Engineered for Sustainability

HP OfficeJet 5255 All-in-One Printer

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Photo
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 10 ppm black, up to 7 ppm color
  • Simple Wi-Fi® setup, automatic two-sided printing, 35-page ADF.
  • Instant Ink ready; High yield ink available
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP OfficeJet 5255 All-in-One Printer is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1265.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_198, tr_1067
  • loc_en_US, sid_m2u75a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gary1956 from Definitely High Tech printer I bought this printer last June. I really like the way it communicates with HP. I get ink when I need it automatically and I can scan directly to my email. The only glitch has been a surge in electricity caused me to have to re-boot everything like I had just bought the product but it did not take long to download and update.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by David K55 from Instant Ink Issues I would have given a higher rating but I have an issue with HP regarding Instant Ink. When I first bought my printer I was advised to subscribe to Instant Ink, which I did. When I relaized I didn't need a constant supply of ink I opted out of the subscription, however I still had ink from the program which I paid for. I was surprised to find out that I couldn't use the ink because I wasn't enrolled anymore, even though I bought the ink. I don't think this is fair.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by CindyL from Highly recommend Nice All-In_One printer! Very easy to use and software is user friendly. I'm so glad I purchased this...wish I had done it sooner
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Patricia72 from I am amazed with the ability of the printer. Love the printer, it almost seems like it thinks, it seems to know what I want before I do.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by Corkj from missing Just tried to use scanner. Software for scan and fax not included.
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kiki4102 from Easy set-up. I bought this printer from HP about a month ago. Was very easy to set up. Great convenience while working from home.
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rvargas from Love it! I really enjoyed using this product and hope it last as long as my last HP printer
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by tcrhs from Very disappointed - PLEASE CONTACT ME, HP Have had the printer less than a month and have had to run the troubleshooter multiple times to get it to print. It does not scan from printer to computer. Have to go on computer to make it scan. Had to re-download the app onto our computer twice. WOULD LIKE TO BE CONTACTED BY SOMEONE AT HP TO DISCUSS EXCHANGING FOR A DIFFERENT PRINTER OR REFUNDING MY MONEY.
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by LITTLEBUD from I like the look. Not bulky or take up a lot space. I've hadn't had it very long, I'm still learning how to use it.
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Malgorzata from Easy to set up. I bought this printer month ago.Awesome wireless connection.
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ziel B from Excellent product I bought a month ago and I am still learning it , I am trying to figure out how to scan multiple pages but other than that I love the product .
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peanut259 from HP office jet5255 all in one printer I bought this a month ago and love it .it does everything I need .was easy to get up and running and connecting to WiFi and my computer was a breeze
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good buy from Easy-to-use more compact than the one I had. Ink is crisper and print is faster
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Darleen from I am real excited about my recent purchase. I was glad to find the product that I could use the same ink cartridges. I had just purchased several cartridges just before my previous copier crashed. Thank you HP for making that possible.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by fjc602 from Need Help Happy at First. Now, printer not working and mouse not working.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Freddie Bear from Great features along with a great selling price. Lighting fast for whatever your printing and also great detail on photos.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Venus67 from Has awesome features This HP printer is awesome! There are features that I haven’t even gotten around to using! However, so far so good!
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joyle from Good purchase Does everything I need well and is a smaller footprint than I feared so it works on my shelf.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Velly from Awesome! I brought this printer about 3 weeks ago. The delivery was very very fast! The item was as described and the set up was very easy. I haven't had any issues with it thus far. I also haven't had the need to try the fax yet. Printer is light and have a lot of awesome features. So far I love it. Great product, would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by CLCC from EASY TO SET UP AND USE I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS PRINTER ABOUT A MONTH AND SO FAR ITS WORKED GREAT! I REALY LIKE THE DOUBLE SIDE PRINTING AS WITH MY OLD ONE I HAD TO MANUALLY TURN PAGE OVER. TIME WILL TELL....
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jerry M from Simple to install, very efficient. Fast install, easy to use and fast, efficient printing. Great value for the price.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Franz65 from Great features I bought it about a month ago and I am very happy is very efficient and save me time.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Annonymous from HP Officejet 5255 I bought this printer almost a month now and I am very pleased with it.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by SherC from Great features It took a bit of effort to get my WiFi devices to connect to printer but I got that accomplished. All is working great!
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by AndyB007 from I have been very impressed! After much consideration and shopping around, I decided to purchase this printer/scanner and I am very glad I did. It does everything I need it to with quality and is very easy to use.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Silver49 from I love it. Previously, I had bought an HP printer, and it lasted for many years. However, and mistakenly, I replaced it with another brand, and that was a big mistake. However, when that one finally quit, there was no doubt that another HP would take its place. It is like the difference between night and day. It prints great, the paper and ink cartridges are easy to load, and it had a great price.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by DominicS from Great features Bought this several weeks ago ...easy to setup and connect to computer
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by sashue from Perfect for Home Use I ordered this printer online and it came fairly quickly. The price was more than I wanted to pay but it is so much nicer than my previous HP printer that cost one third of what this one cost. It is very quiet and I really like the automatic document feeder.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by D2 in Miami from Difficult Very difficult to set up. It took my wife and I a couple hours to get ink to work. Once we got it to work, we liked printer. We are afraid to change ink once it runs out. When we tried different ink cartridges, the printer kept reading to use original ink. It was scary printer recognized we tried replacement cartridge, and it did not work.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by Latoya from Great Buy This printer does exactly what we brought it for & we love it
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pet Portrait from Beautiful prin Bought this because support ended for mobile printer office jet 250. This has all the same features except for the battery and truly portable size. I wanted only two cartridges, multipurpose use and ease of operation.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by RxVcu19 from Great printer Perfect size. The app is easy to use. All the features are there-scan to email, copy, fax
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by global office from Good value, great price This copier has all the features I was looking for in a printer. HP is a reliable brand and I will always choose an HP printer.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ms LaLaLa from Not applicable Unable to rate , haven’t used yet. Still waiting on computer
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by ronniepoo from Works out of the box Bought about a month ago. The app found my Linux system, Windows system and iPad systems without a glitch. Scanner works for Linux as well - big improvement over Kodak.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by SusanWD from OK Printer, not as good as Past HP Products I bought this several weeks ago needing a supplemental printer for work at home. Set-up was more difficult (much less intuitive) than other HP printers I've purchased in the past. The mechanism that holds ink cartridges is somewhat flimsy and it took several tries to get the cartridges installed. The "starter" ink cartridges that came with the printer didn't seem to fit, so I had to use the larger replacement cartridges I'd purchased. As part of the set-up, I tried multiple times to do the required printer alignment, but was never able to complete this successfully. In spite of the lack of alignment, the printer seems to work OK so far.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Red3 from Happy with my purchase. Setting up this printer was challenging; wasted many hours before It finally connected. Once done, great printer. HP is my favorite product.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHB162 from Great New Printer This printer is everything I needed for my home office.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suzeeq1 from 5255 printer I received this on Monday 6/29. I have not been using it fully yet since I am having problems trying to find auto feed which I really need. So I may have to return.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by Billphyll from Nicely designed but lacking . Lacking an instruction manual and basic cable for hard wired option. The paper tray is also undersized for any substantial print need.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheay from Excellent deal I’m happy I jumped on this deal! This thing is fast and great quality I’m still working on the app features but so far so good!
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dabendytech from Very helpful I am really happy with my new hp smart and do all my works quickly
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terry T from Great little printer and scanner! Such a great choice I made thanks to your representative. It's great in having only two different cartridges rather than one for each color.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nachy5 from So far so good Just wished it came with a "how-to" manual. I'm not really tech savy,
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by S_A_W from Great printer, but TERRIBLE TECH SUPPORT My printer wouldn't work when I received it. Despite a 1-year warranty, HP refused to allow me to talk to Tech Support without a $49.99 credit card charge. I hung up and fixed it myself, by installing HP updates THAT WERE NOT INSTALLED BEFORE SHIPPING! After using HP products exclusively for 20+ years, this will be MY LAST hp PURCHASE! PURCHASE!!!
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by Thomas Print Shop from It's horrible? i owned three products already a C4780, 2655, and this 5255, the security and network connection and product updates are quite not user friendly and this creates technical challenge such sometimes i feel like i have bought the wrong product or the product that i want is not in stock.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pete61 from Fast and easy printing Prints fast, and there is a lot of support by professional technicians.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Louie 1938 from Perfect Replacement I bought this HP and am able to use it effectively. Clear copies and easy to use.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by She123 from I’m very happy with this printer also very easy to set
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Larroc47 from I am very happy with this printer, it works great. Let’s see how it works after a year that’s when you should be asking for a review, not two or three weeks after you buy one.
Date published: 2020-06-30
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_198, tr_1067
  • loc_en_US, sid_m2u75a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is this printer compatible with Windows 11? Every since my computer upgraded to Windows 11, I've had issues with my printer.

Asked by: Tracy C.
Yes, please visit this link for the current updated drivers for your printer on Windows 11. https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/selfservice/hp-officejet-5200-all-in-one-printer-series/14095737/model/14095787
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-10

How do you load legal size paper into the HP 5255? Where?

Asked by: marcmuller
Hello, Marc. Thanks for your question. Here is a video: https://youtu.be/AII-NP08DqQ
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-31

How to clean printer head

Asked by: HankB1
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-officejet-3830-all-in-one-printer-series/7172321/document/c04648194 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-17

I I would like to know how to align my printer my pages are coming off with the top poor part part cut off. How do I run a paper alignment

Asked by: Benjamin21$
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-29

Doesthe printer have a USB port?

Asked by: TaRiley
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, this HP OfficeJet 5255 All-in-One Printer has a USB port.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-02-19

Blue light flashing cannot print from my cellphone 

Asked by: Ellie1948
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support at http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2024-01-25

How to clear a paper jam

Asked by: MLoring
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-07-28

Can the scanner be used for scanning photo film negatives

Asked by: Poomace
Hello. Thanks for your question. You cannot scan film negatives with this HP OfficeJet 5255 All-in-One Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-01-29
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_m2u75a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 70ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT