Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f

  • Print, copy, scan, fax
  • Print speed letter: Up to 29 ppm black and color
  • Auto duplex printing; 50-sheet ADF; 4.3-inch color touchscreen
  • The world’s most secure printing
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 27.
  • y_2023, m_10, d_2, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_3QA55A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 2 out of 5 by Office77 from So so. Will network for shared printing. Bought for small office to use on the network for shared printing. The driver is incompatible for printing excel files. Had to hire an IT person to trouble shoot the driver. The universal driver isn't working. HP should fix that.
Date published: 2023-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from If you have a small business, this is the MFP for you I bought this printer after first purchasing the M4 301MFP. This particular printer however or multifunction printer offers everything with the exception of built-in Wi-Fi. This was the solution was to purchase the M480 and then install a 3100 W jet direct for Wi-Fi. This seems to be doing everything that we wanted it to do, and in addition, provides us with an economical way to replenish the toner. I would recommend this to a friend.
Date published: 2023-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from HP MFP 480f problems with wifi connection to apple products 5 days of telephone support to get it to print. Didn't scan then a different agent was able to get it to scan in about 20". Today however it won't print
Date published: 2023-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ruta from DO NOT RECOMMEND Terrible printer. Had HP for my small business for many year- customer service terrible. Bought this $2000 brand new printer and it’s not scanning. HP customer service could not fix it. It said it has a part with the defect. DO NOT RECOMMEND
Date published: 2023-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by SDA School from Good Printer The multi function works well.
Date published: 2023-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from This printer does not have Wi-Fi It is a joke that this $1000 printer does not have built in Wi-Fi. I had to spend $79 for an adaptor for Wi-Fi that only partially works. Please be reasonable and add Wi-Fi features. I figured at this level it would be WiFi equipped. I would have never procheaswd this printer if I knew it did not have Wi-Fi.
Date published: 2023-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous from Sub standard printing I bought this last week with extra three years warranty after thinking that HP has great company. But the print qualiy is horrible, white colours tend to come creamish. I bought an OKI 873 after two days and can see the quality straightaway. Big difference in the colors on paper with OKI. HP was showing the different shades of the color. Tried adjusting many settings but its the same. Wont recommend if your work relies on the quality of colored photos. Normal black printing works fine.
Date published: 2022-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by RTohio from Fantastic printer! I readily give it 5 stars despite a challenge of installing the Scan to Network Folder function. I hard wired the printer to my wired/wireless home office network with Mac OS computers. Network immediately recognized the printer. Installed HP Smart that seems useless except for any drivers it downloads. Use the printer website (printer IP address in web browser) for administrative control and access to advanced settings. Website is responsive and robust. Much better and more useful than HP Smart. Only challenge was using Quick Set to set up Scan to Network Folder. After much research here is what worked and now works flawlessly: 1. Follow all printer installation steps paying close attention to time zone setting. 2. Set up Shared Folder using Mac OS “System Preferences” > “Sharing” following all steps for user read & write authorization to include “Options” SMB authorization. 3. Find ethernet IP address at “Systems Preferences” > “Network”. 4. Set up Network Folder Path in Quick Set as \\Path1\Path2 where Path1 is the ethernet IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx) and Path 2 is the Shared Folder Name. 5. When executing Scan to Network Folder on the printer control pad, use Mac username and password exactly as defined during Mac setup to ensure access to Shared Folder. Terrific printer, copier, and scanner with exceptional quality output and impressive settings and controls. Adding more detailed instructions for Scan to Network Folder with Mac OS is the only thing I would do to improve the installation experience.
Date published: 2022-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by 1907 from Horrible Product Do not purchase this printer if you are needing a device that can easily scan documents to a computer(s). It does not have that capability. The ink coloring is also not quite right - even after trying to adjust the settings. As with previous HP printers that we have owned, it does not like perforated pages (like Avery cards) and will often jam while printing on them. We are returning this product after a week of these issues.
Date published: 2022-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business customer from Not up to HP Standards It has been a nightmare trying to get this to work. We have spent days on the phone with support in an effort to get it to work - sometimes up to 7 hours continuously. Every other HP Printer we have had was up and working in minutes after taking it out of the box, but no this one. If we could return it we would. We would purchase a different HP Printer.
Date published: 2021-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by dtmtmtl from It's quiet, fast, but hard to connect to Like many, I've shifted to working from home. My office requires me to connect to the corporate network via a VPN, which precludes local network access. The printer advertizes USB connectivity. However, out of the box, it supports only USB 2.0, which is very dated. My computers only have USB 3.0 ports. HP Tech Support refuses to support USB 3.0 or helping get a local port on my computer to become a USB 2.0 port. So, I'm pretty disappointed. Also, the printer doesn't always read from the queue when something is there. I'm not sure why there is sometimes lag of hours. However, when the printer does read from the queue, it prints very quietly and quickly.
Date published: 2021-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by Alexander1979 from Garbage product The product is not client oriented at all. I always loved HP laser printers since I was I child, but this machine really frustrates me! It does not connect properly to computer via USB cable, its original software from HP webcite cannot find it. The printer constantly disconnects from computer, need to reload computer and printer. Scanner program also has problems of cnnecting to the printer: one time it works fine, next time it cannot find scanner. My IT specialists were not able to fully install in onto remote desktop: the feature of automatic double printing would never work onto remote desktop. At the end scanner would never be found by computer even after reinstalling several times, and it was a last straw. We returned this product to the store. We spent so much time trying to install it, that I really think HP made a very lousy job with this printer. In the past I saw a lot of great models, but recent HP models in general are more focused on getting more money from you for cartriges and punishing you for not using their own cartrigges, rather than providing necessary services. As a consumer I don't care about HP's profits, I want to have good product, which is easy to install, which will work stably without bugs etc. This product is absolutely out of this range.
Date published: 2021-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by Back to MAC from Not what I Expected I still don't have it working on my network. I have using the app but it still does not work. Very frustrating. Also you should note that it is NOT wireless somewhere BEFORE people buy it.
Date published: 2021-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by Charlie J from Not HP's greatest printer I bought this to replace another big HP printer - it takes forever to spin-up from "off." It is constantly "calibrating," and just plain annoying to use. I've yet to get it to scan from an input from my computer - a very good Geek Squad guy could not figure it out either. I'm sorry I bought it.
Date published: 2021-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by Custom Home Builder HHB from Not a great design - would not recommend We purchased this for our small office and typically love the HP brand - this one falls short on so many levels. To start with, you can only print legal size paper by the paper feed - the only option to add a paper tray to the unit, so you can easily print both sizes without going over and manually adding legal sheets, is adding an adjustable tray that sticks out a few inches - looks like the drawer is just left open - not a very functional or clean look at all for the price you pay for the HP quality. The printer also will not function properly unless you ONLY use HP brand toner cartridges. They have added a chip to the HP toner cartridge so if you do buy another brand, it will not function properly and will always show a printer error for low ink. You can use another brand, but you have to remove the chip from the HP toner and put it in the other cartridge - but it will not register that you have new ink so the levels always show empty. VERY frustrating! You will have issues with the printer suddenly not able to print, making you have to troubleshoot every time - very inefficient to have to deal with constantly. I would not buy again.
Date published: 2021-06-03
  • y_2023, m_10, d_2, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_3QA55A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Does the document feeder on this printer provide dual sided scanning?

Asked by: charliegian
Yes, this HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f will be compatible with dual-sided scanning.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

will this printer work for 11x17 inch documents/paper?

Asked by: pjh1
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f printer supports up to 8.5 x 14 inch paper.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-05-27

Am I able to plug a thumb drive directly into the printer and email a document directly from the HP screen on the printer rather than scanning to email on my computer?

Asked by: Shcalws
Yes, this HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f does have a USB port for USB memory drives on the front.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

how do i print a manual

Asked by: CarolWoo
The User Guide/Manual for this HP Color LaserJet Enterprise is available at this link: https://kaas.hpcloud.hp.com/pdf-public/pdf_2952853_en-US-1.pdf From this link, you can download the manual and save it to your PC or print it. Thanks for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-04-07

How can I set this up to have the received faxes be printed and automatically emailed to a saved email address for when not at the printer I can still get the faxes in my email?

Asked by: AMFAMangie
For assistance with this question, please visit this link: https://support.hp.com/in-en/document/ish_2385594-2225617-16 That document will walk you through how to set this service up. If further technical assistance in needed please contact HP Tech Support at this link: https://support.hp.com/us-en
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-29

Does this printer support air print from Apple

Asked by: Anonymous
This HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f will support Apple AirPrint if the printer is installed on the network via the built-in LAN port. Also, the HP Jetdirect 3100w BLE/NFC/Wireless Accessory 3JN69A can be purchased to give this printer wireless capabilities.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-10

Two questions. 1:) Can I open the top cover to scan a document or does everything go through the ADF to copy? 2:) Can I control what users can print in color vs B&W. I don't want everyone to print color documents.

Asked by: MarkSz
Hello Mark and thank you for your question! Yes, the top cover can be opened for scanning on the flatbed. There are no controls where you can control what others print.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-17

Print 11x17?

Asked by: UpUpAndAway
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP Color LaserJet Enterprise MFP M480f printer supports up to 8.5 x 14 inch paper.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-06
  • y_2023, m_10, d_3, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.35
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_12
  • loc_en_US, sid_3QA55A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 48ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT