ENERGY STAR | Home

OMEN Laptop - 17-cb1097nr

  • This product has been discontinued.
  • Windows 10 Home 64
  • 10th Generation Intel® Core™ i7 processor
  • NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 2060 (6 GB GDDR6 dedicated)
  • 16 GB memory; 1 TB HDD storage; 512 GB SSD storage
  • 17.3" diagonal FHD display
OMEN Laptop - 17-cb1097nr is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 40.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_3G430UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 40ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pami from Son's college computer He needed a computer with specific specs so I had to order directly through HP. The computer is fine, but it is very heavy. It would be too heavy for me or my girls to carry around all day, but he's a big strong guy so it's okay for him. The battery life is horrible for a brand new computer. I've had lots of HP laptops and this one is the worst by far.
Date published: 2021-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Myhp21 from Omen Gave it fives stars it runs revit and autocad at the same time quietly and fast No slow performance
Date published: 2021-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by xxKILLAxGHOSTxx from Great gaming pc I bought a month ago for my daughter, she loves it.
Date published: 2021-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeff N from Great laptop - for gaming and more I bought this for a middle schooler to use for school and gaming. It may seem like overkill for school, and I had gone the 'cheap laptop' route in the past for our older child, and the frustration of having an underpowered computer for school made me realize this was a bad approach. The new Omen is awesome and is super fast and responsive, which makes school zoom and other computer work for a coding class and other classes be much less frustrating. And because she has a great gaming PC now, she isn't taking mine from me. The product was easy to set up, is very responsive (as expected), and the large screen means that I didn't have to buy an external monitor to pair with it.
Date published: 2021-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeen e from Awesome The omen gaming laptop has been a great bought for my son. He uses it for school and gaming. Has great features.
Date published: 2021-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by do not buy this from do not buy this, stopped working after two month u do not buy this, stopped working after two month use, heavy as dead brick
Date published: 2021-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mr R from I thought it would at least have the same features Not as good features as older Omen. I bought it because my old Omen had the dvd, more usb ports. Now I have to use a port when I need the dvd.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mlemura from Useless This has failed all expectations since I’ve purchased it
Date published: 2021-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by TIFLA from Computer Rocks! This is a rockstar of a computer. Sturdy, fast and ready to perform heavy graphics and video editing. A gaming computer with processing power ideal for multitasking between programs and while managing large files. It is meeting my expectations and then some.
Date published: 2021-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by ATigger82 from HP Omen I received my new laptop in great time. It is running wonderfully and I am completely satisfied with it.
Date published: 2021-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by DonKool from Works Great and Looks Great - Very Fast! I'm really enjoying my HP OMEN Laptop. Love the red keyboard. Ii did find out that the lower models have an RGB keyboard so to that you can customize the key colors. Disappointed that the top model didn't include that. Other than that I love it. Easy to type on and blazing fast. Haven't tested the battery too much. As it is a 17" computer I generally leave it plugged in all the time.
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mama Jo from Fast Laptop - Perfect For Business I love this laptop. I don't love that it only comes with red backlight and no CD drive, but other than that it is perfect. Fast, sturdy (it is heavy!), fits perfectly into my laptop bag. Does everything I need it to do... I always have a million and 1 tabs and programs open, and I have NO issues with speed and crashes. I've had it about a month or so, and couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by dalepres from Loud fan noise makes this useless for any audio I really want to love this laptop but I have real concerns. Normally, the GPU and CPU idle at about 39 degrees Celsius at 0% to 2% CPU utilization. But under any load, even just 10% CPU utilization, the CPU jumps into the 70s Celsius. GPU temp stays pretty low. I hate to imagine what will happen when I put a real load, even just 50 or more percent CPU utilization. Just sitting here doing nearly nothing at all, with 12% CPU utilization, the fans sound like a server room. In fact, my dual-xeon workstation runs dead silent; this laptop is the loudest thing in the room. I can't hear the TV and you can completely forget about listening to music from this. In fact, I've talked myself out of the 4 stars and now it's between 2 and 3 stars because a laptop should be virtually silent. In fact; I think I am going to contact support about returning or replacing this. Yes... 2 stars... and if this irritating fan noise doesn't go away, it might even be 1. That's too bad for a guy who's almost exclusively bought HP laptops for the past 25 years.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Isom105 from Omen is the best! Good as a desktop. The red light is perfect. It’s not as heavy as I thought it would be.
Date published: 2021-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stuart512 from Very fast and great display I purchased this 17" Omen laptop as a replacement for a desktop with dual processors (8 cores) and server hard drives (15k rpm). This laptop boots faster and can render video files at 2 to 3 times faster than the desktop. I love the speed of the NVMe drive. Having a secondary 1tb drive eliminates the problem of running out of room on the 512 of NVMe drive. The HD screen is very crisp and clear. I would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a powerful laptop.
Date published: 2021-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Angeleah from Music production Very easy to use. I dont do gaming , but i need it for recording and music production. Love it...
Date published: 2021-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by ToniTTT from Great speed and preformance Love the performance, FAST>>>>>>>>>>>> However red letters are hard to see. Very hard. I like to game in dim light, but cant with these red letters. There are other computers that preform well that are easier to see.
Date published: 2021-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by G man 911 from Nice HP Awesome. PC. Very quick with amazing graphics. Don’t buy if your look for super slim speed needs room.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tim O from Great Computer I love the computer. It's slightly bulkier than expected, but that's to be expected with a 17 inch gaming laptop. Regardless, the computer has great specs and runs all of my games at max settings. It also plays my Oculus Rift seamlessly. The computer was a replacement for another HP omen-15 I had purchased and the keyboard died on me shortly after purchase. The return process and customer support was phenomenal. I honestly decided to stick it out with HP for this reason alone.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from hp rocks hp is the best, i have allways bought hp, knowing they stand behind what they sell and the quality of their products.hp rocks.
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by HMEGRWN671 from Great for first time gamers Bought a Month ago very good great rgb keyboard!!!
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Veruca from Awesome laptop Bought this to replace my 10 year old laptop. I love it. Super fast, excellent graphics, overall awesome product
Date published: 2021-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Zeves from Solid performer The laptop is pretty solid for the price. I wish I would have held out for a 30 series graphics card, but the 2060 is performing very well for most things. I use this laptop for designing in Autocad, Cura and design works. I also use this laptop for PCVR including Half-Life Alex, and I use this PC for playing games such as Warzone. I was a little disappointed that I couldn't max out the graphics settings on Warzone with this beast, but it comes pretty close. Overall a decent computer. My only real complaint is my experience with trying to get ahold of customer service in a timely manner.
Date published: 2021-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by davija from Fast performance Still getting to know this computer.. so far, like the fast performance.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Matthews Dad from Omen good for college work and gaming fun. Purchased this for my son - in his first year of college. So far it works well for his classes and for this gaming activities. It replaces a standard type laptop that had less of all things that make a laptop fast. So, as expected, it blew away the prior machine. His gaming friends have a mix of machines and this one is performing in the top 25% of them.
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tony A from It’s Good. Over all a good value, does what it should. Not having in trouble.
Date published: 2020-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goddess of Reign from Beautiful graphics! Runs all video games. The graphics are fantastic and even watching Netflix it's noticeable. I can now play games I've had on Steam for a while now that were unplayable before. Great gaming laptop! There should be instructions for turning on the keyboard lights though.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from NO LAPTOP!! Help me ! I have not recived my Laptop HP : H338748182 Gabriela Lopez
Date published: 2020-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mike from Ma from Awesome laptop, but ... Great machine hardware wise, but lacks a few things (for me). The keyboard (red) color cant be changed. Its stated, but I guess I just missed it while buying it. It would be nice to just change it to white, the red looks awesome from across the room, but its distracting when actually using it. The other beef is the speaker volume is to low. When I saw "Bang and Olufsen" listed in the specs, (once again, I assumed) it would have awesome sound, and it does, but the speaker output volume is just to low. I have to leave it on 100% almost all the time, and I still strain to hear it volume wise. Thats it, beside those complaints above, a really good machine.
Date published: 2020-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rdb1945 from Great laptop!! This laptop is one of the best computer that I ever bought
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hollace41 from So far my son loves the laptop. I am just disappointed that after being on the phone with Hp for about 30 minutes no one could tell me what type of security cable works for this Omen. Since the gentleman on the phone didn't know the answer, tech support was to email me the info. 6 days later still no email. Glad I purchased theft insurance.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by farso from Great Brand of laptop Over price But not a bad laptop.Needs a Dvd- Rom and better key board lighting.
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eerie from Great gaming laptop Bought this to replace my Asus ROG751 that I've been using for the past 6 years. Wanted a newer generation of gaming laptop and was recommended by multiple people. I play all the latest games on ultra-high or maxed out graphic settings with 0 graphics lag. My only real complaints is the 512GB SSD fills up fast and the fan is quite noisy but with the volume turned up, it drowns out the sound of the fans.
Date published: 2020-07-15
  • y_2024, m_7, d_23, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_3G430UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

If say your wife was sitting in the other side of a silent living room and you started playing a game, would the fan ramp up loud enough for her to yell at you? How quiet would you say this is? Library quiet? How much does the fan ramp up under a load?

Asked by: Graveyard Gus
Hi Gus and thanks for your question! The HP Omen Laptop features HP Omen Tempest Cooling. This provides three-sided venting and five-way airflow are engineered to maximize performance and keep your system cool even when gameplay heats up. As far as the actual noise level I would recommend contacting HP Support for help answering the actual noise level of the fans.
Answered by: Grant from HP Team
Date published: 2021-08-27

Can the 7200 TPM hard drive be replaced with another Solid State Drive for longer battery life and better performance?? Is that an option from HP? Or does it have to be done after market?  Does that create any problems or any challenges??

Asked by: mscot1
Thanks for your question! Upgrading the hard drive must be done via the aftermarket. If the hard drive isn't installed by an HP Authorized Service center then this could void the warranty on the Omen Laptop.
Answered by: Grant from HP Team
Date published: 2023-02-22

It says the laptop is discontinued.. Will it ever be continued again, if so when? If not will there be an upgraded version of this model anytime soon?

Asked by: Buggpaste23
Hello. Thanks for your question. No. The HP OMEN Laptop - 17-cb1097nr has been discontinued since December 2021. That means it will not come back. There are newer HP Omen laptops available now on HP.com. If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to the HP customer service team, https://www.hp.com/us-en/contact-hp/contact.html
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

what battery should I order to replace it 

Asked by: pob12
From its list of parts, it uses a 4-cell, 70 Wh Li-ion battery HP part # 917724-855. The HP US Store does not carry parts, please contact HP Support for assistance in getting your part. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-03

what is the cost

Asked by: topcat275
This is a discontinued laptop.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-21

Is the Omen 17 coming back into stock anytime soon and does it have touchscreen/camera? If not do any of your Omen laptops options have touchscreen/built in cam

Asked by: meg1935
Hello Meg and thank you for your question! For questions with product availability please contact our HP Support Store Team directly by calling 1-877-231-4351. They are available to assist Mon-Fri from 8 am- 9 pm ET and Saturday and Sunday from 9 am- 9 pm ET. The Omen laptops do not come equipped with touch-screen capability, however, all Omens will come with a built-in webcam.
Answered by: Grant from HP Team
Date published: 2021-11-12

Can another SSD be installed in this laptop in addition to the existing SSD and HDD?

Asked by: Tom4959
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport. You can find the maintenance and service guide for your PC on the Support site.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Where can I find this laptop and buy it?

Asked by: ChiefDaddy
Thank you for your question. This HP Omen Laptop has been discontinued. There are newer models available however and can be found at many of HPs retail partners.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_7, d_23, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_3G430UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT