ENERGY STAR | Home

HP Laptop - 17-ca2097nr

  • This product has been discontinued.
  • Windows 10 Home 64
  • AMD Ryzen™ 3 processor
  • AMD Radeon™ Graphics
  • 8 GB memory; 1 TB HDD storage; 128 GB SSD storage
  • 17.3" diagonal FHD display
HP Laptop - 17-ca2097nr is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 88.
  • y_2024, m_6, d_25, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Y438UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 40ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by BillNas from Touch screen It doesn’t have a touch screen. I was disappointed.
Date published: 2021-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Freddo from Extremely great except for back lit keyboard seems I don't need or want 64 bit side all my computers & applications are 32 bit. So I got Oracle Virtual Dive software and it took little to set up but not I just call up oracle start icon and laptop comes up witn windows 7 32 bit screen and all app icons are there ready to go. I do't know it there is any adjustment outside of 3 brightness levels but keyboard keys are somewhat hard to read
Date published: 2021-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by HPPC from My bad experience with HP PC So far, less than 30 days since I received this new PC, I had lost audio, had cursor frozen, had cursor moving but the commands not responding, for example, when the cursor clicked on X to close a tab, nothing happens....so that is a lots unexpected bad behaviors from a brand new computer.
Date published: 2021-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by carl 24 from nice computer Everythling works well, as expected. The reason for only 4 stars is the I thought it had touch screen and it does not.
Date published: 2021-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by r5s2 from Great Laptop I've had this laptop for a couple of months and love it. Great screen and perfect keyboard.
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Facility Guy from Fills the need without emptying the budget The Preschool needed a laptop with the DVD built in capable of running on our network with minimal issues. This replaces an 11 year old HP that has served us well, but has finally run out of steam with the additional features of Windows 10. This unit serves its purpose very well!
Date published: 2021-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by tywake from Great laptop! I bought this for my wife and she absolutely loves it. It does everything she needs it to do and the lighted keyboard is great.
Date published: 2021-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Janabo from True that it’s sluggish at first I am glad that other commenters mentioned how slow it was at first and that HP responded about updates taking hours. After reading so many I expected there would be a note to that effect in the packaging, but there was not. I can see how upsetting it would be if you weren’t warned. But it did resolve eventually and I am satisfied with the performance now. On another point: I am bewildered that there is still not an indicator light for the number lock. This was a problem on the Envy I bought three years ago and there was quite an outpouring of complaints online. I supposed that it was a mistake that would not be made again in future models, but here I am again finding my cursor flying around my spreadsheet when I am trying to enter numbers.
Date published: 2021-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by rickbrk from Not like the old HP's This computer was purchased to replace a well functioning HP lap top. The hinge mounts on the old one failed. It appears this new computer uses the same mounts ? What you have to go through to get new computers started is ridiculous. I just paid good money for the thing. Let me turn it on and decide what I want to install. The computer functions. Whether having a SSD drive and the regular HDD combined makes it run any faster is questionable. The only issue I've had so far is the computer will freeze up on rare occasion as others have stated. You have to hold the power button down to shut it down, then restart it. It seems to happen if I scroll to fast ? I am 66 years old, and although I consider myself pretty computer savvy, I can't figure this out. My Son is a ITT specialist and will see if a setting may be off when he visits on the 4th Holiday. He will get on the phone with HP if needed to trouble shoot. I have a hard time understanding the techs, even though any time I've ever called they've tried their best. I am not bashing HP. I have owned them & Compaq all my life. Love the large lap top screen. With the exception of the occasional freezing up and poorly designed hinge mounts I like the computer. I chose NO on the recommend this product to a friend question only because of the hinge design.
Date published: 2021-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mmblust from Easy set up So quick & easy to set this up. Great screen definition.
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by CHenry9973 from So easy to use!!! I received this about a month ago as a present and I love it! It is so easy to use and I love the lights under the keys.
Date published: 2021-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by D J N from Contact It was super impossible to reach anyone in person. You mention a 'live Assistance Option" - no where did it say how to reach it.
Date published: 2021-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magic44 from Great investment I bought the laptop just under a month ago. I wanted it to replace my desktop. Best thing I ever did. I love the features and it’s easy to use.
Date published: 2021-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kcollin5 from So far, so good! I just got this computer and so far, everything is great. I wish I had ordered one with a bigger storage limit, however.
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by JYmc727 from So far I'm happy It's a little slower than expected but I'm still happy at this point
Date published: 2021-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mobtex from Very simple. Easy to use, I have had it a while and have no problems. Like the features.
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by home7 from Ease of use exceptional! I needed a new computer which really worried me. I had my old HP for many years. It was getting slow and could not keep up with all of the new technology. I really did not want to have to learn something new at this point. I only wanted to download my documents and get back to writing. I was so pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get started. Within not too much time, It was up and running. My productivity has increased and my anxiety is gone! I was fortunate to get this model on sale. It was exactly what I needed!
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Love my new laptop I love my new laptop. The reason why I need a new laptop because my old laptop was going slow on me. When I got my new laptop. It has a light-up keyboard feature that I didn't know about it. Needless to say, I love my new laptop. I'm so glad to buy the laptop on HP.com
Date published: 2021-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by backonmyancientdell from crap i feel cheated. i freely admit i am not computer savvy but this terrabite seems a scam. no room at all, and the ONLY time i use it is to email because the lighted keyboard is very helpful for me.
Date published: 2021-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lynndie from Had the features I wanted and are hard to find! I have all HP products, computer, printer, etc. because they have always been reliable and long lasting as well as easy to operate. I had my last HP laptop for 9 years and only one thing had quit working, the slot where I inserted my SD card from my camera. I like the 17 inch screen on my laptop with a dvd drawer, camera and extremely good resolution. I looked for weeks for my new computer since I knew it had to be perfect (I knew I would keep it for at least 8 to 9 years). I finally found it in the HP 17-ca2097nr/AMD Ryzen 3/ 1 TB HDD/AMD Radeon Vega 3 graphics/ 8 GB DDR/ DUAL CORE processor/ 3.5 GHz processor speed ( model 2Y438UA#ABA). Great graphics, speed, large screen and I can play my movies while traveling or use the operating disks for installation. Plus I have my slot to transfer pictures via my sd card. Plus the case is silver instead of black. I couldn't be happier. I got the best brand (HP) with everything I wanted on it. And since my 9 year old HP is still working great (other than tbe SD slot) I can put it in my husband's home office for his occasional use.
Date published: 2021-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Robin Nest from Great laptop for an older retired person. I am retired and needed an upgrade from my old desktop system. I was also frustrated with not having the mobility that I wanted. I had been using my cell phone for my mobile internet but my eyesight is not what it use to be. I bought this HP 17-ca2097nr from the HP store on eBay. I got very fast shipping and a wonderful price. Everything was well packed and arrived in perfect condition. I love my new laptop. It is beautiful and easy to use. Now I can see all my emails without eyestrain and the video quality is excellent. At my age this will most probably be the last computer I will ever buy. I am happy that I made the right choice. I have always relied on HP products. They have never let me down and they definitely came through again. 5 stars !!!
Date published: 2021-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by lizzyzkitchen from Large size, great features Bought for larger screen, windows 10, and great HP products just like the other 6 bought in the past.
Date published: 2021-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mona123 from Good condition It came in good condition brand new as described very happy at the moment
Date published: 2021-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hp laptop owner from Up laptop 18-ca2097 Bought this several months ago, and didn’t need to use for work until I was snowed in recently. Very disappointed! The processor is horribly slow, and so had to break out my old laptop to use for work. Waste of money on a computer I bought to work from home with. Do not buy this one!!!
Date published: 2021-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Day from Frustrated!!!! The computer ran slowly when I first received it. Then it started freezing. Before the The The computer ran slowly for about a week. Then the computer started freezing, I purchased the McAfee and I never received the link to download the McAfee. Now, after several hours on the phone with customer support, the call was disconnect. I am extremely frustrated, and I want my money back. By the way, I am typing this review on my 10 year old Apple.
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by daveS50 from More machine than I expected. So I bought this HP while browsing the site looking to compare it to one I saw in a store, but a different model. I selected one that is very budget friendly as I just needed something to travel with, but not work. I got much more than I expected! Its fast, very fast! Easy 5 minute self guided set up, backlit keyboard, Cortana , built-in speech to text for dictation and so much more. The beautiful sleek silver appearance is awesome. My only negative is the lack of a wired Ethernet port.. which I like. But still very happy!
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rene51 from Delivered ! I'm still getting used to it but it seems ok. The price was phenomenal and I had a HP for years before. I did continuing education for my job on Zoom this week and I'd never done that before. I'm sure it's fine. It's just hard for me to do new tech as I'm old lol. The picture is nice . The DVD player is great .
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by lazyman from Good features I bought this laptop a few weeks ago due to the previous laptop had a broken hinge and a tech I knew at a computer store told me that it wouldn't be cost affective to repair it and I should by a new one. After numerous searching I decided on this laptop as it offered me just enough service to do what I needed to get done.
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Great value for your money. Great screen with 17 inc, nice colors. boost in less than 30 seconds, plenty of ram and storage. I will recommend this product to a friend or family.
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by lizzyzkitchen from Just what I needed Bigger screen and very basic for my needs. Great price. Love it!
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from new laptop super fast computer, i am wife's new hero. will buy again
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by tjs30 from To much HP! When you start up the laptop you will need to uninstall and will find a ton of HP apps that keep popping up. it says they are trying to help but the more i uninstall it xthe faster the computer becomes.
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by AGudu from Great laptop It's been a while since I bought a laptop and it was pretty difficult choosing the right laptop for me and I have to say for the few days I have used it I am completely satisfied. Screen is big, light weight for a 17" laptop and has a good sounds also. All by all great purchase for the price I paid.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by MsThang51 from GREAT HP LAPTOP I'M GETTING USED TO THE BACKLIT KEYBOARD BUT I THINK THIS IS A GREAT LAPTOP AND RECOMMEND BACKLIT KEYBOARDS FOR ANYONE WHO BUYS ONE!
Date published: 2021-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from All of it, better than expected I bought this a month ago for school work and got it while it was on sale. It has been better than expected for $500 after tax and expedited shipping.
Date published: 2021-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by LyingLow from No issues, for a lowerend laptop it serves me well Has been a experience that i hope i never have to deal with again, however it appears i have a workable laptop. I do understand that Covid directly and indirectly caused many of the issues including communication.
Date published: 2021-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by SLYNNR from THE SCREEN IS PERFECT! I PURCHASED IT BECAUSE OF THE SCREEN SIZE AND IT IS PERFECT. I AM LEGALLY BLIND AND WITH THIS SCREEN SIZE IT IS SO EASY TO SEE. THE COLORS ARE BEAUTIFUL.
Date published: 2021-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Novibri from Great display and keyboard w/ key pad Bought this for billing but it turns out that it does so much more
Date published: 2021-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotstuff3634 from very fast I bought this 3 weeks ago and I am happy. My other laptop was slow and this one is much faster.
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kingzuzu from Great product I bought this for myself two weeks ago and I love it plan on buying another one for my granddaughter
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacald from great features Love it. quick with great features. I would buy another HP
Date published: 2021-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Swimgal6 from Large screen I purchased my laptop about a month ago and LOVE it!!! It has a large screen (I’m a senior). It’s fast and easy to operate!!!
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rking esd from Large screen, good battery. I have had my laptop for about a month, so far so good. Plays games on low settings @ 1080p, good for Netflix/etc., battery seems to last a sufficient amount of time. Overall pleased.
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Caitlynn from Love this computer! I bought this computer a month ago and I am so glad I did!
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mom36 from Great features! I bought this a month ago and I am so happy that I did, is fast, sturdy and beautiful design, outstanding features if you are looking an equipment for work from home or you are a gamer this is the one, keyboard is smooth, it comes with Windows 10, McAfee and VPN ( 1 month free trial), camera is good too. I think you get a lot for an affordable price. Just buy it!!
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clavalle99 from McAfee virus protection stinks I really love the laptop, but I have a very long hatred for McAfee security, everything about them slows down the computer. Once I uninstall it and provide my own virus protection, the computer runs GREAT
Date published: 2021-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Siddiqui from Great deal. I bought this about month ago, and it is working well. It has a good wide screen and a little heavy to move around due to its good body. This is all I want! Highly recommended
Date published: 2021-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jtstudio from Very nice I did allot of research on what features to look for in a new laptop purchase and this machine fit them very well. Very satisfied with the look, feel and performance thus far (3weejs in). The DVD player is the main reason I picked this model and I'm very satisfied with my purchase. Great looking display as well.
Date published: 2021-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Attention Please My new laptop is fine but I have never received the Microsoft Office I purchased
Date published: 2021-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Encore725 from Love the large screen Bought this 17.3 inch a few weeks ago and love it. Classic HP features includes island keyboard
Date published: 2021-01-18
  • y_2024, m_6, d_25, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Y438UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will an HP- ca2096nr replacement screen work for this laptop 

Asked by: Ash2024
Hello. Thanks for your question. The part number for this HP laptop's 17-ca2097nr screen is L22734-001.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-12-31
  • y_2024, m_6, d_25, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_1
  • loc_en_US, sid_2Y438UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT