Jump to content English
hp.com home
HP Systems Insight Manager  |  Using Tasks  |  Applying a Time Filter

Using Tasks
Applying a Time Filter

» HP Systems Insight Manager

»Table of Contents
»Index
»Product Overview
»Getting Started
»Monitoring Systems, Events, and Clusters
»Using Tasks
»Creating a Task
»Navigating the All Scheduled Tasks Page
»Scheduling a Task
»Task Results List
»Stopping a Task
»Deleting Task Results
Applying a Time Filter
»Task Status Types
»Example Tasks
»Using Default Tools
»Reporting
»Administering the Software
»Troubleshooting
»Printable Version
»Glossary
»Using Help
Content starts here
» Introduction
» Related Topics

Introduction

Use time filters to decide when a task should or should not run by applying them to a task. Time filters can be created, copied, edited, and deleted.

Time filters can be created by any user and are accessible to all users.

  1. Select a tool from the tool menu and follow the steps to get to the [Schedule] button and click it. Refer to Using Tasks - Creating a Task and Using Tasks - Scheduling a Task for more information.

  2. To apply a time filter to a task, select the Use Time Filter checkbox.

  3. Click [Manage Filters]. The Manage Time Filters section is displayed below the Schedule Task section. Four options are available:

    • [New]. A new time filter can be created by clicking [New] from the Manage Time Filter box. The new time filter has the default name New Time Filter X where X is a number making the time filter name unique. Click [OK] or [Apply] to save the new time filter, or you can click [Cancel] to cancel the new time filter changes.

    • [Edit]. Time filters created by users can be edited. A time filter cannot be renamed, so if a time filter must be renamed, copy the time filter first and then rename it. Changes made to a time filter are saved after clicking [OK] or [Apply]. If the time filter to be edited is in use by one or more tasks, a message displays, stating Editing the time filter could have undesirable effects in the tasks currently using the time filter. To eliminate this problem, rename the time filter.

    • [Copy]. Time filters may be copied by any user. The copied time filter displays and has a number X appended to the name of the time filter. X is a number making the time filter name unique. To save changes made to the time filter, click [OK] or [Apply].

    • [Delete]. A user can delete any time filter that is created by another user. Select the time filter to be deleted, and click [Delete]. If the time filter being deleted is in use by one or more tasks, a message displays, stating that The time filter cannot be deleted at this time because it is in use by one or more tasks.

Time filters are created and viewed in the time zone of the user creating the time filter. For example, if the default time filter of business hours (8am to 5am) is used and the filter is viewed in the same time zone as the central management server (CMS), it will display from 8am to 5pm. If the CMS is in EST and a user browses in from PST, the time filter is displayed as 5am to 2pm instead. Also, the time filters created on install use the time zone of the CMS.

Related Topics

» HP Systems Insight Manager - Using Tasks
» Using Tasks - Scheduling a Task