• The Dock that Protects your Connected Devices.
  • Expanded Compatibility. Easy Connectivity.
  • The Power To Be Productive.
  • Device Management Made Easy
See Product Details
HP Thunderbolt Dock 280W G4 w/Combo Cable is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 40.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_4J0G4AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by BurttPC from Wonderful Dock. Works great!!!! With all 5 of my laptops!
Date published: 2023-12-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wayne0331 from HP DOCK G4 Monitor Flickers when connected. Downloaded latest firmware and did not correct the issue.
Date published: 2023-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Atrain from Amazing!! Worked as described with no issues!
Date published: 2023-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by LMLieb from Upgrade Does what i wanted. Purschased a new laptop and needed to upgrade the docking cube
Date published: 2023-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Lucky Than Good from Thunderbolt to the Rescue Some new ENVY laptops require 200 watts of power... This can not be over the USB-C port alone... The Thunderbolt is both a USB-C connection to the laptop and a power supply in one box... It's clean and stores well on the desk... Thank you for the solution HP...
Date published: 2023-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by KCSWIMMER from Unnecessary This has lots of power but when I connected it to my laptop I was only able to use one of the three display ports. Many calls to support. No resolution
Date published: 2022-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pavel S. from Should be beefier for this price Could have more USB ports and SD card reader for this price.
Date published: 2022-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tim W. from HP Thunderbolt Dock 280W G4 w/Combo Cable Great and works well with all 4k screens.
Date published: 2022-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by HP Home Office Cousin from Not enough ports or power for the price. Not enough ports or power for the price.
Date published: 2022-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Still has a few bugs As with the dock that I had previously on the EliteBook from 2018, the connected monitors will turn to black for a few seconds every once in a while. With my old dock, this was eventually fixed with a patch, but it was frustrating that it didn't work out of the box. The new dock has the same issue, which is remarkable to say the least.
Date published: 2022-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by Piya from Portable It is portable, easy to use and hassle free dock. It occupies small space on your table.
Date published: 2022-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by RayBen from Time saver Needs Better instructions, but works fine and as advertised
Date published: 2022-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by DRJ1 from Works for only 1 monitor - very frustrating! Absolutely horrible and frustrating! Advertised as being able to handle 4 separate 4k monitors, but it will only do high resolution on one. I spent hours with my firm's IT department trying to get the resolution to match on 2 HP Z27 monitors and it will not work.
Date published: 2022-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will23 from Works well *after* a firmware update! Used with an Omen 17. It had several weird issues initially, particularly with USB. They were resolved with a firmware update. There is no automatic update, you must find/download/install them manually. That should be automatic with a new device! After that, however, it has been great. I am not (yet) stressing it with more than one 4K display, but expect to soon. I guess I will need to manually check for updates in the future too since it isn't automatic.
Date published: 2022-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by 00000000005 from Powerful and great connections Great dock, front cable is not optimal for connection
Date published: 2022-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by kmunroe110 from Wish I could have kept it. It's a great tool. Pushes 4K, and fast charges. Too bad my Org wouldn't pay for it.
Date published: 2022-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sleepless IT in Seattle from Works great on my Z-Book Works great on my Z-Book. I would give it 5 stars if it that a headphone jack (I had to purchase new USB speakers). The power button on the dock starts the computer every time. In 2 weeks of use, it has been flawless powering 4 HD monitors (one is USB3)
Date published: 2022-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by Designstudio from thunderbolt work station still sluggish Not as smooth as I had anticipated. The hesitant screen is still an issued with speed.
Date published: 2022-07-13
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_4J0G4AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Does this replace the following Docking Station: 3TR87AA?? And is it compatible with the: HP ZBook Power G8 with Nvidia A2000 GPU, and is the Combo Cable required??

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi i am more after a specific answer rather then a generic response, i need t oknow specifics before investing the money into the Docking station, can you please answer my original question with a specific response, the answer required is because of the specific power requirements of the HP Zbook G8
Answered by: Pallensmith
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is the THUNDERBOLT DOCK 280W G4 w/Combo Cable compatible with the HP ELITEBOOK 1050 G1 Notebook PC?

Asked by: Andre2022
Hello Andre, the HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W G2, HP USB-C Dock G5, HP USB-C/A Universal Dock G2, HP Thunderbolt 230W G2 Cable, and the HP Thunderbolt Dock G2 with Combo Cable appear as compatible in the HP US Product Database. This Dock does not appear as compatible.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-11-25

Can two 4K 60Hz displays be run as extended displays on the two display ports? Or does one of the displays need to be connected to a TB port?

Asked by: Nickzz
Thank you for your question! The HP Thunderbolt Dock 280W G4 will broadcast 4K at 60Hz on two displays using the two DisplayPorts or the HDMI and a DisplayPort. However, in order to broadcast at 60Hz, a Thunderbolt port is required on the host PC. If the host PC only has a USB-C with DisplayPort then it will broadcast at 30Hz.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Hello, will this work for HP ProBook 640 G8 Notebook PC? If works, which one should I choose between 120W and 280W version if I still plugin my original HP power supply?

Asked by: ppxlj
Thank you for your question! The HP Thunderbolt Dock 120W is recommended for use with your HP ProBook 40 G8 Notebook PC. Be aware that the Thunderbolt Dock provides up to 100W of charging power. If your ProBook G8 requires more for charging then the 280W will be recommended.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Team, will this new HP Thunderbolt Dock G4 also work with older EliteBook 850's such as the G6 G7 G*, etc?

Asked by: Gus K
Hello Gus and thanks for your question! Yes, if those EliteBooks came equipped with a ThunderBolt compatible dock this HP Thunderbolt Dock G4 280W will be compatible. If the EliteBooks did not have a Thunderbolt Dock but a USB-C dock then the HP USB-C Dock G5 is your best option. Thanks for being an HP customer!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this 280W Thunderbolt G4 dock fully compatible with an Omen 16-k0023dx laptop, including the ability to power on with the laptop closed. Will it also run 2 monitors at 1080p and 60Hz?

Asked by: s_fussnecker
Thank you for your question! Yes, this Omen 16-k0023dx will be compatible with the HP Thunderbolt Dock 280W G4. For display details see below: DP 1.2 ThunderboltTM host: Dual 4K @30Hz or dual 4K UHD @ 60Hz or (1) 6k TBT running multiple tiles Triple displays: (3) 2.5k @30Hz Quad displays: (3) 2.5k @30Hz + (1) FHD @ 30Hz DP 1.2 USB-C host: Multi-function mode High-resolution mode Single display: (1) 4K DCI @ 30Hz Dual display: (1) 4K DCI @ 30Hz + (1) FHD @ 30Hz Triple displays: (3) FHD @30Hz Single display: (1) 4K DCI @60Hz Dual displays: (2) 4K DCI @ 30Hz Triple displays: (3) 2.5k @30 DP 1.3/1.4 Thunderbolt host Single display: (1) 4K DCI @60Hz Dual displays: (2) 4K UHD @60Hz Triple displays: (2) 5K single cable@30Hz + (1) 2.5K@30Hz or (3) 4K DCI @ 30Hz DP 1.3/1.4 USB-C host: Multi-function mode High-resolution mode Single display: (1) 5k Ultra Wide @60Hz or (1) 4K DCI @ 60Hz Triple displays: (3) 2.5K@ 30Hz Single display: (1) 5k Ultra Wide (5120X1440) @ 60Hz or (1) 8k single cable @ 30Hz Dual displays: (2) 4K UHD @60Hz or (2) 4K DCI @ 30Hz Triple displays: (3) 4K DCI @ 30Hz DP 1.4 with DSC Thunderbolt host: Single display: up to (1) 8K Thunderbolt with multiple tiles @ 60Hz Dual displays: (2)4K DCI @ 60Hz or Triple displays: (3) 4K@ 60Hz up to (2) 5K single cable @30Hz + (1) 4K UHD @30Hz Quad displays: (4) 4K DCI @ 60Hz DP 1.4 with DSC USB-C host: Multi-function mode High-resolution mode Single display: (1) 4K DCI @ 60Hz up to (1) 8K single cable @ 30Hz Dual displays: (2) 4K DCI @ 60 Hz up to (1) 5K dual cable + (1) 4K Triple displays: (3) 4K DCI @ 30Hz or (3) 4K UHZ @ 60Hz up to (2) 5K single cable@30Hz + (1) 4K UHD @30Hz Single display: up to (1) 8K dual @ 60Hz Dual displays: (2) 4K DCI @ 60Hz or up to (2) 5K single cable + (1) 4K UHD@ 60 Hz Triple displays: (3) 4K DCI @ 60Hz up to (2) 5K single cable + (1) 4K UHD
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

I got two HP E24 G4 E-Series - LED monitor - 23.8" connected to this docking station. I got an HP EliteBook 840 G5. I used two Display cables to connect them to the docking station. One works while the other doesn't. Is there a driver needed?

Asked by: Anonymous
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is HP ZBook Fury 15 G8 HPI #ABE compatible with the HP Thunderbolt Dock 280W G4 w/Combo Cable?

Asked by: Miquel
Thank you for your question! This HP Dock is compatible with HP PCs with an available USB type-C™ port. Laptops must be able to support USB-C™ power, video, data, and/or Thunderbolt™ industry standards. If there is a symbol of a lightning bolt (Thunderbolt 3) next to the USB-C port, then you can use this port to charge and transfer a video signal. This port supports Display Port alt-mode.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_4J0G4AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT