Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dn

  • This printer has been discontinued. Please shop for associated supplies.
  • Print only
  • Print speed letter: Up to 28 ppm (black and color)
  • Auto duplex printing; 2 paper trays (standard)
  • Best-in-class security - detect and stop attacks
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dn is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 48.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_25, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1Y44A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dn Excellent printer. Easy to set up.
Date published: 2023-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cincinnatus from much better than the old printer I gave this printer a 4 instead of a 5 only because HP supplied the wrong driver. This 454dn takes a Universal PCL 6 driver instead of the recommended HP driver. it caused not only me but tech support at HP 2 days worth of fits until one tech figured out that his company recommended the wrong driver
Date published: 2022-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tom from Iowa from Well made and a highly functional printer. Totally satisfied with my purchase. Printer works a lot better than I expected. Easy to download and install printer drivers (to my astonishment). I only wish that the toner cartridges were not so expensive. This printer was out of stock for a long time. I am glad that I waited until it was available.
Date published: 2022-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dhautzig from Not as advertised The HP website said the model was Apple Airplay compatible. It was not, and we returned it the next day. The return policy was as advertised, and the customer service person was very helpful and not at all confrontational.
Date published: 2021-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quadira from I love it! I'm very glad I invested in this printer, it's the bomb! Thank you
Date published: 2021-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by ARMTZ from Color Saturation Sucks! Color saturation of this printer is inferior to my previous CP2025d/n printer bought about 2008.
Date published: 2021-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by Notary Loan signing agent from Good for small business uses. The printer works as designed. However, tray # 1 is an automatic document feeder (ADF). I prefer it to be a tray and not as an ADF. The ADF is limited in the amount it can hold, about 35 pages or so. I am a Notary Public and Loan Signing Agent and I do hundreds of printing a week. In 3-months time, I printed over 6004 loan documents pages both legal and letter size pages. Also, the ink cartridges is very expensive. I wish I had known this before buying this printer. I highly recommend you look at the cost of ink before buying any printers from any vendors. Also, the window screen is much too small to read the menu items. The menu itself is not user friendly. It is not easy to find the print supply report menu. The navigation buttons are not clear as to how to use them and the printer does not come with a hard copy instruction manual or CD and I don't remember seeing a link in the set up papers to download a manual for the printer. I am satisfied with this printer, it does what it says it does. I managed to learn the navigation buttons and perused the menu items for familiarity. HP, I would like to see you come down on the cost of the ink cartridges. It is cost prohibitive for me, as a Notary Public loan signing agent to print volumes of pages, even with the 414X cartridges being used.
Date published: 2021-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jane M from Great printer - Little Workhorse Very good printer. Does everything we need it to.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by hmclean46 from It worked right out of the box! I bought the printer about 3 weeks ago and had much to do. The previous printer, also hp, died after almost 10 years of usage.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tunde from A little confusing to use and seems to always ... A little confusing to use and seems to always smudge the first print when I use it each day. I do like it though and find it fast and easy to use when it works.
Date published: 2020-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nate373737477 from Great for fast printing pdfs I bought this for working from home. The toner seems to last a long time and it prints fast. I haven't figured out how to get it to print other image formats yet but that's my only issue
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by BH1980 from Good Printer I own another HP Laser and both that one and this one are work horses. Only 4 stars though due to delay in getting product delivered. Took a while to get a response from HP.
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stillwaiting98754 from No idea because it still hasn't shown up over a month later!!!
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by CouldNotBeMoreUnhappy from Stopped working within 12 hours of receiving. The display panel ceased function 12 hours after setting it up.
Date published: 2020-08-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by SouredonHP from Didn't do its job Across five days, this printer absorbed some 15 hours of my family's time. It did not consistently show up as online when we configured it on our devices and, most damning, it printed several print jobs many hours after we had sent them. Confounding and infuriating. Very polite and game customer service representatives could not help us.
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Technically Challenged from Excellent Printing Once we got it networked We bought this about two months ago and it tok us several cords and a great deal of time to connect it to our network but once we finally managed it, we could not be happier!
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by DeliteD from Prints really well and quiet. Printed quality is great, while very quiet and quick.
Date published: 2020-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by LAL13 from high pitch squeal when printing This printer has I high pitched squeal when it is printing (it is intentional). As a highly sensitive I can't stand this sound, it hurts my hearing. There is no way to silence it. I am returning this printer.
Date published: 2020-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jamo from Nice printer Purchased this not realizing it didn’t scan or copy. Wasn’t paying attention. It is a very nice printer. Unfortunately, I had to buy another printer to meet my needs but moved it to another location to utilize as just a printer.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Max ii from Non wireless— Not for me, wired and should be in flashing Ed that this model is for Hard wired
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by BobNeededWiFi from Nice printer, not WI-Fi capable Printer was researched and the specifications page showed capabilities for 454 model in general. This was misleading and only after purchase and setup did I realize it does not have Wi-fi which means no Direct Printing without an Ethernet cable. The printer itself is excellent and was chosen because of reliability, quiet, solid performance. But without Wi-Fi, was not going to support my needs. Support staff required long hold and then requested I go through tech support to resolve my wi-fi limit which cost me 3 days before I could get an RMA to send the printer back. The RMA staff was EXCELLENT and in minutes I had the return label sent, and 3 days a complete refund. That's a good company response. Suggest all printers above $100 have built in Wi-Fi. The 454 DW had wi-fi and was $20 cheaper. Don't know why but that omission is why I don't have an HP laserjet now.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by Walt999999999999999999 from toner is SO expensive for this - no wifi It seems like a nice fully function color laser printer. The toner is more expensive than the device and you can't by non-HP toner, which is a bit of a rip-off. In the spec when it says "WiFi" direct printing. That doesn't mean that you can print to it without plugging it into the network. Even though it has a WiFi antennae, you still have to plug it into the network to print to it. A bit of software engineering seems like could make this a much more functional printer and take out the bloat functionality that most people aren't going to use anyway.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jane59 from it works great, but i am still waiting for the other tax credit for order #H334400095. i did receive the credit for order #H334400708
Date published: 2020-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by G and D from 5G network A No Disappointed this printer does not work wireless with a 5G internet.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dstorm from Poor Text Quality I spent an hour and a half with tech support trying to improve the text quality. The driver has a print quality option, but it only has one level. The postscript driver has a normal and econo mode. Both drivers do not have an option for better quality. The text looks like it is printing in gray scale and not true black. It should be noted bold text looks fine.
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice for today from nice printer The printer is nice. I think i is a very good quality. I hope HP will add some less expensive toner for small business. My business is in my home. I do not print a lot. I know large companies print reams of paper. Please consider a printer cartridge with less volume with less cost for small business. thanks
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by JohnFromSD from Easy to setup Just bought the M454dn. Easy to setup. I unboxed, plugged in, logged onto HP site, updated firm ware, and bam! Just like that, I was printing. In about 10 minutes from box to print.
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nadia5 from Great printer Hp is what we use in our office always. Great support and the people are always willing to help.
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by joetlpl from broke just bought and have to return malfunction not good
Date published: 2019-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by Philliesgrl3131 from Great Printing I was excited to receive this product as we were in need of a new printer. I was unsure of what the quality may be like as I have never owned a laser jet printer, but I was pleasantly impressed with what printed. The pictures are super crisp and very absolute in the coloring. The speediness of the printer was also a plus. There was not one thing I disliked about it.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rickc2 from It took some time for me to learn how to operate as I was not familiar with this type, however, once I was solid on how to operate, it is perfect for my particular situation.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kimarino from High quality working printer So excited for a trustworthy working printer! So many nice features! Prints clear and clean photos and copies! Has printed with no difficulties! Love the HP brand! Isn’t loud and have enjoyed everything with it so far!
Date published: 2019-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by MyThreeSons from Quick Setup and Crisp Prints, This HP printer was quick to setup on my network via a wired connection and off the family went to print anything and everything. We will have to see how long the toner lasts, but we are very pleased with this unit.
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Boymom2919 from Great work printer If you are looking for a printer that can help with a small office to medium size office, then this printer is the way to go. It is extremely fast with black and color printing and is able to handle a massive work load. The printer is able to handle huge work loads efficiently and, since it is laser, it's instantly ready to hand to others. The only downside for this model is that it requires an ethernet connection. If you are looking for something to help around the office or home office, this printer is the one to go with.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dee Marrie from Great quality It was an easy setup, pretty simple to use. The quality of the prints are amazing and great features. Love the functionality of it. Always bought HP products and will continue, the value and durability never let me down.
Date published: 2019-09-01
  • y_2024, m_2, d_25, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1Y44A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is the HP m454dn a wireless printer?

Asked by: SC9341
Hello. Thanks for your question. No, the Color LaserJet Pro M454dn is not wireless. We advise looking at the HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dw printer, which is wireless.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

What is the part number for the high capacity paper tray that is compatible with a M454dn?

Asked by: Anonymous
Thank you for your question! This HP LaserJet Pro m454dn is compatible with the HP LaserJet 550-sheet Paper Feeder model number CF404A.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does this printer have wifi direct?

Asked by: Pattyaus
Thank you for your question, the HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dn supports wi-fi direct.
Answered by: HP Team Daniel
Date published: 2023-04-13

My new bo m454dn printer will Not print in color what am I doing wrong?

Asked by: Needcolor
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-11

Can I use HP advanced photo paper (5"x7') to print photos using ththis printer?

Asked by: Ben1999
Hello, Ben. Thanks for your question. No, the HP Advanced Photo Paper is designed for inkjet printers. You would need photo paper made for laser printers like the HP Everyday Business Paper, Glossy, 32 lb, 8.5 x 11 in. (216 x 279 mm), 150 sheets or HP Professional Business Paper, Glossy, 52 lb, 8.5 x 11 in. (216 x 279 mm), 150 sheets.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Does the HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dn support Airprint?

Asked by: RossPhoto
The HP Color LaserJet Pro M454dn is not a wireless printer but will support AirPrint if the printer is set up via an Ethernet connection to a wireless network.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-03-24

The network card suddenly stopped work. There are no lights on the network card LED. We switched with a working, tested patch cable and same result.

Asked by: dozer123
We are sorry to hear about your challenges. We recommend reaching out to HP Support for further assistance: https://support.hp.com
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-25

How do I specify M454 for 220-240 VAC usage?

Asked by: SteveAAAAAA
Our apologies for the issues with this HP product! Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_26, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_en_US, sid_W1Y44A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 43ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT