Color

black
Black
  • Choose the #1 brand for the #1 value
  • Up to 420 pages
See Product Details
HP 98 Black Original Ink Cartridge, C9364WN#140 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 320.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_115, tr_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_C9364WN, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from Too Expensive.... Too expensive. Next time I will buy the off-brand cartridge.
Date published: 2024-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by DennisDeskJet6980 from HP ink 98 and HP ink 94 HP ink 98 work as it was advertised, it is compatible with Deskjet 6980. The original order as was HP ink 94 which also claims and advertises to be compatible with Deskjet 6980 in HP's website but HP ink 94 was not compatible with Deskjet 6980. This mistake should be corrected.
Date published: 2024-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disgruntled11 from Don't bother, order elsewhere Product never arrived. HP Customer service is an unreachable robot. If you have to order from this company, at least order through Amazon so you can get ahold of a person to get a refund/new product sent. Absolute waste of time to fight with a robot to simply get the product you already paid for.
Date published: 2024-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by C_Halim from Non existing customer service Gave wrong info and no refund. Customer service is non existent at HP. I got bounced around. Considering different brand (ie Epson or Brothers) due to lack of customer service.
Date published: 2023-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by PDPAL from Ink Cartridge 98 Replaced original which was larger in size/amount. Glad to have it, though.
Date published: 2023-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fzaw from Prohibitively expensive! Prohibitively expensive!
Date published: 2023-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by D Warren from cartridges good product
Date published: 2023-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bri S from Black Ink for my C4180 It worked fine.
Date published: 2023-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by WDwd from $$$$ Great cartridge. Ridiculously expensive
Date published: 2023-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jettsnana from Black and colo cartridges My printer refuses to work right if I don't use the factory new cartridges. They're expensive but the generic cartridges just won't work right.
Date published: 2023-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by GeorgeO from Great service by customer service personnel. The HP98 cartridge is aa great replacement for use on the HP Deskjet 6988 printer. Worked immediately upon installation. The HP94 was cited on line as a useable cartridge for this printer, but did not work when installed. Thanks to the customer service office at the HP store, the cartridge was refunded and the HP98 was sent immediately and solved the issue.
Date published: 2023-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by W.S. from Good Product I have an older printer, but it continues to work well. HP products give me the confidence that I will be able to print when I need it.
Date published: 2023-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Kevin M from Original HP product. The HP 98 cartridge worked with no problem unlike some of the aftermarket cartridges I have brought and failed to make work.
Date published: 2023-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Couldn't find Thankful for still being available - couldn't find any commercially.
Date published: 2023-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Snookum from Worked great as I would OEM ink to perform Worked great as I would OEM ink to perform
Date published: 2023-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by One Unhappy Customer from HP 98 not a good replacement for HP 96 This replacement cartridge for HP 96 did not work in my Deskjet 6940 as promised. Returned it to HP.
Date published: 2022-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rkskin from Inkjet black ink cartridge is junk. I purchased a black inkjet cartridge and it does not work at all. No ink comes out of it. It is a total waste of money. .it is the correct part number. Just does not work. I will buy an off brand to replace it. They probably will work.
Date published: 2022-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Linda in Montana from Fast Service for HP 98 Cartridges The HP 98 black ink cartridge is what I need for my old HP 6310 printer, yet hard to find in stores. I ordered 2 cartridges from HP while they were back in stock, and received them fast in the mail.
Date published: 2022-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bobbir from Easy to install Best inkjet on the market
Date published: 2022-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mission 2000 from What happened to HP96? HP 96 can't be found anywhere but luckily HP 98 works. We love our printer and would hate to lose it due do an obsolete ink cartridge
Date published: 2022-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by ruthie6 from Ink when you need it The ink always comes as advertised and mailing is quick.
Date published: 2022-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jude2005 from Ink seems to last forever I have very satisfied with the HP ink cartridges for well over 15 years and I was pleased that the ink lasted forever. I recently started printing Word and Excel documents just using only the black cartridge, since I found the color cartridge was not necessary on these personal worksheets.
Date published: 2022-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ruth E from HP ink cartridge is good. This is a replacement cartridge number. It seems to be working well in my printer. It took a while to find what I needed, but ordered it from HP and free shipping.
Date published: 2022-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fellowship from Black ink cartridge It didn’t work. No way to understand why. Could not return because it had to be opened to be used…if opened, could not be returned.
Date published: 2022-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by Douglas P from Legacy products are still available. I am so glad that these older products are still avialable. the local office supply stores only carry popular products. I have an older printer, and I can't find supplies at any stores.
Date published: 2022-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy 98 from Not Happy This is not the correct ink. I tried to exchange them for the right ones and you refused.
Date published: 2022-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by bobr2021 from Works well I have a printer that uses the ink cartridges that HP discontinued, 96/97. But these seem to be a suitable replacement. They work fine. I'm guessing that they won't last quite as long since they are a little shorter (less ink inside). But I don't print much any more anyway.
Date published: 2021-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by JRWA from Works Great You expect ink cartridges to perform as one would expect them to perform. To paraphrase an old expression: ink cartridges should be seen and not heard. So it is with HP ink. They perform like they should perform.
Date published: 2021-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by JimBobMotoPants from Finally a replacement for HP 96 I was about to throw away my old dinosaur of an all-in-one printer because I could not find hp 96 black ink anywhere. I then ran across hp 98 and it stated it was a replacement. I confirmed with hp and it works great! Now I can get a little more life out of my dinosaur and I will now for sure look for a hp replacement in the future. Thanks HP...
Date published: 2021-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loreta from Reliable but short lived I have an old printer and thank goodness HP supplies what I need. I haven't found these available at Walmart or other stores. My printer does a fabulous job of printing my photos as well as all my cards and letters or documents.
Date published: 2021-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pat Furey from Buying a Brother I have a Deskjet 6940 that takes a 96 Black ink cartridge. Your website advises that the 96 has been replaced by the 98. The 98 is just half the length of a 96 so of course doesn't fit. Seems likely you have discontinued the 96 to make the 6940 printer obsolete, thus to force the consumer to purchase a new printer. Cute, and congratulations, it worked. I'll be buying a new printer, all right: A Brother
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by LYPS from Better This one I selected on my own and is working. Ink does not last long, though.
Date published: 2021-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by rejac5 from Cartridge 98 I like your product but you never promote it, I.e. put it on special. If you had it on special once in a while, I would probably purchase more at a time.
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pyesangel from Printer Ink I have an older printer and it's hard to find the ink I need in local stores. So I turned to the HP site to get the ink I need. My printer is still going strong, so why should I fork out money I don't have to replace it, when I can still get ink for it. Thanks HP!!!
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by KansasD from Great replacement for 95 For a business owner that takes care of his equipment, losing the black print cartridge for a long-used printed was not what I had in mind. With the 98 replacement, I avoid buying a new printer.
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dan 620 from Perfect replacement 98/95 twin pack replaced 96/97 twin pack. The phone reps assured me it would work and it did. I appreciate that HP continues to support the Deskjet 5740 even after 25 years Will keep me a loyal customer.
Date published: 2021-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paulad2w from Go ink is the best I always uses HP ink in my Hp printer. And I wouldn’t use anything else
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by rejac5 from HP 98 Cartridge It never goes on sale in comparison with other numbers which do.
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bothersome query from Black cartridge The black cartridge doesn't last very long. I'm disappointed.
Date published: 2021-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by zek555 from Worthless Cartridge could not be aligned and previous complaint not acknowledged..
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bode40 from Always best quality I prefer using HP ink cartridges, I have never had a problem with one. And the shipping is fast!
Date published: 2021-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tincan from Great price I purchased generic ink that wasn't HP. What a mistake that was. The quality of the generic ink was terrible. That was the first and last time I will ever buy ink that isn't HP. I've only had HP printers and you can't buy better quality ink. The website is easy to order from.
Date published: 2021-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1Chas from HP Ink Cartridge 98 Good delivery time and it fulfills their specs of an ink cartridge for my HP printer!
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by TracyM from Speedy Delivery Ink works well and it was a speedy delivery. No issues.
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rugman from Leaky cartridge The black cartridge has leaked all over the printer. Levels show only 25% left, but color has 75%. Can you help me out
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Printer New Ink from Reliable ink I don't like to experiment with ink, so I buy HP for my HP printer. I usually buy direct from HP to get the freshest product. i was disappointed this time to find that HP has discontinued their free one- and two-day shipping, When you need ink, you need it fast. Next time I'll buy my HP ink from Amazon, where the price is the same and I can get free and fast shipping with Prime.
Date published: 2021-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loreta from I found my needed cartridges, but shipping... Received cartridges separately because of a shipping error, and found it extremely hard to resolve.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marie2 from Love HP products. Quick delivery, too! I'm loyal to HP because I'm never disappointed. From computers, printers, and high-quality ink and deliveries, I'm a happy customer!
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anonymous from It works Good quality. Beyond belief 23characters too short ?
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Quality products Dependable quality ink you can trust. Works well. Consistent.
Date published: 2020-10-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_115, tr_205
  • loc_en_US, sid_C9364WN, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

this replacement for HP96 doesn't work in hp deskjet 9800. Is there a software update that makes the printer recognize it?

Asked by: Frustrated22lit
Please visit our HP Support Page for help in resolving this technical issue. Online Support: For technical support with this product, visit HP Customer Support http://support.hp.com. Social Media Support: To find solutions, ask questions, and share tips, join us on the HP Support Community at community.hp.com, on Twitter at twitter.com/HPSupport, and on Facebook at facebook.com/HPSupport.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Will this work for the Deskjet 6980? The 98 cartridge looked a lot "shorter" and wider in another user's posted photo.

Asked by: pikopepper
No, the HP 94 ink is compatible and not the HP 98. The HP 94 can be found at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-94-black-original-ink-cartridge-p-c8765wn-140--1
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

I have a HP printer model 2610xi.  Will the #98 black print cartridge work with this printer?  I noticed the #96 black print cartridge that it uses is no longer sold and wanted to know if this is a good replacement cartridge.  

Asked by: PrintQ
The HP PhotoSmart 2610 printer is designed to work with original HP 94, HP 95, HP 96, and HP 97 ink cartridges. The HP 98 will not be compatible.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2024-01-03

Your site says that the 98 cartridge replaces the 96, but my printer, an HP Photosmart 8150, is not on the list of compatible printers. Will this cartridge fit and work in my printer?

Asked by: Ann2U
Hello Ann, the HP 94 ink is the compatible ink for the HP Photosmart 8150. It can be found here at this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-94-black-original-ink-cartridge-p-c8765wn-140--1 The HP 97 ink is the color option.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Why is this out of stock? when will it be available?

Asked by: BLTr
Thanks for your question! Unfortunately, this forum is unable to give back-in-stock dates on products currently out of stock.
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27

Did this take the place of hp 96 ink cartridge?

Asked by: ChevyHead
Hello. Thanks for your question. The HP 98 ink cartridge does replace the HP 96 ink cartridge.
Answered by: HP Live Expert Cheri
Date published: 2024-01-28

I have the HP Officejet 7410 All-In-One Printer. It uses the HP 96 black ink cartridge which is discontinued. What cartridge can I use to replace HP 96 ink cartridge?

Asked by: HP Officejet 7410
The HP 94 black will be compatible. For a list of the compatible cartridges for your HP OfficeJet 7410, please visit this link: https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/mdp/ink-toner/hp-officejet-7410-all-in-one
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-15

It says that 98 replaces 96 but I don’t see my printer listed my printer is an OfficeJet7200. Will it work?

Asked by: MindyT
Hello, Mindy thanks for your question, and apologies for the confusion! The OfficeJet 7200 is not pulling up in the HP US product database. I was able to find an OfficeJet 7210. That uses the HP 94 in place of the discontinued HP 96. That model does not show the 98 as being compatible. Hopefully, that is the model you have. If not please resubmit the question with the model number that is on the printer itself. Thanks for being an HP customer!
Answered by: HP Team Grant
Date published: 2023-05-27
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_US, sid_C9364WN, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hp
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 88ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT