ENERGY STAR | Small Office

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdw

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, fax, wireless
  • Print speed letter: Up to 30 ppm (black)
  • Auto duplex printing; 250-sheet input tray, 35-sheet ADF, NFC touch-to-print
  • Uses toner with JetIntelligence, High yield toner available
HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdw is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 187.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3Q75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by SWBrat from Fax? Before I post a review perhaps you can explain why the top feed fax sounds like a tractor pulling in each page ai am faxing?
Date published: 2023-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Boomerbill from Printer performance Easy to set up; works like a dream so far. Very fast and smooth operation. I like it.
Date published: 2023-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ray W. from Good machine Quality machine; easy to use.
Date published: 2022-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by Peter N from Slow Software I like the printer but the software when scanning is unnecessarily complicated and slow, very slow.
Date published: 2022-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by HelpITBB2 from Excellent Choice Fast high quality printing. Multiple scanning options.
Date published: 2022-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Better than I expected. Good performance, efficient yet practical size, perfect design and function overall. Being all white suits my home office decor. Concealed envelope feeder a nice touch, and works smoothly, as does the scanner. Overall, I am very pleased with this all-in-one unit from HP.
Date published: 2022-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Yooper from Good MFP that works well with Apple products Very satisfied with this Printer. I bought it after my brother printer quit supporting the later versions of ios and I could no longer get it to print from my mac. Installation was easy and straight-forward. It works nicely on my home wi-fi network and allows me to print from both my iMac and iPhone with no issues.
Date published: 2022-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by Michaelrxiv from USB port The USB port is not as secure as in my previous hp printer
Date published: 2022-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dan does it from Wireless printing gets message "printer offline" Overall this device seems well built, but wireless printing is plagued with problems. Connecting with USB always works, but with wireless, much of the time we get the message that the printer is offline, even though both the printer and the laptop are connected to the same network. We know that it is connected because another laptop (we have two) may work fine with the printer. Never can tell which one will work and sometimes both won't - seemingly unpredictable.
Date published: 2022-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Wifi drops and Mac print quality poor The WiFi drops for no reason. Mac print quality poor.
Date published: 2022-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by R Breining from Great Product Excellent workhorse printer at an excellent value. I would highly recommend this to everybody.
Date published: 2022-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Scanning quality Nice printer, but the quality of scans is not as good as their specs would indicate (1200 x 1200).
Date published: 2022-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by cfisher from Small Screen Hinders Functionality / Good Printer So far this printer has performed well with no problems. Set-up on our wi-fi network was easy using the built-in Windows 11 printer settings (we bypassed the included install disk). The biggest problem with the printer is that the LCD screen is extremely small, and only those with the smallest fingers will be able to easily use it - it's almost like they made the touch screen for child sized hands. We keep a pen pointy (like one you used to use on phones and tablets) to more easily use the screen. Otherwise, it's a great printer.
Date published: 2022-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by V Suarez from User review Didn’t have an automatic double-sided scanning, disappointed about this. It would be nice if HP can give me a rebate?
Date published: 2022-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by Chon from Great, but.... It's great, but within a few weeks it printed a few pages that were all black, except for the letters (white) and a one-inch strip running down the length of the paper. Then it went back to normal but still had a one-inch strip that was blurred and mostly white. After printing a few hundred pages it is now mostly normal but still has blurred spots along the one-inch strip that first appeared.
Date published: 2022-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Barry OD from Good printer easy to use and set up The touch screen is small work well print in clear
Date published: 2022-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by RBarnes from Definite Upgrade This replaced an older printer that had a lot of issues. I am so happy with this new printer - it is a breeze!
Date published: 2022-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by craig sc from dont buy if u want to scan easily cant scan without intrnet even with a direct hard wired connection that sucks
Date published: 2022-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by CTaylor from Printer experience, mixed experience. Got it working ok but Slow to connect to computer when initiating print. Some initial issues connecting to wireless network. Cheap feel.
Date published: 2022-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP Laserjet Pro I have had prior models of the HP Laserjet Pro MFP M227fdw printer and they have been great. Apparently HP has changed the software to the printer (HP Smart), and this new software has caused me all sorts of problems setting up the printer and getting it to work properly. I have been on the telephone with your tech support twice now, and counting. The fax beeps every now and then for no apparent reason. Very annoying.
Date published: 2022-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mary K Arizona from Ideal for home office I’m a legal document preparer. This machine checks all the boxes. Easy to install, fast printing great copies.
Date published: 2022-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Milesw1 from Good Price and fast shipping Good Price and fast shipping. Placing order a little cumbersome.
Date published: 2022-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Capt B from Great all around printer. Great all around small office printer, scanner, copier. Can’t go wrong with this one, since you get a lot of mileage on one ink cartridge, quiet and crisp print. Definitely would recommend and btw I bought two of them!
Date published: 2022-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by B Zawlocki from Great SOHO Printer/Scanner Things that are great about this printer: 1. Very easy to setup. We have a hard wired ethernet network and I found it very easy to setup the printer. 2. Really like the big paper tray. 3. Was pleasantly surprised that it prints duplex as a default. 4. The auto power down feature is great. We can go days without using the printer and the power down feature saves electricity. 5. I like that we can replace the fuser assembly. The only thing we have found that we did not like is the HP software running on the PC to do the scanning. It's very slow and awkward.
Date published: 2022-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by kraemer1419 from HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdw Printer Small Office So far, this machine does everything I need! Has surpassed my expectations.
Date published: 2022-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by thelifeoftheparty from Great multi-function printer for small home office Great multi-function printer at a great price for small home office needs. Setup is a bit confusing, but I was able to figure it out on my own.
Date published: 2022-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by ronnie r from Very good printer I have had the printer for 2 months and it is the best one that I have purchased.
Date published: 2021-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by ArnieLA from Great home office machine!! great machine, well thought out and works out of the box!
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rex 56 from Very Easy Set-Up I bought this machine a few weeks ago. They promised 2 to 4 business days delivery but it was 7. It was extremely easy to set up and everything seems to be working fine. It is so new that I have no yet checked out all the features but, so far, everything works. My only complain is that no users manual was included. I had to go on line and down load it.
Date published: 2021-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday Girl 5 from Great machine with some issues I bought this printer a month or so ago. It’s a great size and prints beautifully, however the technical aspects have not yet been worked out. I cannot get the fax to work. Also, I have been on the phone with tech support about how to print from anywhere, and after four representatives and four hours on the phone, I’m nowhere and now they’ve messed up my HP Smart login as well. So I’m quite distressed, to say the least!
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by California Sandy from Difficult LCD screen The MFP M227fdw is a average-priced product in today's all-in-one market, and in the opinion of our small office group, it is exactly that-- average. It has its good points, including fast and sharp printing, a small footprint, and very usable software to drive functions such as scanning documents, all of which you also get these days from other brands in this space. On the other hand, its matchbook-sized LCD screen, through which all commands are given, can be infuriatingly unresponsive to anything but the fussiest of finger touches. (What happened to dependable, easy-to-use buttons? Let's guess-- a single little LCD screen is cheaper for the manufacturer?) The shipping box arrived in good shape, we plugged it in, we set it up, and it works. But like an average appliance, after 2 months nobody hates it nor loves it. If you're expecting a product that seems neither better nor worse than its competition, this is it.
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by BjB6 from Easy set up, nice quality copies Purchased a few weeks ago, easy to set up and use. Nice quality copies. I can’t comment on how long ink/toner lasts but if we figured it out correctly about 6 months. I should mention I only print in black which was part of my decision for this printer.
Date published: 2021-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joe HP from Simplicity of use Very happy with this purchase and hope is lasts as long as my previous HP.
Date published: 2021-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dan C H from A great printer for the money Easy to setup, Loaded with features, the scanning is perfect
Date published: 2021-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leo Ickovic from A mainstay of our office. This multiuser printer-fax-scanner machine has quickly become the mainstay of our office. We are more than pleased with the quality of the unit.
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by QueenShe from LaserJet M227fdw So far printing crisps and clear, very easy to install and set up all computers and phones
Date published: 2021-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by MRoee from A perfect B&W Laser Printer. Is very simple. I works just as it is supposed to.
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by wa0cqa from Most Functions for my Budget After researching several brands of printers and their options I found this to be the very best for my requirements. It starts up fast and once installed it is easy to operate. HP is known for it's fine line of products and product support. For it's relatively small size it has a lot of functionality.You will have to read the spec's for all of the details, but for my budget it very much meets my needs and have recommended it to my sons.
Date published: 2021-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mklein from Best laserjet Superb product. Easy set up. Fast reliable printing. Great value.
Date published: 2021-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by wofmaria from Great HP laserjet printer Although a tad pricey it's worth it. Copies, prints, scans, and faxes. I really like that I can use the mobile app and send a fax using my cell phone number. It is invaluable to me. Very functional.
Date published: 2021-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by SnFoil from I guess a phD isn't enough to connect to this.... This printer came in Monday and we still can't get it to print reliably on any of our three printers. Also, it really sucks that HP DEMANDS that you sign up for a HP cloud account that you don't need in order to use this, which is probably why it isn't working right. Really disappointing and ready to send this back. We just need a printer, not a cloud computing lesson. And just in case you're wondering what kind of doofus can't get this working, I have a BSEE from the University of Illinois with a computer minor and have built my own computers from scratch, so....
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michael O from Great Printer but... Hard to setup AirPrint without a hard wired connection. Also when you send a job to the printer when it’s in sleep mode, the printer does not automatically wake up. You have to manually do that every time to make sure it prints.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ohio Nana from Easy set up with human help Customer support was outstanding. Im 77 years old and not technically trained. The human who walked me through the set-up was patient and explicit. Much appreciated
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Audionut from A valuable business tool Great product for a small business. The printer has a feature set that meets our needs.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP Support STINKS Purchased this product, no installation instructions, HP in the past had a easy to follow step by step guide. That is not the case now, printer still is not hooked up, have tp go to geek squad to help. This has me convinced I will NOT be using HP there ae other companies I WILL use.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by MBAustin from East start. Totally easy to set up on wireless network (Grande). Plays well with Macs: both printing and scanning (single pages and feeder).
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upset customer GA from Unable to use I bought toward the beginning of last month along with a computer for it. They shipped this item immediately but said due to Covid the computer wouldn’t be shipped until 10-6. Then on 10-7 the sent an email saying due to Covid the computer won’t ship until 10-21. So nearly 4 weeks with useless item since they can’t keeps their word and build a computer in 4 weeks and ship when I see the same thing sitting in the shelf at my local store. Purchased because of holiday sale from their website.
Date published: 2020-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by Manzar from dropping connection to my computer as it pleases very disappointed, never had such a bad experience with HP printer. Seems like they rushed it to put them in the market because of COVED demand !!!
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by annesarbor from love it! Easy set up and great quality printing. It's a great printer.
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by dhouch from Great printer I've had this 2-3 weeks and so far it's been a great purchase. It has all the features I was looking for - scans, dual sided printing, prints envelopes. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2020-08-15
  • y_2024, m_4, d_24, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3Q75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

does this printer print in color?

Asked by: mir74
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro m227fdw printer does not print in color.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-31

do you have any laser printeres with faxing scanning color 2 sided word and wireless networking HP smart app available now in stock

Asked by: what the duck
Hello. Thanks for your question. We recommend looking at the HP Laserjet Pro m479fdw printer, which can print, copy, and scan double-sided documents. This model prints in color. It can also fax. It does have wireless capabilities. And you can use the HP Smart app with this printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

can this printer print on 11x17 paper?

Asked by: lorenet12
No, the maximum paper size for this HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdw is 8.5" by 14".
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can this scan from the auto document feeder?

Asked by: Vicki H.
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, you can scan from the ADF (Auto Document Feeder) on top of this HP LaserJet Pro m227fdw printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-28

Will the printer operate if only black toner is in it?  Or does it also have to have colored toner installed also?

Asked by: Janet in Cadillac
Thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdw is not a color laser printer and will only print in black.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Dimensions please?

Asked by: Kim16
Thank you for your question. The HP LaserJet Pro MFP M227fdw dimensions are 15.9 x 16 x 12.3 in (W X D X H)
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-01-31

When I print, the whole page has vertical lines up most of the width of the page. I cleaned surfaces and there is not ink anywhere under the ink cartridge when I open it up or in the back area. Is this an easy repair? Or should I just buy a new one.

Asked by: Ineedmyprintertowork
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support at http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Rahmique
Date published: 2023-08-29

I cannot find full manual for my new printer. Can you send me a link? Thank you, Jim

Asked by: JRino
Hello, Jim. Thanks for your question. You can get the User Guide by visiting HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-28
  • y_2024, m_4, d_24, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_G3Q75A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT