HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print, copy, scan, wireless
  • Print speed ISO: Up to 7 ppm (black), up to 4 ppm (color)
  • 60 sheet input tray
  • High yield ink available
See Product Details
HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 87.
  • y_2023, m_9, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_A9U22A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unhappy customer 22 from Horrible Never worked, kept buying ink as was told it was dried out. Only printed 50 pages total and company will not provided any assistance
Date published: 2020-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cam26 from Cam Work fairly well. Does the job. Though it has to do a song and dance before prints- every time. Meaning it is a bit noisy and it is not speedy. Needs tone reset too often.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by fefe from This printer does everythng, however.... It does everything as noted, however I cannot get it to print and cannot find the instructions to get it connected. I have the disk but it does not work or not getting me connected. Please tell me how man cords are there to connect the printer, it is wireless. I only printed on it about 7 times since 2016 when I purchased it any the all in one wireless PC. HELP. Thank you.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by LarryWB52 from Amazing Machine For me, purchased in 2014, this machine has been "bullet-proof". Others have "borrowed" its capabilities to copy, scan, and print. Will definitely get another in the HP 2500 series when, OR IF, this ever becomes obsolete!
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shannonmp1981 from Nice features! Seems to work great! Was wondering if this is blue tooth capatible? I have an iPhone 8 and wanted to print right from my phone, do I need to download a certain program from the App Store?
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by BigEd08 from Great features Been using this printer for a couple of years now and it still performs great.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by dragonfly7 from excellent product This is a very good printer. Excellent price for all options it has. Prints great and the size is wonderful
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by Timeka from Sucks! This printer only works proficiently EVERY time when using the Ethernet cable or with your IPhone! Trying to print wirelessly on your laptop, which is the ENTIRE purpose, forget it! I'ved had this thing for a while and have NEVER been successful printer wirelessly! JUNK!
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by Chiqui from Junk Only good for scanning, can't print or make copies,. Feel so frustrated need to make copies and all the ink is gone and did not print well. Bad model . My was HP deskjet 2542 , some from the company try to help me and he did not make work. I wish I would get my money back.
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nikki12 from Junk Piece of junk printer. Been waiting 4 days for something to print. It never wants to connect wirelessly. Even plugged it in to my computer nothing happens. prints whenever it wants to, if it prints at all. Wish I could return it for my money back. Never buying HP printer again!!
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by AmirReza from The most buggos printer of the world ... When a simple print takes hours due to bugs and you have to install patches to print "Hello World" then you can imagine what the quality of this printer is.. just search HP Deskjet 2540 bugs and see how many people are screaming !!!!
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by binx from cheap Received this printer as a replacement for my under warranty older printer and after 5 weeks IT stopped working. The scanner bar jammed. Something I could have had nothing to do with as it's an interior part under the glass!!
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by chris47 from Lousy printer I can understand why this printer is being discontinued. I have had nothing but trouble with it since I bought it. I didn't pay much for it and just wanted a simple printer but you get what you pay for
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by eller67 from printer doesnt work at all. keeps saying cartridge jam even when nothing is in it. wouldn't even turn on when i bought it. never had a problem with anything hp except this cheap printer. still not even working or anything.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by rather from poster printer well good but do it poster type as I don't know
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by jakure29 from Worst printer ever This printer was trouble from the moment I tried to print the first copy. Nine times out of ten an error message would come on saying there was a jammed cartridge or a paper jam. No matter what I did I never could see why the cartridge was "jamming". The paper jammed frequently. I ended up returning the printer (which was a hassle in itself - another story).
Date published: 2015-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by nikd908 from useless I hardly use mine, but when I do I always have to uninstall and reinstall just to print wireless. I bought it for that particular feature, so pointless to go through so much just to print 1 page reports for my 12 year old school work. I can't seem to find a solution and my wifi is fine. works if directly connected, but again that is not why I bought a wireless printer
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by njcbelnc3 from I got it at Best Buy for a whole lot less. It is noisy. The only issue I have is how do you scan on this printer? Please can anyone help? Thank you.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by Luna95 from It was okay at first but.. At first this printer was very efficient but out of no where it stopped working. I mean it turns on but it wont take in the paper and it always reads that there is a paper jam.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by lynne1 from great deal I'm a first time user for this type of printer(wireless) I'm totally enjoying the freedom I'm getting from having to get up and move from room to room just to print, so I really enjoy this feature. It's a great product for very little money. Well worth it. Thank you.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by BigC010 from The printer has some good features Very good printer, it prints clearly, can print from a different location, and the printer is very reliable.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by KatieGirl from Love all the features It is super fast and very clear.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chiefie from Excellent value for all-in-one convenience I find this printer to be a fantastic value, as it has all of the features I need without a lot of fuss and requires a relatively small amount of space. Set-up was also easy, and all functions work to my full satisfaction. I would recommend this model to anyone who wants a copier/scanner combined with printing capabilities, especially since the features include the choice to automatically print on both sides of the paper.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by prinmizuiro from This product is excellent I especially love the Wi-Fi feature. Great printer!
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spooph from Awesome little printer The ink doesn't dry, it works, apple print is genius, all around very happy. Would've been nice if there was a fax option for this as well, but for the price, it can't be beat!
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by LadyinNC from Great Value for the money Haven't used it that much, yet, but what I have used it for...good clean crisp copies and I am well pleased with the product.
Date published: 2015-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rosy1940 from Not what I needed Paper went in thru the top and would not fit and was too tinny
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by Daffy8888 from Returned I bought an HP 8610 and not much better. HP products have really been getting shoddier and the lack of support makes it even worse.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exec76 from Good printer My only complaint is the small amount of paper that can be put into the feed ben. A 100 sheet capacity would be much better. The top loading feature is great and eliminates a potential paper jam from bending the paper around a roller such as on a bottom feeder.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wendlaw from Good and useful This printer is nosier than other HP's I've owned. The instructions were terse and not very useful. Printing envelopes has been an issue but I had that problem with my last printer. Good for my office .
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Donna078 from Product performs very well. This printer turns itself off after a time and I find that inconvenient
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by garymcpoet from Very dependable from the start All good. Miss feature I had on my old printer (was able to print calendars from the forms screen.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by tvillesnowman from Great Printer I really love this printer, it does a great job and fast. Wish I had bought one sooner.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mac53 from Nice little printer For the money this is a good little printer, scanner & copier. I own two of these and have had no troubles to date. I especially like the wireless feature. Everyone in the home can print to it even from cell phones!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by Jilda from Can't appreciate the features I have made several inquiries already to HP trying to find out where to get started to use eprint feature the instructions are less than adequate, so can't really say anything good about the printer scanner and features since currently it is more work to use it and had i known how hard it would be to use these cool features I would have purchased a different brand. I am now hopeful that maybe I will get a response, maybe it takes an average review to get a response form Customer Service?
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by MartiG from Great little printer! This is a great little all-in-one printer and is a fantastic bargain. Easy to set up right out of the box. Came with the cable and cartridges. Almost made the printer itself free! Great printing, scanning, etc. I would buy it again in a second!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by dech1130 from Great Product!!! This printer has, and does, everything I require for my personal printing and scanning/copying needs. It's wireless and network capabilities make it easily accessible from all my personal electronic media. In general I have never gotten a better bang for my buck. Thank you HP!!!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by JAPS12 from Good printer which installed easily This is my second HP home printer. Both have been easy to install and use. Yesterday I helped my brother install another home printer brand and spend 2 hours doing it. I even needed to call their support. I have never had to call your support to help with either of my HP printers. The only problem I have with HP is the timeframe your printers last. My first one only lasted 2 1/2 years. I have had other experience with HPs where the duration the printers last are shorter than what I would think it should. It's always cheaper to buy a new printer than to see if I can fix it or can get it fixed. I think for $70, which is the average I have paid for your printers over the last 10 years, that I and my family would get more than 2 to 3 years of use. Also as an FYI I'm the family 'computer consultant' because I worked 38 years in IT until retiring about a year ago.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by JCWonderful17 from I am pleased with the performance. I do wish the usb cable was longer so I could place my equipment differently on my desk. Otherwise so far the performance of this printer suits me fine.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dav75 from Product description incomplete This printer does not work with Google cloud printing. The web site does not tell you that. I had to call both Google and HP tech support to find this out. I had to return this printer and get an Envy 5530 for my HP Chromebox to connect to my printer.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mikee54 from I like the comb The combination printer/copier is great
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by elliscy from Printed then stopped printing... Purchased this printer from Target in April and printing was great until June when it stopped altogether! Tried several times to uninstall and reinstall the software to no avail. Looked on forums and found printer is not working for others. Will call Tech Support for more information and if there is no assistance, I'd have to purchase another printer! Its very frustrating I have to go through this.
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by Melinda745 from Disappointing I own an HP tablet, laptop, and this is my 3rd printer. My first all-in-one was stellar. This one, in particular taking advantage of the option to use USB, to be router wireless, or router independent, has wasted ink and paper and still cannot switch among the options. It functions counter-intuitively and is so frustrating, I've just given up and opted for usb. I've used the diagnostics, the Dr, and the answer resources and cannot get it fully functional. I'm just FRUSTRATED and disappointed.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paul9876 from Printer is good but could not connect to WiFI Printer is good but could not connect to WiFI. I was not able to get anyone on the phone to help and their tutorials did not solve the problem
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jocky from Excellent buy For everyday home use this is a great product at a great price. In the UK this printer cost 58.88 dollars equivalent!! Easy set up. My iPad and iPhone found air-print immediately (the reason I made the purchase). Highly recommended budget printer. Only downside is it should be in black, not grey - but hey it's 58.88........
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by DAVE158 from Product is not what is advertised as!!! Product is called ALL IN ONE, ITS NOT, NO FAX. WASTED A LOT OF MY TIME RETURNING THIS PRODUCT AND BUYING A HP 4630 TRULY AN ALL IN ONE. I PAID FOR INSTALLATION OF MY NEW COMPUTER INCLUDING THIS PRINTER AND ULTIMATELY HAD TO INSTALLED THE TRUE ALL IN ONE. WHILE HP HANDLED THIS PROBLEM CORRECTLY TIME IS MONEY AND I WASTED A LOT OF TIME.
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jacqui33 from Great product .. love it! Couldn't be more pleased with this all-in-one printer, copier, fax. Delivered in record time, easy setup using the web .. absolutely great service and a great product.
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by unahppymomma from HORRIBLE!!! This is quite simply the worst printer I have ever owned. I have had nothing but trouble with it from the 1st time I used it. The ink cartridges are a pain to install, heaven forbid we switch internet companies..because trying to re-connect it to the new Wi-Fi network has been a disaster, trying to simply copy isn't simple at all...I hate this printer. I wouldn't recommend anyone to purchase it.
Date published: 2014-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by oscar1323 from Works great Setting up the wireless features gave me a little difficulty, but that was probably me. It works great as a wireless printer. Color is good. Have paid a lot more for printers of this quality.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lee13 from Meets basic needs, light weight I ordered this printer to save me from multiple trips to the local FedEx office for documents requiring signature. It does the job at a low cost. It is easy to set up. Quality is good for ink jet printing. I plan to donate the printer when I leave for my next assignment. HP service and delivery far exceed that of Amazon vendors. I paid more for shipping, but received the printer as promised in two business days. All parts were in box, scanner glass was intact. I will order printers, ink, scanners, etc now on from HP rather than Amazon because the printer from the Amazon vendor arrived minus the power cord, ink cartridges, printer cable, and with shards of glass from the broken scanner field. Thank you, HP.
Date published: 2014-05-31
  • y_2023, m_9, d_25, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_A9U22A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hi, I was wondering if you can tell me how to hook it up to my new wireless network I can’t get it to hook up to wireless

Asked by: Ssanch@5
Visit this link for the setup guide for your printer. This is the best resource we have for setting up your printer. https://support.hp.com/us-en/product/hp-deskjet-2540-all-in-one-printer-series/5295960/model/5295961/manuals
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-30

Can I print to my HP DeskJet 2540 from my iPad?

Asked by: Murman
At the time of its release, the HP Deskjet 2540 was compatible with AirPrint. As this printer has been discontinued, AirPrint compatibility may no longer be available.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-21

my printer got disconnected, I'm 76 can someone help me

Asked by: sandysue
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

I do not remember my password for my HP printer Deskject 2540 so i can print from my phone

Asked by: Anonymous
I am sorry for the issues you are experiencing. I recommend reaching out to the HP Technical team so that they can resolve your issue quickly. You can speak to a representative here: https://support.hp.com/us-en
Answered by: HP Expert Dora
Date published: 2023-09-01

Where can I find the owner's manual for this product? We got a new router, and I can't print wirelessly now.

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Thanks for your question. You can find the user guide by going to https://support.hp.com Here are some instructions on how to restore WiFi mode on your HP printer. I advise looking under the "Restore Wi-Fi setup mode on all other HP printers" section, then "All other HP inkjet and ink tank printers without a touchscreen": https://bit.ly/3U7Yuf6 If you need further assistance, we recommend reaching out to HP Support: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2023, m_9, d_25, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_5
  • loc_en_US, sid_A9U22A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 46ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT