ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro 4001dn Printer

  • Print, auto 2-sided printing and ethernet & USB connectivity
  • Blazing fast speeds for professional quality black & white prints
  • HP Wolf Pro security settings
  • Dynamic security enabled printer

HP LaserJet Pro 4001dn Printer is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 30.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_27, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z600F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 10ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by MindyB78 from Perfect for my needs! I am a Social Worker who works primarily at home. I've found myself needing to print a lot of documents and realized that I needed something more heavy-duty than my ink jet printer, so I decided to give this one a try. I am pleased to say that it has exceeded my expectations! After a super simple setup, I am easily able to quickly print out documents and run out the door without having to worry about running out of ink every two seconds. It's always ready without having to warm up unlike my previous printer that seemed to take ages to get prepared to print the first document. I highly recommend this to anyone needing something to step up their home office game!
Date published: 2024-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Caballeroclassic from Great Offiice Jet Printer I recieved my printer over a month ago and set it up immediately. It was nicely packaged ensuring it was in perfect condition when it arrived. The instructions for setup were simple and easy to follow. I had the printer setup in less than five minutes. The printer works fantastically with my computer. The only thing I didn't like about it was you can't print wirelessly. I didn't notice it wasn't wireless or blue tooth compatible when I purchased it. I didn't look for it either so it was my fault for sure so the printer still gets five stars.
Date published: 2024-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP durability Easy set up; fast start and crisp copies. Bought it for the reliability of HP products, and was not disappointed
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by John9210 from Noisy printer This printer makes noise when printing. I purchased two of them. The first one I immediately returned to HP thinking it was defective because of the noise. The second one (which I have now) makes the same noise. I've owned two HP Laser jet Pro printers (Model # 401dne) for the the last few years and they both were whisper quiet. I thought the 4001dn printer would be essentially a simple upgrade to the 401dn but it's not. The 4001 specs looked great and that's why I bought it! I'm very disappointed with this printer and cannot recommend it to anyone looking for a relative inexpensive laser printer.
Date published: 2024-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by M G F from Paper trays The printer would not automatically select whether to use letter or legal paper.
Date published: 2024-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. EDA from Good upgrade QUIET, FAST AND EFFICIENT
Date published: 2023-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by galilao from Good printer, but not Ubuntu compatible If HP issues a driver to make this printer compatible with Ubuntu, I will give this printer a 5 star review.
Date published: 2023-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ezeana from My dream HP printer. Printer is fast and is not expensive. I love it.
Date published: 2023-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Straightforward Laserjet We replaced a HP Laserjet 401dne when it reported paper jam that could note be fixed with the 4001dn. The new Laserjet is faster, also has double sided printing, and is straightforward in its operation. Installation was simple with connecting the power cord and the Cat 5 computer cable. The printers was rapidly recognized and the installation software quickly downloaded. Next is to see if it will also last 10 years as the HP 401dne printer did.
Date published: 2023-10-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jezaroo from Beware of costly toner Nice printer but don't buy it. Replacement toner costs more than the printer
Date published: 2023-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by MBean from Wow! What a printer! We looked at several printers and the main thing we needed was a bypass tray to print checks on demand. The printer we have been using (an HP P1505n) is 14+ years old and is on its way out. While the product pics don't show it, there is a pull down bypass tray on this printer. We unboxed it, connected power and a network cable, and ran the install. Voila! Could not have been easier. Technology has come a long way since we bought the last printer and this HP 4100dn is smooth, fast, and quiet. And the auto-duplex function is really nice.
Date published: 2023-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by Marcia A. from Problem Printer The printer keeps going to sleep and does not wake up when print jobs are sent to it or when buttons are pushed. I am considering returning it, because turning it off and on every time I want to print is not working for me! I'm going to look for solutions online first, but was so frustrated at the time the email came requestions the review that I took time to complete it.
Date published: 2023-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dan Bush from HP must be spying on me. I think it's a decent printer, but built really cheap. The extension on the tray to accept legal sized paper is SOOOO thin and cheap. Also, the HP Smart Printer keeps coming back to my list of installed printers, even after I delete it. The HP Smart Printer that keeps coming back makes itself the default printer, but won't print. I have to manually select the HP 4001 printer every time I print. And YES I've disabled the option that allows windows to manage my default printer.
Date published: 2022-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by hp8035x from - Overall it is a useful printer. However, more than once it is very slow in responding even if the print job concerns only a few single-side pages.
Date published: 2022-12-23
  • y_2024, m_5, d_27, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_16, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z600F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Can the paper be lifted face up? In other words, I have checks and the paper only goes facing down.

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions for tray 1: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_5455644-2837500-16 and tray 2: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_5455644-2837506-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-01-19

What is the part number for this printer? So that we can order it.

Asked by: Javierasdklfjasl;kdjfasl;
Thank you for your question! This laptop has a product number of 2Z600F.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-03-14

does this printer have an output of 1000 prints per hour? What is the capacity of prints per toner cartridge?

Asked by: yussef
This HP LaserJet 4001dn Printer has a monthly max recommended volume of up to 4,000 pages. This printer is not recommended for 1000 prints an hour.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-07-28

what HP ink cartridges can be used and the capacity of each

Asked by: hop-a-long
This HP LaserJet Pro 4001dn Printer uses the HP 148 series toner. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-29

My need to replace my HP M404DN and I have a brand new 58X ink cartridge I would like to use. What printer(s) would still be compatible with this ink cartridge?

Asked by: Anonymous
The 58X cartridge will not be compatible with current model HP printers.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-01-17

I would like to know in what direction do you need to insert the paper for it to print? I am printing checks and want to make it prints in the correct sequence. Th lowest number is on the top, with the largest number on the bottom.

Asked by: Mag0522
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here is a video for tray 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx9TpIbcNc0 and tray 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1rU4eJOVwYM Paper orientation instructions for tray 1: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/ish_5455644-2837500-16 and tray 2: https://support.hp.com/my-en/document/ish_5455644-2837506-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

What MICR toner is compatible with the Laserjet Pro 4001dn?

Asked by: MICR Toner
This HP LaserJet Pro 4001dn Printer is not MICR compatible. For MICR printers and toners please visit the Troy Group. The Troy Group has partnered with HP to manufacture HP MICR products. Those printers can be found at this link: https://www.troygroup.com/shop/printers/micr-printers.html
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

is this printer wifi compatible, i keep recieving an error that the "printer will stop soon, connect to wifi" but there is no setup option for a wifi connection

Asked by: Jackie HP4001dn
No, this HP LaserJet Pro 4001dn Printer is not WiFi-compatible. The HP 4001dw is WiFi-compatible, however.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-17
  • y_2024, m_5, d_28, h_3CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z600F, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 51ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT