Color

black
Black
  • Reliable, Original HP cartridge
  • Standard size, when you need just one
  • ~2,100 pages

HP 78A Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge, CE278A is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 102.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_CE278A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 50ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by KarensKastles from Excellent Thank you for the excellent and quick service. My 78A toner arrived very quickly. Finding the right place online to order was difficult.
Date published: 2022-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Malamute from Repeat Customer I always order direct from HP as I know this way I get genuine items, good service, fair price and prompt delivery.
Date published: 2022-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ragman1234 from HP 78A Cartridge The cartridge lasts a long time and was easy to install
Date published: 2022-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jnell from Great product! Our office only orders ink from HP and they have yet to disappoint.
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by sakm63 from Right product, Right time My LaserJet Toner Cartridge arrived promptly and is working perfectly. My printer alerted me that I would need to give it a new cartridge just in time to order it directly from HP. What more could I ask!
Date published: 2021-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sixers from Only use original ink toners I bought this a month ago anD woulD only use original hp toners
Date published: 2021-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soaky from Great features! I purchased this HP Laser Jet Toner Cartridge a month ago, and I am glad that I did.
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tom in the cold from Just what I needed. Bought in a pinch and did what I needed. Easy to install and convenient used return.
Date published: 2021-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fayham from Genuine HP so much better than the imitation So the last time we needed a laser cartridge (2017) my husband thought the hp version was too expensive so he purchased 2 knockoffs (my fault, I hate running out of stuff, I like to have one on the shelf so I'm not caught in a bind). The printer knew immediately it wasn't genuine. The first one printed fine, but didn't last as long. The printer complained for more than like a year before it actually needed to be replaced. I think we got half the prints that we normally would. Put the 2nd one in. Again the printer let us know it wasn't the real deal. The prints were fine for 6 maybe 9 months, but the printer started complaining about low toner at like 4 months. We kept printing on it for like a year longer. Eventually the prints just kept getting darker, like the entire sheet was clouded over. The print was still legible, but no good for anything like a resume. I wasn't sure if it was the printer (it's more than 10 years old) or the cartridge, so I only bought 1 cartridge. Installed it and I knew it was the crappy knock off. I'm going to order another back up cartridge from HP. No more poor "bargain" cartridges for us.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great feature and quality product I bought several toners over the years each one were of highest quality.
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Had no choice I'm ok with the product. The price is outrageously expensive and totally non competitive; what choice did I have? I did appreciate the ease of replacing the cartridge in the printer and liked how the company fosters recycling the used ones.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Laser Jet Black Printer Cartridge The laser jet printer cartridge lasts a long time and always prints out documents very clear. I am satisfies with the quality of this product.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by fbcosta from Great quality. Took too long to ship. Works as expected, perfect quality prints and lasts a very long time for my use. But the HP store took almost 2 weeks to get it to my home, which is below my expectations.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lawa bbn from Easy to buy I got this fast in FedEx's would recomed it for the
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Writer19 from HP 78A toner cartridge I have used many of these cartridges in my HP LaserJet 1536dnf printer. Always provide excellent results.
Date published: 2020-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by iaflores from Quality product. Expensive. I find the quality of refurbish toner cartridges are inconsistent and cause lines and ghost writing in my printing.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trumpet 1 from HP Toner Cartridge A great toner cartridge, works like a charm . The only concern is cost , which is expensive. Glad that the cartridges are recycled . A fan, but again the price is expensive.
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by BJFW from Quick delivery Shipment of laser cartridge for my printer arrived within a few days. Excellent product and printers.
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cmr6452 from Great service Quick shipping on toner and ink. Great products. Thx!!!
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marsha Sue from Great service Thanks for your prompt attention to my order! It's always easy to order and delivery is fast. Thanks much!
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grandmalynn from High quality as usual These HP toners never disappoint and always work perfectly.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by ARMTZ from I’ve always trusted HP printer supplies, have never been disappointed with them, and will never buy any other brand.
Date published: 2020-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bernaud from Easy Ordering Easy to order. Free shipping. Easy to install. Cheapest price found.
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Abnwife from Just what I needed Service is awesome. I know what I am getting and the product is fresh. Saves me time running 35 miles away to get. THANKS!
Date published: 2020-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by SummerLouise from Dependability Products I can trust do provide quality printing. I don't have to worry with ink flaking off on printed copies.
Date published: 2020-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joey11 from What's not to like? Lightning fast, on the money, reasonable price. What's not to like ?
Date published: 2020-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Laumarocco from Easy and fast I’ve had my HP printer for many years and it keeps just on printing. I like the ink cartridge because it lasts a long time and is very easy to change out. I put the old one in the box the new one came in and it’s ready to drop off at the Staples close by, i appreciate your recycling program.
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by I dont know of anyone from MFP M148dw is a great multifunction printer Bought this to replace my 9 year-old MFP M1536mfp. Did not need the fax feature, but needed full function scanning, copying and printing. Love this--it is fully wireless. Very easy to set up
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by My person from Replacing Laser Jet Toner I purchased a replacement toner for my HP copier and it was sent promptly and was easy to install.
Date published: 2019-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by PatPat7 from Great Ink This is to be a refill when needed. The HP Pro P1606dn is a champ printer as is its cartridge. The ink supply seems to go on and on and on.... Especially great at holiday season when lots of holiday letters go out to friends and relatives. Excellent ink supply!
Date published: 2019-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gw999 from Arrived fast no problems yet Only just installed it so hope there is no issues. Arrived from HP the next day!
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Domram from Good Quality! I have been purchasing HP for 10 years now. Would not change manufacture I will only use HP. Love HP Products.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by AmericanGirl from the real deal The HP 78A black original laser Jet Toner cartridge , being an HP product specifically for the HP laser printer, is a win-win. It installs w/o any set-up/ activation issues; and is a reliable, top quality, 'plug n play' product. I appreciate that HP recycles the old cartridges, even supplying the box and label for UPS return of old cartridge. The consistently excellent quality and service of HP is why I remain a very loyal customer and highly recommend HP products.
Date published: 2019-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by sohe from HP 78A Black Original LaserJet Toner Simple to install new cartridge; excellent print quality; and appreciate the return label to reuse old cartridge.
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jon5570 from Totally Reliable Print Quality We only buy genuine ink & toner because we avoid issues and save money in the long run.
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carolyn Z from Dependable Toner Cartridge The HP 78A Black LaserJet toner works well for us. We use the printer almost daily and enjoy the good performance of them working together. I love HP printers and toner cartridges. I feel I am well taken care of.
Date published: 2019-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by wbwright79 from Horrible. My HP1606dn doesn't even use it 1. Bought an aftermarket toner, which failed HP protection. Failed 2. Bought a toner from a 2nd vendor. Also failed HP toner protection. Fail 3. Bought from a 3rd aftermarket vendor. HP toner protection wouldn't use that one either. 4. Caved in. Paid 87.00 for a genuine HP toner cartridge from HP. Printer won't even use the toner cartridge. Now in the process of removing printer, drivers, printer devices and software from all computers in the household. Just to try to re-install all over again, and get my formerly dependable, now useless HP1606dn to function again. HP has been a nightmare. They used to be an industry leader. Sad.
Date published: 2019-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by BHFstore from Works just as intended I purchased this for our Lexmark Universal Printer and it lasts quite a while. I appreciate not having to buy ink every few weeks. The black level is perfect and bold.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by myhelene from Best Price I haven't used it yet, but I'm sure I'll be happy with it.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by tom1959h from Great Toner Cartridge I like that these last me a long time and when I do run out of toner I can get a replacement the next day.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by HPanonymois from Simply works I have stuck with HP toner for my laser jet printers rather than generic cartridges. Although more expensive, the extra dollars gives me peace of mind. I have low print volumes and order a replacement as soon as I put in my standby cartridge. In other words I always have a replacement cartridge by my printer so there is no time I’m without toner. Ordering was easy from the HP site and delivery wast fast.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by billyhairg from Super Fast and Easy It came in the mail really quickly, was easy to install and it did the job it was suppose to do really fast. It only printed about 1,400 pages, instead of what it said it could, but it’s a great cartridge that I will be getting again. Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eve74 from Great Cartridge! The printer where I use this cartridge is a workhorse and never fails me. The cartridge is easy to install and never messy! I always purchase one when I put one in, so I always have one on hand.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by NKMPro from Very consistent quality I buy this for my HPLJ Pro P1606dn printer. While we can by cheaper non HP brands, the original OEM HP CE278A lasts at least 2 years for me and provides very consistent quality. Therefore I always buy the HP brand cartridge for both my Laser Jet and Office Jet printers.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bob444 from Toner Cartridge This is a toner cartridge. It prints things. I paid for it. It works.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by AJ 47 from Example: Great features! I bought the toner cartridges (2) over a month ago and they are working very well, installation was ease. The order process is very poor and confusing. Would recommend that the web site for HP is adjusted to make user friendly. It took me longer to order the cartridges then installing the cartridges.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by Conl from Not as good as previous toner While this toner cartridge delivers the stated number of copies, and even sometimes more, I have found that the ink does not stay on certain kinds of papers. It will not stay on standard paper envelopes or on certain types of labels. I've had several HP laserjet printers and never had this issue with the toner until I purchased a printer that uses this toner. If I want to print addresses on envelopes, I have to use a different printer or hand write them. Not good. On several envelopes that I printed using this toner, the ink "fell" or was "wiped" off before I could even put them in the mail. I complained to HP but never heard back. Hopefully they will rectify this problem in the future.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gary825 from Good toner and direct ship is very convenient. Always buy the HP toner. Price and delivery to my door is great.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by chasmost from the cartridges have been working very well I am satisfied with my product because the toner last for awhile and they fit perfectly in the printer
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by POE13 from Won't order on line again Package was not wrapped to conceal the product; delivery man left on front porch for a potential thief to see and steal. Put the cartridge in my printer and it wouldn't give a good print copy; it acted like cartridge was empty. I will purchase from Staples from now on. No more online ordering.
Date published: 2017-06-19
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_CE278A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 24ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will it work with 1600 too? 

Asked by: Andi1045
No, the HP Color LaserJet Pro 1600 printer uses the HP 124 toner cartridges.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-10
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_CE278A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT