• This product has been discontinued.
  • Windows 11 Home
  • AMD Ryzen™ 7 processor
  • AMD Radeon™ Graphics
  • 16 GB memory; 512 GB SSD storage
  • 17.3" diagonal FHD display
HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr, 17.3", Windows 11 Home, AMD Ryzen™ 7, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, FHD, Jet black is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 156.
  • y_2024, m_6, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_6H335UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by Calvy from The Good price. I
Date published: 2023-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hertiage46 from Up to Date Love my new sleek black laptop. It has more features that I know what to do with but I am learning. HP's largest screen, fast keyboard, Windows 11, new mouse, and Support Tech are a big help. Last laptop had Windows 7 and now I am up to date.
Date published: 2023-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by S.S. from Good for the Price Great laptop, fast and gives me the options I needed.
Date published: 2023-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mimi421 from Great Laptop This gets the job done
Date published: 2023-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by Greggb70 from Happy so far To early to tell yet. I need to spend more time using this laptop. Not sure I like the battery life so far but I like the screen.
Date published: 2023-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Woody in WA from 5 Stars, but it does need... I've been using HP laptops for 15 years and have zero reasons to look at another brand. This is my first experience with SSD, and WOW! Super fast! The speakers on this model are thin and weak sounding, but plug in some external speakers or headphones and you're good to go with full, rich sound. If you're wondering about the AMD Ryzen processor since you're always had Intel Core...you won't be disappointed. Ryzen has really stepped up and is outperforming Core in many areas. The battery doesn't seem to have all-day power, but mine is plugged in most of the time. This model also has no card readers, so I spent $35 on a USB C docking station that gives you additional USB ports and card reader slots. Overall, I love this unit, the 17 inch screen is spectacular, 16G RAM is badass, and this this baby zips right along.
Date published: 2023-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Would Buy Again Nice HP laptop with easy to use features
Date published: 2023-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by Jdlawson from Screen doesn't work Screen didn't work straight out of the box.
Date published: 2023-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by 1sg152top from Disgruntled customer Very disappointed this computer does not have a back lighted keyboard. I have purchased many HP computers and they all have a back lighted keyboard.
Date published: 2023-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated Diane from WIFI Connection problem Computer would find the WIFI but would not connect. Tech support online could not fix the issue so we had to return it.
Date published: 2023-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by Jules W from Very Disappointed Very disappointed in this product. The graphics are not crisp and sharp, it is as slow as molasses and the wi-fi connectivity is terrible. I have unstable bandwidth on all of my video calls and I would blame that on my wi-fi provider except that when I switch out to my old, beat-up Microsoft laptop, I never have an issue.
Date published: 2023-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flounder 11 from HP Envy great computer nice screen big keyboard seems to be working great and fast so far
Date published: 2023-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by remyj123 from Refund restocking fee not obvious in sale section. Perfectly functional laptop for the money but after using my higher end work HP laptop, the build quality was lacking. I sent it back in mint condition exactly as it was packed and sent to me and they whacked me with a 15% restocking fee. Never again.
Date published: 2023-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by In the dark from Keyboard Somewhat disappointed I thought it would have a lighted keyboard.
Date published: 2023-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frank28 from Broken It came not working
Date published: 2023-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by JimB-543 from I like my new Laptop I really like this new laptop. My only knocks on it are the keyboard is too responsive, repeating too easily; I'd really like more USB ports. Windows 11 is taking a little while to get used to, but that's not on HP. I'm enjoying using this computer.
Date published: 2023-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Unusually bad experience This was the worst translate. Can I have a hair with HP. I still do not know when my laptop will ship. I received a laptop that had a bad Wi-Fi card. It took forever to get someone to assist me with an exchange I was hung up on, yelled at, and told that I made the purchase months before I actually did. I am on hold with them right now trying to find out if I win I’ll get the $1000 laptop that I paid for
Date published: 2023-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by PWesley from HP Laptop Review The Laptop is fast, Screen size is excellent. AMD processor exceeds my expectations. Lots of Memory and Storage offered, Lifetime Microsoft is a wonderful value. The interface with my HP printer works well. Highly recommend this Laptop. Excellent price and value.
Date published: 2023-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Karen 78 from Still learning to use it Takes some getting used to since the pad is a lot more sensitive than my old laptop.
Date published: 2023-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marti R from Love my new laptop I love this new computer. Windows 11 isn't bad at all. But I made it the way I want it and it works perfectly for me. What a great buy. Thank you so much.
Date published: 2023-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by That Tech Guy from A Meh computer for the price. The color is terrible, the speckles make it look dirty even out of the box. The track pad is terrible and gives out often and is unreliable. Other than that it seems like a decent computer.
Date published: 2023-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by Analyzer from Good ... But Some Curious Disappointments As a rule, it's a good purchase; as responsive as the specs you select. Only a few oddities that could have been avoided by HP. ---The cooling fan noise is not a deal breaker, but just louder than I expected. Maybe it was a price point decision. ---The touchpad will hang up in random circumstances. A connected mouse doesn't have this problem. Maybe quality control caught this too late before they went into production? ---The camera is substandard; apparently it was selected just so they could say that it has a camera. So, shop for a USB replacement and disable the built-in camera in settings.
Date published: 2023-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by Minnesota Anonymous from Great home-computing laptop Very good basic laptop. I didn't realize it does not have a slot for a memory card (like for our trail cam), but that was my fault for not researching a bit more closely. And the speckled finish always looks like baking soda has been sprinkled over the keyboard! But that's only cosmetic. Overall, this laptop is speedy, quiet, very affordable, and has the power to do what we need for home-computing.
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Polarbear perfect from Perfect computer for me. Good choice pick. Fast, sharp image and love the size.
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Fast Mid Range Laptop It is a fairly fast Laptop for the money. To get a faster machine would normally cost a whole lot more. I got it because I need a computer that is fast enough to handle a fair amount of graphics as like to create digital art and also to run Visual Studio IDE for C++ coding without .bogging down.
Date published: 2022-12-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by hopeful9 from Letters on keys gone after one week I have been using this laptop for EXACTLY ONE WEEK and more than half of the letters on the keys are already worn off.
Date published: 2022-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pamelia Valentine from Great Product! This product arrived quickly and was easy to set up and immediately connected to the Bluetooth printer with zero problems.
Date published: 2022-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by KKOZY from Poor sound quality Computer works well. Very disappointed with the quality of the sound. Even with a great pair of studio quality head phones the sound is thin and is nowhere as good as the sound in my old Dell laptop. I am a professional musician and would not recommend this laptop to other musicians for this reason.
Date published: 2022-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pastor Gordon from A good deal when I needed it I really like my new Lapotop. It's quick light weight and easy to type with. I had no problems downloading my files and Apps from my previous device. Great sales price too!
Date published: 2022-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Melania from HP 17 Laptop PC 17-cp1747nr excellent. love it
Date published: 2022-12-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by Aaron B from Computer Crashes I am concerned as my computer has crashed twice already. I've only had it for a few weeks. I'm thinking of returning.
Date published: 2022-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hdonfarm from Wrong laptop sent I ordered, with the help of an online salesperson, to have a touchscreen, and backlit keyboard. This has neither, now I am waiting until the 22nd to hopefully receive the correct one. I don't know if the computer is any good or not.
Date published: 2022-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by First Time Buying HP from Keys on Keyboard are small Great speed, but for a large screen size, and a reportedly full size keyboard, the actual keys are a bit smaller than other HP products like the Envy Laptop. I wish I would've know this as I would have purchased the Envy or another laptop with a true full size keyboard.
Date published: 2022-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kriss C from laptop first new laptop in 10 years. Why did I wait so long? This laptop is perfect
Date published: 2022-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Javlon from Full hd large display laptop It is just as described by hp. Fast big black laptop. All excellent except that it’s hard drive storage is 476 instead of 512gb as described.
Date published: 2022-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by DJMT92 from Battery life is 5 stars This laptop has great battery life, I am getting about 8 hours on a charge
Date published: 2022-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charles E. from Great Laptop! Lightweight, compact, full sized laptop. Fast and efficient. Great build overall and bought for a great deal during black friday! Thanks!
Date published: 2022-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hope it helps from Is what it is Yea I messed it up but the restore on the PC won't return it to factory. Microsoft wants a lot of stuff that the original install did not. Like now I have to use a pin to log on. No option for password log on. The first attempt at cloud recovery didn't work. Then had to start over after about 3 to 4 he download. Now got to 98 percent of the download and stalled out. That's another 3 to 4 hours lost. One more attempt before I want to return the product. Not exactly what I ask for anyway. I ask for comparable to the old model that i Gave them the number for, but no cd or card reader which I don't think about, so have to run those external after purchasing the components.
Date published: 2022-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by loretta48 from Outstanding HP Laptop! Easy on line shopping and we got exactly the laptop we were looking for! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2022-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fly Fisher from Ultra Fast, Big Screen, Quality Sound & Bluetooth Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback on the HP 17-cp1797nr Laptop, I’ve been using it for a few weeks and can now provide a more educated evaluation. The memory, SSD & AMD Ryzen™ 7 5825U processor are more than adequate for my needs, Great! The 17.3” screen is great as well. I like the Bluetooth mouse connection, it frees up a USB port. The HP connects faster and stays connected to Wi-Fi, much better than my previous computer. The 10 Key number pad is great; I would not buy a computer that did not have it. And the sound quality from the speakers is surprisingly good. A BIG THANK YOU for, “Planet positive, this laptop contains sustainable, post-consumer recycled plastics.” And thanks for using biodegradable packing material. The HP phone salesperson who helped me was easy to deal with, very knowledgeable, explained things well and was patient. He made the purchase decision easy. There are 2 things that are cause for concern: 1) some internal component (cooling fan?) is loud when running, and 2) the keyboard is very very sensitive. This is more so with the QWERTY keyboard and not so much with the 10 Key pad. I’m getting a lot of false entries and errant cursor movements. These unintended commands are annoying and kind of interrupt my train of thought; I hope a lighter touch solves this problem.
Date published: 2022-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by S. Arends from Hp laptop Another fine product. Using computer for every day stuff and very happy.
Date published: 2022-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mikia1a from I got what I was looking for I got exactly what I was looking for
Date published: 2022-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by RSlagle from Great value in a 17" laptop The laptop is working great so far. wonderful graphics and great speakers.
Date published: 2022-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slickace from No backlight on the keyboard. I thought the keyboard was badklight because of the photos but I was miss lead.
Date published: 2022-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Karennn from New laptop The processor was loud starting up when I first got it. I don't know why but over the last week it has quieted. Maybe just new? But she's very quick and does all I ask as needed.
Date published: 2022-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don E. from Review It's great !
Date published: 2022-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mountain person from So fast! Really fast! I love it! Wish it had come in silver rather than black. It is easy to use and also light enough to carry easily!
Date published: 2022-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Laptop Im having problems. A call to support was not successful. I am going to try again tomorrow and if not i am returning.
Date published: 2022-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by Garret.T from Small battery and no backlit keyboard My only complain is that the battery is small (low capacity) and keyboard is not backlit.
Date published: 2022-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by david cook from give me a drop down explanation the ease of setting up is great, I just wish there would be a drop down menu for the items that I don't understand the difference between my options, or what they mean.
Date published: 2022-10-01
  • y_2024, m_6, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_6H335UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is it this laptop with a touchscreen? HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr, 17.3", Windows 11 Home, AMD Ryzen™ 7, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, FHD, Jet black . The Laptops in your website do not tell if they are touchscreen. Please indicate as touchscreen or not.

Asked by: enjoywaterwater
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr does not have a touchscreen.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

is this laptop touch screen

Asked by: Trip Neill
No, this HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr does not include a touchscreen display.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does hp except trade-in of other hp laptops HP Newest 17 Laptop, 17.3" HD+ Display, 11th Gen Intel Core i3-1115G4 Processor, 32GB RAM, 1TB PCIe SSD, Webcam, Bluetooth, HDMI, RJ-45, Windows 11 Home, Silver.

Asked by: Barry8371
HP does not offer a trade-in program for credit on new laptops at this time.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-16

Why won't it charge?

Asked by: Thisguy900
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

does this laptop come with MS Office software installed

Asked by: Kleanr
Thank you for your question! A trial version of Microsoft 365 will be installed on this HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can I get windows 10 home on this laptop?

Asked by: Mikezip
No, this HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr is pre-built and ships with Windows 11 only.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-20

What is AMD Ryzen™ 7?

Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your question! This HP Laptop has an AMD Ryzen 7 Processor. The specs of the processor are: AMD Ryzen™ 7 5825U (up to 4.5 GHz max boost clock, 16 MB L3 cache, 8 cores, 16 threads)
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

how many gigabytes on the graphics card?

Asked by: christopherjkyricos
The HP Laptop 17-cp1797nr does not have a dedicated graphics card. It is integrated, and the GPU uses system memory that is shared with the CPU.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-10
  • y_2024, m_6, d_22, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_6H335UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 45ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT