• This product has been discontinued.
  • Windows 11 Home
  • 12th Generation Intel® Core™ i7 processor
  • NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 2050 Laptop GPU (4 GB GDDR6 dedicated)
  • 16 GB memory; 1 TB SSD storage
  • 17.3" diagonal FHD touch display
See Product Details
HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 226.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_140, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_6P701UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by KfromDenville from OK but not compatible with all older equipment. This machine seems to only work with newer equipment (plotters, printers, scanners) that are Windows 11. Found out that the HP Windows 11 software in the laptop does not work wirelessly with equipment I already have. This has caused a considerable amount of lost time and expense for me. As to the machine itself it appears to be working OK. It is pretty fast. However, once in a while there is a slight lag with a command from a prompt line for different software applications. Sometimes the sign in screen also takes longer than expected.
Date published: 2023-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by DeannaK from FLIMSY CHARGING PORT So far it seems good. I was not wanting to purchase one this big but needed this specific keyboard layout. I upgraded from the HP ENVY x360 but the 15" screen and do to needing the same keyboard layout, it appeared this was the only somewhat affordable option the 17" screen. While I like the bigger screen it is proving cumbersome to transport. The 2nd thing and MOST important is I HATE THE NEW CHARGER. It is very flimsy and feels like it will not last or be near as durable as the previous design. I would go back to the previous round charging port. I'm very concerned how I will keep this from braking. The charging port is why I'm giving this 4 stars at this point.
Date published: 2023-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thumper aka BillyBob from ENVY 17.3 Improvements Over the Cons This is my 2nd Envy 17.3" Laptop. Improvements include power button change, power connection changed to Mirco USB-C and 5V, and functionality with OS is better than the prior unit. Cons include lack of CD/DVD-RW Drive. Overall a great unit.
Date published: 2023-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by eab1 from Why can't things work when they are new? Brand new but screen has flickering white lines across it. Poor workmanship
Date published: 2023-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by JoJo112233445566 from Perfect for Me. With the help of HP chat assistant I selected the HP Envy 17-cr1797nr. It is perfect for me. I use the computer mostly for editing photograhy and genealogy work. If you needa new laptop, working with an HP respresentive is the greatest option to get what you need.
Date published: 2023-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sam B. from Speedy and Quiet I needed a new laptop for grad school and after months of searching and comparing I decided on the Envy. So incredibly glad I did! It does everything I need and doesn't even have to think about it. It is quiet, responsive, and the size of the screen is perfect for me. My one complaint is that it is a little heavy, wouldn't want to cart it with me everywhere, but again, the size of the screen is worth the added weight.
Date published: 2023-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geubert from HP 17"-1T Good! Great machine
Date published: 2023-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by MGSR from Keyboard hard to see when backlit. The keyboard is backlit but still not as clearly visible as my last HP Envy. I would like it to have more contrast. Silver doesn't work.
Date published: 2023-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Awesome device I loved this laptop, super fast and awesome, and that screen oh my God!
Date published: 2023-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from My machine The HP ENVY is an exceptional machine. The soft touch keys and the intelligent functionality is superb. The speed of operation brings information to your fingertips with a flash. I adore this laptop.
Date published: 2023-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sfuller from Excellent Laptop I bought this a few months ago for home office and online college and it's been fantastic. Great quality and easy to use, I definately would recommend this one.
Date published: 2023-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by HCOF from Best Laptop Deal Around Excellent value for a powerhouse computer. Comes with everything most people will ever need in a laptop for a great price.
Date published: 2023-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by AReeves from Great Laptop My husband loves this laptop!
Date published: 2023-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by NotEnviousOne from Envious? with win11 and touch screen, nice touch. My ASUS that died running win10 was faster to respond with EDGE.
Date published: 2023-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ed Mac from Outstanding Envy 17inchEnvy
Date published: 2023-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ladymarivan from The battery only lasts 2 hours the case is plastic, not as I was told otherwise. The laptop is really nice, but...
Date published: 2023-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gail H. from Happy so far So far...I'm very impressed. Haven't used it much so time will tell.
Date published: 2023-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by K-zoo dude from Just getting used to it. New to the laptop. Getting used to things.
Date published: 2023-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Victor Gar from Great Like this computer
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from The BEST new HP laptop series! So unique and very sleek! Excellent piece of work!! Very sleek, amazing quality, plus it has the number keys on the right side like a regular keyboard does! Makes it way easier to key some things!
Date published: 2023-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by hpc1 from OOPS! I obviously have forgotten how much slower 16 GB is!
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tgb13 from Scratched finish Laptop arrived scratched on the bottom. It couldn't have happened in shipping because it was well packed. Must have happened on the assembly line. But I can't afford to wait for a new one since I need it for critical work.
Date published: 2023-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Patrice Jax from Great choice The computer is beautiful! I love the keyboard and the screen is so responsive to the touch!
Date published: 2023-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by MikeC529 from Great mobile workstation. If you care more about screen size and performance than portability this is the laptop for you. We bought this to help plan our RV Trips on the road along with some software development work on the side. Great screen, video and surprisingly light weight. I was a bit concerned about moving to windows 11 but picked that up easily.
Date published: 2023-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by BobR2001 from Battery makes maybe 2 hours Battery life is terrible
Date published: 2023-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bronwyn Hawke from I love this laptop! I love it! I was able to start using it right away. I love that I can turn off the touch pad easily in settings. Windows 11 doesn't seem to let me choose my own opening screen seen/photo. The touch screen is super sensitive right up to the very edge of the screen so I have to be careful when I pick it up with the screen open. Over all, totally worth the peace of mind knowing that I have enough memory to save all my files for three businesses!
Date published: 2023-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by Abbey M from Fast, functional, powerful laptop The solid state drive is fast and efficient. I love the screen size, the facial recognition feature, and simply the overall power of this laptop. The look is sharp in silver. I upgraded some features from my prior laptop and I couldn’t be happier. Great purchase!
Date published: 2023-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by ZGOSSLER from Slow for it's specs Slow for it's specs, my 4 year old Envy is faster - more responsive.
Date published: 2023-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by JBGi from Large screen and keyboard I like the big screen and full size keyboard with large letters. The sound is very high quality. And it's fast as well.
Date published: 2023-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jessie2026 from Great laptop but loose keyboard button. The computer is great but came with a keyboard button that keeps poping loose.
Date published: 2023-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMMAMAMAMAMAMAAMA from HP’s are the best Have always loved HP laptops and computers
Date published: 2023-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by aja54 from HP Envy 17.3 inch Laptop PC Already have an Envy and love it. Needed to replace the family computer, so I got another one.
Date published: 2023-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by DaisyJ from Great laptop Easy to set up, navigation and touch screen works amazingly
Date published: 2023-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by TJ Richardson from HP Envy 17.3 laptop love the features and style
Date published: 2023-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by Todd's Envy from HP Envy laptop I like the computer but the storage I don't like. I ran out of storage when transferring my pictures to this computer.
Date published: 2023-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wily Dog from I bought a new HP Envy 17 laptop (finally) The one I had was failing after more than 10 yrs of service. So I plunged into a new purchase. Setup was painless. Display is real HD. Backlit keys are even better. HP support is the best.
Date published: 2023-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fonverla from Had I known! At the time of purchase, I was assured that laptop comes with a mouse and a rechargeable pen. But non.of these items came within it. Later, they convinced us to further purchase a mouse and a pen. But it turns out that the pen is not rechargeable and does not work with the laptop. I do not enjoy the experience after spending this much. Laptop has no ethernet port.
Date published: 2023-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by T. Keller from HP ENVY 17.3 inch Laptop PC Keyboard lockup I bought a similar 17" HP Envy several months ago. The keyboard would lock up several times every day. The only remedy was to do a hard reboot. After EXTENSIVE trouble shooting with HP and no resolution to the problem, I had to return the laptop for a refund. I waited several months to buy another in hopes that HP would resolve the problem. However, my NEW HP laptop is doing the same thing. If I use the left/right/up/down keys extensively, the key board locks up. Again, I have to reboot the computer to clear the problem.
Date published: 2023-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by KfromDenville from No help with Printer Drivers Nice laptop but does not interface with printers. I have tried for several days to get the HP printer drivers for Windows 11 Home for my HP printing machines (4 of them) but nothing works. I contacted the help desk for my computer but they would not help me because it is a printer issue. My printers are all out of warranty and now I would have to pay to get assistance. Terrible customer service. If HP cannot provide drivers from their website why would I be penalized by having to pay for something that should be expected. I wish I purchased another manufacturer's printer.
Date published: 2023-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by ROTHJH from Solid home PC Computer has performed well thus far. Bright screen, quiet operation. Performs well for home use. Touchscreen is nice. Biggest complaint is the stylus pen was not included as advertised. Would prefer the stylus as I do not like fingerprints on the screen.
Date published: 2023-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by DonGles from HP 17.3 laptop Excellent computer my client loved it
Date published: 2023-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN A DISASTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I give you a ZERO but that's not an option. THIS EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN A DISASTER!
Date published: 2023-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by KenHum from inputs I like all the inputs on the side.
Date published: 2023-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by RamonLeb from Ramon HP Envy 17.3_012423 Looking good!
Date published: 2023-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by JulieZ1963 from Completely Satisfied Completely satisfied
Date published: 2023-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chris H. from Very Happy I Bought the HP Envy! I have had this laptop for 2 weeks now and I am very happy with it. It looks sharp and is very fast in relation to my old HP Pavillion I used for the last few years. It came with very little bloatware along with McAfee and MS Office 365. I like the back-lit keyboard which comes in handy when I don't want to turn on a light. Both the laptop and Windows 11 have a bit of a learning curve for me but I am very glad that I chose the HP Envy 17 inch laptop.
Date published: 2023-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by AnneXS from Great Laptop! Love my new HP Envy 17" laptop! Looks great and it's fast! Everything is working perfectly. It's also completely silent, which surprised me. Great choice for anyone that needs a reasonably priced 17" laptop with plenty of RAM, storage, and a dedicated graphics card.
Date published: 2023-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ryan H. from Barely Functions Only boots up properly part of the time- frequently just get the black startup screen and never-ending circle, turn off, repeat. Hard to request support when it won't even function. Extremely disappointed. This review was submitted on our 2015 pc which the new HP was purchased to replace.
Date published: 2023-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by DeanaO from Nice Laptop I have only been using my new HP ENVY Laptop for a little over a week and so far, I am pleased with the performance, thus the 5 star rating. My only complaints with this laptop is the placement of the power button which is small and in an inconvenient position which makes it hard to find when I power up the machine. I finally placed a sticky tab above it so it would be easier to locate. Also, the keyboard is somewhat hard to read in low light situations even when it is backlit. It would be much better if the characters were lighted.
Date published: 2023-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Very Disappointing Laptop I replaced my HP 15 inch laptop with this model. There is nothing to ENVY. One simple example is the location of the on/off switch - small, tiny, hard to see/read and located left of center in the top row. Without going to 125% enlargement, it's very hard to read the small print. It is filled with lots of junk from various makers especially Microsoft trying to sell/rent you their 365 program which continually pops up saying you have 3 days left until Excel, word , pwr pt etc disappear while the HP brochure says you can keep Excel, Word for free. Lots of popups continually with junk - I have only spent a few days wasting time trying to figure everything out and it took quite a while to download info from my older HP. Unit isn't slim or light than my 15 inch. Keyboard letters are light blue and very hard to read. This really isn't a laptop it's really a big table top. The plastic on the transformer was hard to remove and the parts you couldn't remove were badly scratched.
Date published: 2023-01-05
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_140, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_6P701UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

does this laptop come with an ethernet port

Asked by: Poochie069
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr does not have an Ethernet port. You can use a USB to Ethernet adapter with this laptop.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-09

Are the memory modules user accessible, so that the memory can be upgraded by the customer? Also, can the battery be replaced by the user?

Asked by: HPcustomerSD
Thank you for your question! This HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr does not have user-accessible components. HP recommends upgrades be performed by IT professionals or self-maintainers only.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

I am looking for a touchsreen. What exactly does "Multi-touch" mean? Is that for the toouchpad only, or is there a touch screen?

Asked by: Micki J E
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr does come with a touchscreen display. The multi-touch is referring to the display being a touchscreen. The touchpad also has HP multi-touch gesture support. Multi-touch technology makes it possible for a touchscreen or touchpad to sense input from two or more points of contact at the same time. This allows you to use multiple finger gestures to do things like pinch the screen or trackpad to zoom in, spread your fingers to zoom out, and rotate your fingers to rotate an image you are editing.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

can i use an external mouse.

Asked by: Jany 48
Hello. Thanks for your question. Yes, you can use an external mouse.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Can the OEM1TB PCIe® NVMe™ M.2 SSD be replace with a 2TB SSD?

Asked by: KGTech
Yes, the SSD can be upgraded. HP recommends upgrades be performed by IT professionals or self-maintainers only.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2022-11-28

Can the graphics card and the computer itself handle an additional four external monitors?

Asked by: CCN-TX
No, the HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr does not have the necessary ports for four additional external monitors. When used with the HP USB-C G5 Essential Dock, this HP Envy can display on up to three external monitors. That Dock can be found here: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-usb-c-g5-essential-dock
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this laptop have a dvd drive?

Asked by: Jason K
No, this HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr does not have a built-in DVD drive. Unfortunately, as consumer demands for laptops lean towards, slimmer, lighter, and longer battery life, internal DVD disc drives are no longer being offered. An external USB is a great option for this.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-01-30

backlighted keyboard?

Asked by: Robert070809
Hello, Robert. Thanks for your question. Yes, this HP ENVY Laptop 17-cr0797nr has a backlit keyboard.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_6P701UA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 43ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT