ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

HP OfficeJet Pro 8730 All-in-One Printer

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, Copy, Scan, Fax
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 24 ppm black, up to 20 color
  • 0ne-pass two-sided scanning, lightning fast two-sided printing at up to 20ppm, legal-size flatbed, mobile printing, USB document printing
  • Instant Ink ready; High yield ink available.
HP OfficeJet Pro 8730 All-in-One Printer is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 44.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_D9L20A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 60ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frank from Does everything we need it to do and, probably... Does everything we need it to do and, probably more! Much better than our last colour printer as it works consistently with no connection problems.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by Victor from It is very slow with certain print jobs, from ... It is very slow with certain print jobs, from my Ipad to receiving the print you nearly cook diner while waiting for it, a hot drink easily with time to spare, it struggles from my phones but from the pc works well and fast
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert from Perfect for my needs. I was replacing a model... Perfect for my needs. I was replacing a model 8600 all-in-one. This seems even nicer, and the colour is much more modern
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Julian from So far so good, simple set up, easy to use. Ne... So far so good, simple set up, easy to use. Needs a strong and stable base to sit on as when it prints it does tend to rock a little
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by TRam from Good quality and fast but there was a surprise I bought the printer a few months ago to replace an OfficeJet 8500. I have had many OfficeJet printers and have been pretty happy with them. I manage three companies and my personal finances with QuickBooks & Quicken. I print checks using both programs but was surprised with the 8730 because I could no longer print a single check (checks are three to a sheet) in the portrait position. This change was a step back to how printing checks was many years back which is very inconvenient. I contacted HP prior to purchasing the printer and they were great and helpful but I wish they would have mentioned the check printing change during the call. I would have given the printer a 5 star rating if there wasn't the check printing issue.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by kool12 from Example: Great features! Example: I bought this a month ago and am so happy that I did...
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life time HP user from Fantastic printer I purchased the HP OfficeJet Pro 8730 All-in-One Printer about a month ago. It is very easy to use with very fast printing. I installed the printer as wireless. I was concerned that it would be difficult and would need to be re-installed many times from dropping out contact with the router. Wireless printers are much better these days. The HP printer was very easy to install and has not dropped out at all. The display panel is extremely easy to use. It is much easier to print to a USB storage device. Color and black and white print is execellent. Very pleased with this HP printer. I am a very pleased HP user.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by jest kay from Example: Great features! Example: I bought this a month ago and am so happy that I did...
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by faro1 from Great Printer, but beware I read too many (in my estimation) negative reviews, so I bought the printer direct for HP. Thinking it would be easier to return, in case I had problems. Mechanically the HP 8730 is well designed machine. I chose the printer for the feature of two sided scanning since I believe that it will be quicker and less chance of jamming. I do more scanning that printing. My experience with HP products has always been very positive. However for the first six months I have had problems with the drivers. I have a duo-boot desktop PC…Win 10 and Win 7. Also, I have 3 Win 10 laptops. The drivers loaded fine in my laptops and Windows 7 boot on my desktop. However, loading the drivers on the Windows 10 desktop boot was another issue. I could not get Windows 10 desktop apps to print. After nearly 2 hours on the phone with HP Support I could get it to print and scan. However, they could not get Printer Assistant (PA) to work. I was told that to correct this issue, the registry would need to modify. I declined. I was concerned that this would take a long time, or I could end up with more problems. I could print and scan Windows 10. PA in Windows 7 (or my laptop) could take care of issues like checking ink level. Later I found out that you need a fully functional PA. One tool “Updates IP address” in PA. What can happen is the router/internet provider may change the IP address of the printer. This tool will change the IP the computer looks for. The alternative is to change the IP address at the router and fix it so it does not change. I had an IT professional do this. So for the most part it was fully functional i.e. I could print and scan, again. Then Microsoft did a major update and that was a setback for the printer software. To get things going again, I uninstalled the drivers. After uninstalling a installing the drivers I found that I had two icons on my desktop. One lead to a fully functional PA, and the other that did not function, but only restarted the install. I discovered that I had 8630 drivers as well as 8730 drivers installed. I removed the 8630 drivers and everything worked perfectly. OK, how did I get the 8630 drivers installed? I don’t know I may have done something wrong, or HP’s web site had a quirk in it. One thought is: the problem may have been the wrong drivers from the beginning. The 8630 driver may work on an 8730…partially. The drivers/software appear to be updated since my purchase. You may not have any problems. I have not tried printing photos. I get my photos printed at COSTCO, Walgreens, etc. Pros: Near Laser quality text printing Color Graphics is impressive, but I cannot compare to other late model printers. Fast printing and scanning. Two sided scanning in one pass No trouble (so far) in scanning previously folded letters. Great all around scanner. Cost of ink/per sheet appears to be reasonable. After a year, I am still on the original ink cartridges. Feature rich (can be a con) Technical Support speaks understandable English, they appear knowledgeable, polite, and helpful. Cons: Print driver installation can be problematic. Wrong driver (HP 8630) could be installed. Unit is big and heavy – this does not bother me, but is should be noted. Long start up time. Be prepared to spend about a $100 for a set of ink cartridges. Feature rich…almost too much. There are features that I will never use. Tips: Create a “restore point” before installing drivers/software. This precaution should be done before any software installation. I forgot to do this. Decline “instant Ink”, even if makes economic sense for you, until your printer is fully functional, in case you need to return the printer. I came close. After installation of drivers/software go to “file explorer >> C: (C drive) >> program files >> HP. Open HP folder: there should be a folder “HP Officejet Pro 8730”. If it is something else, uninstall it. Check out Printer Assistant to be sure it is fully functional. There should be a printer icon on your desktop. If by clicking on it, PA does not open, but restarts the installation. You have a bad installation. Welcome to my world. To uninstall drivers: in control panel >> hardware and sound >> Devices and Printers >> Devices and Printers. Right click on all the unwanted HP devices and delete. Then go to Program Uninstaller in Control Panel and remove the unwanted HP print drivers/software. Then do a system restore, if you created a restore point. This last step may be overkill, but a good precaution. If you know how to set your router so the IP address cannot be changed, I would recommend doing it. Otherwise you may have to use PA from time to time to get your IP address correct. Recommendations: Buy. Once I got the software fixed, I find it a superb product; everything you would expect from HP. I believe with the latest drivers everything will work well. I am knocking it down one star for all the grief, and I am tempted to knock it down two stars. The drivers should have been fixed well before I bought my unit. If you follow my tips, I believe you will not have my problems, at least, avoid some of my grief. Example: I bought this a month ago and am so happy that I did...
Date published: 2018-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hilde71 from This one is a winner! I have thoroughly enjoyed this printer...and I've owned a large number of them over many years. It's reliable - the easiest to set up of any printers I've owned thus far. The print is clear whether black and white or color, the double sided printing saves paper, the scanning screen is easily accessed. I love that it's not so wide and doesn't have any pull out bars for the paper to rest on after printing (that then gets broken when I close the door to the cabinet if I forget to push the pull out bar back inside. I appreciate having the legal page print and scan capability. It also wasn't too heavy for me to pick up and move and although that shouldn't matter normally, it meant I wasn't dependent on another to help me put it into place.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stephen from I've done the straight forward stuff, but ther... I've done the straight forward stuff, but there are still some things I need to resolve before I can use all the facilities available.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pennycatall from All the features I need at a good price. I purchased this printer after I was unhappy with the previous 2 printers I bought. The quality has been as good as the laser printer I used in my office at work. It was easy to set up. It remains completely stable while printing and, so far, as worked well with a variety of paper quality. I am very happy with this printer.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by SROB from WORKS GREAT, BUT NOISY THIS PRINTER HAS WORKED GREAT AND HAS ALL FEATURES WE NEED IN A BUSY SMALL BUSINESS. IT IS KINDA NOISY THOUGH.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by David from It's a beast of a printer, but it does everyth... It's a beast of a printer, but it does everything I expected of it. Great document feeder for double sided scanning. I've used the photocopy function more than I thought I would
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Victor from Great printer, shame about the online customer... Great printer, shame about the online customer service.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lore123 from Very pleased! Great fit for my accounting home office. All of my clients are paperless now, so the scanning feature is a must. Fast, efficient and intuitive. And the HP Instant Ink program option is a cost-effective no-brainer. This HP was an upgrade from my HP OfficeJet 8620, and definitely worth it: quieter, better paper feed (especially for two-sided documents), and new design means no more printed pages falling to the floor.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by LARRY65 from GREAT PRODUCT GREAT PRODUCT. MEETS MY EXPECTATIONS THUS FAR. WILL WAIT TO SEE ON THE INK USAGE.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jay2018 from Great Printer, Scanner, Copier & Fax Machine Always had HP Printers. My last printer was a HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 which is now my backup printer. This new model is absolutely beautiful. HP Printers are very reliable and are definite work horses for a home office business.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by HENRY36 from The 8730 has performed up to my expectations. I recommend the 8730 to anyone looking for a good all purpose printer.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ebg42 from Not good for photos! This product has a bulky design. It is absolutely NOT an option for printing photos. All the photos I tried printing had lines the whole way across the photo. I tried different papers and got the same result.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by VinnyS from Great printer! All around great printer for home use. My college children love all the great features provided for their school work. We only purchase HP printers and I have to say, with very little maintenance, they run always perform seamless for my family.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rick23454 from Excellent product. My previous HP printer, a J6480 all-in-one, did not stay logged on to the wireless network and had to be hard-wired. This one works fine, and I can locate it anywhere. I love the 2-sided copying.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robin A from Currently I have an 8600 and it seems as good Currently I have an 8600 and it seems as good
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by SanDiego18 from Its great when it prints. I have to work the kinks out because it goes to sleep and does not wake up when I want it to print.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pululu from Very good machine for personal or business pur... Very good machine for personal or business purposes
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by ARL247 from Great Features With One Exception If only there were a special paper tray for envelopes I would give it five stars. It is annoying to have to deal with this manually.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Val32 from This printer works beautifully. This printer was easy to set up and has great features. I was up-and-running in no time! I am pleased with the amount of work it can handle at a time. I like the white, but probably would have preferred black if it had been available. I am also pleased with the speed in which the copies are produced. All together a great product!
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by blt4737 from better every generation of these machines is better than the last.i would rather buy a new machine [$269.00] than replace the print head [$155.00].easy choice,and new is new.you can't beat smoother,quieter ,faster
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jennifer from Easy to set up. Quality print delivered fast. Easy to set up. Quality print delivered fast.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by Edith1 from Ok for using for hone Wifi doesn't work. Other funcations so far work well. The printer design is too big. Print quality is not good as I thought compare to the HP Laser Printer I have in the office. I think next time I will buy the Laser Printer instead .
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jacksonville from Impressive print quality This printer was very easy to unpack and install. The print quality is far better than my previous printers. This printer has several features ( two sided print, copy, fax) which all work flawlessly.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Steveshomeprinter from Great printer, easy set up and color prints Great printer cane on time and it was very easy to set up. The print outs look great.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ron57 from Good machine, but hard to set up It took 1 hour and 54 minutes for HP support to set it up to duplex scan legal size document which was the main reason for buying this machine. Other than that is has performed as well as the HP6700 it replaced.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tom454 from Awesome Printer This printer is replacing my 9 yr old HP Photosmart C7280 AIO that broke. I knew I wanted another HP printer and after checking out the AIO printers on HP's website. The OfficeJet Pro 8730 was my pick, it had the features I wanted and it was the right size to fit on my desk. After using it for the past 2 weeks I am very pleased with the printer. The setup was cake and has worked flawless without any issues. I would recommend this printer for anyone looking for an all-in-one printer.
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by BudBBTX from Good product, POOR overseas customer service Good product, POOR overseas customer service. 2nd attempt as HP would not publish my first report. Too bad HP has to use non-American Customer Service.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by AGT62 from Easy to set up, perfect printing...! Compared to out previous printer, this was so easy to set up... in fact, you just plug it in, and it does everything by itself, such as finding the network, loading its own driver, etc, etc. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Etienne47 from All the bells and whistles fabulous. Straightforward intuitive set up instructions.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saul01 from Great... Easy set-up and performs super...
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by TXBudman from Good for 3 months and then problem!! Good for 3 months and then problem!! Ran GREAT for 3 months and then had a problem that HP Support could not figure out. It wound up being antivirus software.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chrisnwillie from HP Never Disappoints HP never disappoints. Great printer, great software, and great performance. Replacing my old HP 4/1 printer with this one and couldn't be happier. Great price as well.
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by rmh1800 from Quick Printer Like everything about this printer. Quick, clear printing. A little slow to initiate a scan, but makes up for it in the process.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gavin from Excellent all in one device but why is the sca... Excellent all in one device but why is the scanning a lower resolution to the 8720 ? Surely the more the models should only improve in specification as one moves up the series ?
Date published: 2016-10-13
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_D9L20A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is this printer supported by macOS Monterey 12.6.3? Using an iMac 2021 model. Why was this printer discontinued? Does it have issues with not recognizing the printer utility?

Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your question regarding the HP OfficeJet Pro 8730. It does have driver support for macOS 12, which will support Monterey. The HP Smart is compatible with the printer and can be downloaded from the Apple Store if you want access to more options for the printer and to be able to easily update the drivers.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-03-12

I have replaced yellow cartridge with correct 955XL genuine HP in my OfficeJet Pro 8730 but the printer says there’s a cartridge problem and showing new cartridge as empty.

Asked by: OZY09
  • y_2024, m_5, d_24, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_D9L20A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 56ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT