Business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro M404n Certified Refurbished

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print only
  • Print speed letter: Up to 40 ppm (black)
  • 2 paper trays (standard)
  • Best-in-class security-detect and stop attacks
HP LaserJet Pro M404n Certified Refurbished is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 326.
  • y_2024, m_6, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_111, tr_215
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A52AR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 2 out of 5 by Legal Assistant1 from Work horse but stubborn at "printing" While the refurb printer is working like a horse, the lag between the time my computer tells my printer to "print" is excruciatingly l-o-n-g.
Date published: 2023-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by JM** from Does not always print Seems to have some sort of issues. I have had to reboot it to get things to print a couple of times. I replaced the printer cable yesterday to see if that helps.
Date published: 2023-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by T Dad 61 from Don’t buy refurbs! Error codes said there was a bad motor. HP charged me a restocking fee to turn a broken printer. Don’t buy refurbs!
Date published: 2022-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by J. Sullivan from Need a new Printer for home or office? Great easy to set up small printer, bought it refurbished from HP, its like new
Date published: 2022-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by CPFCU from Good printer Efficient little printer. Just wish that the paper tray was a standard 500 sheets.
Date published: 2022-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by DoubleB from Good purchase Looks good, Works well, no problems noticed.
Date published: 2022-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Not happy Product isn't good at all. I have to print "heavy" to get it print viewable good text and that makes printer slower. The xtra sheet tray add-on....not even sure it works. Not happy at all.
Date published: 2022-09-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by FritzFL from Good quality printer but only prints two sided Even with duplex printing disabled, this printer only prints two sided. If you need a printer that prints one sided, this isn’t for you.
Date published: 2022-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bert12 from Refurb HP The refurb unit looked like new and works well. I recommend.
Date published: 2022-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by CRJ4 from Have not used very much, so not sure of rating to Putting it at a 4 star at present because I haven't used it much yet. Sometimes, the printer says it's offline, which prevents me from making prints. Lately, it's been working. If I see "printer offline" anymore, I'll plan to contact HP support to get their help.
Date published: 2022-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by L Patrick from Nice and Fast workgroup printer Excellent speed for Monochrome printing from multiple workstations via land & wan; easy to configure. Had to downgrade the printing DPI to conserve toner but good work printer.
Date published: 2022-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by cestlav from Great printer for wifi and USB connections So far I love everything about this printer except that I have to manually change the setting from wifi to corded printing. I am able to print from my phone, my wifi laptop and my corded laptop. Prints fast at great quality. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2022-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by LWS1 from Defective Unit Defective unit; nothing but trouble. Submitting second warranty ticket.
Date published: 2022-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Da Old Shamrock from Like this printer I really like the printer, especially the 2nd (upper) tray. This is similar to one I had several years ago that died after several years of use. I am a bit leery about buying refurbished items but this came with the usual HP 1 year warranty so we'll see how things work out.
Date published: 2022-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stewsterl from Good printer for daily use Works very well in several different environments.
Date published: 2022-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by tlatimer36 from HP Laserjet Pro M404dn Usual great HP hardware quality; install software not so good
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by JCAlexandres from Workhorse for peanuts on the dollar ;) Very decent printer for the price, a workhorse! Installing is a breeze, easy to maintain.
Date published: 2022-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chuck S from Quality printing once it gets configured. The print quality is excellent and the speed is impressive. I was disappointed a printer in this price range did not include WIFI and the installation and configuration was not without challenges.
Date published: 2022-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by PhilipA from Great for Small Business Excellent printer for small business use. Only issue is occasionally auto sleep sometimes sticks in sleep mode which requires power off/on
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by D Byington from Can’t Go Wrong w HP LaserJet Pro 404dw I was replacing a older HP laser printer that is still in excellent condition but wasn’t compatible with new operating systems. This new one was so simple to set up and prints so fast! I’m hopeful it will last as long as my old one which was 20+ years. I would only buy HP printers. Their products and customer support are the best!
Date published: 2022-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Michael 80014 from Yep! I love this printer. Out of the box, software downloaded, hardware setup and running in less than 10 minutes. A solid printer with typical high HP Quality. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2022-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Diane C L from Excellent printer. Works great. Just the right size - small but powerful. Easy to set up. Clear printing.
Date published: 2022-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lil Thunder from HP M404n is just what I needed for an in home use Great laser printer better than our ink jet printer unless you need color
Date published: 2022-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by R G from A great printer with excellent features. Wired... A great printer with excellent features. Wired printing provides reliable connectivity to multiple PCs on a home network, whilst mobile devices can use it conveniently as well. The HP software on iOS even allows you to scan and print items, which is a great feature given I deliberately selected a model that didn't come with an ADF.
Date published: 2021-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small Nail from Connection problems Very hard to connect to Apple Monterey-thirty minutes with a cs rep. It’s quick but I’d pass on this printer. The hardwire from the router to the printer is a big pain too
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by Industrial Standards from HP Printers No build-in Wi-Fi component is the worst thing of any printer! It should be a standard feature from now on!
Date published: 2021-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by MikeSinai from Easiest set up I’ve ever experienced. Took me minutes to set up my PC Mac and iPhone. Incredible experience.
Date published: 2021-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by Edward400400 from Good quality printer. Nicely engineered The printer is very good. It is fast and so far reliable. The HP web site, to download the printer driver, is loaded with company junk. The junk makes it more confusing when your trying to activate the printer.
Date published: 2021-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Easy to Install, very nice printer Great value for the money, I have had lots of HP laserJet Printers exceeds expectations
Date published: 2021-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Busy Real Estate Property Management Office Easy set-up and great replacement for our older HP "work horse"
Date published: 2021-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by LizC from Would not connect to internet Very disappointed that my printer would not connect to the internet and I have to use an Ethernet cable from my BRAND NEW IMAC to my brand new HP printer. HP automated assistance is useless. I tried EVERY option suggested by HP and also by Apple.
Date published: 2021-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by snulton from I'd buy again Great replacement for my 20 yo HP workhorse That couldn't communicate with my new computer
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by RandomPublicName from Easy and Quick Easy online purchase, quick delivery, product works out of the box!
Date published: 2021-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by Print at home from Solid, dependable, and fast. I bought this printer as well as the previous model which went to college with my son. The drums last a long time and the speed is great. One thing is that there is no wireless or Bluetooth connection and the printer didn’t come equipped with a print-USB cable. I had to purchase one for both printers. It’s seems it should really be standard since that’s the only way you can print from your computer.
Date published: 2021-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by MacSter from Super Fast Duplex Printing ...if only my computer could find it on my network and the ink truck arrives on time;
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by ekogan from issues with proper tray selection software trouble selecting the correct tray. we have an extra 550 tray for legal paper and the different programs constantly select the wrong tray and the printer does not function properly. would not recommend this printer. also purchased the high yield toner cartridge at over $225 and the cartridges get 3000 pages or less - very disappointing.
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by chevyii68 from Works great for mobile notary signing I purchased this to print documents for my mobile notary signing service. It does a great job, especially with the 3rd tray added for legal sized documents.
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Quiet, efficient and reliable. Easy to operate It fits beautifully in the small space we have, prints quickly, can do envelopes and cardstock and is quiet. The only downside seems to be that envelopes can not be printed in multiple because the ink smudges after printing one or two. After a brief rest, you can keep printing. This can work out fine if you don't have a lot of them to print in a hurry. I do love being able to have two trays for duplex printing because we have a lot of forms we use. All in all, I am very pleased.
Date published: 2021-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by MeeschinCo from Works well, some of the settings are inconvenient Overall this works really well. It prints fast, and clearly. But we are having problems trying to print non-paper media, and with double sided pieces. Even though you can sort of change the media type, the fuser does not act any differently for them, and thus they start to not fuse properly and ink gets everywhere. I also have issues with printing double sided - it automatically prints double-sided from programs that don't offer that as an option to select/de-select. Even if the document is 1 page, if you print say 2 copies, it prints those on 2 sides of one page. Really annoying.
Date published: 2021-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by syoung from HP Printer Overall the product is great . It prints fast but when printing different size papers it has a hang up. The printer will stop printing when it does not recognize the paper type.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Renee03 from Pleasantly Surprised I compared a lot of printers and this one won hands down. It's quite and doesn't take up a lot of space. The ink replacement cost was a huge deciding factor for me. You can purchase a cheaper printer, but ink replacement cost will be the downfall over time. I had to order the printer out of state, but HP shipped it to me and I had not issues. It was packed well. Good job HP.
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by PSV1 from excellent value Prints great is reasonable quiet compact design and does the job
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by jeaniec from goes faster than Superman Works very well; I am very pleased with it; no problems.
Date published: 2021-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from I print official documents. I pick this unit Easy to setup. No nasty surprises. Been using laser printers over 30 years. Easiest start yet. Great print quality. I’m a court reporter. No time for errors or nonsense. Am recommending to my coworkers
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by King Batch from Works Great Fast delivery, works great, takes up a small space.
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by SRSSRS from Long overdue uograde I finally replaced a HP LaserJet 5, circa 1997. The LaserJet 5 still worked but slow by today's standards.
Date published: 2021-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by CowboysFan2021 from Not as advertised or described The printer works fine, however, it is not as described or advertised. I was looking for a printer with 2 paper trays, and it says that it has 2 paper trays, but that is misleading. The 1 tray is a feeder tray, not a paper tray.
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by silvac from Exceptional Quality The speed, quality and reliability of my new printer is exceptional. Thanks HP
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Avros from Everyday printer fast and quiet, easy to install. 2 sided works very well.
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Procure from Customer must love it. The end user has now ordered there 4th on in the last 2 months so it must be working for them.
Date published: 2021-04-28
  • y_2024, m_6, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_111, tr_215
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A52AR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Does this printer do double sided printing?

Asked by: DMGM
Thanks for your question! The HP LaserJet Pro M404dn does feature automatic double-sided printing.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2024-03-15

IS THERE ANY REFURBISHED LEFT OF HP LASER JET PRO M404n?

Asked by: TAXMAN101
Thank you for your question! At this time, the HP LaserJet Pro M404n Certified Refurbished printers have been sold through.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-03-14

How do you setup the M404n to be wireless?

Asked by: Flint77
Thank you for your question! The M404n does not feature built-in wireless.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

I would like to connect this M404n printer to our office's wireless network so that the printer is visible as a network resource to our office users. Is there a JetDirect Wireless device that is compatible, and which model JetDirect device would I need?

Asked by: JSOfficeAdmin
Thank you for your question! According to the M404n datasheet, HP does not make a compatible JetDirect wireless server for this printer.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-06-22

Will the HP LaserJet Pro M404 print on card stock?

Asked by: Mammy9
Thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet Pro m404dn is designed for paperweights up to 46.6 lbs. Typically card stock is 80lb or more.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

HOW DO I SEND MY PRINTER IN FOR WARRANTY

Asked by: JULEE
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com for further assistance.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can 300 gsm cardstock be printed using this printer?

Asked by: TailoredCreationz
Thank you for your question! The maximum paperweight for the HP LaserJet Pro M404dw is 120lb or approximately 200-210 GSM.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

I have a LaserJet Pro M404dw, and can not get the printer cartridge out. Something seems to be blocking it on the right side. What am I doing wrong?

Asked by: cd123
Hi and thanks for your question! Unfortunately, this forum is unable to diagnose and solve technical issues. Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-04-15
  • y_2024, m_6, d_16, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1A52AR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT