Engineered for Sustainability

HP OfficeJet Pro 6230 ePrinter

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print only, wireless
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 18 ppm (black), up to 10 ppm (color)
  • Auto duplex printing; Borderless printing
  • High yield ink available
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP OfficeJet Pro 6230 ePrinter is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 85.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_E3E03A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Not Available for instant ink Program I wish they would put on the box that this product in NOT available for instant ink. The Instant ink program is great but I feel they should put this important fact on the box, or in this case on their websire which is where I purchased it. I am (was) an HP fan but no more. Feel like I wasted my money.
Date published: 2024-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upset1971 from Looks like a nice printer Have not been able to use, trying to return item
Date published: 2023-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by Larkeno from Not Working at this Time It does not work with my computer at this time. It worked initially but settings changed and I am looking to uninstall and reinstall and hope for the best!
Date published: 2023-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by MelFromPittsburgh from Nice Printer.... well first of all this printer does not coincide with my computer--second it took me a month to get my money back from HP--I will still buy from HP but will be more picky..
Date published: 2023-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eileen C. from Printer Is Great The printer works great. I had a bit of a problem getting it to work but the HP Tech was wonderful and everything works now.
Date published: 2023-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jazzmine from Setup is not clear All setup information is graphic and not very clear in places.
Date published: 2023-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by B Johns from HP 6230 printer This is a wonderful at home/basic office and personal printer. Takes up very little space, super lightweight, no fax or scan but nowadays not necessary for the most part.. Prints very well, fast also. Have not been able to get a wireless hookup working but will contact HP tech for help.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Use HP from Paper feed problems It worked great for a little but now it doesn’t want to feed the paper.
Date published: 2021-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ineverhadone from Perfect replacement for 6100 It’s working great. Same footprint as the 6100. I really all the new features I have now.
Date published: 2021-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed to the max from Does not integrate well I have bought 3 HP printers and no new HO works with older computers! You must have a nearly née computer every time you purchase an HO printer.
Date published: 2021-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by HELP21 from Ink Cartridge Carriage Stalled Very unhappy with the purchase. Printer starts then stalls with the following pop up: "The ink cartridge carriage cannot move. Check for a paper jam or other obstruction. Press the OK button below or the OK or Resume button on the printer when ready.To cancel the printe job, press the Cancel (X) button on the printer or click Cancel Print." Review not for publishing just expressing my frustration.
Date published: 2021-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by TrrCop from Easy to hook up HP is the only printer I will ever buy. It is so simple to set up even for someone my age (73)
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by cpm4387 from Not sure yet Having trouble setting this printer up. The black ink cartridge light keeps blinking. You can't print anything until you resolve this issue, so called HP and it has been 2 weeks now and no new setup black cartridge yet. I have bought HP printers for 25 years and never had an issue. I hope this is a one time issue. Needed this one for the store and it needed to fit under the counter which it does.
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by txlady412 from Loved it!! I am so glad I bought this printer! It is so quick and easy to print from my Chromebook or my iPhone. I love the quality when I print photos from my iPhone! Definitely a great buy!
Date published: 2021-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coondaddy84 from Great I bought it to do stuff for my work and it has been working so far
Date published: 2021-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Preacher dude from Awesome I love it very must it is great for me to use thanks
Date published: 2021-05-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by CBR84 from worst overall experience ever. Printer refuses to work at all. Multiple efforts to wade though maze of support site yield nothing but frustration.
Date published: 2021-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from 6230 e printer Scanning is done by your phones camera . There is no ability to scan by the printer itself.
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Will ink be available? So far so good. This printer does everything its advertised to do. I thought I would buy an extra set of ink cartridges in case the ones that came with it ran out, but the website shows out of stock for two of the four cartridges required. Will ink be available in the future? No ink makes a pretty useless printer.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by belledame01 from Can’t connect to labtops I’m having trouble connecting to labtops.. I need help
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kimberly19 from Functional Purchased what I believed was the all in one, but that is my fault. Already disappointed at unboxing. Took longer to get here than expected and it was terrible to connect wireless. Would not recommend, there are much simpler units available now that are much easier to install. Would have sent it back but school had already began and the shipping to receive was like 2 weeks.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by ggcarguy from Just what I needed, If it had a display so I would know when ink was running short it would get 5 stars
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by drdnewman from good printer for medium work load This is the 4th one of these I have purchased over the past few years. I really like ease of use and print quality for invoices with color. The price of the ink replacement cartridges are, to me on the high side. My biggest disappointment is that every one of these I have owned eventually just suddenly stopped printing one or more colors....one stopped printing all colors at once and one all black at once. Easy to set up on a network.
Date published: 2020-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated 2 from Sending it back. It makes a noise when starting, paper isn’t feeding properly and I haven’t even gotten to do a test print. I’d like a printer to work the first time that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg.
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocky3 from Excellent basic printer Shipped quickly, received in 3days.Used HP videos for fast and easy setup with. driver disc.. Wonder how many copies the setup cartridges will print
Date published: 2020-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nate1234 from Terrible Connectivity Just won't connect to the same wireless network the last HP printer was on.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by AndreC from A bit difficult to set up but easy to use. I needed a printer that only prints and the 6230 answered the call. I am pleased with the recommendation from the HP Rep I spoke with during my selection process.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by AndyL from Very easy setup Wireless setup incredibly easy. Email docs to print with free hpeprint is pretty cool.
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by G Gray new work space 209 from New work environment I had to buy a printer because i now have to work from home. This printer was easy to set up and light weight. Also the design was a space saver. Not to mention the price helped influence my purchase. There were several to choose from im sure there are others thst are well worth the purchase
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jaime79 from JamieTS8320 Absolutely great product I love it !! But I did find the color that I looking Red was out stock.
Date published: 2020-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by CEspino from Great Printer I bought this about 2 weeks ago and it works great!
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by dehech from I can count on the brand HP Whenever buying electronics, HP makes my life easy, I just look for their brand. I'm never disappointed when I stick to HP
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by dpsota from Good printer I purchased on line and received printer in timely manner and was very easy to set and get it connected wireless to my laptop.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lady Hobo from So easy and convenient!!! I bought this printer because I had things on the internet I needed copies of and at 72 years old it was easy to carry. and operate. The disc was great to help me get my laptop to connect to it and to connect it to the internet. The price was affordable even on my fixed income and the print was sharp and easy to read. Now I can file my own income tax free online and have a printed copy. Thanks HP.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Biebs from Works great!! Has all of the features I was looking for. Easy to set up and get up and running! That's always a plus. And the fact that the print quality is great certainly doesn't hurt.
Date published: 2020-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert W from Printing cartridges are very expensive. Printing cartridges are very expensive.
Date published: 2020-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mary Ann47 from fron loading paper. The printer was delivered December 12th. With the holidays I haven't really used it much yet. When I did try it, it worked great. Love the front loading paper feature.
Date published: 2019-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheo from Everything you may need Love the printer, bought for my son's school work. We were looking for a printer only and this printer filled the bill. Quiet, wireless and no unnecessary features.
Date published: 2019-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by JPMx from Paper jams Paper jam were so bad, I took it to the recycle center within a week. Not worth the expense to return.
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by karethaj from Excellent This product is exactly as advertised and affordable.
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trails 2 from Great printer I got this to replace a printer that was not printing correct colors it works great.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by SBRM from Doesn't work I purchased this printer as my previous HP printer uses the same cartridges and I had just bought new cartridges and my old printer died. Pulled the new cartridges from my old printer into this one and all I get is flashing lights. No printing. No online help I could find. No time to deal with a printer that isn't quick and easy to set up.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bubby from So far so good. Happy it used the cartridges from the previous machine.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by Kalixto from A TOTAL LOSS! Even a technician could not get this printer to work. In any case, I did not even know that it did not have fax. A hundred dollars to the garbage can. I had to buy another printer and lose all the cartridges/
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doron from take this printer off the market. Constantly jams, shuts off, slow. Very little to say positively about it. Was designed for one purpose - to buy as much ink as possible.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nanajane from I would prefer a printer that had copying features The printing and wireless are great features but would also prefer copying features and was not told by salesman that this was for printing only.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by WaltNFlorida from Great printer except for printhead I bought this to replace one that started streaking after 2 years. Discovered that the print head can't be cleaned and is not replaceable. Since this is almost the only printer you can get without a built-in scanner I bought it with a 3 year replacement Care Package. My use is almost all graphics, posters, etc. The printer does a fantastic job of these.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by MadridTrading from Propably great printer, lousy support This printer may have great features but do to HP s Support refusal to provide adequate written setup instructions I was forced to return the printer.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keith from All good thank you All good thank you
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by wsk176 from Printer is not worth the money First let me say I like HP products. This is only a printer and I thought I was getting an all in one printer. The web site was a little tough to navigate and I know I picked an all in one printer with a document feeder. When this printer came, I tried to send it back, but they would not accept returns. The quality of the printed page is very good and the ease in set up is nice. I can print from my phone with no problem. I would not recommend this as a sole printer, for a house, but only as a dedicated printer for someone that never needs to copy. Really no copier function?
Date published: 2017-11-03
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_65
  • loc_en_US, sid_E3E03A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Can this print borderless (edge-to-edge) in A5 size?

Asked by: Johanna O.
Thank you for your question, yes the HP OfficeJet Pro 6230 ePrinter supports A5 borderless printing.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2022-12-30

Print incomplete???

Asked by: Tommyc46
Hello. Thanks for your question. We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

I have a 1080 HP deskjet printer that I am no longer able to use the scan function since Adobe stopped Adobe flash player. Can you recommend another driver that I can use, ( I have windows 10 home version).

Asked by: Rhoustabout
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is there a way to have my HP OfficeJet Pro 6230, automatically print the date on everything I print ? If so how ?

Asked by: ChocolateTacos
Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

is this the replacement for the envy 4500 all-in-one?

Asked by: robber06
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend looking at the HP Envy 6055e printer. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-06-09

How do I change the wireless network the printer is on?

Asked by: Sprocket1
The User Guide and the Setup Guide is located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-officejet-pro-6230-eprinter-series/5390318/model/5390319/manuals These Guides will help with the setup and other questions you may have. Thanks for shopping with HP.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-31

Does it come with ink?

Asked by: Ken x1
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP OfficeJet Pro 6230 printer comes with setup cartridges in the box. The yield of setup cartridges varies by model but tends to be enough to get the average user through setup and initial printing jobs.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-12-29

does this printer have a scan function?

Asked by: carolesong
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP OfficeJet Pro 6230 Printer does not have a scan function.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-26
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_E3E03A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT