Engineered for Sustainability

HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer

  • Print only
  • Print speed letter: Up to 35 ppm (black and color)
  • Auto duplex printing; 2 paper trays (standard); 2.7-in color display
  • FCC Class A emissions - for use in commercial environments, not residential environments
  • Dynamic security enabled printer
See Product Details
HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_7ZU81A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ben B. (Business owner) from Very Pleased This is my 4th hp printer that I have purchased. Sure, there are others, but I have relied on a consistent quality printer, and hp has delivered on their promises. Color is good, speed is good, it goes into quiet mode which is nice too. I have had other printers; epson and canon inkjets, and I never purchased more than one. HP has been my go-to workhorse. I also have a smaller black & white hp printer for what I call junk printing. Emails, test proof sheets, documents, etc. This way it saves money on toner cartridges. The only negative is the cost of the color toner cartridges. I had some issues getting it set up on my network, and hp support helped me troubleshoot on the phone. We worked through it and everything is running great now. The support that I received was a five star. Courteous, patient and willing to listen to what I wanted on my network. If anyone was to ask if I’d buy it again, the answer is yes I would without a doubt.
Date published: 2023-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bev M. from HP Always for Me This is replacing the same model printer I've been using for two years. Loved the first one and am very happy this series printer was still available, and got it at "back to school" pricing! No need for new toner cartridges and it was a simple switch for our IT support.
Date published: 2023-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pedro J from Great printer thus far. Easy set up, great quality and use.
Date published: 2023-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by Winesinger from Disaster! On the phone for three hours yesterday on the phone with Tech trying to figure out how to print half sheets. Something that our old 500 did perfectly well. Paper pulled back into the machine and jammed every time. Technician now coming out with "a part." We'll see. What a huge waste of time.
Date published: 2021-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by SteveInUtah from Good printer but... The USB printer port on the printer did not work so I had to use an ethernet cable to install it. Also I prefer that the current print job show its progress on the screen but I have to hit the key pad several times to find it.
Date published: 2021-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by wjlx from Better than I expected I desperately needed a laser printer. Few models were available. I was really looking for a color print , but the M554 was in stock. It has worked wonderfully. We are very, very happy
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Dr. John Shinsky HP is an excellent company that offers great equipment and exceptional support services.
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by miller2529 from Color Laserjet Ent. M554DN printer I previously had a 3525DN color laser printer that I used for over 20 years, very happy with it but it recently broke (but I don't have any repair shop near me), so I decided to buy a new color laser printer and it works great, the speed is so much faster in every way. It has other features that are geared for business shops but it does everything I need and have printed many things already that come out great.
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed1001 from Not simple I had to pay my IT guy to set this up as it is not out-of-the-box plug and play. I tried contacting HP for assistance but they have no live support and their online tech support rejected my request for help. Once set up, I’ve had no other problems but it’s only been a couple of weeks.
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ferike from Great printer. I purchased the M554dl printer in January of 2021 for my small mac computer network. It prints beautiful color images and very sharp text. Great quality. It is fast and I love the duplexing feature. It also has eprint or airprint which I may use printing from my Iphone or Ipad. Wifi was optional and I was not interested in it. Ethernet is faster and I am well wired. I also love the fact that it can accommodate high yield cartridges which means that I don't have to change cartridges very often for my small operation. Last but not least it also has new security features and energy saving settings. Primarily, I purchased this printer due to HP's reputation for building work horse printers needing less maintenance. I am very optimistic this printer will live up to my expectations.
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marlin90 from Great printer for business use. We've been running this printer for about a month now in our distribution business. The color quality is outstanding and the first page out time is very fast. I would highly recommend this printer.
Date published: 2021-01-26
  • y_2024, m_2, d_23, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_7ZU81A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Hi there. I need to duplex statement size paper (5.5" x 8.5"). Can the auto-duplex handle this size? The paper is 90# index. Thanks!

Asked by: Scott549846
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer can duplex the following sizes: Letter; legal; oficio; and executive. The letter size is 8.5 x 11 inches. Legal is 8.5 x 14 inches. Oficio is 8.5 x 13 inches. Executive is 7 x 10 inches.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-12-18

Does this printer come with toner that are for 10,000 or more copies?

Asked by: staceymagee
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer comes with Four preinstalled HP LaserJet toner cartridges (yield ~5,500 pages black, ~3,500 pages cyan, magenta, yellow composite).
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-04-27

Is this printer comparable to the older hp CP4525?? Also, can this printer be gotten with an addional paper tray?? slp

Asked by: Bookkeeper Printer Needed
The CP4525 printer is an older printer and difficult to find a close match to. However, the HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M555dn matches the speed of your older CP4525 and is compatible with add-on trays as well. That tray can be found at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-color-laserjet-550-sheet-media-tray
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-08-14

Does this printer have eprint capabilities to integrate with shopify?

Asked by: dpatterson1084
Hello. Thanks for your question. This HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer does have the capability to do HP ePrint. We suggest making sure the printer is connected to your router with the Ethernet.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-12-09

For tray 1 does it have a guide to load smaller papers like my colorlaserjet 452dw?  And if the output is in the top and sideways and tray one loads from the front how does that work? Is there an image of tray one? 

Asked by: SPFprint
Yes, the HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer will feature paper guides built into the tray.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-12-15

How many cartridges are needed for this printer

Asked by: Anonymous
The HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer uses four toner cartridges. The toner needed is the HP 212 model. Thank you for your question!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-08-15

what is the model number for a 500/550 paper tray for #3?

Asked by: mm2529
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP Color LaserJet 550-sheet Media Tray part number is B5L34A.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2023-03-18

Does this printer have manual feed tray. I see tray 2 in the front, but where is tray 1?

Asked by: Dragica
Tray 1 is located on the front of this HP Color LaserJet Enterprise M554dn Printer. The front of the printer where the HP logo is pulls out and is a 100-page paper tray.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-02-10
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_7ZU81A, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT