ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer with HP+ and Fax & available 3 months Instant Ink

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Works only with HP toner, requires HP account and internet connection
  • Print, scan, copy, fax, wireless and auto 2-sided printing
  • Blazing fast speeds for professional quality black & white prints
  • Includes advanced HP+ smart office features and Wolf Pro security
HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer with HP+ and Fax is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_15, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z619E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 64ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reavis from Nice printer Prompt shipment. Easy set up. Compact size - perfect fit home office
Date published: 2023-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by HP LaserJet User from Bad Experience with HP+ Program I had pool experience with the HP+ program and customer service process even though the printer itself has good quality I think. I wanted to buy a printer that I can print whenever and wherever when the power is on. But with this printer and HP+, I had a hard time to activate the printer. The new one came with a cartridge pre-installed. But it didn't recognize the cartridge and complained the cartridge was used or counterfeit. Come on, it was a new printer from HP and the cartridge came with it. I cannot copy or do whatever. Called customer service many times for help to finish setup, I was pushed around all over the world. Finally got someone from support and she said she was not trained to support the 4010 series. If not supported, why did the company sell it? I usually use HP LaserJet and buys HP cartridge, with the HP+, it ruined my experience and forced me to go shopping for other printers. So I had to return the printer. The HP+ program is a bad idea.
Date published: 2023-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bluehaven from LaserJet Pro 4101 printer I have always had very good luck with HP products. They work great and last a long time.
Date published: 2023-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Alexander F from Faulty Printer Didn't work. Spent hours on the phone trying to diagnose the issue. Ended up returning and going with canon
Date published: 2023-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from The best printer I ever owned The best printer I ever owned
Date published: 2023-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good printer for me from Fax advantage Needed a fax to keep all my doctors in the loop. Hp smart enables me to fax stuff from one to the other. They’re not on same portal and don’t enable uploads.
Date published: 2023-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by L. Sherrill from HP Laserjet Pro MFP 4101fdwe - Everything you need in a printer scanner Love this Printer, all the features work great.
Date published: 2023-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maloof from Owner Very good.
Date published: 2023-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great Results The HP printer MFP 4101fdwe is performing very well. The support staff was terrific is helping me to install the printer in our office. We have received two faxes in the last week, but have not faxed out, but I am confident that support will help me if needed.
Date published: 2022-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miss P from Great printer, scan, fax copy with the same great price! Absolutely excellent wireless printer. Effortless setup fast printing,scans multiple pages at one time, fax instant setup, copies fast and holds lots of paper.
Date published: 2022-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Baron de Cazimajou from Senior citizen happy at last. I connected the scan feature to my network and it’s fast. Very convenient.,the Air Print feature is a welcome addition.
Date published: 2022-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by LaloFrio from Great unit Small, compact, reliable.
Date published: 2022-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by SRA-H from Sleep function a problem Not happy with this new printer/scanner. The sleep function hangs the printer up. It shows up as offline to workstations and we have to unplug the printer to reset it since the power button does not turn the machine off. Paying IT consultant to troubleshoot with HP as I write this.
Date published: 2022-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Best printer I have ever used I have used HP printers for years and they have always been reliable, fast, and perfect size for a small office. This printer is no exception. I have tried other brands and nothing compares to the reliability of this printer when it comes to print quality, speed, scanning, and Wi-Fi connectivity. You absolutely must purchase if you are considering it. You will be glad you made the right choice.
Date published: 2022-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from I am very happy with this printer Very fast printing as indicated
Date published: 2022-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by JtGarza from Excellent machine, well worth the extra cost Initially purchased a lower grade model and subsequently change my order to the 4101 and I'm glad I did. Setting up was a breeze and the machine is lightening quick. I never thought that printer speed was important, but now that I have this machine I have learned that it is extremely important.
Date published: 2022-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fadi H from not a good printer was broken on arrival
Date published: 2022-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by Donna7 from Now has two Pro versions, this is the "e" There are now two professional lines, this one ends in "e" and is not able to network well. I was told in a chat to purchase a USB cable to connect, but the "e" version cannot connect with a USB cable, and has alot of network set up to make it work. The website needs far more information telling the difference between the "e" versions and the non "e" versions.
Date published: 2022-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great practical machine for a small office. Black and white only will save me $$$ on inck. Easy to use
Date published: 2022-09-21
  • y_2024, m_7, d_15, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z619E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is an HP account required or can I just setup the printer, load the drivers and go?

Asked by: Martin of RKK
Thank you for your question! Yes, an HP account is required with this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer with HP+ and Fax. The HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdw Wireless Printer with Fax & available 2 months Instant Ink does not require signup with an HP account, however.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can you fax from your computer or must you use the small touch screen?

Asked by: Popjake
Yes, you can send faxes using the HP Smart App printing software that you download with your HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe printer. For instructions see this video at this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GfrfnhXivo
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-05

Will this machine copy 1-to-2 sides or 2-to-2 sides?

Asked by: JamesBPHX
Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe is capable of two-sided printing, scanning, and copying. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-08

What toner cartridge does this printer take?

Asked by: Out West
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer uses the HP 148A or 148X toner.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2022-12-04

Can it also be hardwire connected?

Asked by: Gal Naples
This is an HP+ printer. It requires an HP account, a connection to the internet, and exclusive use of Original HP Toner cartridges for the life of the printer. This can be connected via Ethernet to a like port on your router but an active internet connection is required.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-10

Does this printer print in color?

Asked by: bsherr69
Hello. Thanks for your question. No. This LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe prints in black and white.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this printer able to SCAN in color?

Asked by: jmp123
Thank you for your question! Yes, the HP LaserJet Pro 4101 can scan in color to your PC.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this printer scan color pictures in color?

Asked by: Donaldson
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, you can scan in color with this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

How many sheets fit in the scanner tray, can it scan legal size pages and what is the scanning speed?

Asked by: pmp22
Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer with HP+ and Fax can scan legal size with a document feeder maximum sheet count of 35.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

What should I do when the drum is creating mirror images on envelopes and spewing ink on letters

Asked by: PWhite
I am sorry for the issues you are experiencing. I recommend reaching out to the HP Technical team so that they can discuss your options with you. You can speak to a representative here: https://support.hp.com/us-en
Answered by: HP Expert Dora
Date published: 2023-09-01

How fast is output meaning how many legal sheets per minute 

Asked by: Valerie19
Thank you for your question! The HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe can print up to 42 pages per minute letter size. Legal size printing information is not available.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-17

Is the scanner a color scanner?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, you can scan in color with this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-04

Can you email this printer?

Asked by: JB14
You can send and receive emails with this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-13

Can I email from this printer? Is there an address book?

Asked by: mrc49
Thank you for your question! Yes, the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer can be used to email. You can use the HP Smart App to email or the touchscreen on the device itself. There is also an email address book that is a feature as well.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this model print in color or only black&white

Asked by: the Current
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer prints in black and white. If you want a color all-in-one laser printer, we advise looking at the HP LaserJet Pro M479fdw printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this printer print envelopes easily?

Asked by: CheriC2023
This HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe is compatible with the following types of envelopes: Japanese Postcard; Double Japan Postcard Rotated; Envelope #10; Envelope Monarch; Envelope B5; Envelope C5; Envelope DL Print no more than 10 envelopes at a time for best results. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-21

What is the part number for optional paper tray for the 4101fdwe

Asked by: TRRR
Thank you for your question! The D9P29A is the compatible paper tray for this HP 4101fdwe. That tray can be found here: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-laserjet-pro-550-sheet-feeder-tray
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

why is this printer so noisy?

Asked by: steveBB
It is recommended to contact HP Support to determine if your printer is working correctly. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can this printer auto print Letter and Legal in the same document?

Asked by: Deborah C
Insert the legal-size paper into the top tray, close the tray, and be sure to click on Modify and select the proper paper size for that tray. Insert the Letter size into the bottom tray, also be sure to change the paper size to meet the actual size in the tray by following the settings on the printer screen. Print the file from your PC, be sure to access the Printing Preferences dialog by pressing Settings / Properties, and be sure to set the Paper Source as Automatic, then the printer should use the proper size paper per the tray configuration.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-02-20

Does this come with a initial toner cartridge? I saw that you are out of stock for the toner. Wanted to make sure that it would come with something until I could get a full sized cartridge.

Asked by: Novak2
Hello. Thanks for your question. This LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe printer does come with an HP Black Original LaserJet Toner Cartridge.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this do automatic 2 sided scanning?

Asked by: helpdesk@mediaplatform
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer can do automatic 2 sided scanning through the ADF (Auto Document Feeder) on top.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-17

need to copy 2-sided documents from auto document feeder

Asked by: rick116cc
Hello, Rick. Thanks for your question. Here are some instructions: https://support.hp.com/ph-en/product/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-4101-4104dwe-fdne-fdwe-hp-printer-series/2100896096/model/38347968/document/ish_6180599-3082320-16 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-06-04

can you print checks

Asked by: bbed
MICR printers are required for printing checks. MICR printers are not available direct from HP. For HP MICR printers please visit this link: https://www.troygroup.com/ Troy Group is HP's partner in the MICR field. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-28

I am looking at the LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe. After the initial setup, do I have to keep it on an internet connection to use it as a copier?

Asked by: Bill-DBB
The HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe requires an internet connection. The HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101FDW is the non-connected option and can be found here: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-4101fdw-printer
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this have 2 paper trays and what is a HP account mean?

Asked by: KathyO'
This HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer comes with a 100-sheet tray 1, and a 250-sheet input tray 2. This is an HP+ printer. It requires an HP account, a connection to the internet, and exclusive use of Original HP Toner cartridges for the life of the printer. More at: http://www.hp.com/plus-faq
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this a color printer?

Asked by: Irv Smith
Thank you for your question, the HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe is a black and white only printer.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-06-13

Does this printer have the capability to print envelopes? Can this printer, print 1 envelope without emptying either of the paper trays or do the envelopes need to be loaded in a paper tray, in order to be printed?

Asked by: Rose2023
Thank you for your question! Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer will be compatible with Envelope #10; Envelope Monarch; Envelope B5; Envelope C5; and Envelope DL sizes. This printer features an auxiliary paper tray that pulls down from the front of the printer which is perfect for printing envelopes. For specific details, please see the printer User Guide located at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-4101-4104dw-fdn-fdw-printer-series/38347960/manuals
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-02

Why do you tell the consumer that this printer has "two" trays when it only has one. Very deceiving. It has an "adjustable" tray and only one.

Asked by: Mike 123
There is a fold-down tray on the front of this HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Wireless Printer. For assistance with this tray please see the User Manual available at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-laserjet-pro-mfp-4101-4104dw-fdn-fdw-printer-series/38347960/manuals
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

cant i print in color with this machine?

Asked by: lense
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Pro MFP 4101fdwe Printer uses only black toner. Not color. We recommend looking at the HP LaserJet Pro M479fdw printer which can print, copy, scan, and fax. The HP LaserJet Pro M479fdw printer can print in color.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-12

Can you fax directly from the printer machine, without an app? 

Asked by: LindaRoni
This model does have built-in fax capabilities that would allow you to fax directly from the unit. The 4101fdn without the e, may be a better option for you if you do not want to use the HP Smart app, as it will be required to setup 4101fdne model unit as you have to opt-in for HP+ during the setup.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-02-16
  • y_2024, m_7, d_15, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z619E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT