• This product has been discontinued.
  • Windows 11 Home
  • 12th Generation Intel® Core™ i7 processor
  • Intel® Iris® Graphics
  • 16 GB memory; 256 GB SSD storage
  • 15.6" diagonal FHD display
See Product Details
HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr, 15.6", Windows 11 Home, Intel® Core™ i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, FHD is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 141.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_90, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_687Y9UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kathy, VA from HP 15 Laptop PC My new HP laptop is much faster. The sound is better, and the Zoom quality is better. I have not been able to make Duck, Duck, Go my preferred search engine yet. And it has asked me to complete the startup process multi times and I have already done this.
Date published: 2023-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by DemiJ from Meh. I can’t give a good rating because it only powered on once. The display is nice and it’s nice and light. The power button is extremely hard to press. Sent it back.
Date published: 2023-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by CRDT from Love my HP laptops and products. I been using HP for over 20 years! My laptop!
Date published: 2023-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dave H. from Great deal! Excellent laptop at a great price. With it had more usb ports.
Date published: 2023-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by DooSki from Best Choice For Us This is our second HP laptop and very pleased at how fast it is for things like intranet browsing, transactions, and spreadsheets. The shipping was quick!
Date published: 2023-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mule88 from Lack of Quality Control Machine was sent off hastily, inadequate QC. Battery overheats, battery life is lower than advertised, speaker noise issues, and fan speed issues out of the box. This was supposedly not refurbished but was a 2022 machine. Not impressed. Although on sale, it shouldn't feel like a scratch and dent special, but that's my takeaway. Also having issues with return system (takes several days to get the return 'approved') - even though within the 30 days after initial order. Would not recommend at this time.
Date published: 2023-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from design and speed in 2 words excellent laptop, it has a very elegant design, beautiful color, it has a slim and soft size
Date published: 2023-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP laptop is height of all PC products Product is very good. Performance is excellent. Price is right.
Date published: 2023-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kris Rod from Great product and great experience purchasing directly through HP. Great product and great experience purchasing my items directly through HP wesbite.
Date published: 2023-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trivia Host from It's What We Need We use our laptop primarily to host trivia shows and it's important that they have enough memory, speed and the ports we need to connect to our sound mixer or other sound system. This one meets all our needs.
Date published: 2023-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ezee173 from No complaints No complaints other than this computer being a PC! (Mac person joke) An upcoming job requires me to use and be proficient on a PC, so I bought one to travel with. So far so good. It’s hasn’t been a difficult adjustment because there have been only minor differences so far. I played for team PC several times, but it’s been 15 years since I’ve owned one. I’m writing this review to stop the requests for the review. LoL!
Date published: 2023-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by HarThom from Awesome product Awesome product
Date published: 2023-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nurse Dad from Emergency Replacement We purchased this as an emergency replacement for a nursing school student. It was simple to setup and boots very fast. We had everything fully working in one evening.
Date published: 2023-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by LORI MUNN from BRAND NEW SO WILL UPDATE HP GREAT REPUTATION
Date published: 2023-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by Busy111222 from Nice computer but Backlight is useless The computer is ok but one of the only two things I wanted was a backlit keyboard as my last one had that and it was so helpful! This one, however, has a silver key board (my old one was black) and the letters do not show up well at all. It is very disappointing to pay this much for this and it not work as the other one did. The size is nice and love that it has the number pad.
Date published: 2023-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mathew1990 from Good PC Overall, the product is good. I've had the PC for a few weeks. Battery charge life does not last as long as described (My settings have been turned down from the default since I have owned the PC), but is still reasonable. All other specs are as described. In my opinion, Windows 11 is not as user friendly as Windows 10, yet that is not HP's fault.
Date published: 2023-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ulixes20 from Great laptop This laptop is great for the price, well designed, light weight, easy setup. This is my 3rd HP laptop over the last 12 years.
Date published: 2023-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by tiger 1 from plug ins Very disappointed that the laptop does not recognize external cd player when plugged in.Also keyboard is clunky and not smooth.
Date published: 2023-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joel A from HP laptop Sleek, Fast and exactly what I needed.
Date published: 2023-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by D. Brown from Would highly recommend!!! Purchased this laptop on sale. It was a great price and is more than I expected. It is lightening fast, the processor is incredible, and Windows 11 is awesome. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2023-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Erik in OKC from Fast and ready to go out of the box Nice laptop. Fast out of the box and ready to go. I'd buy again. Compact and slick looking.
Date published: 2023-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Deuce1 from Nice Little Laptop Have had this laptop for 10 days now and I do like it. Wish it had a DVD drive built in but I have an external so no problem. Computer starts up very fast and is easy to navigate. Does everything I want it to do with an excellent screen. The hidden left and right keys take a little getting used to due to the sensitivity, but I'm getting better. Nice keyboard with larger keys for my large fingers so that's a plus. All in all, I'm pleased.
Date published: 2023-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from One Development heavy duty laptop i needed. My Development PC is great
Date published: 2023-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tyler’s from Good deal All went well. Communication was good. The deal on the computer was true as stated.
Date published: 2023-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Broke in one day Broke in one day
Date published: 2022-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Joseph Leo from First Windows 11 Computer First Windows 11 Computer. The HP Laptop is very fast, and I like the new Windows 11. Happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2022-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Craig 101 from Fast Solid unit! fast, does everything i needed
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Excellent HP Laptop Computer The computer meets the needs of my husband
Date published: 2022-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lera S. from So far seems good - except not enough USB ports Laptop seems fast and easy to use and good memory. I am disappointed that there are only two USB ports. Since I am currently in a different country I need to use magic jack to call to the US and I can not use my magic jack and mouse at the same time because having only two USB ports does not give me enough room to plug in the larger magic jack attachment and then be able to use the mouse also. Whenever I use the magic jack to make calls, I have to use the internal mouse on the laptop which is slower.
Date published: 2022-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kurt G from Quick Quick and easy to setup. Fast computer and seems at this point to be everything I need.
Date published: 2022-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by mottarapp from Light, powerful and beautiful Light, powerful and beautiful. Loved it!!
Date published: 2022-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Problem It won’t turn on. After setting up and using for an hour, the battery died and the charger isn’t working.
Date published: 2022-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cedric M from Works like how you hope it will Works like how I expected. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with an ethernet port.
Date published: 2022-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from My new laptop I love my laptop so much two thumbs up !!!!
Date published: 2022-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by GMFMAF from LAPTOP AS EXPECTED. TIME WILL TELL
Date published: 2022-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grandmaster S from HP Laptop upgrade success The product is well constructed as expected. Going to 16Gb ram made a big difference. Microsoft 11 was user friendly, and required the usual questions and answers to set up personal settings.
Date published: 2022-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by AAAya from Issues with keyboard Somehow the keyboard/cursor jumps randomly.
Date published: 2022-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy in Astoria from I Made a Great Choice Because my HP all-in-one desktop is so great, I decided to get an HP laptop and I am really glad I chose this model--its speed and functionality is great and the price was amazing (I got it on an HP sale weekend). If you're looking for a top-grade computer, I recommend HP.
Date published: 2022-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grandma in her office from New laptop for home office Lightweight and sleek. Does what I need it to do. Just wish the keys had a little more contrast. A little difficult to see in lower light with my older eyes. Otherwise fine. Set up was easy and got going quickly right out of the box. Delivery faster than expected.
Date published: 2022-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from none It is a great purchase
Date published: 2022-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dan WW from Great computer, battery life questionable. Fast setup! Setup was a breeze. Minor update issues, but fully functional. Touchpad is EXTREMELY sensitive, working on settings, zips all over the place opening windows, like it's trying to impress me with speed! Big issue, battery is not going to last long. Fully charged, one update took almost 50% of the battery. I am not happy with battery life at all. Very fast! Excellent sound card after installing graphic equalizer that for some reason is not installed. Wish they had offered a deliverable machine with a larger SSD. About 1/3 full. Going to check battery life, down to 10% from full. Don't see 7 hours of use possible.
Date published: 2022-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Incorrect information. I had ordered a laptop of 4.9 Ghz but got the laptop sent to me is of only 1.7 Ghz. So you should clearly improve the information on your website.
Date published: 2022-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Evox81 from Generally great laptop with some small annoyances. As the headline says, this laptop is generally great. It's thin, light, the screen is bright enough and sharp. The keyboard is nice to type on and the trackpad is smooth and responsive. There is a decent selection of ports for a laptop of this class in 2022. There are some annoyances however: The power button is absolutely the most annoying thing on this laptop. It's hard to press and when you do press it there is absolutely no way to know if you pressed it successfully until the screen does or doesn't come on after a few seconds. One other area of concern is power management on the processor. It seems to be overly aggressive. The processor will almost never reach its max-turbo state due to this power limit, and when it does, it is for a very short amount of time. And you won't see it hit that speed again for a LONG time. That's not to say the laptop is slow. It's actually quite powerful for its size and price point. I use it to DJ from time to time and it handles it with ease. However, knowing the processor is capable of even more performance, feels like HP is leaving performance on the table in the name of posting a bigger battery life number on the box (or cheaping out on heatsink design).
Date published: 2022-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by Thisisbs from Received broken and no customer service I would give a 0 if possible. I received the laptop with damage. 1. The backlight keyboard did not work. 2. The SD card slot did not work. Able to insert card but would noes not eject 3. There is something rattling around in the laptop The worse part is 4. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE I attempted to contact HP to return the laptop — either for a replacement or repairs. Could not get a person in the phone. Internet said put in original packaging material and return. I threw the original packing material away and needed to discuss this. I was leaving on extensive travel and needed the laptop. I also wanted to return it before the first 30 days. Still no response from them
Date published: 2022-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by KC2283 from Awesome So far so good! It does what I need it to for school.
Date published: 2022-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nuank1114 from Going Almost perfect - Marvelous display - Great SPEED -I'm loving windows 11 The laptop chased on me once, while I was browsing the internet buying Legos for my kid, other than that it's perfect. hopefully this doesn't happen again
Date published: 2022-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by britoandres from Great laptop I really like this laptop, It have a great performance and it's really pretty.
Date published: 2022-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ryan255 from Clock Speed is much slower than advertised The computer has great components, however, something in how it is assembled makes it slower and louder than my 6 year old HP. The CPU speed was advertised at 4+ GHz, computer is only 1.7 GHz. When i called customer service, they rufused to help me correct the problem and transfered me to tech support, who didnt understand why they werent exchanging the computer.
Date published: 2022-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Steve0110 from Defective laptop This laptop came to me defective (no spring action on the media carder). Now the replacement has the same issue again! In the process now to return for a full refund. It's really a shame as I've been a customer of HP for many years and this a huge disappointment.
Date published: 2022-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by John W OK from Just plain BETTER This laptop is much faster and easier to use. Tons of extras all for a very good price.
Date published: 2022-06-13
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_90, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_687Y9UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

does this have microsoft word

Asked by: wesr
No, this HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr does not have Microsoft Word preinstalled. This will have a free trial version of Microsoft 365 that includes Microsoft Word. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-06-01

Is this an Intel Dual-Core or equivalent AMD processor, or better?  Does it have Bluetooth technology? 

Asked by: Processor and Bluetooth
Thank you for your question! The HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr features a 12th Generation i7 processor which is far more than an Intel Dual-Core processor. This will meet that processor requirement easily. This also features Bluetooth version 5.2 technology.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Is this model touch screen?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr does not have a touchscreen.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

What screen is this model compatible with?

Asked by: Johany
You can connect it with various monitors or TVs that have HDMI input and the max resolution it would support is 1920x1080p.
Answered by: HP Live Expert James
Date published: 2024-01-04

does this product have touch screen capabilities?

Asked by: Ambisr
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr does not have a touchscreen.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can the SSD 256 GB hard drive be upgraded to a 512GB or 1TB drive? If so, what is a compatible 512GB or 1TB drive I can add to it?

Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your question! The HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr does not show an expansion slot for an internal SSD NVMe M.2 hard drive. The hard drive can be upgraded. Any NVMe M.2 SSD hard drive will be compatible as this Laptop features a Gen 5 SSD slot.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

does this model support extra hard drive (either HDD or SSD) to have more storage?

Asked by: thangcf
Thank you for your question! This HP Laptop 15-dy5097nr, 15.6" will not have the free space ports for an extra hard drive.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

What is the read/write speeds of the NVMe M.2 SSD storage memory that comes with this unit. And which PCIe generation (Gen 3 or Gen 4) does the motherboard support?

Asked by: NotSoRealMcCoy
Thank you for your question! Unfortunately, this forum does not have information on the read/write speeds of the NVME hard drive at this time. However, this laptop will have a PCIe Gen 4 port.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_687Y9UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT