. I am enjoying a lot of the features some of which I have to get used to. In general, a great product and I would not buy any other brand of printer.
Date published: 2021-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by CW3 RET from Outstanding Printer I purchased this M553 Printer to replace one that was 8yrs old. I do not purchase the same item again if the item gives poor service, from that statement in can be determined that the M355 Printer is an outstanding Laser Printer
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leslie P from Great printer for office We bought this for our office. We had a Kyocera previously and this printer is lightyears better. Super fast printing, no splotches of ink, no wrinkling of envelopes!
Date published: 2020-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by CarlF_5 from D.O.A. Unfortunately, I can not give a good review as the M553dn was dead-on-arrival due to a fan failure.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jackieuse from My thoughts This printer is exactly what I wanted for my home office.
Date published: 2020-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by mandrgamez from Great printer but... I just purchased this printer and it does a great job of working as a network printer for our home office. We use Mac's and I was surprised how difficult it was to setup the printer on our network. Mac OS wanted to use a default driver that would not allow you to print. Had to download the software/driver from HP but all of the weblink provided in instructions were not valid sites. After about an hour, I was able to finally load the correct software and drivers. Even after having the correct software, the printer itself wants to constantly print to tray 1... which is, ironically, the manual feed tray that you open up on the side of the machine... Tray 2 is actually the pull out tray that will hold 500+ pages of paper. Not sure why hp decided to make Tray 1 the default tray, but you cannot change this with the configuration of the machine... even the "Enterprise" model. You can only setup your print settings on individual machines to have it default to print to tray 2. Even if Tray 1 is closed, the printer does not seem to know/recognize that. I provided 4 stars because there is a work around and the printer works great... but set up was a real hassle and the inability to default to the tray with the most paper makes no sense to me.
Date published: 2020-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by MCiment18 from Difficult setup not consistent color Who is very difficult to set this M553 printer up. If you chose the wrong security settings there was no warning hair print versus a secure print finally resolve the problem I go out on Google and got the answer there. I own the M551 printer and use it to print out the same results same color product on both printers and the colors are not consistent at all colors that I’ve been using for years
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by BusinessOwner1 from Not a True Enterprise Printer This model's configuration will only use the bottom drawer as the default tray. We added an HP tray to the bottom for legal size (which the included tray 2 cannot accommodate), so there's no way for apps that don't provide the opportunity to choose a destination tray to print on letter size paper. We have had many HP enterprise printers over the years; this is the only one that has not been fully configurable.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pat37 from Super Quality I love this printer, I am an artist and I produce a yearly calendar the printer quality is awesome and the speed is amazing. I had an old HP color laser jet 3505, and it was failing, I should have upgraded to years ago.
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by twolfzorn from It's HP, it just works. HP makes juggernaut printers. They just work consistently for a long time.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doulos from It's a great printer but I can not figure out how to set only one side page print. There is no option for that when I print Word file. All other file such as PDF and Page shows option for both side print. Otherwise great and so I can not give this only 3 star.
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by TomRem from Fast and Quiet I replace an 10yo HP Color printer workhorse. The M553 works like a dream, very fast, quiet.
Date published: 2019-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cast and crew from Awesome printer We have multiple printers and these buy far are the best color printers
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by RVCS from Fast Delivery We bought this printer for student use at our school. It was delivered promptly and set up went quickly.
Date published: 2019-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Golf1958 from Beautiful machine This printer is quiet, compact and does the work we need it to do. It sits on a desktop and actually adds to the office decor.
Date published: 2019-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Becky D from Love this printer We bought this a month ago and love this printer. Our small office prints around 120,000 pages a month. No issues at all so far. Prints quietly and quickly. We didn't need a color printer but we were able to get this at the same price as a monochrome and I'm so glad we did. When we do use color, the pictures are sharp and crisp. Would highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by KJS101 from Quick and Clean Print I love the speed and the quality of print. Only one minor thing that bugs me and can't figure out how to change, but may not be possible. Items print in reverse. When using tray 1 items have to be put in again in reverse. Can't tell you how many checks I have wasted. Just have to get used to it. Haven't figured out yet how to stop a print or to use the buttons on top. All in all I love it just have to learn a different way of printing. I would purchase it again.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chuck744 from A Step Upward I purchased an Enterprise laser-jet M552dn to replace our 550dn. The installation was simple enough and I was up and running within 30 minutes. The unit is rated for the same speed and quality yet the duplex print is obviously faster. I believe I made the right choice to upgrade.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by NorWis from Beautiful Color Presentations Bought this product to replace an old HP Ink Jet and needed something that printed good quality brochures for my business. I could not be more pleased! Super simple set up and fabulous quality prints. Yet another great HP product.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nancy S from so far so good installed three weeks ago, which was easy and works as expected. It is quiet and no signs yet of the leaking cartridges that was in the reviews when I bought it.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suzy Q from Great Color Laser Jet Printer Great laser jet printer for the office. Quality printer.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doogie 57 from Great printer at a great price! We bought two of the printers three weeks ago and they are great. The colors are true and crisp. The printing speed is very good and for the price we couldn't ask for a better printer.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tdawgg66 from HP has done it again with Color LJ Ent M553 I wish I would’ve bought this printer six months ago. The quality and fast printing is print shop quality. It’s a workhorse and would highly recommend this printer. I will say that the instructions as far as making it a wireless remote printer were confusing. In short, take a cat-5 cable run it from your printer to your modem and you’ll be up and running.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by TechDevils from Easy to setup, fast and reliable Installed for a client, Fast, reliable and easy to setup.. This printer is a great upgrade from the older 2009 aged LaserJet. Day and night difference and handles 100+ paged color PDF documents with ease!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by SCManagement from Great Product It's great. It's faster than the previous model we had. Easy set up and install. Holds an entire ream of paper which is wonderful. The output is great and way more efficient than previous model as well.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brad123 from Nice printer but.. I am extremely happy with the M553dn printer. The only thing that I am not pleased with is that some of the documentation that came in the box was only in Spanish with no English version. I called HP to see if I could get English versions but was told that there were none.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sudoplatov from Fast. Print quality seems good. Good printer so far. Does work on local network (when local network works). (Not an HP network.) I like the large input tray. Cannot say about toner usage as I haven't printed that much. The only problem was that this printer wouldn't print in the desk printer-kneehole that my old one did. The power cord is on the side which makes the effective width somewhat larger. This is a minor problem though.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by neiv171 from Great right out of the box! Purchased one of these for my assistant about a year ago. Easy set up right out of the box. Recently it became my turn to upgrade and this was a natural choice. Again, easy set up. The toughest things are getting the HP M553dn out of the box and finding the right cable for hookup. Prints fast and the color is acceptable. Duplex? No problem! No complaints, no worries here! Thanks for another great product HP!
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dano01 from Solid Printer I have two of these printers. They work great! Very fast when used over the network.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fred0475 from Excellent printer, great speed and color. Printer has great paper handling features, great color and is very fast. It exactly fits our needs for a small workgroup.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deuteronomy from Great product ! Great printer.... worth every penny!
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Renee15 from Replaced an HP Laser Jet printer This printer is considerably quieter then my previous printer. The response is quick and fast to return to power save mode. It handles both labels and envelopes with ease. Very satisfied with this product.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by glenn from Super fast printing. Firmware update bricked i... Super fast printing. Firmware update bricked it and unit needed to be swapped out.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ed88 from I like it. Very good with one minor exception. Awkward grabbing paper in output bin. No way to get under the paper.
Date published: 2016-05-14
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_B5L25A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

when was the hp m553dn discontinued?

Asked by: Johnkn
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP Laserjet Enterprise m553dn printer was discontinued in 2022.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-07-17

What is the part number and model for the replacement? Is it a form, fit and function replacement? Is the current one, M553DN at the end of support?

Asked by: Joni Hils
The HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M555dn is the current model that closely resembles the 553DN and can be found at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-color-laserjet-enterprise-m555dn
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-08-02
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_B5L25A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 14ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT