• This product has been discontinued.
  • Windows 10 Home 64
  • 11th Generation Intel® Core™ i7 processor
  • Intel® Iris® Xᵉ Graphics
  • 16 GB memory; 256 GB SSD storage; 16 GB Intel® Optane™ Memory for storage acceleration
  • 17.3" diagonal HD+ display
See Product Details
HP Laptop 17-by4097nr is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_20, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_2C5X7UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 2 out of 5 by Abby B from Falling apart after a couple months I was just prompted to give a review which is timely since the hinge cover between the screen and the keyboard fell off, after making weird squeaking noises for a short time. I've only had this laptop for a couple of months. I cannot get it to fit or snap back in at all. I can't have exposed wires (yes, for real) sitting around to break or ruin the laptop. I just ordered some freaking black tape to cover up the wires, which I should not have to do. This is ridiculous. It's a very good operating system otherwise and it runs browsers with intensive photoshop pretty easily. So, SO disappointing. I have to go look through my emails to even see if there's a warranty on this AND then even if there is, I have to send it in, which will significantly impact my work. Which is probably why I will have to put up with TAPE on a brand new laptop. So frustrating.
Date published: 2021-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by Geo3501 from Big screen. Helps with the pictures I take. So far very happy with this. works great and fast.
Date published: 2021-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bob Alex from Right click drop down boxes. Difficulty reading drop down boxes. Need magnifying glass. Tried enlarging and would enlarge all and not just drop down boxes. In google chrome enlarged type if I opened the bookmarks but not as a drop down on right click.
Date published: 2021-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Larry613 from Unfortunately--the LAST HP produced with a CD ROM I purchased this computer just in the nick of time. The salesman on the phone told me this was the very LAST laptop HP would ever produce with a built-in CD-ROM drive! (Some nonsense about Millennials wanting "modern" equipment, forgetting about my generation.) Microsoft FINALLY produced an Operating System with a "compatibility mode" meaning that the computer can RUN all the games my late father left me on CD-ROM, but what good is that, when HP has stopped manufacturing computers with a built-in CD-ROM drive? PLEASE, advise HP engineers to continue producing this product! It is the perfect system, that includes everything, including a CD-ROM drive that I can not only run old game programs on, but watch my movies on DVD.
Date published: 2021-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mediman from What kept me? I should have purchased a HP Unit from the beginning. But not me for I had to have experienced the horrors of owning a Dell from H???. And now I am a "Happy Camper" with my fast new HP Laptop.
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dennis91932 from Cost effective upgrade larger screen, great graphics, excellent internet speed
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gabby95 from Professional Truck Driver I brought this HP 17' laptop after my Toshiba finally died on me and I love every minute of it and it keeps my trucking business moving, and I love that I can link my phone to it and everything from my phone comes up on my screen and I don't have to keep picking my phone up. Thank you HP
Date published: 2021-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Snoopy32 from HP Laptop Very happy with my new laptop from HP! It was received as expected & described. Set up was literally a few minutes and user friendly. The SDS (?) component makes it lighting fast!! Highly recommend! A++++++
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gary O from very nice high performance package! The laptop is great as it has all the necessary features - and then some. I'm particularly pleased with this unit as it was loaded with all the required items needed to deliver outstanding performance - right off the shelf (no waiting). My only concerns are 1) the hinge and 2) the power cord/port. Past experience has not been good as these two items tend to get a LOT of wear over time and become a problem. I'm hoping this unit has possibly improved these two points.
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by Jimf787 from Adequate not good! Decent laptop, has it share of issues. Doesn’t seem to work well with HP printer that I bought. Always drops it off line and doesn’t print or scan like you advertised. I have to spend hours of valuable time and money to get it to work,
Date published: 2021-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by massiniezcurra from VERY GOOD LAPTOP. VERY FAST The laptop arrived as promoted and in perfect conditions. It is super fast. To me it is very important that it came with built-in CD/DVD player/recorder. I weekly prepare my radio programs and I use plenty of CDs for said purpose.
Date published: 2021-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by bicyclepatty from EVERYTHING IS FUZZY GREY ON THIS COMPUTER! This is absolutely the worst computer I have ever tried to use. If you like crisp clear images, do not buy this thing. It is like the screen has a dark grey film over it. Everything is covered with grey. File names are hard to read and images are all blurry. Applications also jump to minimize without any action on the user part. You are using something and all of a sudden it is gone. Actually, the file still exists but it is no longer displayed on the screen. This has happened to me several times in a single minute. It is very distracting when you have to keep re-opening your file. When I am trying to concentrate on something and then the file disappears, by the time I get the file back open I forget what I was doing.
Date published: 2021-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sandie K from Exactly what I needed at a great price Bought this after my 12 year old HP started having problems. This new one is great. Very pleased with it. I have always used HP computers and printers.
Date published: 2021-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zogy from Basic unit. I bought this unit as a package and was dissatisfied.
Date published: 2021-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by owen9256 from Review I am not to happy with this HP I bought It is made of plastic. Does not have the features that my HP from 15 tears ago has. The realtek speakers are horrid I had to spend and additional sum for BOSE speakers. HP tech support is not always helpful . I would not buy this computer again. I had to join COX tech support to help me with features that do not work. No happy
Date published: 2021-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by acccc from Awesome laptop Extremely happy with this purchase. Long time loyal HP customer here
Date published: 2021-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by bbb23 from okay but experienced other reviewers complaint Meets my needs though one feature that I did note in reviews I read before the purchase, indicated that the lap top does occasionally crash. That has occurred twice--no big deal but still annoying. I like HP laptops and these one was available immediately for purchase versus one other model that would not be shipped for 2 months--my laptop of 10 years had to be replaced.
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by JohnnyM1971 from Just what my daughter Needed This laptop has all of the features and specifications that my daughter needs.
Date published: 2021-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by jimbo79 from Solid Product I bought the HP with Intel processor about a month ago and it is working marvelously so far!
Date published: 2021-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by MrsBear from Great Features I bought this HP Laptop 17 last mont and it's AWESOME
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mary Buck from Excellent Prices and Service From HP! I have been looking or shopping for laptops for a while and the HP Laptop 17-by4097nr had almost everything I was looking for. I even saw it at other stores for more money than HP was asking ($999.00) for it. Then I decide to look again at HP and they were running "flash sale". They took over $200 of the price of HP Laptop 17-by4097nr. I am sooooooooooo happy with this laptop. It is so fast, I love it!!!HP shipped it right to me. Friends of mine cannot believe the price that I got it for. They thought I was joking, lol. Thank you HP, I really needed a new laptop and this one is EXCELLENT!!!
Date published: 2021-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tmore from Amazing It works better for my music stuff then my desktop.
Date published: 2021-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Techies Tech from Best HP Yet! This should have come with a seatbelt, its blazing fast!
Date published: 2021-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by pcburke2 from It works the way it should The first HP Laptop I bought HP 17 by 4000 was an unadulterated Night Mare. FINALLY I found one that works the way it should
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by mc99 from Powers up fast I needed a new computer for work. I would have given it a 5 star but it has crashed twice. I do not want to do anything drastic like send it back as of yet. The power up and browsing speed are great
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bob127 from Not sure I bought a laptop 2 months ago my wife loved it and since she was remote teaching she stole it and I haven't used it since. I then purchased another one at the beginning of this month it has now been 2 weeks and the status still says order received but nothing else has been done on the order.
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ycrc21 from Works great! This was our fourth purchase of this same model for our little grass roots org! They are reasonably priced and reliable!
Date published: 2021-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by Muhammad845 from HP 17'laptop it is a nice laptop but body of it is thougher.also the keyboard is smaller compare the size of unit,power button has no indication lighth have to hold down power button for a while to turn it on
Date published: 2021-02-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by Minne7 from Windows Freezes during Work !!! I have used it only a few times, and the system froze 3 times already. I have to press the power button to force it shut down and restart. Lost my work because of it. Otherwise the computer is not bad, even though no backlite on keyboard.
Date published: 2021-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by PegK4 from Keeps FREEZING I usually love HP Products - this is my 3rd laptop and I've owned a couple HP desktops, in addition to printers. This laptop, however, has FROZEN multiple times since I received it. It won't respond to CNTL,ALT,DELETE and has to be manually turned off. I've had this laptop for only 3 weeks and it has frozen up about 8 times. Very Frustrating.
Date published: 2021-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jarlen61 from Lightning fast laptop Bought this laptop a month ago, and I am very excited about its speed, design and the clarity of the screen. Best laptop on the market, for the price.
Date published: 2021-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from My new HP laptop Is perfect, just what I needed. Fast, reliable. Enjoy using it.
Date published: 2021-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by RFT1 from GREAT DECISION I love this PC, for the price you can't beat it. Everything I need for my business.
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by frustrated purchaser from Not recommended System was defective and HP is making it hard to return the laptop.
Date published: 2021-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by GreG Spender from Great features, Great Performance, Easy Set-Up This is a great entry level laptop. It provides so many features not found on others. The best part about it was the setup, very easy, very intuitive, and the walk-through sets up everything so easily, that anyone can do it in 15-minutes or less.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by JOutterbridge from Great for everyday office use It's only been a month but 2 keys on my keypad are loose and I don't think they make this style replacement yet. The display is ok but the screen is somehow larger than expected. Light gaming is possible on low to medium graphics. It's a slightly better integrated graphics card versus the Intel UHD620 I had on my old HP Envy. The SSD is amazing and the QC processor is fantastic. If you get it for under 600 I recommend it. Also no back-lite, I can't type or at night. It's blacked out and gets finger stains easily due to the color.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trignyc from Broke in one day and very hard to return. A piece on the side broke off the first day I owned it. It took five calls until I finally had the time to spend 2 hours on hold to get the information to return this. Shame shame shame.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by KBs Mom from Extremely fast laptop! Happy HP customer! Ordered on the Friday after Thanksgiving and received by the next Friday so delivery met my expectations. I've always used 15-inch laptops but I'm loving this 17-inch. It has an 11th Generation Intel® Core™ i7 processor which makes everything go fast. I'm used to brand names on my HP products, like Envy or Pavilion. However, so far this model laptop is just as good. It comes with an internal DVD drive too. I use my laptop for everything except gaming and I'm pleased with it. Another plus is the desktop screen isn't loaded with unnecessary icons for programs that I will never use. So, I get to be the one to load it with programs that I use if that is what I want to do. I was able to install my LaserJet printer without any problems so I am extremely happy.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gabriel115 from Unimpressed. Phone salesman sold me stuff I neither wanted nor needed. I prefer my old computer.
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by cb69 from Lightning fast. Recently purchased this laptop. It is very fast. I HIGHLY recommend getting an SSD hard drive if you're buying a new computer. That's the big difference between this and my old computer. Almost zero wait time. MY only complaint is NO BACKLIT keyboard. But I knew that when I bought it. Didn't think it would be a problem. I'll never buy another computer without a backlit keyboard.
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Benny17 from Works Very Well and Reliable I use this everyday for work, minor gaming, and streaming. Runs very smoothly. I am a happy customer.
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by kwheeler48 from Just What I Was Looking For! Having a rather specialized use for a laptop that focused on DVD and fast Wi-Fi capability, I had thought I would have to custom order, but not only did your excellent customer service people find me just the right combination, but also it was on sale! It was shipped the next day, arrived the day before expected, and was completely set up in less than an hour by a complete idiot at hardware (me). Awesome job!
Date published: 2020-12-11
  • y_2024, m_2, d_20, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_2C5X7UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What is the maximum amount of ram this system can handle?

Asked by: Mikejnfl
The HP Laptop 17-by4097nr has a maximum RAM capacity of 32GB. As the RAM is not easily accessible, HP recommends upgrades be performed by IT professionals or self-maintainers only.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_20, h_9CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_2C5X7UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 55ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT