• This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, Copy, Scan, Fax
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 24 ppm black, up to 20 color
  • Lightning fast two-sided printing at up to 20 ppm, legal-size flatbed, mobile printing
  • Instant Ink ready; High yield ink available.
See Product Details
HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 All-in-One Printer is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 91.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_M9L75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by PattyG from Love the new look - features are exceptional! When my older HP Printer was not repairable, HP offered me the HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 All-in-One - the design and the features are Excellent.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by haullee from super printedr this printer has passed all print jobs with out a hitch
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ann M from Happy! Finally, a printer I’m happy to use because it does its job!
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rosemary Helen from Slow to print and sometimes has to be reset. The printer is slow to begin printing as compared to the previous hp that I had and also sometimes I will have to turn it off and turn it back on before it will print at all. I was informed that I would get a call to set up the fax and I am still waiting for that call...perhaps this will serve as a reminder :) Thank you.
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by KIConnolly from Best printer I have used Initial set up was easiest ever. Problems were with my internet and not the printer. Now using it on PC, Android, and apple products. Good quality and easy to scan.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by shannon58 from It's been horrible I bought this less then two months ago and nearly every time I go to use it, I have to call and have your tech department reboot it. Every time I call and they reboot it, they tell me the problem is solved. Sometimes it last for a day or two, but sometimes as soon as they hang up it's confused again and does not work. You can check my file. You will see that in less then two months I have had to call tech support 5, maybe 6 times now. And I need them again now, I just don't have an hour to devote to the call right now.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by JP711 from I am pleased with the HP 8720 printer performance.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why do you want a nicknam from Not quite as good as the HP I had before it. This printer is not as easy to work with as the other printer I had. I had the 8600 Pro and it was so much better to work with. This printer is not user-friendly. I said I would recommend this product to a friend because it does do a good printing job even though it won’t properly process the HP expensive photo paper that I bought. It keeps pulling two sheets of photo paper together and I can’t get one complete picture on a page. I get one picture printed over two sheets of HP photo paper and they fall apart when they come out of the print process. What an expensive waste of photo paper.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poodlme from Average printer I've had this about a month now to replace one that stopped printing pictures. This model has offered me everything plus in features I will probably not use from my home as I do not fax. I love the way it is set up and the paper jams are cleared out from the front of the printer rather than through the back of the printer. I love the fact that I can print photos and paper from the same tray. I love the fact it is not as noisy as my last HP printer. I love the options on copying a 2 sided piece of paper to be much more functional than my last printer. I print every day in my home from my poetry to recipes to the cards I make for my family for every occasion plus to my aging relatives who live on the East coast on a weekly basis just to keep in touch. I do not like the fact that I have a paper jam just about every day with the printer and do not understand why I should? It is easy enough to clear out but I should not have to do this every day? This is why my rating is so average on this printer..
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by LikeHPprinters from Fast and competent I bought this printer a month ago to replace a HP OfficeJet Pro 8610. I also still have a 8600 in the house. Compared to those two, the 8720 is very fast, makes excellent pictures on plain paper and I found it as easy to set up as I had the 8610 several years ago. I do not regard pictures critical for my use, but was disappointed in the streaked images that came out of the 8610 and 8600, so the improvement is really great. And the standard print quality is really excellent. I think almost better than laser quality print. I would give this printer five stars, except for one problem. I use Apple computers mostly, so when I tried to scan twenty five pages using scan-to-computer, I was amazed at how fast the scanner accomplished this. The next time I scanned in multiple pages, using Scan-to-Computer, the 8720 could not find the Mac computer. After reading help pages etc, I completed the task by scanning from the Mac, which required several tries using HP and then Mac software. As of now, Scan-to-Computer still does not work with my Mac, and I am tired of trying to diagnose the issue ( it does finds my pc notebook). Scan-to-computer is important to me, so I give the 8720 four instead of five stars.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by JDB47 from Fabulous! i can't imagine how an all-in-one printer could be any better!
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dennismd1 from great machine I replaced a older hp printer with the 8720, works great there are a few operating tricks I am still trying to solve BUT all in all very pleased with the unit
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by JohnEric from Good workhorse printer but slow to start I have owned prior versions of the OfficeJet Pro for my small business. Although I believe this one is better designed and built than its predecessor, I find that every time you send a print request over to the printer it takes a few seconds to get itself going (lots of internal activity happens before it actually prints). I don't seem to remember the same amount of time with the 8620. Frustrating when you have clients sitting in front of you and you are trying to print off something that is being discussed suddenly during the meeting. Lastly, I am not impressed with the Printer's scan quality. This has been a consistent issue I think with the officejet pros. Workable for historical reference documentation but not crisp enough to comfortably present for some business environments. That being said, for the money (especially since I purchased it during a HP sale) I am pleased with the printer.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by mtilden from Issues out of the box From the beginning the printer has had paper jamming and alignment issues. Even after the machine downloaded the latest firmware and reboot, the first page of almost every document I have printed so far is misaligned and overprinted.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by A J 311 from Excellent I traded up as the the HP OfficeJet was becoming obsolete with new software updates on my laptop. The set up was easy and the upgrade does so much more than my old HP. It was worth the price. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by furok from I bought this to replace a pro 8740. Right now, I am really liking it but I am hoping that it last longer then the 8740 as it only had three years on it before taking the deep plunge into doing nothing and unfixable.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by Office All 4 1and 1 4 All from Does a lot I bought this printer based on the fact it's base color is mostly white. Office decor is very important to the buildings and grounds superintendent (wife).
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tack Rep from This piece of equipment is larger than I had expected, but it still does fit my dedicated space. It has awesome features (like scan to email) that I was not aware of when I purchased it. I love it!!
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bre F from Upgrade to 8620 I bought the 8720 a few weeks ago. My 8610 printhead went out so I needed one that work similar to that or better. It does everything I need it t do. Its so loud though! Thats the only thing that say turns me off. It effectively fits my need as I need a printer that can handle pretty tough jobs. When the wheels roll, it seems as if it's too loud. I dont believe its supposed to do that. It sounds like something is in it. I'm trying to figure out if I should call HP to get another one because it's scares me that something worse is going on and will need replacing soon.
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by BMW_Curtis from Awesome speed, Great price for an ALL IN ONE So far I am loving it. I move around alot with my job and I love the ability to take a photo with my cellphone and email it to my printer. The printer is also super fast. This was money well spent and by far the best printer I have ever owned.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crabbman from Great menu and features Much faster printer than pro 8100. Live this feature. It is much more quite than pro 8100 still a little more tweaking could be done with next model maybe.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by JP129 from Will not interface with computer Bought this for home office use, having had previously good experience with a HP 8720. Tried to download and install software but the download fails to install. I’m using a MAC desktop and all updates are current and there is plenty of memory available
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by Peaches2 from Great printer. The last OfficeJet Pro lasted 8 years. This one should be able to take me to the next 8! HEY your survey doesn't allow 'cons'. Here's my con - you don't have memory card slots on this one, and for WHATEVER reason, you moved all the controls and cords to the left side (on button, usb slot, and power cord). ALSO - your power cord is TOO SHORT
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stung in Seattle from Likely the best printer in its class. I've had an 8720 for two years in a small office setting and have had zero issues with this printer and am quite pleased with all that it promised to do. We've been through several competing printers over the last several years and this one is far and away my favorite for this fairly routine finance and marketing oriented setting. However, I tried to buy another one this year for a second office directly from HP.com but HP mucked up the order on their end with no explanation and provided such poor follow-up and poor follow-through that the order had to be abandoned and with it my trust of the HP brand. I bought a competing printer at Best Buy that same day due to an urgent need but my disappointment with HP support still lingers.
Date published: 2018-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by Neal2 from Good, but a few issues with documentation, so far I bought this 8720 as a replacement for my older C6180 All-in-one; most of my comments will be relative to my generally good experience with the C6180. After getting the 8720 up and going, I tested many of its functions except FAXing, and smartphone interface. Scanning and print resolution, both plain paper and photos was about the same as the C6180, which I thought pretty good, as these products go. Paper handling, autoduplexing, print speed, etc, are excellent --much better than the C6180. WiFi setup went smoothly once I figured it out. (See below). I got this printer as a holiday sale item and the recommendation on Wirecutter. Consumer Reports rates the 8270 somewhat lower than its competitors, mostly because of the high cost of ink. I did sign up for the Instant Ink program -- will see how that goes. And, of course it is too soon to evaluate reliability. The 8270 is a bit larger than a typical $100 home printer, so be prepared for that. My only gripe with the printer so far is documentation: It is a layered collection of Prepare, get started, online setup and software installation, printer on board screen instructions, 3 computer control programs and troubleshooters, and finally a user manual. No one of these is complete, rather the coverage is fragmented. Ex 1: So....I got confused at the outset. The cartridges must be installed in the print head. The print head is well hidden to the interior side, and does not emerge on power up. Rather one must start the setup procedure. Unfortunately, the Prepare document is not explicit about this fact. I called tech support and complained that the print head was missing ! After 30 min on the phone, tech support ordered me a new one. 10 days later, when I had the replacement print head instructions in hand, I finally located the not missing print head! OK, so this is long winded and dumb, but the documentation might have been clearer. Ex 2: The C6180 has an explicit feature in its computer control program for scanning several separate photos on the glass flatbed to corresponding separate jpeg files on your computer. The 8720 can also do this, but the feature is not covered explicitly in the user manual, rather it is buried in the computer's scan control program under Detailed Scan Settings -> Input Paper Size -> Detect Content in Page. Tech support was unable to instruct me on where to find the feature, either. Overall, I am pleased with the 8720, especially the paper handling.
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hazel77 from Print from your cell phone I Purchased this printer for myself and one for my daughter as a Christmas gift. I’ve set mine up and very excited about what this printer can do how quick it is the amount of paper you can load in it for printing scanning And to be able to print from my cell phone in another room is pretty exciting to me. one thing I wished I would have done is take the warranty at the time I purchased. I’ve had several printers in the past and they always quit within a year year and a half. I hope this one doesn’t only time will tell.
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rabbit2 from Great Features I am very happy with my printer to this point. I have had one issue a couple of times that I think is a matter of just resolving it with the tray. Twice it has refused to pick paper and I have had to work on the tray to get it going, other than that it responds great and does a very good job of printing. Also for my use the Instant ink has been a very positive and cost efficient program.
Date published: 2018-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by WoodD from Fast printing and ample paper tray This is my second of this model. The 1st one failed after 2-years, outside the warranty. Both have attendance to double print the first page, very odd, even though it’s on a sturdy piece of furniture. All other features work good.
Date published: 2018-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skidog from It Works No issues, it's fast and I don't have to mess with it. Software interface is easy to work with. No issues.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by szanders300 from Great Printer This printer is has everything that need in in a printer.
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by 38242 from fast and perfect printing I am happy. this is my second HP and was happy with the first one, just wore it out
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cari from Buying this was a mistake Buying this was a mistake. Very very complicated to operate the system is not at all user-friendly. No tech-support after the sale. Does not print any better than a cheap printer.
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rick22 from Second One I’m very happy with this machine. I just bought a second one, after three years I wore the first one out. It has been a work horse for the family.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by rcompco from Great Product I have had this printer for about a month. I added a second print tray and was impressed with the ease of adding it I really like the flexibility of having two trays I like the appearance and quick response when using it as a network printer.
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jerri girl from Very Impressive Printer I'd had an old outdated printer from HP and replaced it with this newer model. Wow! The ease of use, the features, and the speed greatly impressed me. The print quality is important to me and I can't imagine a better print quality from an inkjet. I would whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone. And the price? - a great value.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bellhead from Outstanding Printer I bought this printer a month ago and I am so pleased with it performance!
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by CLToffice from Prints paper facing down..annoying I bought this printer to replace my old Officejet 8630, which I loved. This new printer looks sharp, and has neat features, but there are 2 things about it that I dislike. For privacy reasons, it prints your papers face down. This is really annoying, as I would like to be able to glance over there and see what I just printed. I wish it had a way to turn this feature off. Also, the tray that you pull out to put paper in to print is not easily opened and you have to pull it out rather far to put the paper in. Other than those 2 issues, it prints well, quickly, and is pretty quiet.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Janet82 from I want to like it, but I don't When the printer arrived, it looked so nice and seemed like it would be more efficient. But unfortunately, I have a tough time printing full jobs sent to queue, it say error often, and it has to be shut down often to get it off of error state. Very disappointed with the printer
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by Momma Fluffy from New 8720 printer. I have a difficult time staying connected to wireless printing. It shuts wireless off and I must use a USB cable to print. I also am not a fan of the instant ink. I am very sporadic in my number of pages printed.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by browalt from I bought an 8720 when I could no longer could use my old 8740 which is identical except for the number of paper trays. Over 90 years old, I write small Christian booklets, print and distribute them without charge to contacts I have made during over 60 years as a minister/ missionary. I have always preferred HP printers and inkjet printing is the most economical for me especially since I have Instant ink. My past experience with the 8740 proved to be especially "trouble free" for two pages on each sheet duplex printing. It was very reliable and did an excellent job; however, I learned that I shouldn't print a large number of booklets in one printing job. Depending on the size of the booklets I reduced the number to avoid any chance of causing an obstruction. Therefore, I didn't need the second paper tray. I have an 8620 that I prefer to use for the covers which are always in color- one sheet on one side. My wife prefers it for covers since the 8740 often seemed to have a small white line or a darker overlay of ink line depending on the area being printed. I must admit I couldn't see it, but she did.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fruits and Vegetables from Pretty Awesome So far, this printer is excellent. No problems yet!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by evodia from not sure Our tech person came and installed but we have not been able to scan. to the usb or computer. it prints very small when using air printing and it has been very difficult to change setting. I bout this printer in an emergency without careful thought. I think it is not a very good unit. Also consumes toner so quickly and it get super expensive.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by lnaseman from Like my HP ENVY PHOTO 7155 I like the printer and the photos printed are great!
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Busy Gal from Love a white printer (well 3/4 white). . . My biggest complaint is that printed piece comes out upside down! Have to pick it up to see "yes, it really did print"!
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stevezhere from Light issue Good printer but the light on panel goes on and off all day and night and it’s not supposed to. I have the printer set on energy saver mode. I called HP and was told the only to resolve that is to shut the printer completely off, that does not make any sense. I should not have to set my printer off especially that I receive fax during the day .
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by SJU62 from WiFi printing I especially like being able to print from my iPhone
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by chapel 54 from I loved my last HP printer but unfortunately the printer had some concerns that were as costly to repair as replacing. I chose to replace with the updated Office Jet Pro 8720 . I love the way the printed materials no longer have a tray. It is presented in the main center console of the printer. Yeah! I am very happy with my purchase yet still concerned about the ink printing cost. Hp makes an excellent product but the ink replacement can be costly. My real estate office charges 30 cents for color copies. I need to do the numbers whet her or not printing at my home office is the way to go.....
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by bigbald from Very fast printer Had the 8710 for about two years and it failed. Hoping my new 8720 which was on sale lasts somewhat longer.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ruthie Joe from Poor quality printer for HP I work at home. I had a HP8600 printer - Great Performer. This printer often falls asleep and I must get up, walk across the room and tap the screen. Then often I must turn off, unplug and restart. Wastes a lot of my time. Also, I do not like the paper circling around and coming out above as pager do not come as they should.. Totally disappointed.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Flyer8 from Good hardwares and nice organized printer Easy install and setting for features real well. It have Dropbox app Awesome! I save lot photo from 2007. I am happy and look forward print photo soon. I think I love this printer smile.
Date published: 2018-03-14
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_M9L75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

My OfficeJet Pro 8720 will not print color. I've replaced all of the cartridges to see if that would work but it didn't, only prints black.

Asked by: Scoop2468
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support at http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2023-05-12

blurry printing with black ink

Asked by: coachblum
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend trying these troubleshooting steps: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-officejet-pro-8720-all-in-one-printer-series/7902032/document/c04955437 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can you use iron on transfer paper in the HP officejet pro 8720? Does the printer have heat elements that would prevent this?

Asked by: Jem115
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can print on iron on transfer paper made for inkjet printers.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-02-12

How do I stop a black line from appearing down the middle of my copies, scans, etc

Asked by: Elydia
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

How much clearance is needed from the back of the printer to accommodate the offset hinge swing when the cover opens for scanning/copying on the glass?

Asked by: Nancy321
Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-06-14

when printing a sheet printed on both sides what diagram on the machine and wording do i follow

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_2486497-2193233-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-09-03

Does the HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 have blue tooth capabilities?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 printer uses WiFi technology. If you want a direct connection. We recommend using WiFi Direct. Wireless Direct (WiFi Direct) allows you to directly connect to a printer from a mobile device or computer without the need for internet access or a wireless network. You would connect to the printer’s wireless direct signal just like you would connect to a wireless network. The printer would have a unique name in your wireless connections, i.e. Direct-04-Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-08-02

How do I stop the machine from slowing the print speed when it sees an "Obstruction Detected" at the outfeed tray? There is no "Obstruction" there is just paper from my print job, lees than 10 pages.

Asked by: not so happy either
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-02-09
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_M9L75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 43ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT