Engineered for Sustainability

HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard

  • Connect up to 3 devices
  • Incredible typing experience
  • Controllable smart backlight
  • 20 + programmable shortcut keys
See Product Details
HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 70.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_3Z729AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 57ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cescalante from HP 970 Backlite wireless keyboard I had ordered the 34 inch all-in-one desktop, it unfortunately came with a keyboard with no backlite keys. So, using points I accumulated with HP, I purchased this keyboard, and am very happy with its performance so far. I just wish it had been standard with my large all-in-one purchase.
Date published: 2024-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by MKL in FTL from Very nice upgrade! love the compact size, quietness of the key strokes, and the backlit keys!
Date published: 2023-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from SMOOTH, ILLUIMATED AND QUIET CLICKS I am constantly using my keyboard for work, I bought this one for home. I am not a gamer, however I love that the keys light up. I may end up getting one for my office.
Date published: 2023-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by High-Flyer 69 from Great Keyboard. Wow!! What a keyboard. This is the best i ever had, very quiet, super-fast, and the 3 connection options are awesome. Good job HP
Date published: 2023-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ana Paula from Amazing quality design and color Super modern and smooth design. It is just perfect. The color and the quality is premium. Really loved it.
Date published: 2023-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by bobbyinchocolatetown from Surprising keyboard from HP that is awesome. Good feel when typing, Keys light up when in use or when keyboard senses your hands. Quiet, connects using USB receiver. I wish the keyboard would use the same USB receiver as my HP mouse, but you must use the keyboard receiver for it to work. You could connect via bluetooth but I have not tried that yet.
Date published: 2023-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by EshAlexa from Buy it! Thin, beautiful, and a dream.
Date published: 2023-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by CGMoore from Great! Love it! Quiet and comfortable!
Date published: 2023-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marchia from keyboard great keyboard
Date published: 2023-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meitgol1 from Excellent Backlit Keyboard Perfect solution for a high quality backlit keyboard. No batteries needed as its rechargeable via included USB cable. Keyboard has all the standard keys plus number keypad and the function keys are programmable. Download the HP Accessories App and you can manage the full functionality of the keyboard. Only issue is that the keyboard is silver and key labels are tough to see if the backlight isnt on. Regardless, this is the best backlit keyboard on the market. Logitech had a good one but foolishly dicontinued it.
Date published: 2023-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Andrea O. from Low profile keys, good response Nice feel, responsive keys. I was using one with taller keys, so I’m still getting used to this one and its lower-profile keys. I did have to cut my nails shorter so that they didn’t interfere with other keys, so perhaps if you have long nails, you might find yourself striking the wrong keys? Otherwise, it’s nice.
Date published: 2023-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rmed from Get the Set Keyboard is so smooth a sleek. Love the motion sensor to turn the back lights on when I slightly touch or over over the board to type. This set with the wordless mouse is a must! Here to at least 2 years of awesomeness.
Date published: 2023-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by roadtrekker from Great wireless keyboard The HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard is a great wireless keyboard. It has everything I'm looking for in a wireless keyboard. It connects easily, the keys have a solid feel, it has a long-lasting rechargeable battery, and it's backlight.
Date published: 2023-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Light23 from Great Keyboard! I love this keyboard and they way the keyboard click sounds. It works perfectly with my PC and Mac laptop. It’s ultra lightweight and fits nicely in my backpack. My new HP wireless Keyboard is sleek and easy to use. Love it.
Date published: 2023-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pamela from Best yet!! This programmable wireless keyboard is the best I have used. The easy connection and usability are excellent and exceptional. The features are designed for usability and easy. Ergonomic are fantastic. Highly recommend
Date published: 2023-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Skorr from Love my new keyboard I recently purchased a new HP laptop and this keyboard marches PERFECTLY with it! I love how light it is and that it's rechargeable vs using throw away batteries to power it. It looks very classy and the light blue background is great for my eyes. I haven't figured out all the programmable settings yet but my son was more than happy to help with that. Definitely worth checking out if you like having a separate wireless keyboard.
Date published: 2023-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doina from Great keyboar Finally we get to see products that are wireless. I love my new keyboard, it is very comfortable to write with, it stays charged for a long time, it is light and just looks amazing. I love it so much.
Date published: 2023-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cubs219 from Very comfortable fancy keyboard This keyboard has very quiet sound when typing which is what I prefer. Very smooth key operation. The backlight has 4 levels of brigtness or can be turned off. I only work in a well lit room so I keep it off. I have not used the light. I love that is rechargeable and charges with USB C so I wont have to buy batteries anymore. My phone charger is USB C also so I can just use that to charge it if on my desk when needed. It can connect BlueTooth or with wireless dongle.
Date published: 2023-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Zikoriko from Excellent keyboard Sleek design wireless keyboard with many features that every user will need from a long-lasting battery, customizable brightness, feel smooth typing, and fast connectivity the best part, it is lightweight considering the material that the keyboard is made from, it just feels heavy-duty keyboard and will last longer. I highly recommend this keyboard.
Date published: 2023-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by djchase from Powerful Programmable Wireless Keyboard This keyboard is a game changer! You are able to program 20+ keystrokes with shortcuts for your most used apps. It has multiple connectivity options which enables you to connect up to 3 devices- two via Bluetooth and one via 2.4 GHz USB dongle, and switch between devices using one button. The keyboard is a bit pricey, but considering the features, it's a great advanced keyboard.
Date published: 2023-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by LeeRocks99 from Great Product I am just in love with this wireless Keyboard. Very nice design to it and quite.. Love that back lite that you can adjust to help see the keys when light in the room is limited. Finally a keyboard that you can recharge and not have to have batteries on hand. HP has a winner here.
Date published: 2023-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by herbalflea from HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard Today I received my HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard. And I love it. Very convenient. Reaches across the room. Sleek and trendy design. Durable and easy to clean. I highly recommend this product. 5 stars.
Date published: 2023-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seaford Max from Small efficient thin low profile wireless keyboard. Low profile key board, makes for fast efficient texting. Plus optional backlighting keys make for fast glancing when typing.
Date published: 2023-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by TltJ from Love the silver on silver keyboard Love this silver on silver keyboard. I am sensitive to plastics in keyboards and this one seems to have little or less plastic in the keys
Date published: 2023-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jbm 85 from Good buy for quality product. Nice lighted keys comfortable touch and charge lasts a long time.
Date published: 2023-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jerry Li from Bussin keyboard: would bring to prom The keys go clittity-clack like they should and the backlighting is very distracting. It always connects to Bluetooth. Very flat and solid, but almost too long to fit in a backpack.
Date published: 2023-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moe_Green from Soooooo noooicee Quiet typing. Sleek design. Connecting to multiple devices is easy.
Date published: 2023-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by JDA01 from lighted keyboard I like the lighted keyboard which makes it easy to work - plus a solid construct gives you confidence
Date published: 2023-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by nicknickdoingit from Happy Extremely smart, Keyboard ! nicely built ,,very sensitive ! smooth !!
Date published: 2023-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by MrsMb from Love this. Perfect. Love this keyboard. Only 2 things I was a little disappointed in. Programmable keys are great but theres no option for a MAIL button which I would have liked. Secondly the directions for syncing to connect are a little confusing. It's simple but explained wierd. Good price and well worth it.
Date published: 2023-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by ErikaOliv from Disappointed The keyboard continues to disconnect randomly. The customer service number has to be hunted for. I'm not completely happy with the product.
Date published: 2022-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bell 85 from Rechargeable. Did not know the keyboard was rechargeable. Would have preferred battery.
Date published: 2022-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by BriPDX from Attractive, not functional Summary: looks nice but is not functional. The good: I like the silver color of this keyboard, which coordinates with the white and silver design of my home office. I also like the short keys that have a soft feel. I replaced a generic office keyboard and these keys are quieter and I can type faster. I do find I make more mistakes, as I have longer nails and taller keys seemed to accommodate them better. With this keyboard I can sneak in a Teams message while on video unmuted and others can't hear. The small size means it will work with the "compact" 8" Humanscale keyboard tray, allowing less distance between me and the front edge of my desk. The bad: the layout of the keys annoys me. The delete key is in an unusual spot and is I have to look for it every time I login to my computer. I use function keys a lot for specific systems and using Excel. I have to first press the function key. This might be programmable but I'm not one to figure out how to do that. The Deal Breaker is the lack of Pause Break key. I can't use certain platforms (e.g. mainframe systems) without this key. I've searched online for a workaround and tried a dozen different key combos, none worked. So I'm back to using my old, wired keyboard.
Date published: 2022-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gene Z from Satisfied HP Keyboard Customer As advertised and meeting expectations.
Date published: 2022-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jess G. from Easy Switch Easy to switch between devices
Date published: 2022-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mychael from Beautiful piece of tech Sharp looks
Date published: 2022-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by CMDS from Great keyboard. Bad instructions. The keyboard is really great but it is up to you to figure out how to use it. Plugging it in should guide you to the on-line instructions. Only that didn't work. Plugging it in didn't do anything. The keyboard didn't work. There were no instructions with the box. After 1/2 hour on the website, you discover that you have to download HP Accessory Center. Even that has minimal instructions and no real insights into the design. So after another 1/2 hour, it worked. And it was great. I programmed the F3 key and that worked great. Except, I lost the capability to capitalize in Word with Shift-F4. Oh well, the rest of it is fantastic. You can run your laptop with Bluetooth and the desktop with the dongle. Great idea. Typing is also natural and easy. Best of all keyboards.
Date published: 2022-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Arisco from All the shortcuts I need So far is great. I don't know about the rechargeable battery life because I haven't had it for too long. But I love the keyboard layout and buttons
Date published: 2022-08-07
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_3Z729AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Can I pair this keyboard dongle with a mouse from either HP or Logitech?

Asked by: Menno
See the link here for using this with some supported mice. https://support.hp.com/in-en/product/hp-975-dual-mode-wireless-keyboard/2100833432/document/ish_4240654-4241110-16
Answered by: yankel
Date published: 2023-05-27

The backlight does not stay on. How can I change the settings to make it stay on? Sometimes it stays on. Sometimes it does not. and even when I press the backlight button, it only stays on temporarily.

Asked by: AArmin
To adjust the sleep setting on your backlit keyboard select Control Panel > Hardware and Sound> Windows Mobility Center. In the Windows Mobility Center, look for the Keyboard brightness (or Keyboard backlighting) setting, select its corresponding slider, and pull that slider over to the right. The sleep setting is to maximize the battery life of your keyboard. Changing this setting will greatly impact your battery life.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-12-27

Hi, Are the keys on this keyboard metal or plastic?

Asked by: Ben99
This HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard is manufactured with recycled content. Up to 20% of which are recycled plastics.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-06

Does it come with a mouse?

Asked by: Eagleye
Hello. Thanks for your question. Unfortunately, a mouse is not included with this HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can we get this in a different color wanna gift this in a pink color way 

Asked by: Jaymaxx
Unfortunately, this HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard is available in silver only at this time.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

where can I find a manual?

Asked by: FAEW
A manual for the HP 970 is not available currently, however, this HP Support video offers a good walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jcRF3-3y9yQ
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-20

Is this white?

Asked by: Dcgreen1
Thank you for your question, the HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard is silver.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2024-02-08

what color is this keyboard? https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-970-programmable-wireless-keyboard

Asked by: MHKilleen
This HP 970 Programmable Wireless Keyboard is silver in color.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-11-30
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_3Z729AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT