ENERGY STAR | Business

Engineered for Sustainability

HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn

  • Print only
  • Print speed letter: Up to 42 ppm (HP high speed mode) black
  • Auto duplex printing; 2 paper trays (standard); 2.7 inch color graphics display
  • The world’s most secure printing
  • Dynamic security enabled printer

HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_23, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_3PZ15A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by NicknamesAreUseless from Good Printer - poor toner requirement. Workhorse printer, easy to manage. Unfortunate requirement to use only HP branded toner.
Date published: 2023-12-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by None 2023 from Ghost Printing Printer was easy to install but once was up and running started printing weird things and we could not get it to stop.
Date published: 2023-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cathy TO from Good Value Just got this connected and it is running great!
Date published: 2023-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Al in MT from Great Printer Gray printer! Does what I bought it for!
Date published: 2023-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by KateyDo from My go-to printer Beautiful, clear, text and numbers. In accounting we want clarity above all else. We always get it with the HP LaserJet series!
Date published: 2022-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by PRaheja from Smart Printer Perfect printer for a small business for limited space.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by Acct office from difficulty setting up printer This printer is incredibly difficult to set up. It goes through the drivers and setup but will not print. Used the tools to troubleshoot, spoke to support and it took forever to fix the issue.
Date published: 2021-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ronald Remmel from HP Laser M406dn printer works just great! I am a scientist and writer. I use my HP printers to produce statistical graphs and drawings using the GL/2 graphics language, as well as scans, photographs, and .pdf and .odt documents and books for publishing, newspaper articles, and email blogs. Often I run off dozens of double-sided articles for mass mailings. I also use my M406dn to print out interesting newspaper articles. For 20 years I have used HP printers in my engineering business and my writing. The M406dn is by far the fastest, best one so far!
Date published: 2021-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Set up and operating instructions needed. The over 160 page User Guide for the HP LaserJet Enterprise M406, M407 has no information on how to set up or operate the printer. Trying to get that information on line from HP Support was an exercise in futility. I spent $120.00 to have a computer specialist come to my home to complete the set up.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Kwalyti from Never Again! I have never had such issues with a printer series. We have purchased a 404n and 406dn in the last couple of months and from the beginning, neither of them has worked correctly. I have spent upwards of 3 hours on the phone with HP. It seems there is some incompatability with the firmware and driver that HP has loaded on this series. Now it is hit and miss trying to find a driver to work with the new firmware upgrade. No one has time for this! HP get your act together!! These little desktop printers should be a no brainer.
Date published: 2021-07-06
  • y_2024, m_4, d_23, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_3PZ15A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

One of my clients is an accounting firm. Printing large tax returns, the printer will pause for long periods of time. That printer has 512mb and is not upgradable. I see that this printer has 1gb. How many pages can this printer hold at one time?

Asked by: CSCINC
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn printer can hold 100 sheets in tray 1 and 250 sheets in input tray 2. You do have the option to add a 550-sheet paper tray to this printer. The part number for the 550 sheet paper tray is D9P29A.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is paper tray one a drop down to load single sheets like checks?

Asked by: cskilton
Hello there! The pull-down 100-sheet tray 1 can be used to print on single sheets. It supports paper sizes 3 x 5" to 8.5 x 14" and paper weights between 16 and 46.6 lb. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Expert Elijah
Date published: 2023-10-28

Can you use cardstock paper to print with this printer (150gsm)

Asked by: Btrumble
Thank you for your question! Yes, this HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn supports a paper weight of 60 to 175 g/m² via Tray 1.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

How easy is it to print envelopes? Do they feed in the front of the printer?

Asked by: LDCookie
Thank you for your question! This HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn is compatible with envelopes (commercial No. 9, No. 10, Monarch). This HP M406dn will feature a second paper tray that folds down from the front that is recommended to print your envelopes.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can the M406dn print using legal size paper 8-1/2” x 14” ?  Is there a paper tray to accommodate this length of paper ?

Asked by: Rhubarb0214
Hello. Thanks for your question. Both tray 1 and tray 2 of this HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn printer supports up to 8.5 x 14-inch paper. The first tray is where the HP logo is. Here are some instructions: https://support.hp.com/lv-en/document/ish_2809352-2547537-16
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

do i need an ethernet cable in order to set up printer? i have to return the laserjet pro 4001ne because there's no other way to set up

Asked by: shuby
The HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn connects via USB or ethernet. A USB cable or an Ethernet cable will be required to setup.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can another tray be added to this machine?

Asked by: Brdenning
Thank you for your question! Yes, this HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn uses the D9P29A paper tray and can be found at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-laserjet-pro-550-sheet-feeder-tray
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-03-19

Can this printer print on two sides of the paper?

Asked by: SZimm
Yes, this HP LaserJet Enterprise M406dn is duplex(print double-sided) compatible.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-08
  • y_2024, m_4, d_23, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_3PZ15A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 11ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT