ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax, email
  • Print speed letter: Up to 28 ppm (black and color)
  • Auto duplex printing; Scan to email; 50-sheet ADF; 2 paper trays (standard)
  • High yield toner available
HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 60.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_14, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_CF378A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frozen Mike from Easy setup, Great printer We have bought a few of these models for our employees and they work great, easy for IT to configure and deploy. They run forever. Takes a licking and keeps on ticking.
Date published: 2019-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by kaacpke from HP Laptop Not nearly as fast as I hoped. It seems to lg quite a bit booting up .
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mike H from Love the features a the work diversity Our business bought 4 of these and happy we did! Great Multi-use printer with many capabilities our other printer did not have. I recommend this unit for any small business.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trains from Cannot print #10 Envelopes Can not line up printer to print #10 envelopes with graphics. Been very happy over the years with your Products . Montie
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by dmp121 from great features i bought 2 in the last month for work and I'm happy I did. They have a ton of great features.
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by WAG1947 from Would buy again My only complaint is that I could not register this product because there was no product number.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by THIS IS THE WORST CUSTOME from HP has the WORST Customer service It works. Quality is not high. HP as a company is not great to work with.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by OfficeLP from Mostly great We bought the M477 printer a little less than a month ago and almost everything has gone very well. The set up was a breeze and the print quality is fabulous! The one snag we have yet to resolve is being able to scan to Network folders. We are on Macs that are networked with each other and we keep encountering "permission" errors that don't make sense. Other than that, we are totally loving this printer!
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dan123466 from Printer is cheap and warped. With expensive as this computer was, you would think that it wouldn’t be made so cheaply. The front door of the printer is all warped, because it’s thin cheap plastic. It makes the printer look terrible!
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by bjbaby from Great features and reasonable price. I am happy with everything . We had used an HP printer for 20 years. Wish I had upgraded sooner.
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jamie M from Terrible experience, It took four weeks to arrive. I had to call multiple times to get HP working on it. Then when it finally arrives it’s not WiFi compatable!!! Nonsense! $500 for not WiFi!?!?! I will NEVER use HP again.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tim K from Everything you need! We have 4 of these printers and use them in a business. Work great and very durable!
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by BDavidW from Well Worth It: Good Choice Clean nice copies, fast, and does it all. scan, fax, multipage, collate, lots of choices, etc.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top J from My Review for HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn I love my printer and I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by CA 70 from JAMS EXCESSIVELY!! I RECENTLY PURCHASED YOUR PRINTER. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PRINTER. IT JAMS CONSTANTLY USING HP PAPER. TRYING TO GET IT TO PRINT A TWO SIDED DOCUMENT IS A STRUGGLE. YOUR TOUCH PAD IS COMPLICATING THE PRINTING OPERATION. THE FRONT COVER DOES NOT LOCK SMOOTH. SORRY, DON'T REALLY LIKE , BUT WILL KEEP IT. FOR NOW.
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by GDwashere from Did not support wireless home This printer did not work on our wireless home network and after consulting with Tech Support several times, we have returned it
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by Texasbunny from Scanning I love my printer except that 50 percent of time when I scan documents that are thru feeder and more than 5 pages I have to scan it twice, it is very frustrating. Also, my home office is visible from living room, and I had to buy a black cover to cover it, the printer does not come in black anymore.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by ValenciaG from Good Experience Good experience with purchasing process, delivery, and setup. Printer working well. One issue - the way the advertising materials and specs are written lead me to expect two paper trays. Apparently, you consider the auxiliary/bypass a tray. I find this misleading, Now I have to buy an additional tray for $150. The printer cost was $380. It is a big deal in my organization to do this. It makes it look like I did a poor job researching this purchase. I believe you could do a better job of wording your materials. That's why I gave you four stars instead of five.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by toomm from this is the second printer that has been shipped this is the second printer and when you make copies it is very noisy.
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by Holyghost from Most of what I was looking for I bought this printer, and had some trouble seeing up the software. It wouldn't find the printer. But they did help me getting that fixed. One last issue, however, I specified what paper was in what tray, and it always tells me the trays are empty and Forest use the one I want... That would give it 5 stars... But as of yet only 4
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by mikej1 from Legal paper Both drawers/trays couldn't fully close for legal papers
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keena from Smoothe and easy to operate Took me a while to think about spending the extra money, but I sure am glad I did.
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alley from Very happy with it. Very efficient and fast copying.
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by ABQJoe from Excellent multi-function device Purchased the multi-function unit for use in a small office and it is ideal for our purposes. It was extremely easy to set up on our network and fully operational for all users in about an hour. Availability for mobile devices via WiFi and printing via hpeprint are features everyone appreciates.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by bcbulldog from Every function needed! I really like the function of scanning to a thumb or flash drive.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by jnielsen from Great printer. Great printer. Works will for a small home furnishing store.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dr Al from Very good printer Good printer wish I had upgraded to a laserJet years ago... Print quality is so much better.... only down side was no WIFI with this model. somehow I picked the wrong one out of the 2 I was comparing however I just hardwired it to the network and it works the same way anyways....
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deer Hill Expeditions from Plug and play I bought this unit for a office of 7 full timers. This unit handles our faxing, scanning and copying and color printing. I know we can print monochrome on this unit but we have an HP Laser Jet 4250 dtn that handles our monochrome at a cheaper cost per page. So far no complaints from the office. It was really easy to set up. 'Scan to email' keeps everyone happy. We haven't set up 'scan to network folder', but that due to our network and not the unit. I haven't had to buy ink yet, so we'll see what the actual price per page comes out to be. Its quiet, shuts down automatically at the end of the day. Sleeps well, and wakes up quickly. The best thing is, in a busy office, I haven't had to mess with it, and everyone figures out how to use it using the intuitive touch screen
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gee Row from Excellent Been using for a month now. This is the only printer station for the whole household , and it never fails.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by detbow from Fast Machine Fast and easy setup. I've had other HP all-in-one machines before, but this one out paces them all. I really appreciate the letter option in the front cover.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by yarngal from Love it We print the labels for our products. The printing is crisp, clear, and the colors vibrant. Needed to return a part and that was painless. Most importantly--easy to setup on our network. Yahoo!
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aggiejen from Another excellent HP printer product I have used nothing but HP printer products for about the last 20 years. They are unbeatable in function and in price. I just switched to a laser printer, as my company now needs that up-scaled ability - and this printer does not disappoint.
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by ThePrinterUser from MultiFunction It is great that this product faxes, prints and scans. The paper feeder tray is small so we bought another feeder tray that attaches. Worth it!! Out of the 5 printer users only 1 had the ability to print in both color and gray scale. The rest needed a tech person to add the feature to our computers. That aside, it has worked well since.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by CurtisA from Exceeded expectations Outstanding color print speed in both regular and duplex modes.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ashley77 from Worth the Purchase Having a wireless-connected printer was not a feature I needed so I chose this unit and I'm very pleased. It scans fast and accurately and the software app that comes with the unit makes it a breeze to decide quickly on options. The copier is also fast with supreme laser quality outputs. I have not set up the fax yet but I plan on doing so. I am very happy with this purchase and recommend it to others interested in a compact structure, quality and accurate outputs, and value.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxmanoh from Excellent product! Shipped fast, rapid setup, user friendly. The auto duplex feature is a definite plus, worked extremely well.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by MAGA2018 from Easy to install features The printer is a nice size just right. Easy to install to the network. Smooth and quiet I would recommend for small business that don't print large volume copies.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by hpprinterreview from Great printer when on sale Excellent printer, upgraded from a bulky freestanding HP4500DN that was beyond it's lifetime. The scan to Email mail servers settings needs more work but that's trivial. Over all a great printer. One issue that is some what annoying with using legal size paper is that the paper draw sticks out and does not fully close as the paper is longer. Makes is easy for a accident for clothing to catch and break something. So far everything works great though and I recommend this, grant I don't print much and only had it a few weeks :)
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clarkkent75 from They made this color laser print without Wi-Fi This product has all the bells and whistle feature except it does not have a Wi-Fi feature which means you are required to hard wire to it to put it on a network and that is why it is below average in this day and age of technology
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by radxmen from great machine, very dependable I have three of these machines in a small office setting. Does everything, have never broken down. Only had to change out pick-up roller assembly, but that is to be expected.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by jstdr1v from Almost perfect I haven't purchased a HP printer in about 4-5 years, and my purchase was to directly replace a black laserjet with a color laserjet. After weeks of indecision I came to the M477fdn To date, it has functioned great. Vivid colors, very fast printing even in color. I LOVE the autoduplexing feature. Scans have come out crisp and without distortion. The only cons I have right now are 3: - The baseline noise level has a low buzz/hum. It's annoying. It sits right next to me on my desk. It goes away when it's in low power mode - There is an auto-shut down mode that does not appear to be able to be turned off. This means that every morning I need to remember to turn on my printer, which differed from my previous model. Again, modestly annoying - The USB connection for inserting a USB drive for scans is off center, which dose not affect its function but just makes me worry about the overall build quality and potential longevity. Again, that's just my extrapolation, the device functions normally.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by dcromer from mislead that it has wifi ability Purchased this item too fast - even the enclosed setup instructions included how to install for wireless printing, but actually not wireless at all so now it sits in the box
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by SackofCats from Nice Performer Needed to replace two printers and a scanner. This printer fit the bill and we have not looked back. Fast first page out, scanner and scanner utility work great. Easy set up as well.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by JoeCA from A Nicely Done Laser Printer I have not had this printer long enough to make a really good evaluation so I give it four instead of five stars. The design seems to be well thought out and designed to last. I has a very nice menu screen and good features. I chose to get the auto duplex capability without wireless. I have found it best to make a hard connection to the network rather than use wireless connections. So far, so good.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frank64 from Good solid machine I bought this for a home office after dealing with ink jet machines that were cheap but not reliable. While I have only had this for a couple of weeks it has performed flawlessly. While it does not connect to the network wirelessly, it is connected by internet cable to the wireless hub which allows it to be found and used by laptops and phones that are wirelessly connected to the network.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1wolf1 from Half the space of my last MFP, better print output I would definitely purchase this again. Easy touch screen icons.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mikey47 from Excellent Printer with Average Scanner As far as printing goes, this MFP is excellent. The copier/scanner, on the other hand, is average at best. Resolution only goes to 300dpi. My old HP MFP, which this replaced, went to 1200dpi. The old MFP produced scanned documents, which were better than the originals. Often the clarity of the scanned image/document with this new MFP leaves something to be desired. Since my primary use for this MFP is double-sided color printing, I am still happy overall.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jamesmt87 from Great Printer! I couldn't ask for anything better. I have a strong opinion on inkjet printers. I don't like them at all they just can't perform the same as a laserjet. So when my old inkjet died. It was an easy decision to move to a laser printer. I decided on HP as I have always had good products from them. This was a great choice. It does everything I need and it does it quickly and perfectly. I could not be happier.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by AnneF from Recommended So far, I'm very happy with this printer. I have yet to explore all it has to offer. Two sided printing is great and it is FAST. Also, I made a mistake in my initial order. HP Customer Support was AMAZING. I highly recommend ordering directly from HP.
Date published: 2017-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by GetIcon from Nice printer For The Money So far a nice multi-function printer, smaller and faster than my last Brother MFC. The only draw back is I wish it had a larger volume paper tray instead of the 250 sheet tray.
Date published: 2017-07-19
  • y_2024, m_4, d_14, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_CF378A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

what is the thickness of the document feeder when open?

Asked by: Lucas17
It is unclear what is being asked. Please verify the question and resubmit. Is the question concerning the total height of the machine with the document feeder open? If so that measurement is 656mm or 25.83 inches.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-30

I need a quote for this printer HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn

Asked by: Prachi Mishra
The HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn has been discontinued and is no longer available.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-28

WHY DOES THE "HP Smart software" NOT RECOGNIZE THIS PRINTER?

Asked by: THE_REAL_KEEBLER
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-04

I'm getting an error on startup. "Engine cable connection issue." I can't seem to find any other posts from anyone experiencing the same issue. Any way to troubleshoot this?

Asked by: Jeff334
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-02-11

I have the MFP M477fdn in my office. It has started printing columns of black marks down the length of the paper. What can I do to fix it?

Asked by: TerriP
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-12-11

What year did the hp color jet pro MFP M477fdn come out? 

Asked by: Tony1962
Thank you for your question, the HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn was released in 2015, although this model has been discontinued.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-05-24

I'm receiving an error on startup of "Unsupported tray installed. Remove tray. Turn off and then on." Even after removing the tray and power-cycling, the issue persists. Any additional troubleshooting advice?

Asked by: Jeff334
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-02-11

When I print out the FAX TEST REPORT it shows a list of items for Fax Settings. How/where can I find information on how to turn some of these items on/off?

Asked by: Fenixazok
The user guide https://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c04636804.pdf goes into the most detail about the fax for that unit starting on page 81. It does start with setup, but it goes into how to change settings for it.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2023-12-19
  • y_2024, m_4, d_14, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_CF378A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT