ENERGY STAR | Small medium business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Pro 4001dwe Wireless Printer with HP+ & available 3 months Instant Ink

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Works only with HP toner, requires HP account and internet connection
  • Print, wireless and auto 2-sided printing
  • Blazing fast speeds for professional quality black & white prints
  • Includes advanced HP+ smart office features and Wolf Pro security
HP LaserJet Pro 4001dwe Wireless Printer with HP+ is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 5.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_30, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z601E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from Setup was a sham The printer seems alright. Setup though was the problem. Most of the time spent setting it up was due to the software trying to set up automatic ink ordering. Wasted my time and crashed the first time through
Date published: 2023-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outta Ink from LaserJet Pro Wireless Printer This printer is a great addition to our home office; it is advertised as a wireless printer but we could not get that feature to work so at HP's recommendation we hardwired it to our modem and it works like a charm. Great quality print and fast.
Date published: 2023-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by Acct office from Setup Difficulties It is becoming extremely difficult to set up a new HP printer without IT support. I remember the days when we could add a printer by simply downloading the drivers and connecting the cables. This is my second purchase of an HP printer in the last 2 years and each time, I had difficulty with the setup. The printer is dead set on finding a network on a desktop which does not have that capability. There should be printers that do not need the internet to set up. I am seriously considering a different brand for my next purchase. We currently use all HP printers. For desktops that do not have wi-fi, you need to set the menu to have that choice instead of idling with the comment that the setup is taking longer than expected. Once the printer is set up, it works fine.
Date published: 2022-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Monica K. from Cadillac taste on a Chevy budget For a wireless, laser jet, double sided printer it does a great job. I used the HP Smart program to set it up wirelessly and I couldn't believe how easy it was. I have always had issues with the wireless printers in the past. Not this time. For under $450 this was a steal! Printing is crisp and clear. I hope to use this for years to come!
Date published: 2022-11-06
  • y_2024, m_5, d_30, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_4
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z601E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

is it possible to connect this printer using the USB connection( local printer setting ) or only WIFI and Ethernet??

Asked by: Badawi
The HP LaserJet Pro 4001dwe requires an always-on internet connection.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-12-05

How do you change the toner cartridge?

Asked by: Lennnn
Hello. Thanks for your question. Here is a video on replacing the toner cartridge: https://youtu.be/VlnVpqfUSL0 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does front middle compartment/door pull down to insert letterhead, making a 2 tray option?

Asked by: CPAs
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, there is a multipurpose tray, which is tray 1, that you can open up for paper-like letterheads. Tray 2 would be the paper tray at the bottom. Here are some instructions on how to load tray 1: https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-laserjet-pro-4001-4004ne-dne-dwe-hp-printer-series/2100895701/model/35911585/document/ish_5455644-2837500-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this product support Apple AirPrint?

Asked by: MinniMik
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, this HP LaserJet Pro 4001dwe Wireless Printer is AirPrint compatible.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Why don't these models come in black anymore?

Asked by: ryanmc@1
Thank you for your question! Unfortunately, this HP QA forum does not have any information on why the color of the product is what it is.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this a unit that you can add the additional paper storage to? We are currently using the M404dw that has the drawer that we can drop a full ream into.

Asked by: Scuba Stu
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can add 1 HP LaserJet Pro 550-sheet Feeder Tray, D9P29A, to this HP LaserJet Pro 4001dwe printer.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-07

HP LaserJet Pro 4001dw Wireless Printer How many # 10 envelopes can I load at once in this printer

Asked by: sadie607
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP LaserJet Pro 4001dwe printer can support up to 10 envelopes at a time in Tray 1.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-09-25

Why does HP list these under their site as 11x17 laser printers when they are in fact not at all able to handle 11x17? How misleading.

Asked by: MatthewG
  • y_2024, m_5, d_30, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Z601E, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 46ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT