Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro M404dn

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print only
  • Print speed letter: Up to 40 ppm (black)
  • Auto duplex printing; 2 paper trays (standard)
  • Best-in-class security-detect and stop attacks
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP LaserJet Pro M404dn is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 125.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A53A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 34ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by CPFCU from Good printer Efficient little printer. Just wish that the paper tray was a standard 500 sheets.
Date published: 2022-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Not happy Product isn't good at all. I have to print "heavy" to get it print viewable good text and that makes printer slower. The xtra sheet tray add-on....not even sure it works. Not happy at all.
Date published: 2022-09-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by FritzFL from Good quality printer but only prints two sided Even with duplex printing disabled, this printer only prints two sided. If you need a printer that prints one sided, this isn’t for you.
Date published: 2022-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by L Patrick from Nice and Fast workgroup printer Excellent speed for Monochrome printing from multiple workstations via land & wan; easy to configure. Had to downgrade the printing DPI to conserve toner but good work printer.
Date published: 2022-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by cestlav from Great printer for wifi and USB connections So far I love everything about this printer except that I have to manually change the setting from wifi to corded printing. I am able to print from my phone, my wifi laptop and my corded laptop. Prints fast at great quality. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2022-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by tlatimer36 from HP Laserjet Pro M404dn Usual great HP hardware quality; install software not so good
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chuck S from Quality printing once it gets configured. The print quality is excellent and the speed is impressive. I was disappointed a printer in this price range did not include WIFI and the installation and configuration was not without challenges.
Date published: 2022-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by PhilipA from Great for Small Business Excellent printer for small business use. Only issue is occasionally auto sleep sometimes sticks in sleep mode which requires power off/on
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Michael 80014 from Yep! I love this printer. Out of the box, software downloaded, hardware setup and running in less than 10 minutes. A solid printer with typical high HP Quality. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2022-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diane C L from Excellent printer. Works great. Just the right size - small but powerful. Easy to set up. Clear printing.
Date published: 2022-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by R G from A great printer with excellent features. Wired... A great printer with excellent features. Wired printing provides reliable connectivity to multiple PCs on a home network, whilst mobile devices can use it conveniently as well. The HP software on iOS even allows you to scan and print items, which is a great feature given I deliberately selected a model that didn't come with an ADF.
Date published: 2021-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small Nail from Connection problems Very hard to connect to Apple Monterey-thirty minutes with a cs rep. It’s quick but I’d pass on this printer. The hardwire from the router to the printer is a big pain too
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by Industrial Standards from HP Printers No build-in Wi-Fi component is the worst thing of any printer! It should be a standard feature from now on!
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by MikeSinai from Easiest set up I’ve ever experienced. Took me minutes to set up my PC Mac and iPhone. Incredible experience.
Date published: 2021-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Busy Real Estate Property Management Office Easy set-up and great replacement for our older HP "work horse"
Date published: 2021-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by snulton from I'd buy again Great replacement for my 20 yo HP workhorse That couldn't communicate with my new computer
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Print at home from Solid, dependable, and fast. I bought this printer as well as the previous model which went to college with my son. The drums last a long time and the speed is great. One thing is that there is no wireless or Bluetooth connection and the printer didn’t come equipped with a print-USB cable. I had to purchase one for both printers. It’s seems it should really be standard since that’s the only way you can print from your computer.
Date published: 2021-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by syoung from HP Printer Overall the product is great . It prints fast but when printing different size papers it has a hang up. The printer will stop printing when it does not recognize the paper type.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by PSV1 from excellent value Prints great is reasonable quiet compact design and does the job
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by King Batch from Works Great Fast delivery, works great, takes up a small space.
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by CowboysFan2021 from Not as advertised or described The printer works fine, however, it is not as described or advertised. I was looking for a printer with 2 paper trays, and it says that it has 2 paper trays, but that is misleading. The 1 tray is a feeder tray, not a paper tray.
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by silvac from Exceptional Quality The speed, quality and reliability of my new printer is exceptional. Thanks HP
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Avros from Everyday printer fast and quiet, easy to install. 2 sided works very well.
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Procure from Customer must love it. The end user has now ordered there 4th on in the last 2 months so it must be working for them.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by office joe from fast printer we bought the printer approx 2 months ago and its a great printer! its quick double sided and networkable. no fancy features but exactly what we wanted.
Date published: 2021-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by Princeton Man from Not HPs most shining moment, but 404s are good The M404dn is a great printer and I've put them in several of my customer's offices. I also use them in my own office. I was very disappointed that the network interface on this one was dead on arrival, however due to the customer's limited needs and in an effort to save time, trouble, and hassle for the customer, I used the USB port with a long active USB cable.
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by kendramc from reliable, easy to use a reliable printer, does the job well with little fuss. easy to set up, too
Date published: 2021-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Neededprinter from Great printer, bad support This is a reliable little simple printer. If you need one like it, hardwire internet only, no WiFi connectivity, I would recommend this. We've had these at our company for a years and I like them. The only reason for the missing star is HPs support is not great. So a great printer, but not the best company.
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by Linsubu from Horrible! Flimsy, cheaply built printer. I bought this a couple weeks ago and I’m returning it. A foreign-born associate failed to ask me what my needs were and told me this would replace my previous HP 3019 printer. It replaced it in price, but not in quality. For $309, it is a ripoff. Jams constantly, pulls from the wrong trays if one runs out of paper, so I have to sit in front of it and try to add paper without it jamming. I hope to buy a decent HP printer or I will change back to a Brother.
Date published: 2021-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Catfan from Nice little office printer I purchased this to replace my HP 2420 which I have had for years, I really like the M404, it is quiet and prints fast with the exception of tray 1, which is slower. I would have given 5 stars if the capacity for printed items was not limited. When printing envelopes I can only print 20-25 before I have to remove them and allow the machine to continue to print.
Date published: 2020-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1119A from Great printer Works just like the HP ads say. Very pleased that I purchased it. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good printer. This printer has been just as expected and we are pleased. Thanks.
Date published: 2020-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by StarFireWinds from Wonderful Machine This machine continues my experience of HP printers working really well and being durable for years of performance.
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lee7065 from Really fast printer! Wow! Fast printer. We upgraded a decades old Hp printer So definitely looking forward to making quick work of our daily print needs. Downside was that it was shipped with a near empty toner cartridge. That's why only 4 stars. :(
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP printer Awesome printer. HP support stinks though. They need to make customer support more of a priority
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from My replacement printer i was given a good price and quick delivery after my other printer broke prematurely
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Excellent replacement printer This was a replacement for an HP 2055 that gave long and good service but finally gave up the ghost. The M404 does everything the old printer did but even more smoothly. I have a minor quibble with the documentation, which does not make it clear how the paper feed works (tray 3, if present, by default unless paper has been placed in tray 1) or explain what "normal" and "fine" resolution mean in terms of dpi. Otherwise a very fine and solid printer that does everything I got it for.
Date published: 2020-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Excellent home printer. Works extremely well, excellent printing and speed.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Printing delayed Keeps downloading something and won’t print without pushing the x
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from So So printer I was told by the sales rep that the 404dn could auto select emulations. I should have known better, it cant. Back in 1990, the BGL printer/plotter which came standard with Postscript, PCL, HPGL, Calcomp, Tektronix, and others could auto select between all of them. This is as far as HP has come?
Date published: 2020-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ln01 from I absolutely love it. I bought this so I could print out docs that I would have printed at my office, but I’m home. Inexpensive, easy to set up and use. System automatically downloaded the software. Just what I needed. Yay
Date published: 2020-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Very Impressive As a college student, I needed something that was easy and not time-consuming to set up. This printer is perfect. If you need a printer that functions with a wire, THIS PRINTER IS FOR YOU. Unfortunately, my university's WIFI does not allow wireless printers to connect. I'm sure that if you wanted it to function as wireless it would, but if you're like me, looking for a printer that works with a Mac and with a wire, this is perfect. Be warned, however, it does not come with a wire and you will have to purchase your own. Overall I am extremely impressed with this product.
Date published: 2020-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by ezabeth52 from I got this last week and am very unhappy. I was not aware that it is monochromatic. Is there any way I can replace it with a color printer?
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tapers from Works very fast Was very easy to get programmed into both laptops, unlike years ago when this was a bit of a project for my previous 842C HP printer. I was amazed at speed of printing. Also the double side feature...was not aware until paper went running back in to do that. Whoa I thought... nice. The size is good for where I do this on table in kitchen nook. Not taking up a lot of room. I been taught by video how to change the toner cartridge. Took a look and seems easy enough for me. All in all great..wish I had done color too but for now this is great to work on my book. I need reliable, so I can print, edit, print, etc. The price was very fair I feel.
Date published: 2020-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by ShawnS from Ridiculously easy to set up Printer was out of the box, set up, and printing within minutes. Printing is lightning fast compared to what I was using before. I also love being able to print from mobile via the HP app. Thanks!!
Date published: 2020-09-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by amynotary from Misleading description supposedly had 2 trays, is not the typical 2 tray printer and as such I overpaid but too much hassle to return
Date published: 2020-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lisa nyc from Very unclear this is not an AirPrint printer Very unclear when buying this is not an AirPrint printer. Even manual focuses Completely how to set up wifi connectivity which This printer doesn’t have. Incredible printers without WiFi are still sold. If I would know I would not have bought
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by S from The printer selected and ordered had just the ... The printer selected and ordered had just the right combinaton of features that I wanted. As a domestic user it is probably over featured but I really wnated the duplex printing. Pleased with results so far.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Andrew from Good printer , needed a bit of figuring out bu... Good printer , needed a bit of figuring out but all is well.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by SteveB1956 from Quick, clear printing Replaced my HP laser jet M401. The M404 loads quicker & prints faster. Quality is what I’ve come to expect from a HP printer. It’s not a multi function machine but that wasn’t what I needed.
Date published: 2020-07-09
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A53A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will the HP LaserJet Pro M404 print on card stock?

Asked by: Mammy9
Thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet Pro m404dn is designed for paperweights up to 46.6 lbs. Typically card stock is 80lb or more.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

How do I darken the prints?

Asked by: Otto K Otteson
From the Home screen on the printer control panel, go to the Adjust Toner Density menu, and then adjust the toner density to a higher level. For more support please see the User Guide at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-laserjet-pro-m404-m405-series/19203833/manuals
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-28

A Google search says that a HP87X toner cartridge will work with this printer. Is this correct? We may be replacing our HP M506 printer shortly, but have 87X cartridges with a lot of ink left in them

Asked by: Bagby
Hello and thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet Pro M404dn uses the 58X toner and not the 87X toner.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this model wireless capable?

Asked by: Tinytornado
No, this HP LaserJet Pro M404dn is not wireless capable. This model does not have a built-in WiFi card. The HP LaserJet Pro M404dw features built-in Wifi and is available at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-laserjet-pro-m404dw
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

can you print legal size paper

Asked by: Reneekitty
Thank you for your question! This HP LaserJet Pro M404dn will be able to print on legal size(8.5" by 14") paper.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Do this print photos 

Asked by: Himm
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro M404dn printer is a black-and-white laser printer. The laser printer has larger dots which are better for documents. If you do photos, you will notice that they look grainy due to the larger dots. The inkjet printers have smaller dots which create better photos and documents.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

How do I clean the rollers.

Asked by: Jo-Ann
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend looking at the "Cleaning the Pickup Rollers and Separation Pad in the Document Feeder - HP Enterprise and LaserJet Pro Multifunction Printers" video in the Cleaning & Maintenance section on this webpage: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/troubleshooting/hp-laserjet-pro-m404-m405-series/model/19202536 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-09-03

How do I print on card (150gsm) on a M 404dn? The manual seems not to mention anything of the kind!

Asked by: Jacaranda
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro M404dn printer supports the following media weights: Tray 1: 60 to 200 g/m²; Tray 2, Optional 550-sheet Tray 3: 60 to 120 g/m² Here is a video on how to load tray 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKUTeggOaDM If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-31
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A53A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 38ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT